Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Classic Design Floor to Ceiling

Phone: (209) 334-4060 Fax: (209) 366-6820 2303 S Stockton St, Lodi, CA 95240 http://www.classicdesignftc.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Classic Design Floor to Ceiling offers a 3-tiered approach to Effortless Home Improvement:
* A 6000 sq. ft. showroom
* Professional designers on site
* Project Management and licensed installation for commercial and residential remodeling


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Classic Design Floor to Ceiling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Classic Design Floor to Ceiling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Design Floor to Ceiling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 29, 2007 Business started: 06/26/2006 in CA Business incorporated 05/18/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 886537.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tiffany Gomes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tiffany Gomes, President
Business Category

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Floor Coverings & Installation Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Cabinets Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Floors - Hardwood Window Shades Interior Decorators & Designers Window Coverings

Products & Services

Classic Design Floor to Ceiling sells the following brand(s): All major brands

Classic Design Floor to Ceiling offers the following product(s): All interior finish products

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, Discover, Check, Cash, In Store Financing (on approved credit)
Refund and Exchange Policy
In-stock merchandise and catalog orders, excluding sundries, may be returned for in-store credit within ten days only and must be accompanied by original sales receipt. Restocking fee of not to exceed 25% may apply.

Special orders and custom fabricated merchandise are non-cancellable and nonreturnable.
Service Area
California's Central Valley
Alternate Business Names
Estisa, Inc
Products & Services

This firm offer professional design services, products, project managment and installation for new and remodeled kitchens, baths, floors, and custom interiors.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 2303 S Stockton St

    Lodi, CA 95240 (209) 334-4060

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract(which did not include a Return Policy) was signed 12/4/14. Nor were returns discussed. Required 4 trips to CD to acquire all items over 5 days. Vanity was picked up on 12/09 and remained fully crated. On 12/19/14, Licensed Contractor ***** ******* uncrated vanity and mirror, consistent with the known project timeline. The vanity and mirror were found to be poorly manufactured and damaged.The mirror had a quarter sized patched area of damage.A piece of drawer apparatus fell to the cement when openedScratches/flaws in the vanity finish were notedSmall chunk of granite missing from the vanity top in f***tOverall poor craftsmanship/questionable material quality(This piece was touted as finely crafted designer quality/top of line made for CD by ****, Sales Associate.)On 12/19/14, numerous calls were made to Classic Design to resolve this issue, beseeching someone to visually inspect the merchandise. *******, CEO, returned the calls in late afternoon, stating any resolution was strictly at the manufacturer's discretion. She is merely a broker, but would hope for the best while speaking with the manufacturer. Classic Design took payment of $2,500(includes tax)from us for this vanity and mirror, not the unknown manufacturer.On 12/20 ****** and ******* ****** attempted to return the set to the showroom. General Manager *** ***** refused to credit charges or to inspect damage, only desired to retain the unit. Instructions from the Dispute Department of Barclay Master card were NOT to leave the vanity/mirror without receiving verification of credit to the account. Pictures were taken of the store f***t, with well secured vanity/mirror while speaking with Master card. Items were returned safely to the garage.Classic Design continues to deny any responsibility for this situation.On 12/30/14, ****** ****** received a certified letter from CD including an unforeseen Return Policy, Certificate Style and now a written request for photographic documentation, 10 days after attempted return.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of ******* ********* vanity and mirror only, $2500. This doesn't include the 7 items purchased from the Victorian Collection by Delta. Note: Contractor ***** ******* discovered 2 crimps in the Delta towel bar - front and back.Removal of aforementioned bath furniture from residence garage.

Business Response: On 12/4/14, ****** ****** purchased a variety of products from us, including a special order vanity and mirror. The purchase price for the vanity and mirror, including tax was $2494.57.

On 12/9/14, Ms. ****** came in with ****** ****** to pick up the vanity and mirror. She requested that we refund the entire purchase amount of $3802.17 and charge Mr. ******’s credit card for that amount because they wanted the “points” on his card. I accommodated this request. Their claim of four trips over five days to pick up their materials is unfounded as all items ordered were here within five days of the initial order date. Please note that our return policy is posted in 70 pt font at eye level, approximately 2 feet from where Ms. ****** initially signed the contract and Mr. ****** signed his credit card receipt.

On 12/19/14, Ms. ****** called Classic Design one time and requested to speak with a Manager. I promptly returned her call and she told me that the mirror and vanity had shipping damage and she wanted an immediate refund. I asked her if she would be able to send photos of the damage to my email and she agreed to do that. I explained that the manufacturer had the right to replace the damaged material in lieu of giving a full refund and that the ten-day delay between her picking up the material and calling to report damage may result in a denial of the damage claim. She then insisted that it had only been “a couple of days”
since she picked up the materials. She became extremely irate and called me a liar. She then looked at “her records” and saw that it was indeed the 9th. We ended the call with her saying she would email me photos right away.

Later that evening, Mr. ****** called our store and told the receptionist that if I didn’t call him immediately, he would drop off the vanity on Saturday. I called him back and he was extremely irate, demanding a
full and immediate refund, stating that his credit card company told him to bring back the merchandise. I asked if he had explained to his credit card company that all I needed were photos of the damage and that I was working to get him a refund. I further told him not to bring the vanity back on a Saturday because we are not staffed on the weekend in our warehouse. He told me he would call his credit card company and get back to me.

On 12/20/14, my receptionist called and said that Mr. ****** was in our building to return the vanity. Fortunately, *** *****, my General Manager was in the area and able to meet Mr. ******. He reiterated that we needed to contact the manufacturer to begin a shipping damage claim. Mr. ****** refused to unload the vanity without receiving a full refund and left without allowing Mr. ***** to inspect the vanity.

On 12/22/14, I sent a letter, certified mail to Ms. ****** reiterating the chain of events, and again requesting photos to begin the claim process.

On 1/7/15, I received a dispute from our credit card processing company and $2500 was removed from our account. After supplying the company with a detailed timeline of events, a copy of our posted Return Policy, Ms. ******'s signed contract with Classic Design and the certified letter I sent Ms. ******, the entire $2500 was returned to our account on 1/16/15. To date, I had not received any photos or any other proof of the alleged shipping damage.

It should be noted that Ms. ****** called and spoke with the original Sales Associate, **** ********, sometime between 12/4 and 12/9 and said she had found a cheaper faucet than the one she had bought from us and wanted her money back. Ms. ******** explained the differences (i.e. plastic vs. ceramic cartridge, lifetime warranty, etc.) between the faucet she purchased from us and the one she saw at Home Depot as well as our posted return policy and Ms. ****** acquiesced. Ms. ******’s refusal to submit any proof of the alleged shipping damages to the vanity and the mirror, the ten-day delay between picking up the materials and reporting the damages, the dispute of that same ten-day time period, Mr. ******’s refusal to let us inspect the vanity prior to receiving a refund, their obvious manipulation of the facts (for instance, their complaint states the vanity and mirror were of an "unknown manufacturer" and later state the manufacturer's name), and the other facts surrounding this situation have led to an unfortunate delay in any possible refund available to this client.

Classic Design Floor to Ceiling has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau and we have won dozens of awards for our exemplary service. We did not achieve this level of client recognition by being unreasonable and unaccommodating. As you can see, I even agreed to refund and reissue the charges on a different credit card at the customer’s request, even though it would cost us more in fees.

UPDATE: On 1/27/15, Ms. ****** and Mr. ****** returned the vanity and mirror along with photos of the alleged damage. We have begun a claim with the manufacturer and are awaiting their response.

Consumer Response: I wrote two responses to the business's rebuttal.  Neither of the three page responses could be added to the response window.  A blank page was in the window.   I re word processed the entire response printed it and drove it up to the BBB in West Sacramento. I was assured it would be added as I had written it.. It is important to clarify statements made about us before the complaint is placed on the internet.The business had written a very personalized account, which required mitigation..****** ** *** ****** *

Consumer Response: I will restart this message once more. I attempted to be edited and factual in my initial complaint.  The business response was a rather personal attack on my credibility.  I wrote a three page rebuttal, paragraph by paragraph.  I am unclear whether that rebuttal has been attached to the complaint.  I even printed a copy and hand carried it to the BBB in West Sacramento.  Should the entire complaint find it's way to the internet without my response attached, I would be very disturbed indeed.  In the end, we have resolved the issue with a refund.  I am satisfied with the resolution but still very dissatisfied with the entire experience. This was, again, the worst business interaction I have experienced in my entire life. It has been resolved once the refund goes through ****** **** and I know my rebuttal is attached.  I have discussed with ******* *, withdrawing the complaint, thus eliminating any internet exposure for all parties once these 2 last items are cleared.  Thank you for all your assistance and attention in this matter.  ****** ******

Consumer Response: Consumer states: I have received my refund and consider this matter closed but remain dissatisfied with the business practices and want the complaint to be published.

Consumer Response:

I do not accept this response because: Classic Design refuses to accept any responsibility for poor quality, poor construction, and damaged products. Be advised: *******, CEO, was not called "a lier' in any situation. A conversation with **** ******** was largely fabricated. Condescending sarcasm and personalization in order to attack my credibility will not alter the facts of this case. As a first time user of BBB's complaint system, I attempted to be very edited and factual. However this is the worst experience with a business I've ever suffered in 60 years. The personalized nature of *******'s response compels greater specificity from her clients.

The resolution is a refund from Classic Design of $249.00 (vanity&mirror) of the $3800.17 total order on 12/04/2014. The unit has been returned already per legal council with additional photographs detailing construction and damage issues (causation of damage my be from shipping or poor construction-unknown). Please see original complaint for the  damage list.

At no time were refunds requested for the Delta faucet set; Delta shower ensemble and valve: Delta Handle: Delta Towel bars; Delta Toilet roll Hanlde. These were paid (although one towel bar was crimped)and not contested. (I considered this an early compromise.) On 12/4/14, **** ******** intimidated I was receiving a "contractor's discount" which brought the pricing well below retail. Later, I discovered the prices of the Delta Ceramic faucet, shower and accessories to be double retail. Mrs. ******** at length described the superior quality, workmanship, and lifetime warranty afforded all products offered by Classic Design, emphasizing how Classic Design stands behind all purchases.

Imagine my angst, when the vanity was uncrated by my contractor, ***** ** 12/19/14, damaged with poor quality construction. Immediately, I placed 3 calls to Classic Design, reaching **** who stated the following: "We didn't make it! You must deal with the Manufacturer. I'm a broker!

Requesting a manager: She is on vacation!

At this point, I had lost all confidence in the business as reputable and the proprietor as available to make a good faith effort to resolve the issue. As a contractor, ******* should aprpeciate the stress of renovation at Christmas, and now her clients have no bathroom for arriving guests. ****** ****** also attempted to call ******* at 3:22pm. She returned his call in the evening. 

******* called me sometime later that afternoon after I had left my home. It was December 19, the day the renovation was to be completed in time for guests. Originally, I was mistaken about the time frame, perhaps my surgery on December 16th at St. Joseph's Hospital affected time lapse perception (occurs commonly). After reviewing the Classic Design Receipt, I concurred it was 9 days since we retrieved the vanity. Again, I was told it was at the complete discretion of the manufacturer to issue a refund to me. ******* was only a broker. I pleaded for someone to come look at it, having only a few photographs on a cell phone. With no sense of urgency, ******* stated she was unavailable until Monday at 8am. I sent those to the email ******* gave me over the phone.

Classic Design was well informed of the timeline of my project, and vanities are one of the last items installed in a full Bathroom renovation.

On December 20th, ****** and his son attempted to return the Vanity/Mirror to CD, requesting an account credit per ****** **** Dispute instructions. *** *****, General Manager refused to issue a credit; nor did he seek to inspect the unit as I already stated. The Vanity/Mirror remained outside of the showroom over 30 minutes. No attempt was made to block inspection. No attempt was made to inspect it all, by Mr. *****.

There was no further communication, until a Certified letter arrived December 25,2014. The letter prohibited further non-written exchange. We sough legal advice for right and remedies. On January 26, the vanity/mirror was, again, taken to Classic/design with 8x10 photos of damage and poor quality construction. This time it was received Mr. ***** took cell phone photos of the unit. (inferior quality photos)

Please note: Classic Design delayed resolution of this conflict to service their own best interests in pursuing and preserving a high retail profit. Classic Design appears to lack an incentive to pursue a refund for us.

Please note: ******* accuses me of fact manipulation in stating manufacturer was unknown; subsequently stating the manufacturer's name. I know now the unit was MADE IN CHINA, and the top of the line designer is ******** *********. Who is the manufacturer? Who is manipulating facts here?

?PLEASE NOTE: There was no Return Policy in the signed contract. Nor it was discussed. Neither a prominent sign. Perhaps ******* is mistaken about the location.

I would like to qualify the following item which ******* felt was unfounded. The facts are: I was called repeatedly to acquire products. 12/3 12/4 to order; returned 12/5 for shower head, handle, valve; 12/6 for faucet and accessories but faucet wasn't there.; 12/7 closed; 12/8 faucet itself; 12/9 to pick up vanity/mirror. YES, that's four trips, *******.

PLEASE NOTE:

We are contesting with ****** ****, as I write, to revoke, again, the $2,500 refund to CD's account. It is our right to do so. After we have the opportunity to respond to your charges, it is very likely, indeed, your current refund will be revoked.

IN CLOSING, I read your accolades section of this rebuttal. But, it's not all hearts and flowers, is it? I quickly found a prior BBB complaint and a complaint on Yelp. I have no doubt there are others, very unhappy, who just walked away.?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Design Floor to Ceiling
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)