Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Palapa Pros- Landscape & Design Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 343-6967 3340 Sunrise blvd  Ste F, Rncho Cordova, CA 95742 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Serving the Sacramento area, we here at Palapa Pros-Landscape & Design  with over 14 years contracting experience, specializing in the installation of paving stones, concrete, retaining walls, synthetic grass, landscaping, fences, sheds and tropical shade structures (palapas) in the Northern Cal. New showroom to open in January 2015.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Palapa Pros- Landscape & Design Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 16, 2007 Business started: 08/01/2004 in CA Business started locally: 01/19/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00971149.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael Garibaldi, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Garibaldi, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Designers Landscape Contractors

Hours of Operation
Show room open by appointment
Products & Services

This company offers landscape design and home improvement services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Palapa Pros- Landscape & Design Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    3340 Sunrise blvd
    Ste F

    Rncho Cordova, CA 95742


    P.O. Box 255,

    Antelope, CA 95843


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Palapa Pros to do work in our backyard (included fire pit, concrete, lawn installation w/ sprinkler system). A few days after the lawn was installed, water was over floating and contacted ***** (owner), he was out of town but would stop by the house upon his return. He came by and told me that this was part of the process and needed to be patient wait about 6-8 weeks. I waited as suggested but I was still having the same problems so contacted ***** again. He came by the house and determined a new drain needed to be installed to fix the problem. The drain was installed and during this process it created 4 holes around the area. This was unsafe for my kids so I contacted ***** once again. To fix the problem, He sent an employee to patch the holes & told me to wait yet again for the lawn to regrow. I also had a problem with the drip line system, it broke twice and I was accused of breaking it but he would fix as a favor. After further investigation, it was confirmed by his subcontractor that ***** had installed the incorrect part and that caused the part to break. Five months later, I contacted ***** again as I continue to feel unsafe w/the holes in the lawn in addition a new problem developed. He returned to see the area and his best recommendation was to peel the lawn, fill the holes and lay down new lawn. He said he would push down the bending board to allow the water to drain in the front. Here we are 3 months later and still having problems. The lawn still uneven, the water is not draining properly and with the recent rain it's overflowing into the patio due to the poor drainage system. There is mold growing as the water sits.In addition, we have 3 sections of the lawn that are dead due to the lack of water as the sprinklers installed where not covering these areas.

Desired Settlement: I started this project March 18, 2013 and here we are a year later and continue with the same problems. I dont want ***** to fix anything; he has had plenty of chances to fix his mistakes the right way. I've had a professional Landscaping Company examine the lawn, drainage & sprinklers system. There is no easy fix other than re-doing all of the work. The estimated cost of the project is $2,500. I'm requesting ***** to refund this amount to hire a new reliable company to do the job.

Business Response:

            Landscaping/concrete/fire pit was installed according to clients plans (provided/drafted by LS Architect), with the exception of excavating sloping area on backside of property parallel to back fence and not retaining dirt (according to LSA Plans) and providing adequate drainage and retention requirements at and behind the wall. The grading for this area still slopes and was graded to accommodate lawn according to plan. As both concrete patio and landscaping (lawn) were graded according to design and swale for drainage specs, this area did create a collection point where water would accumulate more than normal. The swale grade and drainage system (completed by builder) were taken into consideration, graded and installed accordingly to meet slopes of lawn and concrete. The buildup of water at these point was extreme when the lawn was excessively over watered to self establish.  These recommendations come from Sod Company and reduction of water schedule was provided. When notified of water issue, I recommended that we wait through this period for sod to mature and turn back watering system (according to Sod Company). After sod had established itself, I recommended returning and re-evaluating.  After re-evaluating, we agreed to extend and add another drain to water accumulation area for resolution (no charge). This was completed in a timely manner and to do so meant tearing up a portion of the lawn.  As lawn was peeled back and placed back down, it did become uneven where excavated and a few spots surrounding. A service call was placed and the client requested to have lawn smoothed or leveled over new pipe section. This service call included removing the entire sod section where the pipe had been dug up, graded re-soiled, sections of lawn in surrounding areas replaced, drain raised and lawn replaced.  During this same service call, the bender board surrounding the lawn and terminating at the end of the swale (last drain before heading to street from backyard) was breached with drainage holes and lowered to allow residual water to drain (into the dirt where last drain in swale is located). Client acknowledge work completed per their requests. 

