Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Stonewood Insurance Services, Inc.

Phone: (800) 396-1485 PO Box 2528, Rncho Cordova, CA 95741 http://www.stonewoodinsurance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stonewood Insurance Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Stonewood Insurance Services, Inc. include:

  • 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Stonewood Insurance Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 30, 2007 Business started: 03/01/2005 in CA Business incorporated 08/09/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357
The number is 0E52060.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Frances Castillo, Underwriting Manager Mr. Clyde Sturgeon, Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Frances Castillo, Underwriting Manager
Principal: Mr. Clyde Sturgeon, Broker
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Auto Insurance - Dental Insurance - Rental Insurance Services Insurance - Travel

Products & Services

Stonewood Insurance specializes in writing California Non-Standard Personal Automobile coverage.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Stonewood Insurance Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 2528

    Rncho Cordova, CA 95741

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After I had paid the down payment for insurance I got a funny feeling as they asked for my bank account routing number. I looked them up on BBB and found multiple complaints of fraud and extremely poor customer service as well as strong arming payments. I decided to cancel my policy and found out that most of the $570 payment was a brokers fee. All in all they would return me $40. I told them to cancel my policy and they told me I had to sign a piece of paper and mail it to an approval board for cancelation. They then canceled my policy for lack of payment. NOW, I'm receiving letters that I owe them money and they will send it to a collection agency. I am concerned about it affecting my credit score, but do not believe I should be paying them for a service they never provided, and I canceled within a week of buying their "insurance". Months later they continue to harass me.

Desired Settlement: I filed wth wells Fargo to get back my $570 down payment but was denied because I authorized it. Which is OK, I did and fell for the trap. I do not want to pay them $104 for nothing and I want my credit score to be protected from these crooks. Thank you for your time

Business Response:

Policy ************

 

The insured, Mr. ******** purchased this policy with us thru a broker on 3/08/16.  The first installment billing notice was issued to him on 3/23/16 to be due on 4/07/16.  Upon this date no payment was received, therefore a cancellation notice was issued to him to be effective 4/18/16 if payment was not received by this date.  Payment was not received and the policy cancelled for non-payment.  Our records indicate that we have had no verbal communication with the insured nor did we receive a request from him to cancel the policy.  The conversations he refers to must have occurred between him and his brokers office.  Following is a breakdown of charges by Stonewood Insurance:

$   187.00   Earned premium for the period of  3/08/16 to 4/18/16

$     40.00   Policy fee  

$       3.52   Fraud fee

$     12.00   NSD Membership dues  

$     13.00   Installment fee

$   255.52   Total Due

-$   150.85   Total received by Stonewood Insurance

$    104.67   Total remaining balance due

In regards to a broker fee, the insured will need to discuss this directly with the broker as this is not a fee received or charged by us. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: I paid the $571 quoting by the broker for the first 6 months and was not informed of any other charges nor did I agree to them. That money went to freeway insurance(which shows as one of your companies) and they were responsible for delivering it to you. I will exploring my legal options to fight this and receiving damages, as well as contacting the California board of insurance. 

You harass me, I harass you. 

 


7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December 10,2015 I let a friend borrow my fully covered car and they happened to rear end someones car. On that same day I filled a claim and informed them the person who was driving my car was my roommate who was not an insured driver on my policy due to the fact we moved in together after I started my policy. Stonewood informed me approximately 2.5 weeks later that they were not going to cover the accident due to the driver not being on my policy. On January 11, 2016 I myself got into an accident in my other fully insured car and started a claim that day. On January 19,2015 they mailed me a letter stating stonewood is canceling my policy because I failed to inform them I had a roommate, and they put my cancelation date as June 3, 2015; they also sent me all the money I ever paid them which I did not agree to including my Janruary payment that was taking January 3, 2016 . They also said they aren't going to cover my January accident because I failed to mention my roommate. Overall, my complaint is Stonewood knew from December 10, 2015 that I had a roommate and they all of a sudden decided to cancel my policy 4 weeks later AFTER my January accident, and now another parties insurance is saying I am 100% liable for my January accident and they expect me to pay out my pocket. I do not agree with this due to the fact that Stonewood knew I had a roommate since December 19, 2015 and did not cancel my policy in a timely manner and also back date canceled it basically saying I wasn't covered for either of my accidents.

Desired Settlement: I expect Stonewood insurance to fully cover my January accident.

Business Response:

GSP90146616 – ***** *****

An automobile policy was originally issued on behalf of the insured, ***** ***** on 6/03/15.  At the time of inception Mr. ***** signed a policy application/contract in which he agreed to disclose all household residents over the age of 14 years.  It was further agreed that he would have a continuing duty to notify the insurance company of any changes of members of the household of driving age, otherwise the company may rescind coverage.  Below is verbiage from said contract signed by the insured:   

 

‘Are all residents of your household 14 years and older, all regular drivers of the vehicles, and all names currently showing on the registration of any listed vehicle either added to the policy or excluded from coverage? You are required to exclude or add by endorsement any driver listed on the registration. If no, please explain.’

 

The insured answered, ‘yes’ to this question.  In addition to this, the Applicant’s Certification states the following:

 

APPLICANT’S CERTIFICATION

I agree all answers to all questions in this Application are true and correct. I understand, recognize, and agree said answers are given and made for the purpose of inducing the Company to issue the policy for which I have applied. I further agree that ALL persons of eligible driving age or permit age who live with me, as well as ALL operators who regularly operate my vehicles and do not reside in my household, are shown above. I agree that my principal residence and place of vehicle garaging is correctly shown above and is in the state for which I am applying for insurance at least 10 months each year. I understand the Company may rescind this policy if said answers on this Application are false or misleading, and materially affect the risk the Company assumes by issuing the policy. In addition, I understand that I have a continuing duty to notify the Company of any changes of: (1) address; (2) location of vehicles; (3) members of my household of eligible driving age or permit age; (4) operators of any vehicles listed on the policy; or (5) use of any vehicles listed on the policy. I understand the Company may rescind this policy if I do not comply with my continuing duty of advising the Company of any change as noted above.

 

According to the insurance company’s claims manager, the decision to rescind the policy stems from the loss that occurred on 12/10/15. The claims investigation revealed that an undisclosed driver by the name of ********* ******** had become a resident of the insured’s household sometime around July 2015, or between then and the date of the accident.  Both the insured and ********* confirmed this during recorded statements.  Also, it was determined that *********, the driver in the accident does not hold a driver’s license, which materially affects the risk.  Subsequently, a second claim was filed for 1/11/16. 

 

Unfortunately, due to the material misrepresentation by the insured, this policy has been voided (rescinded) back to the original inception date of 6/03/15 as if the policy never existed and all funds paid by the insured were refunded to him.           

 


6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been with my insurance company for 5 years. MY car was parked in the store parking lot on may 10 2016 it was hit since it was on the passenger side I didn't notice until the next morning, I called my insurance company to file a claim after having it looked at by a couple different people to see if it would be cheaper to get it fixed myself since I do have a deductible after the insurance company sent someone out to take pictures the claims department called me the next day to tell me they denied my claim because i was not honest. I am 44 years old with insurance, driver licence, current registration, I also have three cars on this policy. If i was in an accident why would I lie , I would have filed a claim as a moving accident. It just do not understand how I have been with them five years paying 185.16 every month and when i file a claim which the damage is 1500$ They can just say im not telling the truth and not pay for the damage again I can't stress this enough all my paper work is legit so why would I lie. Please email me as what my rights are. Thank you for your time. ****** ****************

Desired Settlement: I would like for the insurance company to pay for the repairs to my car

Business Response:

As the General Managing agent for the insurance carrier on this policy, we do not handle the claims out of this office, however I have inquired about the findings of the claim in question, #******* from the carrier's claims department.  As a result of their investigation of this claim, they have advised the following:   

'This claim was denied for material misrepresentation of the facts of loss. A denial was mailed to the insured on 5/20/16.  We did secure an expert to review the damage photos. The expert concluded that the insured vehicle was in motion at the time of the loss, not parked and unoccupied when hit as reported by the insured.'

The final determination of coverage lies with the carrier and it appears that they have made their decision in this matter to not cover this claim.  Unfortunately, the insurance company will not pay for the repairs to the damaged vehicle.  

 

4/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a claim and Stonewood insurance said that I needed to pay a triple deductible before they pay the claim which I believe was there error for not updating my card information in September when I called it in. I called the services center and I was advised not to cancel my insurance account and let it cancel for non- payment to avoid cancellation fees. I had paid a full month 10/15/2016-11/15/2016 but only used 15 days, to 10/30/2016. I then got a statement that I owe $58.94 I then send over my declarations page to show my new coverage so they could back date it and give me any un used premium, stonewood Insurance gave me a very hard time and didn't want to accept my declarations page and asked that I need a specific letter that said NEW BUSINESS in order for them to give me a refund I had my new carrier send it over. I then received another statement that my new balance is 54.94. I don't understand why they billed me in the first place if they never covered me past the 15th of November and I had paid for a hole month. Why did I not get my pro rate amount and why is difference of the first statement and the second $4.00 after showing prove of insurance? Is the 15 days worth only $ 4.00 dollars if so why? I already lost out 1100.00 because they didn't want to pay out my claim and now they are demanding 54.94 or threating me to take it to collections. What I'm I being charge for?

Desired Settlement: Clarify charges, and void fee for being misleading about there triple deductible policy.

Business Response:

*********** * ******** ******

This policy was originally written on behalf of the named insured ******** ******, effective 1/30/15.  As disclosed at point of sale, one of the provisions of the policy is that during the first 60 days after the inception date and the first 60 days after the effective date of any reinstatement, rewrite or renewal with a lapse or gap in coverage, the deductible listed on the Declarations is tripled. 

The policy was set up to be paid on a monthly basis by recurring credit card.  The payments were made successfully up until the system ran the credit card for the 9/01/15 payment and it came back, declined.    After speaking to the insured as to why the card might have declined at this time, she could offer no apparent reason, therefore we considered it a possible communication failure between the two banks.  She made a replacement payment and we credited her account for the $5.00 processing fee.    When the card was ran again for the next payment on 10/01/15 it was declined once more.  A cancellation notice went out to the insured on 10/02/15 to be effective 10/12/15.  She did not contact our office until after the policy had cancelled on 10/12/15.  Per another discussion with the insured as to why the card might have declined, she confirmed that funds were available and verified that the credit card number we had on file was correct and that nothing about the card had changed.  Again, with no logical explanation we thought it could be another possible communication failure between the banks.  We took a payment from the insured and waived the $5.00 processing fee.  However, there was a brief lapse in coverage from 10/12/15 12:01 a.m. to 10/12/15 10:36 a.m. causing the triple deductible to take effect for 60 days.  The matter was reviewed by a manager but no clear explanation could be determined.

On 10/28/15 the insured contacted our office for further discussion regarding the issue of the declined credit card transactions.  After a lengthy discussion with the insured, it was finally determined that the insured had in fact received a new “chipped” credit card from her bank with a new card number and this was the reason for the previous declined credit card transactions.  The insured then stated that she had advised our representative of the new card back in September, however our records do not reflect this and when we listened to the recorded call taken at that time, there was no mention of a new card or new card number.          

At this time the insured inquired about cancelling her policy.  She was advised of the proper cancellation procedure and applicable fees.  She stated that she would think about it and get back to us.  The policy cancelled on 11/12/15 for non-payment.  On 2/03/16 we received a request from the insured along with proof of replacement coverage to backdate the cancellation to 10/30/15.  Unfortunately, the document was not sufficient to backdate the cancellation.  After sending a letter requesting proper proof, we were provided with a letter of experience from her new carrier confirming the effective date of 10/30/15.  Her request was honored and processed accordingly, effective 10/30/15. 

Below is an accounting breakdown:

$  1130.00            Earned premium for the period of 1/30/15 to 10/30/15

$      30.00            Policy fee

$        3.50            Fraud fee

$      40.00            NSD Membership dues

$        5.00            Return Mail fee

    117.00           Installment fees – 9 @ $13 each

$        7.00            Endorsement fee

$      16.00            Reinstatement fee

$      50.00            Cancellation fee

-$     10.00           Credit of processing fees – 2 @ $5 each

$   1388.50           Total Due

-$  1333.56           Total received

$       54.94           Balance Due

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this matter has caused and regret that we could not have received updated information at an earlier date.    

 


2/2/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 16th 2015 I obtained Auto Insurance for Two Vehicles. The Insurance agent was Freeway Insurance. The total premium as about $2300. For the first month covering November 16th to probably December 15th, as i was told, i payed $234. In addition i was charged another $150, maybe agency fees and a $20 processing fee. All paid. Then, about a week later (around December 23rd) I received a bill for the following month stating it was due on the 5th of December. The bill was for another $261.47. The bill, in addition to the monthly premium contained a POLICY fee, a MEMBERSHIP fee, and OTHER fees. I was confused: first November 16th to December 5th is less than a month. Also what is all these membership, policy and other fees? To get clarification i called Stonewood Insurance. After a long wait the representative picked up and almost in a yelling voice asked me to hold on. I did. She returned to me a long time after. By this time I had spent over 25 minutes on the phone. All i did was ask for clarification of the fees and the reason am paying another bill so soon. She spoke back to me in the most disdainful, disrespectful and unprofessional manner i had ever seen. In the middle of me asking another question she shut me down saying "anything else". I replied that i just ask for another clarification. She said she was done. At this point i was disappointed and told her i was out, cancel. I got a payment reminder. And i told them i canceled i have another Insurance now. They asked me why and i told them my experience with one of their reps. They said to sent the cancelation notice in writing. i did. And then they said it will take 15 days to cancel. I am not paying for the 15 days. To this day no one apologized or showed concern about my experience or dissatisfaction, instead i am receiving calls Stonewood to pay my bill. I just got another one in the mail. This is sad to have a Rep run you like material on the phone and they expect me to keep on. I cancelled my Insurance.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to leave me alone, and write off the bill. I already paid over $355 (185+150+20)plus. And this is for two weeks or less coverage. I have the right to cancel, and they can not tell me it will take fifteen days and expect me to cover the fifteen days from my pocket.

Business Response: *********** First, I would like to apologize on behalf of Stonewood Insurance for any rudeness or mistreatment the insured, Raphael Alli may have experienced while communicating with our Customer Service department. This would not be considered normal behavior, as our staff are trained to provide quality service to each of our customers. This matter has been addressed with the appropriate parties. An auto insurance policy was initiated by the broker on behalf of the insured, effective 11/16/15 for a 2013 Mercedes Benz and a 2011 Honda Pilot, with two drivers. An application was completed at point of sale between the broker and the insured. Our application discloses all applicable fees pertaining to the policy. The insured acknowledges and accepts these by signing the application, as in this case. Once the policy is uploaded to our system, documents are generated, printed and given to the insured, including the declaration page and billing schedule, both disclose the fees. During the underwriting process of the policy, it was discovered that there was an undisclosed at fault accident for the insured on 9/13/14. This caused an uprate to the policy. A declaration page with the new premium amount and a memo of explanation were mailed to the insured on 11/19/15. On 12/01/15 the insured contacted our office and was given a complete accounting breakdown. He expressed that he was upset and stated that the broker did not tell him about the fees. We cannot speak on behalf of the broker, but can confirm that all our fees are fully disclosed in writing. In order to give ample notification, the first monthly billing installment was issued on 11/20/15, but not due until 12/04/15. The payment was not received by this date, therefore on 12/07/15 a Notice of Cancellation was issued, giving until 12/17/15 12:01 a.m. to receive the payment. On 12/15/15, we received an email from the insured in which he stated that he had cancelled the policy during his previous conversation with our representative and had a new insurance. We emailed him back to advise that in order to cancel the policy, we would need his written and signed request to do so. We also offered the option of having him take a photo of a written and signed cancellation request and email it to us. We received the signed request and let the insured know that it would be processed and could take up to 15 days for processing, but the date of request would be honored. Accounting Breakdown: $ 183.00 Earned premium for the period of 1/16/15 to 12/15/15 $ 35.00 Cancellation fee $ 3.52 Fraud fee $ 8.00 NSF Membership dues (roadside) $ 13.00 Installment fee $ 50.00 Cancellation fee $ 292.52 Total due -($ 153.75) Total received by us $ 138.77 Balance due In conclusion; the insured is being charged for 30 days of coverage not two weeks, plus fees. The policy increased due to an undisclosed accident which caused an increase to the monthly payments. He definitely has the right to cancel the policy whenever he chooses, however we require that it be in writing. He has not been charged for 15 days of processing time. If he has proof of other “like” insurance, prior to the cancellation date of our policy, 12/17/15, we would be more than happy to review it for possible backdating of the cancellation which could lower the balance. Unfortunately, we cannot write off the bill and the balance will remain “due” until paid. Tell us why here...

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

Thank you for your response. 

In my complain I never mentioned that I had an issue with the change in premium price due to an at fault incident  in 2014. It was not an issue. You also made it seem like I had something to hide. No. Everyone knows that when you are getting insurance you have all your records of driving out there. My issue were that there was a policy fee charge, there was a membership fee, and it also said other charges which were not specific. I have never heard of this before and all I did was to call for clarification. And I was treated like a nobody. You mentioned some of those charges in your response. What are those? 

Also you agreed with me that the policy was initiated on November 16th 1015, and that you sent me a bill due on December 4th. If this is true, which it is, why is another month's bill due on the 5th of December 2015 barely 17 days after the first bill was fully paid? Those were my questions that were not answered.

your company has an image to protect. The customer service I received was beyond terrible, and even after I voiced it out not one of you called, wrote or did anything to apologize. Instead you were focused on how to get more money from me. You said I could not cancel my insurance unless it is in writing. You also said it would take 15 days. You admitted to all these in your response. But that is not what California law says. In other words you were buying time to charge me another month instead of addressing the rough way I was handled on the phone. 

Lastly, at the end of the call on December first I canceled, if your associate was so mad at me for calling to get clarification, and therefore was not patient enough to hear me say cancel, and thus hung up, that is not my fault. If you want me to wait fifteen days so you can charge me more that is not my fault.

i got another insurance with Nationwide the very next day December 2nd. Since I cannot upload it here on my phone I could give you the policy number to verify: **** **********. It was effective December 2nd 2015. I can't be making two insurance payments. I can cancel my insurance anytime. You agreed with that.

I spoke with your agent/broker - his name is ******* *********, and his phone is *** *** ***** He agreed that I paid for the first month. It was $185 on the 16th of November. And then two weeks later another $150. So why won't I question yet another bill due on the 4th of December, especially after paying over $320 and especially when it within two to three weeks, and especially when it has things like policy fees, membership fees and fraud fees and other fees?

Thank you


Business Response:

Hello:

I am responding to Mr. ****’s rejection of  our previous response and am having trouble attaching documents.  If I may, I would like to send my response through this email along with attachments.  Thank you 

*********** – ID #******** – ******l ****

When paying on a month to month basis, the first installment billing goes out approximately 20 days after the inception date.  You received a Schedule of Future Payments at point of sale showing that your first installment would be due 12/6/15, Enclosure 1

 

We do require cancellation requests to be in writing.  This is our procedure, for the protection of all parties involved.  These guidelines can be found in the policy jacket, page 27 that was sent to you with your policy documents on 11/20/15, Enclosure 2

 

Please refer to your policy on-line application that discloses applicable fees and how they are applied.  I have included these pages of the application for your reference, Enclosure 3

 

On 12/15/15 we received a cell phone photo of your written request to cancel the policy.  This is the day your policy was cancelled.  As previously stated, you can provide us with a copy of your replacement policy with “like” coverage and we will review for a possible backdate of cancellation.

 

You can cancel your policy anytime, however in order to backdate a cancellation we will require sufficient proof to do so.  

 

Please be advised that we are a separate entity from the broker.  The broker represents you, as the insured.  Any payment arrangements you made with your broker must be directed to him and are separate from our billing.  We received a down payment of $153.75 from your broker’s EFT account to start the policy, no other payments were received.

 

Hopefully we have addressed all areas of concern.

******* ********

Underwriting & Customer Svs. Manager

***** * ***** *** * **** ****** * ********************************

untitled

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is a little okay with me.
This could go on and on. So I have decided to send the company-Stonewood Insurance- my replacement policy for a possible backdate of cancellation as they stated. This way we resolve this and everyone go their way. Much I have learnt. 

 Thank you 

the docs have been sent through ********************************

Sincerely,

*******

1/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a policy with this company and after I wasn't able to get the car the insurance was placed on I called to cancel my policy the next day. They told me I would have to wait 4-6 weeks for refund of what I paid. Never was I told I would be charged all these misc. fees they said I was charged. They sent me a $25 check which I paid triple that. The lash I jus spoke to was just very rude and telling me they only spoke to me once when in fact I spoke to them more than once. After reading reviews about this business and how they have done this to multiple customers I now see it is true. They take your money and I don't have money like this to just give away I am very upset at this business customer experience .

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund they specified I would receive I was charged 7 times for things unspecified to me at the time of my policy starting

Business Response:

  

***********

An auto insurance policy was initiated through us on behalf of the insured, ****** ***** by her broker, effective 10/30/15.  After this, the next correspondence received on the insured’s behalf was on 11/04/15 in which we received an email from her broker stating the following:

From: **** ****** *********
Sent: Wednesday, November 04, 2015 5:16 PM
To: SW-Customer Service Review
Subject: FW: Signed Consent pol # *************

Hello,

Attached is a cancellation letter from ni pol # ************* *ust waiting on Dealership letter that she did not take possesion of veh.

Please give us a call back if you have any questions or concerns at numbers listed below.

Thank You

**** ******
Customer Service Representative
Insurance Services Center

The letter provided was a handwritten statement by the insured, advising that she wanted to cancel the policy as she had not taken possession of the vehicle.  As indicated in the above email from the broker, we did not receive a letter from the auto dealership confirming that the insured never took the vehicle from the dealership lot (possession) therefore, the policy was cancelled effective 11/05/15.  A cancellation cannot be backdated without sufficient proof to do so.

The insured contacted our office on 11/16/15 to inquire about a refund.  She was advised that it takes 20 to 25 days from the date of processing.  On 12/10/15 a refund check was issued to the insured in the amount of $25.92.  We received a call from the insured on 12/14/15 regarding the refund amount, at which time she was given a breakdown of the charges, as follows: 

$     25.00             Earned premium for the period of 10/30/15 to 11/04/15

$     35.00             Policy fee

$       1.76             Fraud fee

$       8.00             NSD Membership dues

$      13.00             Installment fee

$     50.00             Cancellation fee

$   132.76             Total Due

- ($158.68)           Amount received from insured

- ($  25.92)           Balance – refunded on 12/10/15

 

We apologize for any misunderstanding the insured may have had regarding the policy charges, however, we are in compliance with state codes and regulations that require us to disclose our fees on the initial application for insurance that the insured signs at point of sale and on the policy documents that are immediately provided when the policy is issued. 

 

It is possible that the insured may have provided a larger down payment to her broker and had other conversations with them, than the ones we have indicated.  She would have to contact them directly to obtain this information, as we are separate entities.              

 


Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: I was never told about these fees at the time of signing up . And yes I was very confused about it being two different entities because I called more times then what has been stated. At the time of signing up I was out at my aunts birthday party and barely had charge on my battery so never was I explained or aware of all those fees whether or whether not I cancelled my policy. I just want my money back at least half of it . I am not in a great financial position to get my money taken this way when I never actually utilized your insurance . I only signed up that night because I was almost certain I would get the car I wanted and I needed to have a policy the next day if I bought the car which i never did . The car dealership even agreed on a personal level they had experience with stonewood not giving them they're money back also in reviews I've read. I jus want a fair share of what is owed to me period. 


Business Response:

In response to the insured’s rejection of our explanation that the policy fees were disclosed to her at point of sale of the insurance policy, I am attaching a copy of the documents that she electronically signed/accepted through an on-line policy process known as ** ***.  The insured purchased this policy online through a broker.  This process is used at the convenience of the insured so that necessary signatures can be obtained without having to physically go to the broker’s office.  Please refer to the last page that indicates the applicable fees and the insured’s acceptance of these at 10/30/15 at 11:12 p.m.   As previously stated, if the insured can provide something from the dealership showing when the vehicle was returned or that she never took possession, we would be willing to review this and possibly backdate the cancellation, reducing the coverage charges.  As for the fees, we are unable to waive these as we must remain in compliance as directed by state regulations in which we adhere to our own guidelines.

 

******* ********

Underwriting & Customer Svs. Manager

Phone | ***** *** * ****

E-Mail ********************************

12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov 7th,2015 I processed a claim for a hit and run,my car (Honda civic) was hit while parked outside my residence by a speeding car ,scrapped the drivers side ( left) completely breaking off the vehicle mirror and causing a few dents . A police report was also filed on the same day . On Nov 11th a insurance assessor came to my residence to view the car and take pictures a few hours after I recieve a call from the claim agent who is assigned my case trying to intimidate me over the phone requesting I give him another story because based on the pictures it didn't seem like a hit and run he stated I'd be given a last opportunity to clearify my Claim with no action on there part by then I was very upset and I told him there was no other story and I wasn't lying . I advised him to do what he needed to do and I'd do the same if I needed I would take to the next level by filing this claim and or seeking for legal guidance if necessary .

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to follow through and finish the job or have some kind of solution to the matter. My viechcle has full coverage and feel they have been very rude and unprofessional with solving the case . I'd like for them to take owner ship pay for the damages,give options or some kind of solution before things get escalated .

Business Response:

GSP90112737

Stonewood Insurance is the general managing agency for the carrier of this policy. Since claims are handled directly by the carrier, we have reached out to the claims department for detailed information regarding the claim in question. Following is the timeline of events; the loss was reported on Sunday 11/08/15. A claims rep contacted the insured, ***** ********* on 11/09/15 to secure a statement from her and discuss coverages. The claims rep then assigned a Field Claims rep to inspect the insured vehicle. On 11/10/15 photos of the vehicle were received from the insured. From these, questions arose regarding the damages, as they did not appear to be consistent with the facts of the loss that was reported. Contact was made with the insured on 11/11/15 to follow up and inquire as to whether there may have been a different scenario that would be more consistent than the events that were initially reported. The insured’s statement of loss remained unchanged. Therefore, on 11/11/15 the photos and estimate of damage were sent to an Accident Reconstructionist to confirm the insured’s version of events, that the vehicle was hit while parked. On 11/17/15 the claims department received a call from the insured to follow up on the status of the investigation. At this time the report was still pending. On 11/20/15 a message was left advising her again, of a pending status. The completed report was received on 11/21/15 and it was determined that the Accident Reconstructionist was unable to rule out that damages occurred other than the way the insured had stated. The file was then transferred to the Total Loss Unit on 11/21/15 and a total loss offer was made to the insured on 11/23/15. This offer was accepted and the insured agreed to retain the salvage title. A check was issued to her on 11/24/15 and the file was closed. This claim was settled within 17 days, which seems reasonable considering the duty of the claims department to thoroughly investigate all claims.


11/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As I stated on the 10th after having the car looked at by a mechanic we were informed the Honda Civic purchased on the 9th was a TOTALED car with a clean CARFAX and was returned to Auto Max immediately. I have also attached a copy of this bill, the letter from the Auto Sales company and a copy of the Statement of No Clams Loss. I understand it takes time to process however my daughters bank account was hit for the remainder of the deposit (200.00 on the 21) over 2 weeks later and we have now paid Freeway Insurance over 400$ for a policy that NEVER should have even been processed in the first place according to your company policy. I needed to send a statement that stated I wanted to cancelled my policy with Anchor General policy #xxxx*** which I NEVER did because the car went back!

Desired Settlement: Refund of Money owed and no more collections letters.

Business Response:

GSP90153627

On 9/03/15, an auto insurance policy was initiated on behalf of this insured, ****** ********, effective 9/03/15 by her broker.  This was for two vehicles, a 2004 Ford Escape and a 2010 Honda Civic.  On 9/18/15, we received a call from the insured stating that she had returned the 2010 Honda to the dealership and that she had coverage elsewhere for the 2004 Ford Escape.  She was advised to submit a signed cancellation request and that a $50 cancellation fee would apply.  She was further advised that in order to backdate the cancellation we would require proof of the day the 2010 Honda was returned and proof of other coverage for the 2004 Ford.  She understood and said that she would provide the information.  After multiple phone calls and emails with the insured and her broker, we were finally provided with the sufficient documents on 10/9/15.  Since the insured provided proof of other coverage for the 2004 Honda, this vehicle was deleted from the policy back to the inception date of 9/03/15.  We also received written confirmation from the dealership that the 2010 Honda Civic was returned, however because the insured took possession of the vehicle for a period of time and coverage was extended for that time, she was charged from 9/03/15 to 9/05/15 12:01 a.m.  Any deductions from her daughter’s account would have been made by her broker.  We only received the initial down payment with the application for insurance.  We issued a refund to her on 10/29/15.  California guidelines allow us 25 days from the date the cancellation is processed to issue a refund. 

In conclusion, we issued a policy for the insured as requested.  Although she later discovered that the vehicle was not what she expected, we did in fact provide coverage for the time she had possession of the vehicle.  In the event of a claim during this time, coverage would have applied.  Voiding the policy as she had originally requested was not an option.  The delay in processing the cancellation and issuing our refund was due to the length of time it took to receive the proper documents.  California guidelines allow us 25 days from the date the cancellation is processed to issue a refund. 

We apologize for any inconvenience the insured has experienced and hope that we have satisfactorily explained our position in this matter.        


8/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a policy with Stonewood using ******* *********. After making a ridiculous $300 down payment, things seemed to get in order. After about a month or so, Stonewood increased my monthly payment, and started charging me a fee every month (I cant recall the name of the fee, but something like "NSR"). I called Stonewood to see about these 2 problems, and a very rude lady took my call. She told me to not bother Stonewood with questions about the increase and to talk to ******* *********. I asked about the NSR fee, and she told me its for "free" roadside assistance. I asked why then do I pay a fee, but also why was I not informed of this service. She said they charge every customer the fee, and that the tow service is who would bill me and that Stonewood just connects me with a local tow company (if needed). I asked that the fee be removed as I have *** for my road side assistance. She refused, and unbelievably hung up on me after I brought up the premium increase again. I called ******* *********, but they told me its all on Stonewood and they couldn't do anything but close my policy with them and open a different one. After all this, I stupidly gave up on it and just stuck with paying the extra. Due to this, I was sometimes behind on bills and would pay late (by a few days to a week or so - but always before the cancelation date). I had a fender bender where I was found at fault, but Stonewood refused to assist me in the matter since it was during a month that I paid "late". That was the final straw for me. I called ******* *********, had then cancel my policy with Stonewood, and I opened a new one with Infinity Insurance (which has been perfect).. Despite still having paid that last month, Stonewood has sent me to collections trying to get an additional month of payment. I will not be paying that as I haven't used their services, and I am with Infinity. This is a scam that others have dealt with as well.

Desired Settlement: I was paid up to date when I left Stonewood and am now with Infinity Insurance. I have already sent a letter to the collections agency that I do not intend on paying the bill. Stonewood is a scam for an insurance company. View yelp (and other sites, such as this BBB) and you will see many more individuals with the same complaints. Stonewood needs to leave me alone, and learn to be a better insurance provider!

Business Response: GSP90124383

A policy was written on behalf of the insured, Mr. ********, by his broker on 7/20/14. We received an initial down payment in the amount of $127.25. This policy program included a roadside package (Nation Motor Club) in which there is no ability to opt out. The insured signed documents disclosing this information. Membership dues for this package were charged from the onset of the policy. These membership dues are included in the insured’s monthly installment billing, not separately by the motor club. On 7/21/14 the insured’s broker processed an endorsement to lower the comprehensive and collision deductibles from $1000 to $500, causing a premium increase of $162. On 8/07/14 the insured inquired about this increase and was provided with this information.
On 8/22/14 the insured’s automatic EFT payment was returned due to “no account.” This caused a removal from EFT. A courtesy call was made to the insured advising him of this issue. After a careful review, it was determined that the insured’s broker had entered the routing number incorrectly on the EFT form. This situation was escalated to the broker’s supervisor and for a possible reimbursement from them for the $25 NSF fee incurred as a result of the error. Nadia, from the broker’s office agreed to assist in this matter by following up directly with the insured.
On 11/28/14, we received a call from the insured in which he stated he would be unable to make his payment due on 11/30/14. We agreed, as a one-time courtesy to extend the due date for an additional 10 days.

Upon the next payment due date, we received a call from the insured asking for another payment extension. He was advised that we must receive some type of payment but that a payment made on the due date of 12/31/14 could take a few days to draft, possibly providing a little more time. Payment was received on 1/02/15 and a reinstatement was generated effective 1/03/15. Unfortunately, this payment was returned for insufficient funds on 1/09/15 and the policy was cancelled back to 1/03/15. A replacement payment was not received until 1/27/15 at which time the policy was reinstated with lapse.

Upon the next payment date of 3/02/15, no payment was received, resulting in cancellation of the policy. Since this time, two Reinstatement Offers and a Final Billing notice advising the insured of the balance due of $106.12 have been mailed out, with no reply. This account was submitted for collections on 7/20/15.

In conclusion; the NSD Membership was disclosed at inception and acknowledged by the insured’s signature. Dues were included in the cost of the policy at point of sale. The increase in premium was a result of a change to the policy lowering the deductibles, made by the broker on behalf of the insured. It is our policy to provide professional and quality service to each of our insureds as was the case with Mr. ********, represented by several documented conversations between him and our customer service department. Our records do not reference a report of a claim however, if it occurred during one of the lapse periods, no coverage would apply and this would explain why the claims department would be unable to assist in the matter. As previously stated, there were two lapses in coverage for this policy and the final cancellation date of 3/02/15 was due to non-payment of premium. We never received a request for cancellation. If the insured replaced “like” coverage elsewhere, prior to our cancellation date, we would be more than happy to review a copy of the replacement policy in order to backdate the cancellation, thus possibly reducing the amount owed.

Accounting Breakdown:

$ 868.00 Earned premium for the period of 7/20/14 to 3/02/15
$ 30.00 Policy fee
$ 1.75 Fraud fee
$ 32.00 NSD Membership dues
$ 87.00 Installment fees – 1 @ $9.00 (while on auto pay) –6 @ $13.00 each
$ 7.00 Endorsement fee (lowering deductibles)
$ 50.00 NSF fees – 2 @ $25.00 each
$ 32.00 Reinstatement fees – 2 @ $16.00 each – for the periods of 1/01/15 to 1/03/15
                                                                                                 1/03/15 to 1/27/15

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: The demand of payment is unfair. I understand I was late a couple times. When I didn't pay, the policy would "cancel". The only way to reinstate it is to make the payment amount in full that they were  charging me, which I did when I had the money. Unfortunately due to the high bill, and lack of communication between Stonewood and ******* *********, I was left paying more then I was quoted. I had a minor fender bender that happened right before I reinstated the policy, and that's why Stonewood was of no assistance. I understand that though, and hold no accountability on Stonewood at this point. But the fact of the matter is, they are trying to make me pay for a service I didn't use. When I didn't pay, the policy was cancelled. And with that, the accident was also of no liability to stonewood. So to ask for payment of a policy that was cancelled is unfair. I did in fact open a policy with Infinity insurance through ******* *********, and specifically asked that they cancel all ties with stonewood. I was informed by the male employee that he would take care of it, and the new policy was then made. I don't understand why stonewood feels I owe over $100 for an insurance policy that was never used, and apparently cancelled due to non payment.

7/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 22, 2015, I bought new car insurance with other Insurance Company and on the same day I sent an email with Policy cancellation request to Stonewood Insurance services.I called to SW representative, she informed for $50 for cancellation fee cost not mention anything else. SW-Customer Service Review responded via email on May 23,2015.June 3 received a letter on Cancellation Date 05/24/2015. On June 15, I emailed SW-Customer Service Mgr asked for the update.She said:Your Cancelation request stated to cancel the policy on 5/23/15. Because we cannot cancel the policy in the middle of the day , the cancelation effective date is 12:01 AM on 5/24/15 . So no coverage is charged past 5/23/15. The cancelation has been processed and no further payments will draft from your account . After the cancelation calculations have been completed , there is an ending balance of $ 8.31 . Unfortunately there is not a refund. The total earned premium and fees from 4/18/2015 thru 5/23/2015 = $ 201.35 , we received a total of $193.04I requested a letter in details from her and found out that the company overcharged me and demanding me to pay $8.31 within 60 days. Since on 04/18/2015 and 05/18/2015, I paid $95.81 and $97.23 to Stonewood Insurance. (Which in these monthly payment has already included with Installment fee $9, Policy fee $2.23, NSD Membership fee $4.)On letter the breakdown of balance owed and charges on the policy are $26.77 Policy fee, $3.52 CA State Fraud Fee, $3.06 Motor Vehicle Report Fee, $18 NSD Roadside Member ship fees($9 each month:April & May) and $50 Cancel Fee.How could the company charged me with all this payment since I already paid them? I have no overdue or late payment. Despite being charged for $4 for 13 months for things I didn't buy or aware of when I first purchased Car Insurance from Stonewood through ******* *********. I believe the Stonewood Insurance services broke an ethical rule of good practice by cramming on fees to confusing the customers.

Desired Settlement: Waived cancellation fees $50 and refund $97.23 as soon as possible.In the future, please inform the Insurance broker to explain all the Premium,Installment fee, Policy Fee, Other Fee?? and NSD membership fee. In case the customer already has other roadside assistance,so he/she doesn't need to have to pay double. Also please train the customer services on phone to have respect toward customers.Thank you very much.

Business Response: GSP90119012

The insured, Mr. ******, renewed his automobile insurance policy with us, effective 4/18/15 by submitting the required down payment to continue the policy for a subsequent term. On 5/22/15 we received a call from the insured’s spouse who inquired about cancelling the policy. She was advised that this would require a written and signed request from the insured and that he would be charged for earned premium and accrued fees, including a $50 cancellation fee. We received a written cancellation request from the insured dated 5/23/15. The cancellation was processed effective 5/24/15 12:01 a.m. Below is an accounting breakdown for this policy term:

$ 92.00 Earned premium for period of $4/18/15 to 5/24/15
$ 26.77 Fully earned policy fee
$ 3.52 Fraud fee
$ 8.00 NSD Membership dues
$ 3.06 MVR fee
$ 18.00 Installment fees – 2 @ $9.00 each
$ 50.00 Cancellation fee

$ 201.35 Total due
- 193.04 Total paid

Each applicable fee was fully disclosed on the policy Declaration page, issued to the insured on 4/18/15. The cancellation fee was also verbally disclosed, along with other accrued fees at the time the insured inquired about cancelling the policy. In regards to the $4.00 monthly NSD Membership dues, this is an affinity roadside plan that is included with this policy. There is no option to opt out. This, and all conditions and fees of the policy were agreed to at the initial point of sale on 4/18/14 and upon the submission of payment for each renewal.

Unfortunately there is no refund due the insured, only a remaining balance. Since our guidelines state that we will charge the applicable fees, any deviation from said guidelines would place us in a non-compliance status. Therefore, we are unable to waive fees and the balance due will remain until paid.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this matter has caused the insured, Mr. ******, and hope that we have addressed all areas of concern.








Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talked with the manager ***** about renewing my policy due to it being cancelled because of an error mase by broker. I was told a letter was sent, never received it then my wife talked to someone who said stonewood stated we had to fill out an exclusion form. During that conversation never once was told policy would be cancelled. However did ask her to send exclusion form to update policy. As I went to pay my renewal as normal through automated system it wouldnt allow me. I talked to Jeremy at freeway who said as long as I get the exclusion form in there be no fee just the renewal payment of $216.43. Sent the form, being told today I have to pay. $25 reinstatement fee. I explained I was never asked to have children excluded when signing documents under age and who don't have license. It would be reasonable to eaive a fee since it's not my fault. ***** said it was my dault and when asking to talk with someone above her she said there is no one else this is the highest it gets. This is horrible customer service and I can't believe the way I was treated as if I wanted to jumo through all these hoops in the first place since the broker couldn't get things right explaining the process. I feel unfair treatment and being penalized for for their mistake. No one above you? Can't waive a client that invest in their business? It comes down to $25? Really? Who can help? I need car insurance I had renewed so I can move on with my life responsibly.

Desired Settlement: $25 reinstatement fee waived. A call from *****'s boss if possible.. Market manager, regional manager, VP, CEO someone who is over her so they know how she makes her client feel. Respect, and understanding of what someone has been put through.

Business Response: GSP20005491

This automobile insurance policy for the insured, Mr. ****** originally began on 5/17/14 and renewed for a subsequent term. In March of this year (2015), two claims were reported under this policy. During the claims investigation process, it was determined that there were members of the household that had not been disclosed at inception as required by the policy contract. A question on the application specifically asks if all residents of the household 14 years and older (possible drivers) are either added to the policy or excluded from coverage, to which the insured inaccurately answered “Yes.” It is further required that any changes or updates be reported to the insurance company during the life of the policy. Upon notice of the undisclosed residents, we followed up with the insured by sending a cancellation notice on 4/08/15 requiring that they be added or excluded on the policy. We were later advised that the insured’s daughter was under the age of 14, but the son was over age 14. The insured was given the option to sign and return the attached Driver Exclusion Form that had been provided with the cancellation notice, or add his son to the policy. This was due by 4/28/15 as indicated on the form in order to avoid cancellation. On 4/17/15, we received a call from the insured’s spouse, *******, who inquired about adding their son, to the policy. She was referred to the broker for the quoting and processing of the change to add the son and reminded of the pending cancellation. At this time she asked if adding her son would increase the premium. She was advised that most likely it would but could confirm with her broker. On 4/22/15 we received a call from the insured’s broker who wanted to be sure that adding the son who only held a driver’s permit would be acceptable. We advised that yes, this would be acceptable. Unfortunately, we never received a request to add him, nor did we receive the signed form to exclude him. As a result, the policy cancelled effective 4/28/15. On 5/19/15 we received a call from the broker inquiring about the cancellation. He was advised of the requirements to reinstate the policy. On 5/21/15 we received the signed driver exclusion form for the son. The policy was now eligible for reinstatement with the monthly installment that had now come due. Because of the lapse in coverage a Reinstatement Fee was included in this amount. We received a call from the insured, Mr. ****** on 5/21/15 who stated that he was not advised by his broker that he must disclose household members over the age of 14, nor did he receive written or verbal notices from us for required information. Because of this, he asked that the Reinstatement fee be waived. Our Customer Service Manager advised him that it is not our policy to waive a valid fee. This is not only a steadfast in-house rule but also guidelines set forth by the California Insurance Code that we not deviate from our own guidelines (fee schedule) or otherwise risk being out of compliance. Our representative further referred him to the facts of the file, notated conversations, documents and dates where he, his spouse and his broker were advised of the pending cancellation and what actions were necessary to have it removed. In conclusion; the insured agreed to the conditions of the policy by entering into the contract. We have clear documentation that confirms that the insured, his spouse and his broker were all advised in writing and verbally that the policy would cancel if said information was not received by the specified date. In light of this and based on the CIC, there is no justification to waive the reinstatement fee in this matter. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this matter has caused the insured and hope that we have provided some understanding of our position in this matter.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  When originally opening insurance I was not asked to exclude my 14 year old son.  My son was 14 when I received insurance.  This is their job to discuss that at time of signing.  To blame me, my wife or penalize us for a mistake they made is upsetting no one gets it.

Second, my wife was asking for a quote for my son in case we decided to add him.  The company was not clear regarding this.  The broker we went to said we did not have to worry about the exclusion form if he was not driving, they would handle it.  This was at the Fairfield Cost-U-Less.  We will not be doing anymore business with this insurance company as they obviously don't want our business.  I have seen reviews regarding this company that talk about the extra fees they tack on.  I refuse to give another penny because they couldn't get it right.

Also, no manager should talk to their client in the manner in which I was talked to.  Seems as though that was over looked and found acceptable.  We were not treated fairly, no it's a matter of their word Vs. ours.

4/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a collection call almost 1 year later re my stone wood insurance services when I switched to All State. I had canceled my service after receiving a letter which Stone wood had sent me stating they canceled my policy. A week or so later I got another letter stating the original letter was sent in error. I now owe stone wood $61.61 of which 29.60 is for a policy fee, 7 for endorsements, 16 for 3 days of coverage and the rest for changing my address. I feel this is not right nor fair. I had confirmed with the phone associates that day of cancelation that if anything I would be getting a small refund due to the day I canceled vs the days I had paid for my policy. Rather I owe random fees for no reason. I had even had them waive a $50 cancelation fee due do their letter mistake. I had previously been happy with my insurance and didnt need to look elsewhere but after that letter dropping me of coverage that was the straw. I feel Stone wood should waive the $61.61 and remove all and any mention of collections from my credit report as if it has been truly placed into collections this will hurt my ficos and cause further damage. From something that was handled almost a year ago. I feel this is a outrageous request for fees almost a year later. This needs to be take care of. right away and make this someone end up somewhat of a positive experience. I did speak in detail with customer service and eventually after 1 hour and 8 mins and 45 seconds got to speak with a manager by the name of ****** I. per ****** the act in refrence was ***********

Desired Settlement: Remove any and all mention of any collection and waive the $61.61 in fees and bring my balance to a 0.00 and make sure no collections compnay calls me again regarding this matter. A letter stating this would be nice as well.

Business Response: The insured, Mr. *****, *** started a policy with us by way of his broker on 3/26/13.  He renewed for a second term on 3/26/14.  Throughout both policy terms, all fees were fully disclosed to him in multiple areas of the policy, on the original application, on the Payment Schedule and on the face of all policy declaration pages issued to him.  When the policy was cancelled, per the insured's request, we also honored his request to waive the $50 cancellation fee.  However, there was still a balance due of $61.61 for unpaid fees and premium.  All of this was explained to him, in detail, by our representative, by phone and email.  Although this balance due is valid, we strive to provide quality service to our customers therefore, we have waived the balance due on the account and have requested it be removed from our outside collections.     

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Thank you

4/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased auto insurance from Stonewood Insurance on March 13, 2013 and cancelled the insurance less than 30 days later because I was extremely dissatisfied with their service. My new insurance with Statefarm was effective April 10th 2013. I faxed a cancellation letter to Stonewood Insurance and mailed the original. I was just contacted by a collection agency because Stonewood claims they never received my cancellation request. They have never contacted me or sent me any past due invoices and then 2 years later I get contacted by collections. This company had poor customer service to begin with which is why I originally cancelled their service. There are numerous complaints online from other customers who have used Stonewood Insurance and had the same issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $70 charge on my account removed and the collections attempt cancelled.

Business Response:

This policy was purchased by the insured, Ms. ****** on 3/16/13 through her broker. Per her request, the policy was set up on an Automatic Recurring Credit Card Monthly Payment plan. On 4/15/13, we were notified that the first monthly credit card payment had declined. We immediately placed a call to the insured. A message was left and a letter was mailed to her. The insured called us back this same day. During a recorded call, she remembered that she had a new credit card and provided us with the information for this card. A replacement payment was made at this time and the account was placed back on the Recurring Credit Card plan. If the insured had replaced coverage elsewhere on 4/10/13 as her complaint states, why would she make a payment five days later on a policy that she wanted to be cancelled? On 5/15/13, we were notified that the monthly credit card payment was once again declined. A call was placed to the insured, a message was left and a letter was mailed to the insured advising of the declined card. We received no reply. On 5/16/13 a Cancellation Notice was sent to the insured requiring a payment by 5/26/13. No payment was received and the policy cancelled. On 5/31/13 and again on 7/10/13, we sent a Reinstatement Offer and Balance Due Notice advising of the amount necessary to reinstate the policy AND the balance due on the account. We received no reply to these. At no time did we receive a request from the insured by phone, mail, fax or email to cancel the policy. We provided quality service for this policy. The issues that occurred were due to declined credit cards submitted by the insured and lack of payment. We did in fact attempt to collect the outstanding balance (see attachments) with no success, therefore the account was turned over to an outside collection agency. The balance will remain due until paid.

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of Stonewood Insurance Services, via a broker ******* ********* for nearly a year. I had an accident in October; during the course of the investigation, I was asked to provide personal information of persons who reside in the same house as I. I balked at this; as this had nothing what so ever to do with my insurance claim. I was advised that unless I provided the requested information my claim would be denied. I acquiesced and provided the requested information, under protest stating that at no time during my conversation with anyone from ******* ********* ( the party who took my application) was anything disclosed about obtaining information about persons with whom I lived. On, Saturday, 11/29/2014 I received a letter from Stonewood Insurance Services that my policy would be cancled unless I provided the requested information concerning my roommate by 12/04/14. On 12/01/14 I mailed the request information on the signed and completed form provided and then called Stonewood to advise them that I had done as they had requested. The customer service rep advised that she was noting the account. On 12/05/14 I logged onto the website to check the status of my policy ..only to discover that it had been canceled. How is this possible. they gave me less than a week to respond. I did as they asked and they still canceled my policy.

Desired Settlement: I want my policy reinstated and I wish to be made whole with respect to my accident claim. I have also filed a complaint with the State of California Insurance Commissioner

Business Response: This policy was originally written on 12/13/13 through an online process.  One of the questions asked on the application/contract is, “are all residents of your household 14 years and older, all regular drivers of the vehicles, and all names currently showing on the registration of any listed vehicle either added to the policy or excluded from coverage?”  The insured, Mr. **** answered “yes” to this question as indicated on the application/contract, by the date and time stamp of 12/13/14  4:10:30 PM PST.  In addition to this, the Applicant’s Certification section of the application/contract states, “I understand that I have a continuing duty to notify the company of any changes of:  (3) members of my household of eligible driving age or permit age…”  Mr. **** agreed to these terms by clicking
“Accept” as indicated on the application/contract on 12/13/14  4:10:01 PM PST.  In October, during the course of a claims investigation for this policy, it was discovered that there was an undisclosed member of the household, a roommate who had been residing with the insured for one year.  Once the claims department notified us of this, we proceeded to take Underwriting action by issuing a Notice of Cancellation requiring the insured to either add or exclude this resident from the policy.  The notice was mailed out on
\ 11/14/14, giving the insured the required 20 days to provide the necessary information.  On 12/01/14, we did in fact receive a call from the insured advising that he would be mailing the require  information that day.  This was noted in our system, pending the receipt of the information.  The postmark of the received information was 12/03/14, one day before the cancellation was to take effect on 12/04/14 12:01 AM.  Unfortunately, during the processing time, a cancellation generated.  Once the received information was processed, honoring the postmark date, a reinstatement was issued the same date and time of the cancellation, 12/04/14 12:01 AM, rendering no lapse in coverage. 

Mr. **** did not comply with the terms of the contract by failing to disclose all household members.  We respectfully invite him to refer to the terms and conditions of the policy in which he agreed to and accepted.     

In regards to the claim, we have been advised by the claims department that currently they are waiting for Mr. **** to advise them of where he will be taking his vehicle for repairs.  Once this is determined, a claims payout will be made to that repair shop. 

Business Response: This policy was originally written on 12/13/13 through an online process.  One of the questions asked on the application/contract is, “are all residents of your household 14 years and older, all regular drivers of the vehicles, and all names currently showing on the registration of any listed vehicle either added to the policy or excluded from coverage?”  The insured, Mr. **** answered “yes” to this question as indicated on the application/contract, by the date and time stamp of 12/13/14  4:10:30 PM PST.  In addition to this, the Applicant’s Certification section of the application/contract states, “I understand that I have a continuing duty to notify the company of any changes of:  (3) members of my household of eligible driving age or permit age…”  Mr. **** agreed to these terms by clicking
“Accept” as indicated on the application/contract on 12/13/14  4:10:01 PM PST.  In October, during the course of a claims investigation for this policy, it was discovered that there was an undisclosed member of the household, a roommate who had been residing with the insured for one year.  Once the claims department notified us of this, we proceeded to take Underwriting action by issuing a Notice of Cancellation requiring the insured to either add or exclude this resident from the policy.  The notice was mailed out on
\ 11/14/14, giving the insured the required 20 days to provide the necessary information.  On 12/01/14, we did in fact receive a call from the insured advising that he would be mailing the require  information that day.  This was noted in our system, pending the receipt of the information.  The postmark of the received information was 12/03/14, one day before the cancellation was to take effect on 12/04/14 12:01 AM.  Unfortunately, during the processing time, a cancellation generated.  Once the received information was processed, honoring the postmark date, a reinstatement was issued the same date and time of the cancellation, 12/04/14 12:01 AM, rendering no lapse in coverage. 

Mr. **** did not comply with the terms of the contract by failing to disclose all household members.  We respectfully invite him to refer to the terms and conditions of the policy in which he agreed to and accepted.     

In regards to the claim, we have been advised by the claims department that currently they are waiting for Mr. **** to advise them of where he will be taking his vehicle for repairs.  Once this is determined, a claims payout will be made to that repair shop. 

8/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The payoff amount was $832.60 for the remaining balance. That of 91.00 was paid then cancelled because of non payment & the better business bureau has a case#********. I would like a refund please. Thanks ****** ******.

Desired Settlement: Just to refund me my money that i paid for total $357.52.

Business Response:

An auto policy was written through Stonewood Insurance on behalf of Mr. ******* by his broker, effective 4/01/14, policy #***********.  This is a six month policy, premium $411.00, not including fees and is currently active.  There is one vehicle on the policy, a 2001 ****** Sienna with one rated driver, ****** ** ******.  Shortly after inception, the policy was cancelled due to underwriting reasons, however that issue was resolved and the policy was reinstated.  The total amount paid to date on this policy is $315.90.  The initial down payment received by us was $92.57.  According to our file, to date there have been no cancellations due to non-payment.  The insured's statements of a payoff amount of $832.60, a purchase date of 8/07/14 and a problem occurring on 3/20/14 do not match the facts of this policy.  It's possible that Mr. ****** may be referring to a separate policy written elsewhere and should consult his broker.  If Mr. ****** wishes to cancel his policy with Stonewood Insurance, he may do so by submitting a written and signed request.  Currently the policy is scheduled to cancel for non-payment at 12:01 a.m. on 8/17/14.  Another option for him would be to allow the policy to cancel for non-payment.  If he did in fact secure coverage elsewhere, he can provide us with proof of this and we will review it to see if backdating the cancellation is in order.  Mr. ****** has been covered for his vehicle for the period of 4/01/14 to current.  There is no basis for a full refund. 

 

Respectfully,

Stonewood Underwriting Department

                     

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ****** ******* am a client of the insurance Stonewood Insurance now for some time.  But the past 4th of May, my family and I had an accident. We were returning home after visiting our relatives in Palm Springs. We live in  Bakersfield CA, but at the elevation of Redlands CA being 10:30 at night approx. the accident happened and the one who was driving my son. At the moment he felt drowsy and pretended leaving the freeway he fell asleep and crashed with the outside protective barrier. All the front end of the Explorer was damaged badly, there were no other vehicles involved, and also nobody was injured. Only the truck was damaged. When I reported to my insurance such accident, they responded that they could not help me with nothing only because the one that was driving was not on the policy. In the vehicle the only travelers were my wife, my son, and I. When we were with our relatives, I drank some beers and I did not dare to drive for fear of getting involved with a DUI even though I felt perfectly fine. My son suggested that he drive, since my wife is scared of driving at night and thats why my son drove the truck and of course he has his license to drive in force of California. 

Desired Settlement: Help me with expenses and with the financier since I am paying off the Explorer to Wells Fargo.

Business Response: We have been advised by the claims department manager that during the investigation of this claim, a recorded statement was taken from the insured.  During this call it was disclosed that the insured's son was the driver in the accident and that he was also a member of the household.  The policy requires that ALL members of the household over the age of 14 years, be added or excluded on the policy.  Prior to the accident, this driver had not been declared.  It was calculated that having this driver added to the policy would have increased the premium by 209%, which was determined to be material to the non-disclosure.  Therefore, the policy was rescinded due to Material Misrepresentation and coverage for the claim has been denied.  The insured has been notified and a full refund is scheduled to go out to him on 7/18/14.     

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was rear ended by one of Stonewood's clients.Fault was admitted, I had pictures of the damages and the appraiser came about one week later to look at my vehicle. The person handling my claim called me once after about 5 voicemails I left him. Unfortunately his call was during work hours and I missed the call. I called about another 5 times before I got a hold of him and he sent me the paperwork from what the estimated damages were. From there I heard nothing. I kept being ignored and when i demanded an answer,his reply was "your check was mailed yesterday." Two weeks later and still no check, I asked for a status update and he didn't have a clear answer. Now , he just ignores me. What kind of people work here? My vehicle is deteriorating and these people think it's okay to ignore me and not be responsible for the damages done to my vehicle .

Desired Settlement: Two months later and this has not been resolved. My vehicle is in worse condition now. I need a new appraiser to come and look at the new damages caused due to negligence. I need a different representative to handle my claim as I am tired of being ignored.I need Stonewood to expedite my request with diligence .

Business Response: We ask that you please provide us with the name and policy number of our insured.  Another option would be the name of the carrier and adjuster you have been corresponding with.  Since we are the General Agency for multiple carriers, we will need this information in order to direct and resolve the issue with the appropriate party.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:It still does not resolve the matter. 

The policy number I was provided is ************** and it belongs to ****** ******.  The Representative handling
my claim#******* , was ***** ********. Please notify me if additional information is required . 
Thank You . 

Business Response:

In regards to the claims process for the accident that occurred with our insured, below is a complete response from the claims department manager:

Ms. ******** was contacted on 5/19/14 to set the inspection of her vehicle.   She could not meet our appraiser until 5/21/14.  Her vehicle was estimated and photographed on 5/21/14, however, we had not spoken to our insured, ****** ****** yet.  We were able to make contact with our insured on 5/22/14 and confirm the facts of loss.  We spoke again with Ms. ******** on 6/3/14 and confirmed her version of the accident and verified there were no injuries.  Ms. ******** mentioned at that time that she had been pushed into another vehicle (which we’ll call the 3rd vehicle), but thought that the 3rd vehicle suffered no damage.  Because of the low limits for PD on the Lepage policy we attempted to verify whether or not there was actually damage to the 3rd vehicle so as not to prematurely deplete the policy limits.  We did not hear back from the owner of the 3rd vehicle so we opted to pay the damage to Ms. ********’s vehicle.  The check was issued to Ms. ******** on 6/18/14.   Unfortunately, the address on the check was incorrect and so the check was returned to us on 7/3/14.  Once we were able to obtain the correct address, the check was reissued and fed ex’d to Ms. ******** on 7/10/14.  We believe this matter has been resolved to Ms. ********’s satisfaction.

 

 

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ****** was injured in a rollover accident when she was hit by a ******'s delivery truck on Wed. Jan. 15, 2014 at approximately 11:30pm. Ms. ****** stated that her car had a total electrical failure and her locked steering wheel left her partially in the road when she was hit, pushed 30ft and rolled over 2.5 times. She was covered in dirt and glass when she was picked up and taken away by ambulance. The insurance party representing the ******'s delivery service claims that Ms. ****** was outside the car at the time of the accident and was a distraction for the other driver, causing him to strike her vehicle. Ms. ******'s insurance has made no attempt to discuss compensation.

Desired Settlement: Set a court date and provide a lawyer so that we can be compensated for our car, towing and storage fees ($60 a day). 1/16/14 to current.

Business Response:

In response to the complainant’s dispute, we have obtained information from the carrier claims department, as follows: 

Per the investigation for claim #*******, the named insured on the policy has stated that his insured vehicle stalled in the middle of the road and was hit by another vehicle.  Per the police report, the other party has stated that he was distracted by the driver of the named vehicle who was outside of the vehicle waiving her arms while in the middle of the roadway.  The police report further states that she was transported to Mercy Medical Center by AMR from the scene; however, no injuries could be substantiated from the collision.  The vehicle, a 1994 Toyota Camry only carried third party coverage.  There was no medical payments coverage or uninsured motorist coverage.The police report states that the driver of the insured vehicle, caused this accident.

 If the insured is seeking recovery for injuries or repairs to this vehicle, she must pursue this through the other party’s carrier, Hartford Insurance Company. The assigned claims representative will attempt to reach the insured’s driver this week to discuss the matter further.    

 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

It is not our responsibility to haggle with a conflicting parties insurance company.  As our hired insurance carrier, it is that of Stonewood insurance services to assume that responsibility.  It is also their responsibility to know and uphold traffic laws as they relate to the assignment of blame in such matters.  At the very least they should know that distraction does not excuse a driver from fault.  Yet seemingly stonewood has set a precedence for what in-fact "the very least" implies. 

Business Response:

In response to the complainant’s rejection of our response, below is the information obtained directly from the insurance carrier’s claims manager along with the attached police report:


1.       There is no CL/CP  on the 1994 Toyota Camry involved in the accident, according to the renewal dec page in PTS.  We advised the insured of this fact at the time the loss was being investigated.  If she wants to claim the damages, she needs to file a claim with the other party’s insurance company.

2.       The policy does not provide a “lawyer” for the insured to pursue a claim.  She would need to do that on her own.  (if the insured was ever sued as a defendant, however, the policy would provide for a defense, in which case we would provide an attorney – barring any coverage issues)

3.       The P.R. puts the insured at fault for the accident.  I attached a copy of the report in case you need it.  We ended up negotiating with the other party and paying the PD limit of $10,000.  (the PD demand exceeded $14k, but they took the $10k limit after signing a release of all claims)

4.       Also, just FYI - there was another claim for a sign pole with the same date of loss, but different time of loss.  Another party was claiming that the insured vehicle struck a pole on his property then fled the scene.  The owner of the pole gave inconsistent facts of loss, so we denied the claim.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: 


The day after being released from the hospital as result of a roll over accident with a bigrig, we filed a claim with stonewood, in which I gave the names and insurance numbers of the involved parties.  Despite this, a week later after not hearing back, I come to find, that Stonewood has subsequently closed the claim after categorizing it as a hit and run by an unidentified driver.   So now, at the point by which a full investigation should have already been well underway, I find myself trying to assist stonewood in the reopening the claim.  To this very day Stonewood has not taken a statement, looked at the vehicle or the hospital report, and or to our knowledge investigated the accident scene.  Yet as you tell me now you have have made a determination and paid a counter claim.
If in fact this is true and a claim has been paid without our knowledge or consent I am obviously only further discouraged by the major lack of formality in which you and or your company operates. 
None the less I expect a physical copy of the settlement and your official determination as to cause and liability.  I can not gaurantee that further action will not be taken against stonewood insurance services.
 *** *** ****** ** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Stonewood Insurance Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart