Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rogers Jewelry Company

Find a Location

Phone: (209) 578-1873 Fax: (209) 578-0445 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 3151, Modesto, CA 95353

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


In 1937 Harry Marks & Dr.Moon founded Rogers Jewelry. With vision, foresight & dedication, the founders built their company on the principles of providing quality jewelry, friendly service & credit while maintaining the highest standard of integrity.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rogers Jewelry Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rogers Jewelry Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 05, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1937 in CA Business incorporated 07/01/1940 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Roger Marks, CEO Mrs. Lori Arnold, Human Resources Ms. Jayme Bond, Credit Department Mr. David Kirk, Store Manager Mr. Bart Marks, Vice President Mr. Robert Marks, President/CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Marks, President/CFO
Principal: Mr. Roger Marks, CEO
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Jewelry Repair Jewelry Designers

Hours of Operation
Manager: Nathan Gowan
Service Area
Central Valley
Alternate Business Names
Rogers Jewelry Company Inc.
Products & Services

Roger Jewelry Company is a jewelry store that specializes in custom jewelry design and jewelry repair.

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ring priced at 459.00 for over 30 days. When attempting to purchase the sales clerk stated the tag inside the ring said 750.00 We visited rogers jewelers on several occassions which during the first visit over 30 days ago we spotted a ring for our 20th anniversary that I fell in love with. We visited rogers again a week ago for ring cleaning and once again admired the ring. On both ococcasions the ring was priced at 459.00 on a marker which stood soley in front of this one ring that stood alone from all other displays. My husband attempted to purchase the ring on 11/30 at which time the sales clerk stated the ring was 750.00 and that the price displayed was incorrect. He informed them this was false advertising of an item for over a month. They then stated the best they could do is knock off 100.00 for their error. Business ownera cannot advertise an item then change their mind.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking to purchase the ring as the price advertised for over a month. 459.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response
The "advertising" the customer is referring to consists of a piece of clear plastic tape with a price written on it that is then attached to a display element containing several rings, some of which are also priced in a similar manner. Salespeople are instructed to be careful to place rings back in the proper slot after showing them. Inevitably, however, human beings make mistakes. It is almost unavoidable that in the course of normal business at the store level some item somewhere will end up next to a sign indicating a price for different piece, sometimes higher priced, sometimes lower. I recently had a similar experience at Home Depot. I was shopping for a Webber BBQ and found one I knew was worth $700 next to a sign that said $299. Of course the sign had been inadvertently placed next to the wrong BBQ. Home Depot apologized for the mistake, but did not agree to sell me the Webber for $299, nor did they offer me any accommodation to make up for their error. I could buy the $299 BBQ for $229, or the $700 Webber for $700. When Rogers officially advertises any item as a company, we have the opportunity to double check for errors. Even so, we still make occasional mistakes. In our Christmas catalogue last year for example we listed an item at an incorrect (lower) price. In that case we honored the lower price because the catalogue was mailed to our customers homes and represented official advertising. Some people may have visited our store because they saw that particular item at that particular price. But those kinds of mistakes are rare and avoidable. There is no doubt we should have caught the mistake. It is impossible to avoid mistakes at the store level, however. We can't have eyes everywhere. Suppose a salesperson were to accidentally set a $10,000 ring behind a sign that said $299? Would we then need to sell the ring for $299? The store manager acknowledges that the wrong ring was placed in the $459 slot, but insists that the error did not continue for anywhere near 30 days. Regardless he did offer a generous and reasonable accommodation to make up for our mistake, deducting $100 from the correct ticketed price of the item. The customer's husband initially accepted the offer, but then his credit card was declined. There is unfortunately nothing we can do about the decline of his credit card. That issue is between him and his credit card provider. If necessary we can provide a record of the declined transaction.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rogers Jewelry Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)