Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cypress Dental Administrators

Phone: (800) 350-3989 Fax: (209) 478-5614 View Additional Phone Numbers 7510 Shoreline Dr Ste A1, Stockton, CA 95219 http://www.cypressadmin.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cypress Dental Administrators meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cypress Dental Administrators include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cypress Dental Administrators
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 2004 Business started: 08/14/1978 in CA Business incorporated 09/16/1999 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357
The number is 0E50714.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Amy Yates, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Amy Yates, Vice President
Business Category

Insurance - Dental Dental Service Plans

Alternate Business Names
Cypress Dental & Vision Cypress Dental & Vision Administrators Dutcher Dental Insurance Lakeshore Insurance Services
Products & Services

Cypress Dental Administrators is a 3rd Party Administrator for dental and vision insurance.


Additional Locations

  • 7510 Shoreline Dr Ste A1

    Stockton, CA 95219 (800) 350-3989

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an initial visit to ***** ****** at *** ** ******** *** on October 1, 2015 for an exam, cleaning(prophylaxis), and x-Rays. I showed the staff my dental insurance card and they called the number on the card for Cypress Dental Administrators( **************) to confirm that the location was Non-Network so they could give me an estimate of what I would pay. I had previously checked the dental network website, which did not show Dr **** ** ** in network at *** ** ******** *** ******* ** 91786. I entered the zip code in the search box and did not see his information in the results. I made a second visit to ***** ****** to get a crown, for which I paid $1490 upfront. Per the Dental Benefit Summary provided by Cypress Dental Administrators, I expected to get a reimbursement of 50% for the crown, or $745. Both claims were processed and all I am receiving is $99. Cypress Dental Administrators claims that the dentist is in network because he has an office at ***** ****** *** **** ******** ** 92337 that is in network for them. I spoke with **** ******** at Cypress Dental Administrators and she sent me a screenshot that supposedly shows Dr ** is in network and should have charged me far less. The screenshot shows his name, no address, and does not list PPO, which is the type of dental insurance I have. It shows EPO and FDH networks covered. Today, I called the number for ***** ****** ****** **************** and spoke to a representative named ****, that confirmed Dr. **'s *** ** ******** *** ******* ** is not In Network, therefore, I should have been reimbursed 50%. It has been very frustrating to deal with Cypress Dental Administrators, the Dental Claim paperwork was mailed three times, and they claimed they didn't receive anything the first 2 times. I have spoken to several representatives over the months of November, December, and January to even get to the point of getting the claim processed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a refund of the additional $644 due to me.

Business Response: The subscriber/member indicated she believed her provider was short paid on her claims for cleanings and a crown with dates of service in October 2015. Our records for provider network affiliations, which are maintained by a third party, inaccurately indicated her provider at the treating dental office location was in-network and her provider was paid correctly based on that information. However, upon notification of this complaint, we investigated with that third party the nature of this provider's network affiliation and it was determined this provider is out-of-network. As a result, we reprocessed the subscriber's claims today, 1/19/2016, for both dates of service in question providing the proper additional payment of $240.57 (a total now of $333.77) for her October 1st date of service as well as an additional $343.66 (a total of now $718.36) for her October 29th date of service including the crown procedure indicated. Both payments were mailed today to her provider which will result in a payment to her to reimburse her for Cypress' portion of the procedures she previously paid up front in full to her provider.