Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hoover Horticultural Service

Phone: (916) 992-6990 Fax: (916) 992-8425 PO Box 13962, Sacramento, CA 95853 http://www.hooverhorticultural.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hoover Horticultural Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hoover Horticultural Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hoover Horticultural Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 1991 Business started: 04/26/1989 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 566188.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael Hoover, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Hoover, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Tips for Hiring a Tree Service

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 13962

    Sacramento, CA 95853 (916) 992-6990

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hoover Horticultural Service did not adequately finish work in our yard. I had to shovel dirt away to find the irrigation pipes that he promised to remove. And it took much of my time to understand the problem because I am not able to dig for long times. I have written a letter to the owner and have not received a response. From the USPS tracking number the certified letter might have been delivered to an incorrect zip code.

Desired Settlement: My first request to the owner: please read my letter and respond with an answer in my self addressed stamped envelope. If you did not receive my letter, please call me and tell me when you can come over to see how the irrigation system was left. I expect a response and a remedy within at least two weeks. Otherwise please refund me $1000.00 of my payment to you in the end of December 2015. thank you. sent Apr 29, 2016

Business Response:

The customer stated that she sent us a letter on April 18, but we did not receive it until April 29 (the same day the complaint was made to the BBB about us not responding to the letter). After replying to her letter, she sent us a copy of the signed contract from the job we did five months ago in December 2015. Mrs. ********* complaint was on the basis that we did not remove piping from her yard. However, as evidenced by the signed contract, the agreement was to remove the existing black flexible piping underground and replace it with the proper PVC pipes. As a favor, I am going back to the property on Monday, May 23, to dig up part of her yard to show her where the pipes lead to.

Based on the signed contract, Hoover Horticultural Service did in fact adequately complete the agreed upon work in Mrs. ********* yard.

Business Response: Hoover Horticultural Service followed the contract and charged the amount that was agreed upon in the contract. We removed the existing pipes and installed PVC pipes, as per the signed contract; the contract clearly states "pulling pipe and installing existing drip line (black) in PVC". We are not at fault that Mrs. ******* misinterpreted this.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: I specifically hired this company to remove the irrigation pipes in a single area in my yard. I DID NOT WANT ANY PIPES UNDER THE GROUND! He suggested removing the tree which I agreed. The roots of the tree were tangled with the pipes. I wanted these pipes removed.

**** HOOVER treated me very rudely when I had requested him to come only after 3 o'clock. I got home about 2:50 p.m. Everything was covered with dirt. I was willing to pay him for the tree removal and was not prepared on a Friday night before Christmas to write him the full amount and I wanted to be able to see his work. Later that night he insisted that I pay him the $1000 that was difficult for me to do and I still did not know about the pipes. I truly felt threatened. He owes me that money back or he can have his workers remove the few remaining pipes that are now a problem. I do not want him to come to my house again.

My yard still has ditches that show disconnected pipes and other pipes that I didn't want. And I have more to dig to see where one of the pipes goes. 

I have never had such a situation with anyone. 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hoover Horticultural Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)