This business is not BBB accredited.

Auctiva Corporation

Phone: (530) 892-9191 Fax: (530) 894-7401 View Additional Phone Numbers 360 E 6th St, Chico, CA 95928 http://www.auctiva.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auctiva Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Auctiva Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 2001 Business started: 09/01/1998 in CA Business started locally: 09/01/1998 Business incorporated 08/31/1999 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jeff Schlicht, CEO Becky Bruce, HR Mr. Michael Davies, Customer Support Manager Mr. Mike Effle, CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Davies, Customer Support Manager
Principal: Jeff Schlicht, CEO
Business Category

Internet Services Internet Auction Service

Products & Services

Auctiva Corporation offers the following product(s): Company offers eBay auction management system services.

Industry Tips
Shopping Online, By Catalog, Mail, or Telephone

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Auctiva Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    360 E 6th St

    Chico, CA 95928 (530) 894-7400 (530) 892-9191

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: back in may of 2015 i signed up for there 30 day free trial run, and canceled after 30 days. and now its java script is on my e-bay description section, and customers tell me they can see it. i have over 1500 listing and i have to backspace all of there java script to get rid of it. i get no where calling these people, and ***** says they can not undo there doings.

Desired Settlement: get there java script off my ***** account

Business Response:

Dear BBB Team,

Thanks for making us aware of this complaint.

We actually do have a tool which may remove the Auctiva scrolling gallery code from the complainant’s active listings, provided **** will still allow the descriptions to be revised, but we cannot do this successfully at present because the account has been closed and we no longer have the ability to interact with her **** account as a result.

For future reference, this topic is covered on the following page of our FAQ: **************************************************************************************************************

In any event, if the complainant contacts our Customer Support team directly from under the “Help” tab on our site, we will be happy to assist her further with this matter.

Basically, she will need to temporarily reactivate her account, generate a new token to link her Auctiva account with her **** account once again, and then we will be able to run the tool we have available which is designed to remove this content from her active listings.

Sincerely,
******* ******
Customer Support Manager
Auctiva Corporation

9/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used auctionsniper.com to bid on an **** item, I then purchased the item directly on **** using buy it now. I had forgotten to cancel my bid with auction sniper, and for some reason it wasn't automatically cancelled.Days later auctionsniper.com sends me an email saying I won the item with them, which is INCORRECT, as I used ****, and auctionsniper.com doesn't support buy it now. Now Auctionsniper.com says I owe them $9, and I cannot use my existing $4.50 credit I have with them. Even after a support request I was not helped, and they seem to not care about the fraudulent behavior of their service.

Desired Settlement: I request that Auctiva Corporation remove the fraudulent $9 charge, and allows me to use my existing $4.50 credit that I already paid for in the past, so that I can use it for future bids.I request that Auctiva Corporation fixes this obvious glitch for future customers, so that the bid is automatically cancelled, when the item is purchased using buy it now on eBay.If this cannot be done, I request my $4.50 to be sent back to me via PayPal, or check by mail, and that my account be CLOSED.

Business Response: Hi BBB Team,

Thanks for bringing this complaint to our attention.

I have reviewed the complaint's account and confirmed that he has already contacted our Customer Support team regarding this matter through the Auction Sniper website, and we were already in the process of working with him at the time he filed this complaint.

It is true that he was still charged a snipe fee on this item, even though it was purchased using the “Buy it Now” price before the auction came to a close, but that behavior was expected because the complainant did not cancel the snipe (automated bid) he had scheduled through our system.

It is not common for users to purchase (or bid on) items directly through **** after having scheduled snipes on those items through our service but, given the circumstances, all the complainant had to do to ensure he would not be charged a snipe fee for the item is to cancel the snipe he had scheduled as described in the following FAQ:

*******************************************************

In any event, I have gone ahead and issued a credit of $9.00 to the complainant’s account to reimburse him for the snipe fee he was charged on the item in question, and we will consider adding functionality that would automatically cancel snipes under these circumstances with a future site update.

If he would still like to cancel his account and receive a refund of his prepaid balance, he will just need to reply to his open Customer Support ticket, or reply once more to this complaint, to confirm he would like to do so, and we can accommodate his request.

Sincerely,
******* ******
Customer Support Manager
*****************

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been using auctionsniper.com for several years to place my eBay bids for me, in the last seconds of the auction. It has been very reliable except in the last few months. My bids have not been placed and I have lost 6 auctions because of it. They blame eBay, saying they are asking for verification for security and they needed a credit card for me on file. I did so and the issue continues. Each and every time I file a report and they do not contact me back or respond in any way. I think they are covering the fact that there are internal issues with providing their service but they do not want to admit and lose credibility. They ask questions about my personal computers' operating system but that shouldn't matter because my computer could be unplugged and it should work because their system places the bids, not the individual bidder. I am disabled and eBay is in important way for me to support myself. They are interfering with my ability to make a living and taking no responsibility for it or providing a reason or a solution. If they can not provide the service, they should not be claiming to be able to do so-clearly false claims and advertising.

Desired Settlement: For this issue to be personally addressed and the issue fixed in a TIMELY MANNER and/or a TRUTHFUL explanation of the issue by a qualified "supervisor" of their support department....OR....A REFUND of the funds I have placed in advance for future services. They do not charge if you do not win and have lost a couple hundred in revenue but can not ask for since no service was provided. (part of their scam)

Business Response: Dear BBB Team,

Thanks for making us aware of this complaint.

I have attempted to look into the complainant’s report, but have been unable to do so because there are no accounts in our system associated with her provided email address of ***********************
However, there have been occasions recently during which **** has presented us with additional verification steps when attempting to place bids on behalf of our customers, which our software is simply unable to bypass, and it sounds like she most likely had one or more snipes fail to be placed as a result.

Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do from our side of things to ensure a bid is placed successfully when **** adds these additional verification steps to our attempts to access our users’ **** accounts in order to place bids on their behalf.

If she writes back and provides me with the username and/or email address on file with her account, I will be happy to look into this matter further and will be able to confirm whether she has indeed been impacted by the aforementioned issue as I suspect.

If she currently has a prepaid balance and will no longer be using our service due to the issues she has experienced, we will certainly be able to refund that remaining prepaid balance back to the payment method she used to deposit those funds.

In order to receive a refund of her prepaid balance, she will just need to make that request to our Customer Support team by mousing over the “Help” tab on our site, selecting the “Contact Support” option and sending us a message to that effect.

Alternatively, if she provides me with her username and/or password via this channel and confirms that she would like her prepaid balance refunded, I could take care of that as well.

Please don’t hesitate to let me know if you have any further questions matter.

Sincerely,
******* ******
Customer Support Manager
AuctionSniper.com


7/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AuctionSentry is a nice product designed to be used with ****, but they recently have raised their prices SUBSTANTIALLY. And, their product has not changed in the least. It is only one of many bidding software in the marketplace, so if it were unique or patented, I could see it being more valuable.But, it used to be less expensive, which is shown below:3 Year LicenseCompleted6/11/2011$28.95until 6/11/20143 Year LicenseCompleted6/9/2008$28.95until 6/9/2011Now, it is $4.95 per month, month-to-month. That is $297 for 3 years versus $28.95 which is a 1000% percent increase. Yes, you have that right!!!This is ridiculous. Even a year is $60 (HOPEFULLY, if they keep their prices the same) versus $9.65 before my subscription ran out.So, I am posting this because this is not EQUITABLE, NOR FAIR, and DISHONEST business practices. This is PRICE-GOUGING!!!Thank you for hearing me. I hope you make them change their dishonest ways.Thanks.

Desired Settlement: I want a rate similar to what I was paying, because I want to be a loyal customer. Otherwise, I will seek to be a LOYAL CUSTOMER TO SOMEONE ELSE!!!

Business Response: Hi BBB Team,

Thanks for making us aware of this complaint.

Although we did previously offer 3 year plans like the complainant purchased back in 2011, we implemented a new pricing structure a couple years ago and our software now entails a subscription fee of $4.95 per month.

We understand this represents a substantial increase from our old pricing, but our new rate is comparable to many similar services and is still a great value if used regularly.

It is regrettable that the complainant has taken such serious issue with our new pricing, but we will not be able to offer him the opportunity to renew at a rate similar to his previous one as he has requested.

Regardless, we appreciate the feedback.

If you have any other questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to let me know.

Sincerely,
******* ******
Customer Support Manager
Auction Sentry Software

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of Auctiva for a number of years. As I had discontinued selling on eBay, I wanted to terminate my Auctiva account but had been too busy to let them know. My bank account was subject to an annual direct debit arrangement (payment in advance) and on Dec 23, 2013, Auctiva debited US$99.50 from my account. This prompted me to act. So I immediately looked at my options to contact them regarding terminating my account and seeking a refund. It was only then that I discovered (as some of your other complainants have pointed out), Auctiva is a company which does not want personal contact with its loyal clients. It has set up its communications so that I, as one of their clients, cannot email them, so I have no ability to have an external, official, record of my contact with them. They only have their own internal communication channel called 'File a Support Case'. You can ring a phone number but you can't speak with a live person - just leave a message which they can respond to or not. Again, you have no record of any message left. I filed 4 'File a Support Case' messages politely requesting a refund of the funds debited from my account. But I didn't get a response, presumably because it involved a refund to me!! I think this way of conducting business is reprehensible. If Auctiva believes it is smart business practice to make it impossible for people to have either email or phone contact with am Auctiva representative, then they are kidding themselves. It is just plain dumb. It wastes so much valuable time and engenders a great deal of frustration and anger. It alienates past loyal clients who instead of being treated with the respect, efficiency, and promptness they deserve, are treated like outcasts unworthy of even being responded to. In my case, it appears as if Auctiva have taken my money and have no interest in making a perfectly legitimate refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the funds debited from my account because I have not used any of Auctiva's services and I informed them immediately I was aware of the debit transaction.

Business Response:

Dear BBB Team,

Thanks for making us aware of this complaint.

I checked our records and it appears the complainant was indeed charged $99.50 on December 23, 2013 for the renewal of his prepaid annual plan that was subscribed to through his Auctiva account with username “**************”.

Since he has expressed that he did not want his subscription to renew, I have placed his account on our Free Plan to prevent any further charges and refunded this payment back to his credit card. He should be able to confirm that his account is now on our Free Plan by mousing over the “My Account” tab within his account and selecting the “My Plan Info” option.

If he would prefer to close his account entirely, he can do so at any time by clicking (not mousing over) the “My Account” tab within his account, clicking the “Cancel Account” link on the ensuing page and then proceeding as directed.

Although I am certainly sorry to hear that he had such a difficult time trying to contact us regarding this matter, I am not certain why that was the case.

I reviewed our support case records and was unable to locate any cases about this request, at least that were filed using the username or email address on file with the account. I am also not sure what number he may have tried to call to reach us but, if he were to have left a message, he should have received a phone call back.


I hope this clears things up.  If you have any additional questions regarding this complaint, please feel free to let me know.

Sincerely,

Michael Davies
Customer Support Manager
Auctiva Corporation

 

Business Response:

Dear BBB Team,

Thanks for making us aware of this complaint.

I checked our records and it appears the complainant was indeed charged $99.50 on December 23, 2013 for the renewal of his prepaid annual plan that was subscribed to through his Auctiva account with username “**************”.

Since he has expressed that he did not want his subscription to renew, I have placed his account on our Free Plan to prevent any further charges and refunded this payment back to his credit card. He should be able to confirm that his account is now on our Free Plan by mousing over the “My Account” tab within his account and selecting the “My Plan Info” option.

If he would prefer to close his account entirely, he can do so at any time by clicking (not mousing over) the “My Account” tab within his account, clicking the “Cancel Account” link on the ensuing page and then proceeding as directed.

Although I am certainly sorry to hear that he had such a difficult time trying to contact us regarding this matter, I am not certain why that was the case.

I reviewed our support case records and was unable to locate any cases about this request, at least that were filed using the username or email address on file with the account. I am also not sure what number he may have tried to call to reach us but, if he were to have left a message, he should have received a phone call back.


I hope this clears things up.  If you have any additional questions regarding this complaint, please feel free to let me know.

Sincerely,

Michael Davies
Customer Support Manager
Auctiva Corporation

 

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an account with Auctiva Corporation as a advertiser for my ebay account. I pay $9.95 per month for use of their service. However, I have not sold any products on ebay in approximately 3 months. I am charged by auctiva for image hosting. Since I have not used my ebay for selling, I of course have not needed to use auctiva. But the company has charged for going over my plan even though it has been in use. I paid their requested fees $19.95 to get back onto the site to use again. Unfortunately according the website I cannot use unless I upgrade. I have no intentions of upgrading since the plan I have used for quite sometime is perfect. I have tried emails and left numerous messages on voicemail to resolve the issue but no response to either which leads me believe this company needs to be investigated for fraud. I would like to request my money back since I can no longer use the site. I also deleted hundreds of images to get below required image hosting use. It still will not allow me to use site.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting to have account turned back on with no upgrade or refund my money and have auctiva investigated by outside source, possibly getting the Attorney Generals office involved.

Business Response:

Thanks for making us aware of this complaint. 

 

I have actually spoken to Mr. ****** regarding this matter through our support system since this complaint was filed and there appears to have been some confusion surrounding the charges in question.

 

He was charged a total of $19.90 in additional image hosting fees, but they were actually related to the months of October and November of 2013 when he was actively using the account.  However, due to the manner in which his account was funded manually, these fees were paid much later than the specific months that they related to.

 

Although it would generally have been necessary for the complaint to close his account or move to our Free Plan to avoid incurring charges during the months he was not selling on eBay, his subscription ended up being canceled automatically because we were unable to successfully bill his outstanding balance using his automatic payment method so he actually did not incur any fees for the months during which he was not using the service.

 

Even though the additional image hosting fees he incurred in this case were legitimate, he has since reduced his image hosting usage to within his plan allowance and I have refunded the $19.90 he was charged back to him as a courtesy in effort to retain his business.  I have also placed him back on the Unlimited Plan he was subscribed to previously.

 

Based on my most recent communications with the complainant, I am under the impression that we have reached a mutually agreeable resolution at this point.

 

Please feel free to let me know if you have any other questions

 

Sincerely,

******* ******

Customer Support Manager

Auctiva Corporation

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account was hijactesd and Auctiva knew it was and never notifiesd me. Then triee to charge my credit card with a fee.

Desired Settlement: Refund. I want compensation for my time and the what it took to resolve the problem.

Business Response:

Dear BBB Team,

 

Thanks for making us aware of this complaint.

 

I have just reviewed the situation in question and, while it does appear Mr. ******** Auctiva account with username “*******” was accessed by an unauthorized party, we were not aware of this until he contacted us about the situation so I must respectfully disagree with his assertion that we knew his account has been “hijacked” and failed to notify him.

 

According to our records, the complainant contacted a member of our Customer Support team on January 2, 2014 to report that his Auctiva account had been compromised and that he received an invoice for $5.31 as a result of the subscription selected by the unauthorized party who had gained access to his account.

 

At that time, we promptly reversed the unauthorized charges and placed the account back on the Free Plan which it was on prior to the unauthorized access.  The account was then closed by the user on January 3, 2014 and remains closed to this day.

 

We would certainly be happy to help if any additional action were required to help secure the account, but I do not believe anything further is required at this point.  However, we will not be able to offer the complainant financial compensation due to these circumstances as he requested.

 

Please feel free to let me know if you have any other questions about this.

 

Sincerely,

******* ******

******** ******* *******

Auctiva Corporation

 

Business Response:

Dear BBB Team,

Thanks for making us aware of the latest response to this complaint.

Based on this additional information, I am now relatively certain that I understand how the complainant's Auctiva account came to be accessed without his authorization in the first place.

Since his account was compromised just after he was prompted to generate a new token through an email which appeared to be from us, I believe the email in question was most likely a “phishing” email which - although designed to look like it originated from us - was actually sent to him by a hacker with the intention of stealing his login credentials.

I would need to review the email in question to be absolutely certain of this but, assuming that was the case, the link in the email he received would have taken him to a site modeled after ours which is not actually hosted on the “auctiva.com” domain. Consequently, entering his login details on that page would have sent them right to the hacker who created the email and associated page, who would then have the ability to access his account.

We do everything in our power to shut down these “phishing” sites when we become aware of them but, unfortunately, this is a very common practice with respect to services for which account credentials can be abused (such as those related to eBay) and has become something that all users must be wary of.

For additional useful information about “phishing”, also known as “spoof”, emails, I recommend he review the following articles:

http://www.auctiva.com/edu/entry.aspx?id=Dont-Get-Phished-In

http://www.auctivablog.com/uncategorized/2013/01/how-to-deal-with-fraudulent-emails
http://www.auctiva.com/help/faq/question/how-can-i-report-spoof-emails

Also, if he receives any further suspicious emails which are designed as if they originated from our company, we would appreciate it if he follows the instructions below to provide us with the information necessary to take further action:

Step 1:  It is extremely important that you provide the email message header, which provides details as to the origin of the message. The header information also provides the path the message  took to arrive in your inbox. This information is invaluable in tracking down spammers.  It is required as proof by the ISP’s when we notify them.

The following Google document outlines the procedure to obtain email header information from various email clients:  http://support.google.com/mail/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=22454

Step 2:  Paste the email header and page source into an email and send it to abuse@auctiva.com.

As I have acknowledge previously, I understand that his Auctiva account was accessed by an unauthorized party and that is certainly regrettable, but we were not aware of that prior to when he contacted us about the situation as alleged in the initial complaint.

Sincerely,

******* ******
******** ******* *******
Auctiva Corporation

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******
This statement is a lie:
I am rejecting this response because:As I have acknowledge previously, I understand that his Auctiva account was accessed by an unauthorized party and that is certainly regrettable, but we were not aware of that prior to when he contacted us about the situation as alleged in the initial complaint.

Sincerely,

****** ******

1/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rip Off Artists Make It Virtually Impossible to get assistance. Took near $1000 from my account fraudulently. Poor Service, Evade Issue Of Fraud. Company fraudulently charged me near $1000. Do not respond to inquiries, have attempted to resolve issue since 2011! Then find out they have been charging me 2x monthly for 36 months. Contacted them via website over and over, they do not seem to want to communicate with customers, finally when I blocked them from charging me at all, a phone number popped up (obviously when getting more money from me is at stake) the man who finally answered sounded like he worked at home, very short with me, condescending, rude, and annoyed. Passes the buck, and no sure way to get to the next step which is returning stolen funds. Image hosting charges are based on GB used, yet they do not let you delete images.

Desired Settlement: I want my images off of your site, and done by your company. I want my money back for the last 36 months stolen from my account as well as all the image hosting fee overages charged to me on the account I agreed to use returned to my account.

Business Response:

Thanks for making us aware of this complaint.  I have reviewed the details provided by the complainant and I must respectfully disagree her outlook on this situation. 

 

I certainly understand that she is frustrated, but her claims that we have “stolen” money from her and that we have been charging her for images that we are not allowing her to delete from her account are patently false.  Contrary to her assertions, all of the payments she is referring to are related to legitimate charges associated with the subscriptions she has selected for her accounts.

 

Based on our previous communications with Ms. *******, I am under the impression that she is primarily concerned with her Auctiva accounts with usernames “******” and “********”. 

 Specifically, she has expressed that she would like a refund of all the subscription fees which have been charged in association with her account with username “******” and is under the impression she has been charged additional image hosting fees for images in her “********” account that she has already deleted, so I will proceed to address each of those concerns.

 First of all, I was able to confirm that she signed up for the Unlimited Plan through the Auctiva account with username “******” on May 8, 2011.  The account was moved to our Free Plan on January 8, 2013 by a member of our Customer Support team, at which time the outstanding charge for the current month was reversed and the payment that was collected for December 2013 was refunded to her Paypal account.

 I will not be able to refund all of the subscription fees that have been collected with respect to this account since the subscription was created so long ago but, after reviewing the circumstances of her case, I have been able to refund 4 additional subscription payments of $9.95 each back to her Paypal account.  Even though these charges were legitimate, we have effectively reversed the last 6 months of subscription fees associated with the account at this point.

 

I also reviewed her Auctiva account with username “********” and, although she has been getting charged additional fees for exceeding the image hosting allowance included with her plan, she has *not* been getting charged for images that she has marked as deleted as she has claimed.  Since these additional image hosting fees are legitimate based on her usage, I will not be able to refund any of these fees as she requested.

 

Her image hosting usage that these additional fees are based on (when applicable) only takes into account images that are on her Image Management page, not those which have already been marked as deleted.  By clicking the “Images” tab within her account and looking in the section labeled “My Image Hosting Usage”, I was able to see that she is currently using 1.46 GB of image hosting space and that her peak usage during this month was 1.50 GB.

 

In order to make it so she does not incur any more additional image hosting fees moving forward, she would need to delete enough images from her Image Management page to bring her image hosting usage down below 1 GB. On the other hand, if she keeps her image hosting usage between 1 GB and 1.5 GB, she would only be charged $9.95 (instead of $19.90) per month for extra image hosting space.

 

We will not be able to remove any images from her account for her, but we offer a variety of different tools to help our users delete unwanted images from their accounts, many of which are detailed on the following page of our FAQ: http://www.auctiva.com/help/faq/question/how-do-i-delete-images

 

I truly cannot offer a definitive explanation for why she has had such a difficult time contacting us, but I did notice that she has contacted us using several different email addresses, at least one of which (**************@gmail.com) is not even associated with an Auctiva account.  Regardless, we have responded to each support ticket she has filed and each response was sent back to her at the email address on file for the case.

 

She should also be able to view any support tickets she has filed from the email address on file with any of her accounts by logging into the desired account, mousing over the  “Help” tab and selecting the “Check Support Case” option.

 

I do see that she has contacted us before to express that she has been unable to permanently delete images from the “Deleted Images” page within her account but we have not been able to attribute the difficulties she described to any technical issues on our side of things and, in each case, the conversation ended after we requested additional information for troubleshooting purposes.

 

However, as I mentioned previously, the images that are only available on her Deleted Images page are *not* counted against her current image hosting usage which has led to her incurring additional image hosting fees, so her apparent inability to remove the images she has marked as deleted from that area within her account does not have any relationship to the additional image hosting fees in dispute.

 

Finally, I have attempted to call her back personally approximately ten times during the two weeks following the telephone conversation she mentioned having with a member of our team on January 8, 2014 and was never able to reach her.  I also left her voicemails on several of these occasions inviting her to call me back and have not received a response.

 

Once it became apparent that my efforts to contact her over the phone were fruitless, I decided  to email her directly at all three email addresses associated with the accounts in question (********@comcast.net, ***********@gmail.com and *******@comcast.net) and did not receive a reply to that attempt to contact her either.

 

Please feel free to let me know if you have any other questions regarding this situation.

 

Sincerely,

Michael Davies

Customer Support Manager

Auctiva Corporation

Business Response:

Thanks for making us aware of this complaint.  I have reviewed the details provided by the complainant and I must respectfully disagree her outlook on this situation. 

 

I certainly understand that she is frustrated, but her claims that we have “stolen” money from her and that we have been charging her for images that we are not allowing her to delete from her account are patently false.  Contrary to her assertions, all of the payments she is referring to are related to legitimate charges associated with the subscriptions she has selected for her accounts.

 

Based on our previous communications with Ms. *******, I am under the impression that she is primarily concerned with her Auctiva accounts with usernames “******” and “********”. 

 Specifically, she has expressed that she would like a refund of all the subscription fees which have been charged in association with her account with username “******” and is under the impression she has been charged additional image hosting fees for images in her “********” account that she has already deleted, so I will proceed to address each of those concerns.

 First of all, I was able to confirm that she signed up for the Unlimited Plan through the Auctiva account with username “******” on May 8, 2011.  The account was moved to our Free Plan on January 8, 2013 by a member of our Customer Support team, at which time the outstanding charge for the current month was reversed and the payment that was collected for December 2013 was refunded to her Paypal account.

 I will not be able to refund all of the subscription fees that have been collected with respect to this account since the subscription was created so long ago but, after reviewing the circumstances of her case, I have been able to refund 4 additional subscription payments of $9.95 each back to her Paypal account.  Even though these charges were legitimate, we have effectively reversed the last 6 months of subscription fees associated with the account at this point.

 

I also reviewed her Auctiva account with username “********” and, although she has been getting charged additional fees for exceeding the image hosting allowance included with her plan, she has *not* been getting charged for images that she has marked as deleted as she has claimed.  Since these additional image hosting fees are legitimate based on her usage, I will not be able to refund any of these fees as she requested.

 

Her image hosting usage that these additional fees are based on (when applicable) only takes into account images that are on her Image Management page, not those which have already been marked as deleted.  By clicking the “Images” tab within her account and looking in the section labeled “My Image Hosting Usage”, I was able to see that she is currently using 1.46 GB of image hosting space and that her peak usage during this month was 1.50 GB.

 

In order to make it so she does not incur any more additional image hosting fees moving forward, she would need to delete enough images from her Image Management page to bring her image hosting usage down below 1 GB. On the other hand, if she keeps her image hosting usage between 1 GB and 1.5 GB, she would only be charged $9.95 (instead of $19.90) per month for extra image hosting space.

 

We will not be able to remove any images from her account for her, but we offer a variety of different tools to help our users delete unwanted images from their accounts, many of which are detailed on the following page of our FAQ: http://www.auctiva.com/help/faq/question/how-do-i-delete-images

 

I truly cannot offer a definitive explanation for why she has had such a difficult time contacting us, but I did notice that she has contacted us using several different email addresses, at least one of which (**************@gmail.com) is not even associated with an Auctiva account.  Regardless, we have responded to each support ticket she has filed and each response was sent back to her at the email address on file for the case.

 

She should also be able to view any support tickets she has filed from the email address on file with any of her accounts by logging into the desired account, mousing over the  “Help” tab and selecting the “Check Support Case” option.

 

I do see that she has contacted us before to express that she has been unable to permanently delete images from the “Deleted Images” page within her account but we have not been able to attribute the difficulties she described to any technical issues on our side of things and, in each case, the conversation ended after we requested additional information for troubleshooting purposes.

 

However, as I mentioned previously, the images that are only available on her Deleted Images page are *not* counted against her current image hosting usage which has led to her incurring additional image hosting fees, so her apparent inability to remove the images she has marked as deleted from that area within her account does not have any relationship to the additional image hosting fees in dispute.

 

Finally, I have attempted to call her back personally approximately ten times during the two weeks following the telephone conversation she mentioned having with a member of our team on January 8, 2014 and was never able to reach her.  I also left her voicemails on several of these occasions inviting her to call me back and have not received a response.

 

Once it became apparent that my efforts to contact her over the phone were fruitless, I decided  to email her directly at all three email addresses associated with the accounts in question (********@comcast.net, ***********@gmail.com and *******@comcast.net) and did not receive a reply to that attempt to contact her either.

 

Please feel free to let me know if you have any other questions regarding this situation.

 

Sincerely,

Michael Davies

Customer Support Manager

Auctiva Corporation

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to contact a Human Being. I wanted to sign up with their service, but, only a machine answers the phone and no one calls you back. They are trying to force me to take their FREE TRIAL without allowing me to find out the information I need. If I sign up, they are getting ALL MY PERSONAL INFORMATION before I can even decide if I want their service. They state that after i SIGN UP, LIMITED CHAT for customer service is available. This is crazy. There has got be a law against this type of practice: Making me sign up, then they will help???!!!! This makes me very concerned and caustious.. ****

Desired Settlement: Just let me talk to a HUMAN BEING!!!!!! I am totally wasting my time!

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Dear BBB Team, I am not familiar with any attempts to contact us the complainant may have made thus far, but there definitely seems to be some significant confusion surrounding our service. We do currently offer a free 30 day trial to all of our new users, but we certainly do not force those who visit our site to sign up for a free trial to explore our product offerings or get in touch with a Customer Support representative. Provided the complainant has still not signed up for a free trial, he can learn about what we have to offer by visiting www.auctiva.com. Once he has reviewed the details on our home page, he can view all the other information we have available by clicking through the "Features", "Pricing" and "Help" tabs along the top of the site. Although we only offer phone and live chat support to qualifying customers, he is welcome to write to our Customer Support team directly by clicking the "File Support Case" option under the "Help" tab on our site and a representative will get back to him as soon as possible. I hope this helps clear things up. If you have any additional questions regarding this complaint, please feel free to let me know and I will be happy to clear up any remaining loose ends. Sincerely, ******* ****** Customer Support Manager Auctiva Corporation

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is rediculous... ******* ******, in his response to my complaint, said again "we only offer phone and live chat support to qualifying customers". That means the ONLY way I can talk to a HUMAN in REAL TIME on the PHONE is if I become a "QUALIFYING CUSTOMER".... ****** also said: "I am not familiar with any attempts to contact us". Try listening to your VOICEMAILS! It took me nearly a half hour just to find a phone number for this company that does NOT have a person on the other end.... I searched the internet and found page after page of bad reviews from people who have said they were unable to talk with a person at this company... I am contacting EBAY directly about these problems with this company, as, I do not think the BBB will have any long term effect on this companies inability to work with EBAY sellers that are having problems with this company BEFORE they even sign up as a customer... I STILL HAVE NEVER TALKED TO A REAL PERSON..... I had TWO VERY SIMPLY QUESTIONS I wanted information about that could have been answered with a 60-second phone call, but, instead, this company does NOT want to TALK to anyone.

Final Business Response
Dear BBB Team, Thanks for making us aware of this response. Since the complainant apparently has not signed up for a plan which includes phone support, the appropriate way for him to contact us would be to submit a support request by hovering his mouse over the "Help" tab on our site and selecting the "File Support Case" option. We have representatives available to respond to support tickets that are submitted via that medium 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. However, given that that he is clearly not content to use the intended contact method, he is welcome to call our Customer Support team directly at (XXX)XXX-XXXX between 9 AM and 6 PM PDT, Sunday through Friday in this particular case. Sincerely, ******* ****** Customer Support Manager Auctiva Corporation

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AUCTION IMAGES & TEMPLATE CHANGED ISSUE #1)The wrong photo was placed in my Auctiva Emporium Store by Auctiva. The correct image appeared on **** but the ***** ***** duplicate photo erroneously appeared in my Auctiva listing namely **** ******* & **** *****blood.ISSUE #2)My Auctiva template disappeared from my **** active listing after it was "LIVE" for days. Our **** listings are being manipulated by Auctiva against our knowledge!

Desired Settlement: CEASE & DESIST OF DECEPTIVE LISTING CHANGES

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Dear BBB Team, Thanks for making us aware of this complaint. I have just finished looking into the issues that user has reported and, while I was able to find an explanation for the first issue he mentioned in our support case records, I cannot attribute the second issue he reported to anything that our software could have done. First of all, when a listing is submitted through Auctiva (or directly through **** for that matter), the image that is specified as the first Header/Gallery image for the listing should automatically be displayed in the Auctiva Emporium. However, we do not have anything in place that will automatically update the Auctiva Emporium image for a listing if the Header/Gallery image is changed after an item has been posted and that appears to have happened here. The revision history of the item in question that is available on **** shows that the Header/Gallery images were changed on August 28, 2013. I was able to confirm that the user contacted our Customer Support team about this directly through case # XXXXXX on August 30, 2013 and, in addition to explaining that to him, we issued a command intended to update the Auctiva Emporium image for the listing to match the current Header/Gallery image of the item at that time. Furthermore, there is no aspect of our system that is capable of removing one of our templates from an active listing. Any time a listing is posted to **** with one of our templates, the code used to generate the template design is wrapped around the description text and images as part of the description HTML. Once such a listing is active on ***** the only way to remove the template would be to open the Revise your Item form for the listing on eBay and delete the HTML code used to generate the template from within the description editor. If the user encounters any further difficulties with respect to our software, I recommend that he continue to correspond with our Customer Support team directly from under the "Help" tab within his account and we will be happy to continue working with him. Sincerely, ******* ****** Customer Support Manager Auctiva Corporation


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Auctiva Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart