Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Saunders Landscaping Construction

Phone: (916) 367-2376   http://www.saunderslandscapingconstruction.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Services we offer:
Design
Demo of Existing
Irrigation System 
Drainage
Sod and Plants
Artificial Turf
Outdoor Kitchen
Outdoor Fireplace
All Concrete Work
Pavers
Fence and Gates
Decks
Steps
Patios
Walkways
Garden Boxes
Putting Greens
Waterfalls
Ponds
Pondless Waterfalls
Dog Run
Electronic Invisible Fence
Retaining Walls
Seat Walls
Fire Pits
Arbors
Zero Scape
Maintenance


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Saunders Landscaping Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is in an industry that requires licensing and its license has been suspended.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Saunders Landscaping Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 16, 2012 Business started: 05/11/2011 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00960858. On 5/19/2016 BBB confirmed that Contractor's State License Board suspended the license of Saunders Landscaping Construction.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jack Saunders, Owner Mrs. Aubrey Saunders, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Saunders, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Gardeners Outdoor Kitchens Concrete Contractors Drainage Contractors Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Lighting Irrigation Systems - Maintenance/Repair

Method(s) of Payment
Cash or Check
Products & Services

This company offers landscape contracting services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Jack Saunders promised to get my property in showing condition after I told him I was trying to sell it and made clear my expectations and needs. Week after week he dropped the ball and finally after 3 months I decided to find somebody else. I would not be leaving this review however just for the poor landscaping service. I started my service on the 6th of the month and assumed that service would thus be valid until the 6th (like most services). This was not the case and instead of politely informing me of this he left me threatening voicemails and emails saying he was going to place a lien on my property over $60 and charge me late fees (I was less than 2 weeks past due). He then proceeded to call friends of mine and slander my name to them. This was the final straw and I would like to try and help anyone else avoid his services in the future if I can help it. I have never had a contractor talk to me like this before and would say he needs to work on his customer service and needs to do the work he was contracted for if he intends to stay in business.

Desired Settlement: $60 refunded for last week of service.

Business Response:

1.       **** ******* joined our monthly maintenance program requesting weekly service for a property he is selling. **** being the realtor and his father supposedly owning the property.

2.       I never promised to get this property in showing condition through weekly maintenance only. I repeatedly told **** that he would need a onetime clean up, where we would come out to the property and spend the whole day there cleaning and trimming with haul away of debris. The property looked as if no one had kept up with it for months when we took over. **** even stated to me the last landscaper never did any trimming. I submitted a bid #1154, for the onetime clean up, for his father to approve as **** requested. Never heard anything about it after that.

3.       We spent over an hour and a half at his property every Friday, each time filling up his green waste bin and taking that bin to the curb for trash pickup. We can only spend so much time at each of our customer’s properties and I explained that to **** multiple times, also explaining this is only maintenance service. We did the best we could with what he wanted to pay for.

4.       Our services are monthly billed, not by date. With payment due on the last Friday of the month. **** started his weekly maintenance service with us in June. We serviced his property starting on the first Friday, June 6th, 2014, and continuing each Friday, with payment due the last Friday on June 27th 2014. No payment was received from ****, for the month of June.

In July, we did skip a week of maintenance service to half of our maintenance clients due to a family emergency. I did prorate the month of July from $250 to $192 and that payment was due July 25, 2014. Again no payment was received for the month of July.

June and July payments were finally received the first week of August after being over two months late.

In the month of August, we serviced his property all five Fridays with full payment of $250 due on August 29th, 2014. Again no payment was received for the month of August.

We received an email from **** on August 31, 2014 cancelling his maintenance service at his father’s request. He did not mention in this email nor any emails that he was not satisfied with our service.

Six days after **** filed this complaint with the BBB and nearly four weeks past due, a payment of $187.50 was finally received on September 25th, with a balance of $62.50 still due for August Service.

5.       We never threatened **** over email or over the phone. We simply were asking for payment that was over 3 weeks late with no response from ****.

I called on September 16 and 17 with no response.  My office manager emailed **** on the 17th, stating his payment was late and that we haven’t received payment for August service. His response was that he did not have service the last week of the service contract so the amount he sent was $187.50. When my office manager quickly replied back to **** stating the full amount was due explaining we serviced his property all 5 Fridays in August. No response back from ****.

