Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Superior Vision Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Superior Vision Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Superior Vision Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 30, 2004 Business started: 04/09/1993 in DE Business incorporated 04/09/1993 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357
The number is 0B50504.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kimberly Hess, Sr. Vice President-Oper Ms. Jennifer Tencati, Social Media/Marketing Team
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kimberly Hess, Sr. Vice President-Oper
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Health

Alternate Business Names
Block Vision Superior Vision Superior Vision Insurance Administrators Superior Vision Insurance Services
Products & Services

Superior Vision Services, Inc. specializes in vision insurance services.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Superior Vision Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11101 White Rock Rd Ste 150

    Rncho Cordova, CA 95670

  • PO Box 967

    Rncho Cordova, CA 95741

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for ***** ****** services. Usps says my payment was delivered 9/18/15 at 11.3am. Superior vision as refused to activate my vision program for me my husband and son. ******** ******* ***** ****** *** *** ******

Desired Settlement: Provide vision coverage. Because we had to cancel appointments today I would like coverage extended into october until we have all three ad eye exams.

Business Response: Your account (through *****) has been paid and updated through 9/30/15.  Ms. **** from Customer Service left a voice mail for you and indicated as such on 9/25.  If you are unable to secure appointments prior to 10/1 you may contact me personally at ************************ to request an extension.  Please note payments received via USPS mail and signed for by our mailroom staff require time to be sorted and sent to Finance where they are part of a intake and posting process.  Thank you for your inquiry.

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I obtained Superior Vision through ******* ********* in Martinsville VA and pay through payroll deduction. The insurance is useless as it won't even pay an amount equal to the premium. It leaves me with a balance on my lenses I cannot pay. I requested termination of the policy since it won't pay a reasonable amount on my script. They refused. Therefore I now want a refund as well as termination of the policy.

Desired Settlement: I now want a refund as well as termination of the policy since they refused to cancel the policy.

Business Response:

Thank you for sharing with me the concerns raised by this enrolled member.  With regret, privacy and confidentiality regulations prevent us from responding to a third party that we have not been authorized to communicate with regarding employee benefits, insurance coverage, and healthcare claims.  We will reach out to the member to advise him of contractual rights.

********* ****
Senior Vice President, Operations

Business Response:

Thank you for sharing with me the concerns raised by this enrolled member.  With regret, privacy and confidentiality regulations prevent us from responding to a third party that we have not been authorized to communicate with regarding employee benefits, insurance coverage, and healthcare claims.  We will reach out to the member to advise him of contractual rights.

********* ****
Senior Vice President, Operations

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: The release of information consent was provided. I have provided it to Superior again in an email directly to ***** ******** at Superior. I have also attached it to this reply.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: The release of information consent was provided. I have provided it to Superior again in an email directly to ***** ******** at Superior. I have also attached it to this reply.

Business Response:

After visiting with the optician at the optometrist’s office I secured the details of Mr. ****’s vision needs.  Our policies are designed as a wellness product for employers to offer vision benefits. The policies contain a comprehensive eye exam to determine vision correction, and the materials for that correction.  On occasion, an employee's needs will exceed the policy limits and it may be to their advantage to seek vision correction through different avenues.  Because the policyholder/owner is Mr. ****'s employer it was necessary to seek his permission to terminate coverage.  I have spoken with the owner of the company and he is willing to terminate coverage back to the original effective date.   The credit to the employer will appear on their October invoice which will then trigger a refund to Mr. ****.  A direct refund will not come from Superior as it is a matter of adding deducted premiums back onto the paycheck and deducting payroll taxes, etc.

 

********* ****

Sr Vice President, Operations

Business Response:

After visiting with the optician at the optometrist’s office I secured the details of Mr. ****’s vision needs.  Our policies are designed as a wellness product for employers to offer vision benefits. The policies contain a comprehensive eye exam to determine vision correction, and the materials for that correction.  On occasion, an employee's needs will exceed the policy limits and it may be to their advantage to seek vision correction through different avenues.  Because the policyholder/owner is Mr. ****'s employer it was necessary to seek his permission to terminate coverage.  I have spoken with the owner of the company and he is willing to terminate coverage back to the original effective date.   The credit to the employer will appear on their October invoice which will then trigger a refund to Mr. ****.  A direct refund will not come from Superior as it is a matter of adding deducted premiums back onto the paycheck and deducting payroll taxes, etc.

 

********* ****

Sr Vice President, Operations

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Superior Vision Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart