Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

El Dorado Hills Landscape and Design Inc.

Phone: (530) 676-9329 Fax: (530) 676-8603 3941 Park Dr Ste 20-257, El Dorado Hls, CA 95762


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that El Dorado Hills Landscape and Design Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for El Dorado Hills Landscape and Design Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on El Dorado Hills Landscape and Design Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 28, 2003 Business started: 10/01/2001 in CA Business started locally: 10/01/2001 Business incorporated 03/13/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 809074.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gus Carcione, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gus Carcione, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Outdoor Kitchens Concrete Contractors Concrete - Custom Foundation Contractors Gutter Cleaning Mason Contractors Property Maintenance Awnings & Canopies Fireplaces Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance

Service Area
Sacramento CA and all surrounding areas.
Products & Services

El Dorado Hills Landscape and Design Inc. specializes in landscape maintenance, outdoor kitchens, concrete services, foundations, gutter cleaning, mason contracting, property mainetance, awning & canopy, fireplaces and lighting fixture services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

El Dorado Hills Landscape and Design Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3941 Park Dr Ste 20-257

    El Dorado Hls, CA 95762 (530) 676-9329

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE hired Mr *** ******** to replace all of our back yard patio and sidewalk concrete,including the removal and replacement of two walls of concrete garden blocks. During the process of removing the concrete and setting up the new concrete forms, a water line had to be moved so that the new placement would allow access for reattaching the drip system. After the concrete was poured and finished we had to wait until the concrete was firm enough to walk on. Then the clean-up crew came in, pulled out the forms, and started removing the remains of the old concrete and rebuilding the garden wall. They ran into a problem because there was now a 4 inch gap between the front wall and side wall. They tried to muscle it to fit be failed and left it incomplete.The second wall is perfectly aligned but they failed to butt-up the blocks end to end where there are now 1/2 inch gaps in that wall. I have repeatedly sent Mr Carcione e-mails regarding my concerns and asking him personally look at what I'm talking about. His responses are he was out of town, didn't have time, would send one of his crew out but nothing has happened. I have no choice but to file this complaint.

Desired Settlement: 1. Fix broken water line, and cover with new concrete.2. Complete rebuilding of both garden walls.

Business Response: We have received the *****' information and informed them we would take care of the minor issues and that this was an extremely busy time of the year for us. I did inform we would have those items address within next 2 weeks and that was just last week! It is scheduled for repairs this week. As well, the repairs are extremely minor and we are doing our very best to make these folks happy.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

The initial request for repairs was made April 29, 2915.  As of  yet, we have not been notified of a scheduled date and time.

On the same day following the above request,  Mr ******** said he would come by that Friday with his lead workman.

Mr ******* the lead workman showed up Friday by himself.  I pointed out the issues I had  and that was that, nothing accomplished.

On May 15, 2015 Mr ******** e-maild me saying that Mr ******* would be out the following Monday to fix the irrigation problems.  That was a no show.

Have not  received any correspondence since then.

We have no Idea when things will be taken of?

These may be minor repairs for Mr ********, but they a big issues for us.

We need these items fixed so that we can restore our backyard.


Business Response: I thought we had replied to this already... None the less, I wish there were a BBB for Contractors that could "screen" consumers! These clients have a short memory, they forget we waited and adjusted our Construction Calendar for well over 2 months for them because they had "other" things to deal with. No problem, however when they had a "warranty issue" they expected us to jump immediately and then ran and cried to the BBB because of our lack of follow up! Really, this is the first ridiculous complaint we've had against our account! Furthermore we did return and address an issue that had NOT A THING TO DO WITH our services! Our crews repaired a broken water line well below grade that we never touched nor modified. The materials that were repaired were very poor cheap materials used! Additionally I DID do a walk through with Mr. ****** I have crews to support that as well. Regarding the Drainage, we were responsible for any Drainage associated with the Concrete application, nothing "existing." Regarding the Block Walls, when we started the Block Walls were placed onto the Concrete, a very poor application and Mr. ***** knew that and even commented that it needed to be corrected. With that, we scaled back further spoils so that the rebuilt Block Walls would sit on a Gravel Based Footing and be installed properly. Any gaps are just a product of the material and application which was installed more sound than before!

We have fulfilled our commitments and responsibilities on this Project. We refuse to continue working for free and addressing "prior" issues with the *****' Backyard! We provide Quality Work and have soo many Happy Clients over the last 15 years. This complaint in just ludicrous!!!

Consumer Response:

On April 1, 2015 we agreed on the proposal’s cost and work to be done.

Payments were charged to my credit card on:

04-03-2015 - $500.00

04-16-2015 - $4,613.73

04-22-2015 - $3,650.42

04-28-2015 - $1,000.00

The project started the second week of April and was completed on April 28, 2015.

Point 1.

“….we waited and adjusted our construction calendar for well over 2 months….” ????? As stated above we agreed on the 1st of April and the project was completed by April 28, 2015.

Point 2.

“….they had a “warranty issue” they expected us to jump immediately….”    (refer to point 3), That water line provided water to our back yard trees, plants, vegetables and herb garden. When the watering cycle for that line came on, water came gushing out from under the new concrete, of course it was an emergency. So much for customer service.

Point 3.

“…we did return and address an issue that HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH our services! Our crews repaired a broken water line…” ????? When they removed the old concrete and laid out the new forms, a sprinkler/water line was located in the new pour area. (This sprinkle line had to be moved.  It was moved and relocated by El Dorado Hills Landscape & Design employees.  “) “….water line well below grade that we never touched nor modified.”?????    We never had a problem with this water line until it was relocated.

Point 4.

“…I DID do a walk through with Mr. *****.” Here he is correct, he did a walk through with me when the forms were being laid for the new pour, that’s the last time I saw Mr. ********.  He did not do a final walk through!  He sent me an e-mail on April 29, 2015 saying he would come by on May 1, 2015, the only person to show up was his employee Mr. *******, who could not address my concerns.  I take his unwillingness to do a final,  was due to the fact that he had already charged my credit card for the final payment on April 28, 2015, four days before the walk through was to be done.????.

Point 5.

Regarding the drainage…..”  Again Mr.  ******** is wrong, there was no formal request made to add/modify any drainage in the backyard.

Point 6.

Regarding the Block Walls…….”, “…a very poor application…” “…Mr. ***** new that…”  The discussion about the block walls came up when Mr. ******** said the walls would have to be moved off the old concrete so that they could lay the new forms. He said that was a very poor application, (placing the blocks on the concrete) I said, “I see that now that we have to replace the concrete.”  But other than that, the walls that I built were perfectly aligned with no gaps at all.  Mr. ******** said for an extra $1,495.00 he would have the walls removed and rebuilt. 

Any gaps are just a product of the materials and application…” I find this comment interesting, a product of materials? (**** ***** wouldn’t be pleased).  The young man that put up the garden wall did an excellent job in aligning all the blocks so that there were no gaps whatsoever.  He had a problem aligning the right corner of the wall with the connecting wall. Because they moved the wall back, there was a five inch gap created between the two walls. He tried to force the blocks to fit, they wouldn’t, so he just laid them the best he could.  That left an incomplete application.  The young man that did the second wall, went about it with no concern for uniformity, leaving a block wall filled with gaps. “…which was installed more sound than before!” “…we refuse to continue working for free”, “…we provide quality work.”??????

 

As I said in an earlier response, If Mr. ******** himself would have done the final walk through with me and seen with his own eyes what I was talking about, all of this could have be avoided.

Need I say more?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on El Dorado Hills Landscape and Design Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart