Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sierra Landscapes

Phone: (916) 293-2811 7782 Spencer Ln, Citrus Hts, CA 95610


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sierra Landscapes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sierra Landscapes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sierra Landscapes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 04, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1990 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00612985.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Wiezorek, Owner Ms. Jeanette Wiezorek, Company Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Wiezorek, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Jeanette Wiezorek, Company Contact
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Contractors - General

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: Closed
Products & Services

Sierra Landscapes and Designs specializes in landscape design, construction and maintenance.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 7782 Spencer Ln

    Citrus Hts, CA 95610 (916) 293-2811

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two cracks appeared in our concrete patio almost immediately after it was poured by the Contractor in April. The Contractor repaired those cracks. Two more cracks appeared in the last week of June. The first extends almost 13 feet, the width of the patio at that point. The second is just over five feet long, presumably heading for 13 feet like the aforementioned crack on the other side of the patio.The Contractor warrants all work for a period of twelve months. There is an exception for plants which the Contractor warrantees for ninety days. The Contractor repaired the first two cracks, but refuses to make good on his warranty and repair the two recent cracks and, in all probability, will not fix other cracks that occur within the warranty period. When we expressed our concerns/complaints to the Contractor, his response is, "All concrete cracks." I am not in the business of pouring concrete patios, but the limited experience I do have has taught me that the Contractor's statement is false. I have poured concrete that has never cracked. Indeed, so has the Contractor, just not in my backyard. Research I have undertaken in the last few weeks indicates that taking certain precautions and steps before, during, and after the pour can significantly reduce the chance of cracking. I my opinion the Contractor did not compact the soil properly, especially where he trenched for drainpipe. There was inadequate base material. Nowhere was it four inches deep. Control joints were too far apart (13' 9" and 12' 4") where the cracks occurred. No water curing was performed. Rebar was sparse and laid on the ground rather than raised into the top half of the concrete. My wife and I paid a lot of money and we are not happy with the results. We are not particularly difficult to please, but these unsightly cracks are unacceptable, especially when the Contractor failed to take proper steps to prevent them.

Desired Settlement: The preferred resolution is a refund of the money we paid sufficient to have someone else repair the Contractors work based on two or three estimates from other contractors, which we would obtain if the Contractor agrees to this solution. The Contractor may insist on making the repair. While less desirable than the preferred resolution, we would find it acceptable (though marginally) if the Contractor guarantees satisfactory results.

Business Response: Upon hearing this complaint, I was very surprised. The last conversation that we had with the homeowner, she expressed she was going to do some research about concrete, and walked off. I was under the empression that she was going to get back to me. The homeowner's did not call us back concerning this matter. First of all I would like to say that what they are calling cracks, are actually hairline fractures, and we DO take every precaution, so this doesn't happen. The concrete was a 6 sack mix, it was 4"deep, it was water cured, and the rebar was pulled up as the concrete was poured. The homeowner watched the whole process, so I don't understand why he is making these accusations. ******, is the business owner, and has been pouring concrete for over 35 years. We pour concrete the way it's supposed to be done. We replaced part of the band with pavers, and replaced a section of concrete at no cost. The reason I'm mentioning this, is because we do want our customers to be happy, and that is what we were trying to accomplish. There isn't anyone who can 100 percent guarantee that they're concrete will not fracture. We have been in business since 1989, so stating that we don't take the correct precautions for our concrete is false.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  during the conversation mentioned in the response from Sierra Landscapes (Contractor or SL) it became apparent that Contractor was not going to repair the cracks in the concrete.  We brought up the possibility of us filing a complain.  Weeks went by and SL gave us no indication that it would change its mind on this matter.  We filed our complaint with the Better Business Bureau.  

While at one time, the cracks may have been hairline fractures, they are not hairline fractures now.  I invite SL to take another look to confirm this.  The earlier cracks that Contractor opted to repair under its warranty were actually less severe than the cracks in question.  

Contrary to Contractor's stated contention, water curing was not performed.  Water cure is a 3-7 day process, seven days being the ideal.  Contractor did not return to perform water curing.  

I do not want to argue about whether or not proper precautions were taken.  The product was not satisfactory regardless.  That said, SL did not refute my contention that the ground was not compacted adequately, subbase and base material was inadequate, and control joints were too far apart, so I think the reader may assume I am correct on those points.  

The bottom line is we signed a contract that included a 12-month warranty.  The only exception was for the plants (90 days) that were provided.  There is no exception for cracks in the concrete.  Warranties and the protections they afford are important considerations when choosing a contractor.  We expect Sierra Landscapes to honor the contract and the warranty.  






Business Response:

*********, 
   Hi my name is ******** ********, and I work for Sierra Landscapes. I do the sales, landscape design, and most of the office work. The reason I am sending this email is to hopefully clear up a misunderstanding. We recently had a complaint in which we responded to (ID# ********). Following that, the homeowner then responded to my response, with another email to BBB. Next, before we were even aware of that second response, I went over to they're house and we talked about a solution. As a result, we have came to an agreement with the homeowners to add a strip of paver's to where the fracture is on the concrete, and on the other side of the patio to match, so it looks like it was done on purpose. They agreed to drop the complaint if we do that. So basically everything is worked out with us and the homeowners, but there was a misunderstanding between us and the BBB....

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
I will contact BBB after the business completes the work as proposed to hopefully report that the work was done and completed in a satisfactory manner.  

******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sierra Landscapes
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)