**** was still not returning my phone calls, on September 19th, I called the phone number on ****’s business flyer that was hanging on the for sell sign at the property. I was trying to find out who the real owner was to this property. I spoke with the loan officer asking for the owner’s information so I could get a hold of the real owner and let that person know **** their realtor was not paying for services rendered and the next step would be a lien placed on the property if no payment was received.

I received a call from **** almost immediately. He was extremely disrespectful, saying he was going to leave bad reviews all over the place on me and my company, and was even going to go to one of our current client’s house and tell them how horrible we are to get them to cancel their services with us. Which I’m not too concerned about because all of our clients know how hard we work.

My office manager then emailed ****, again trying to clear any confusion with the services rendered and payment due. My office manager has been nothing but nice to ****. She did politely inform him how our billing system works again. He then responded to her email, stating he was under the impression that the billing cycle was billed differently, then how my office manager had been billing him for the past 3 months, with much more in the email then lastly stated “I would kindly ask you to stop slandering me and I will get you your $60.” We never once slandered his name nor his business. If anything he is slandering our name and business by submitting a false BBB complaint, writing false accusations on different review sites all over the internet and by threatening to go to a current client of ours and slander us to get them to quick our services.

6.       We never called any friends of his, nor do we know any of his friends. This relationship was strictly a business relationship.

7.       I truly believe this is about him not being able to pay his bills and has no reflection on our service. We have done nothing wrong. We serviced this property the whole month of August and we deserve to be paid for our services. He was constantly late paying his maintenance bills.

We have never added any late fees to any of his past due balances nor have we filed a lien on this property yet.

8.       I am truly sorry **** is confused in regards to how we bill our maintenance clients. We did try to explain it over and over to him. In the past 5 years of running our maintenance program we have never had a client that did not understand that we bill by the month.

 

We will not be offering a discount of $60 because we did service his property the whole month of August. We have always been fair in regards to when we have missed a week by prorating the amount due at the end of the month, as we did in July.

We simply cannot work for free and that is what **** is expecting from us.

We kindly ask for payment on the balance of $62.50 and for him to remove all the distorted and slanderous reviews he’s posted in regards to our company on Yelp and Angie’s List and any other websites he may have posted on.

 

 

Business Response:

I truly feel sorry for **** that he feels the need to withhold the balance clearly owed to us as we are a small family run company, who has employees and bills of our own that need to be paid.

If **** would have mentioned in his email when he was cancelling service, that he was dissatisfied with our service an anyway, I would have giving him a discount right then and there on his bill. Our customers come first always. We have worked very hard the last 5 years in showing every customer this. Some people simply cannot be pleased no matter how many times we try to explain how our billing system works. Honestly $62.50 is not worth us taking the time to place a lien on this property. We will just have to take the loss.

How **** went about this by being extremely disrespectful to me then leaving distorted reviews all over the internet slandering my company is just not right.

 

**** not mentioning he was dissatisfied with my company until after his final bill was over 3 weeks late seems a little strange. If **** would have paid his bill on time we would have never called and emailed him questioning where our payment was. That is just common sense. There was no threat. We have full right to place a lien on the property and also to add late fees as any other construction company would do with someone who refuses to pay for services rendered. I want to make it clear we never added any late fees ever nor have we placed a lien on this property.

I attached emails proving we did emailed **** every month a maintenance invoice clearly stating when payment was due.
I also attached an email proving **** and I spoke over the phone regarding how we run our maintenance and him approving $250 per month for maintenance service.
Lastly I attached an email where **** is stating he will give us what is owned, but now is refusing to pay.

Also in that last email is shows my office manager did politely explain over and over how our billing system works.




Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
I did make it known that I was not happy with the service quite a few times (nicely) but thought I would still prefer to end our relationship on good terms (so I thought). Had Jack not called and left the vm's and then called my friend and business partner making it personal, I would not have filed any complaint. I hope he takes this as a lesson in how to deal with people, when you tell someone that you're going to charge them late fees and put a lien on their property, that is a threat that will be taken seriously and with disdain, especially if you mention it to friends/acquaintances of theirs. I also do not appreciate him inferring that I do not have the capacity to pay him. In all interactions with him since I terminated service I have seen a totally different side and it has been all bad, so I'm glad I terminated service when I did. He could have made this alot easier on himself by talking with me calmly instead of yelling at me in our last phone conversation. I refuse to let a gardener or anyone for that matter talk to me like that and have never shown him any disrespect. All the best to him and his family.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Saunders Landscaping Construction
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart