Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Cliff Cottam Insurance Services, a Mitchell and Mitchell Company offers auto, home and business insurance personally tailored for each client. As an independent agency, we represent many insurance companies allowing us to find our clients the best coverage.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cliff Cottam Insurance Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cliff Cottam Insurance Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cliff Cottam Insurance Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 13, 2008 Business started: 12/31/2001 in CA Business incorporated 10/26/1981 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357
The number is 0620650.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Anne Siebum, Office Manager/Broker/Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Anne Siebum, Office Manager/Broker/Partner
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Auto Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists Insurance - Bonding Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Insurance - Senior Products Insurance - Disability Insurance - Property Insurance - Workers Compensation

Service Area
California
Alternate Business Names
Cottam, Cliff Insurance Services Mitchell & Mitchell Insurance Services, Inc.
Products & Services

Auto Insurance, Home Insurance, Business Insurance, Flood Insurance, Motorcycle Insurance, Boat Insurance, Umbrella Insurance, Earthquake Insurance


Additional Locations

  • 1111 Howe Ave Ste 535

    Sacramento, CA 95825 (800) 807-6871 (916) 488-4426

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was being billed monthly from September 2013 to October 2014 when I should not have been.I had an insurance policy on a car that I sold in September 2013, the same month that I cancelled the policy. I should not be billed for insurance on a car that I do not own, especially after I cancelled the policy. Their response was that even though I sold the car, they were still liable if I drove another. This statement is completely contradictory to the statements of one of their claims agents that I spoke to over the phone. That agent stated that the insurance was on the car, if I drove somebody else's car and tried to file a claim, it would NOT be covered. Again, I had already cancelled the policy anyways, so this is all moot.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking my money back for the months of September 2013 through October 2014, the months I was billed even after my policy was cancelled and the car was sold.

Business Response: The client contacted us on 9/19/13 and requested to cancel the policy. He told us he was selling the vehicle to **** * ****. I advised the client that we will need a signed cancellation request in order to cancel the policy.  I emailed him the request we needed signed and asked him to email or fax the signed cancellation. I also advised the client that we will email confirmation that we have received the signed cancellation and submitted it to the insurance company.  We did not hear back from the client until 11/06/2014, over a year later. The client was frustrated because his policy had not been cancelled and money had been automatically deducted from his bank account.  The client was asked to provide a receipt for the sale and the original signed cancellation statement. We explained that we never received the signed request back in 2013 and we will see if the insurance company will backdate the cancellation.  The insured only provided the receipt from **** * ****, however he did not include the original signed cancellation request.  We forwarded the receipt to the insurance company asking if they will backdate the cancellation.  The company advised us that they will remove the vehicle and the policy will change to a non-owners status due to not receiving the originally signed cancellation request. The company also advised us we could not backdate the cancellation due to the non-owner liability exposure. I spoke with the client's sister and explained this. I asked her to provide proof in the form of the sent email or fax confirmation showing that her brother did in fact send over the signed request back in 2013.  I never heard back from her.  It is our company procedure to provide the client with a form to sign to cancel their policy. We also inform them that the policy will cancel on the next business day after receiving the signed request. We also let them know we will email confirmation to them when we receive the cancellation request so the client knows it has been received. We do not follow up with the client if we do not receive the cancellation request. There are times when a client changes their mind about cancelling. We made the assumption that Mr. ******* had changed his mind since the policy payments had continued and the policy had renewed twice.