Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PowerON Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PowerON Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PowerON Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 16, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1994 in CA Business incorporated 11/25/2008 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Nancy Dakin, Marketing Director Mr. Brent Kelley, CEO Mr. Jeremy White, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy Dakin, Marketing Director
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeremy White, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Marketing Consultants

Additional Information

PowerON Services Inc. provides our Fortune 500 customers with "turn-key" TakeBack Solutions for their Consumer Direct, Educational, Small Business and Enterprise accounts. PowerON's team has the experience and professionalism you can rely on to work directly with your customers to complete a full service TakeBack experience. We also provide a completely automated back-end quoting solution that includes training and process support, which allows our clients to run their own "in house" branded TakeBack program.

Products & Services

PowerON Services, Inc. offers full-service, managed Trade-In Solutions for Manufacturers and Retailers.


Additional Locations

  • 8801 Washington Blvd Ste 101

    Roseville, CA 95678 (800) 673-6227

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent old laptop for recycle/exchange for $43.20 towards new Apple products. (I went to Apple Store prior to sending in my laptop and they told me was in great condition and I could get a lot more through other services but, I thought this method was less of a hassle.) I rejected offer of $25.00 because they said my laptop was in poor condition due to defective battery. Poweron send back laptop and it was not mine. First, my laptop does not close correctly and because hinge is slightly off. Second, color was a bright white. Mine was yellow white due to age. Third, this laptop had old sticker residue. I never had sticker on mine. I called and spoke with Robert who refused to give me his last name and said he does not give out personal information (Poweron has all my personal information). I explained that I did not receive correct laptop back. He told me I would have to prove that they sent me the wrong laptop. I tried to explain two of the three points I made about his response:First, my laptop does not close correctly and because hinge is slightly off. Poweron resonse: said they fixed it. My question is why would you fix something that you have not secured an agreement on?Third, this laptop had old sticker residue. Poweron resonse: We put a sticker on it for identification purposes. My question why is the sticker residue old and black and not from a freshly placed sticker?Told the Poweron they were NOT honest and I will go to BBB and Media. I have reached out to Apple as well. Left unresolved.

Desired Settlement: If they cannot provide my original laptop. I would like $43.20 per their quote. All I want is what is fair!

Business Response: We have reached out to the customer again regarding her displeasure with the trade-in program. Since she has refused to provide a serial number for the computer on multiple occasions, we have opted to send her a pre-paid return shipping label for the computer. The serial number is logged for every system that arrives through the trade-in program and is used to identify each specific unit. Once we receive the laptop at our facility, we will verify the serial number and process a gift card in full for her requested amount of $43.20.

All quotes that are generated using the online web tool are subject to an audit and verification process. The quoted value is based off of the following description: "The Notebook powers on. Has functional display. No cracked glass or defective internal components." The battery was deemed defective due to it being swollen. This also poses a safety hazard for all parties involved. During the audit, a flickering screen was observed which is an indication of a defective LCD Inverter. Despite these issues, a modified offer was sent for the $25. Since the adjusted final value was rejected, we shipped the item back to the customer at no expense to her.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me only because I want this bad experience to be over. I'm very disappointed that poweron refused to accept any culpability regarding me receiving the wrong laptop.  I have attached their response for your review (they are sorry with a caveat).

I will send back laptop and let you know what happens after that.

Thank you,

********* *******

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SOLD MY LAPTOP TO THIS COMPANY AND WAS QUOTED A CERTAIN PRICE. ITEM HAS BEEN RECEIVED BY THE COMPANY, NOW LESS THAN WHAT WAS QUOTED IS BEING OFFERED. I WAS QUOTED $191.70 FOR MY MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz 13" (Mid-2010) (P8600) (MC374LL/A). THEY AUDITED MY COMPUTER AND ARE SENDING ME PICTURES THAT ARE NOT OF MY COMPUTER IN ORDER TO GIVE ME LESS THAN WHAT I WAS QUOTED ORIGINALLY ($126.65). I STATED IN MY ORIGINAL QUOTE ALL ISSUES PERTAINING TO MY COMPUTER. THIS COMPANY IS CROOKED AND DISHONEST AND I FEEL I AM BEING TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF.

Desired Settlement: I WANT WHAT I WAS QUOTED ORIGINALLY OR MY LAPTOP BACK IN ITS ORIGINAL STATE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
The customer initially stated his computer was in "Good" condition using the web tool. This is defined as very light scuffing due to normal use. After the audit was completed, he was sent pictures of the bent housing and Hinge Misalignment. The customer contacted us stating that the images provided to him were not of his computer. We asked him to verify his serial number and provided him with what we have in our database. His other option was to have us return the item at no cost to him. Instead he responded with, "Your company is one crooked company. I've already submitted a complaint to the Better Business Bureau, I will wait for their mediation in this matter." Since none of the solutions would work for him, we have authorized payment in full for his quote. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction. He will have an email gift card within 24 hours.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rejected their quote and PowerOn returned my computer faulty I kept getting an email from Apple to recycle my old Dell computer after purchasing a macbook pro with retina. I did not want to but when I got a quote (Quote Number XXXXXX) for $132.85 from PowerOn after participating in Apple's Reuse and Recycling program, I decided to send my dell laptop. It was working perfectly fine and I sent it with a working battery (I also included the original dell battery which I had replaced), a working charger, the setup guide and the drivers and utilities CD from Dell. My laptop was working PERFECTLY well, in EXCELLENT condition. I only replaced it because it was too heavy, and I needed something portable for school. After sending the laptop to PowerOn, I got an email with a revised quote of $92.06, with the option of accepting or rejecting the quote. I rejected the quote and asked for my laptop back. I got an email from ****** ***** that my laptop will be sent back to me. My friends thought I should have taken the quote, and I replied to ask if i could change my mind and accept the quote. I received an email from ****** a few days later saying my laptop had been shipped, but I didn't mind. I wanted to still have a Windows 7 laptop handy. I got my Dell laptop back and on powering it on, I can't get beyond the Dell screen. I keep getting error messages to reboot. I've used the drivers and utilities disk, but it has proven futile. Dell support will only repair it if I purchase a warranty and I cannot afford one right now. I called Poweron on XXX-XXX-XXXX and spoke to a lady who took down my email, phone number and name. She said someone will call me back. I asked her when and she said as soon as possible. I asked her if I could call them myself and she said no. I asked why and she said someone will call me, and told me to have a nice day, then she hung up on me. I feel terrible. The laptop I sent has been tampered with and PowerOn sent me a faulty laptop, JUST BECAUSE I REJECTED THEIR OFFER. I can't determine what is wrong with it as I am not computer-tech savvy. Sending my laptop to them means I have to spend more money to repair the laptop. I regret sending my laptop PC to PowerOn. It would have saved me all the money and all the stress. I went on their website to check the status of the quote and it says AUDIT ACCEPTED and PAYMENT SENT. I'm not sure what that means because I have a faulty Dell PC here with me. The link to the status is here: http://reuse.poweron.com/public_trade_in/status/*********************************XXXXXX All I want is my FULLY FUNCTIONING LAPTOP BACK!

Desired Settlement: I would like the original quote of $132.86, otherwise I want my laptop functioning the way it was when I sent it to PowerOn.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@poweron.com The unit in question was sent to us for an audit evaluation. Once the audit was complete, it was deemed to be worth a value of $92.06. The reduced value was due to physical imperfections such as scratches on the casing and LCD keyboard abrasions. Per the terms and conditions of the agreement, the customer does have the ability to have the unit returned. This item was returned as requested. We do take customer service seriously, thus want to make sure a rapid and efficient solution is reached. The number displayed was typed incorrectly, but when dialed as a "966" number it reaches a different company. Our customer support technicians have been waiting for her call to assist her with the issue. Please call us at the correct phone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX or email to *****@poweron.com. We are ready to assist you immediately. Without direct communication, it is hard to determine the exact issue at hand. It sounds to me as though you have not re-installed the Operating System. For customer security, all data is erased from the computer during the audit process. This ensures that if the item is re-sold, the customer's private files will not be jeopardized.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on PowerON Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)