            As for the sections of lawn that are dead from lack of water? This would be a new issue to me and the client has never spoken to me about it. The lawn was installed in April/May of 2013, and as with new lawns there needs to be an excessive amount of water required at time of installation to keep the lawn from dying back (6-8 weeks).  If there was indeed any sprinkler issues, they would have been immediately addressed, for the lawn would have never survived to this date under these conditions.   As noted by client and backed by my correspondence, all issues were addressed and completed. There has not been any other service calls requested by said client since October 2013.

            Palapa Pros is a "Professional Landscape Company" and reliable company of 10 years. My outstanding BBB A+ rating, with no client issues, demonstrates and solidifies that the team addresses and completes all issues related to the services provided.  I am disputing such claims that all work performed and completed to fix the issues are incomplete. Based on the facts that they were all dealt with and accomplished, funds requested for a “new reliable company” to tear up and replace will not be respectfully honored.


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

The sprinkler lines are set outside of the grass and bender boards not allowing water to reach the center of the largest part of the lawn. We continue to monitor this section after the winter season and with the additional rain as of late has helped this area somewhat. It has also brought up concern near the firepit with no drainage near there causing puddling and run off onto the concrete from high dirt line at concrete. This also is the case in other areas with the lawn an concrete being placed at the same level. Additional draining or from first install is above dirt level so water will never drain in those areas. This is also the case where the bender board was lowered to assist in drainage which it does not. We got second opinions from other companies about the lawn issues, after multiple times being accused that we caused or broke the drip line we had installed by Palapa Pros. We were spoke to in a negative connotation multiple times during interactions. We both work in sales and customer experience for large companies and understand how customer's should be treated. We are now left with a cut up yard and drainage problems in multiple locations of the yard which claim to have been fixed. To correct the problems that should have been done properly the first time will cost us more money, we can provide pictures of drainage issues and what is left as installed properly by Palapa Pros.
We have also learned from this experience to make sure everything is clearly detailed in contract as garden box was never installed with initial bid contract and front yard bark replaced as stated they both would be.

This is the quote from a reliable and experienced cost to fix the lawn, sprinklers and drainage. We stay firm on our request for the refund to fix the poor job done by Palapa Pros.

Pictures attached are from this morning,  Friday, March 21, 2014


****** ******

Business Response: Sprinklers are designed  to be outside the perimeter of the lawn so the lawn mower and edger's don't destroy them.  The sprinklers are designed to be fully adjustable 360 degrees and also adjustable to reach further, which can be managed by client with small flathead screwdriver.  If I was notified of this issue, I would have been obliged to show client how to adjust sprinklers so they can be maintained by them as needed.  Again an issue that was never brought up in the past year of providing service calls. The fire pit is set in dirt to allow for natural drainage along with the fall of concrete to direct water.  In the event there is a big rain fall, I'm sure that section can easily fill and spill over. Flooding will occur at any home in the event Mother Nature becomes extreme. With the combination of clay soil and the the furthest point of the drainage swale, this combination may certainly cause a brief damming of water.  If it rains and client still has sprinklers on, this will cause more water to flow and dam at this location.  I may suggest turning the timer off or removing the bender if this small area of pooling is a concern.  In the past year I have addressed every service issue that has arise and completed the job. There have been no other issues since the last request to flatten the section of lawn that was tore up from adding the extra drain to the area that most needed it in October. I have made recommendations for the sprinklers, timer and bender concerns.  All aspects of this job was again done to plan (provided by client) and in accordance to values and practices of being a landscaper.  The contract was completed in full and client provided final payment to warrant all work completed in full.  With the abundance of rainfall, timer/sprinklers still remaining on through this time and the learning of how to adjust the sprinklers will resolve the water concerns client is encountering.  Photos unavailable for view.  

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Palapa Pros- Landscape & Design Services
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart