Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Sandra Alva Agency

Phone: (916) 989-2144 View Additional Phone Numbers 8940 Greenback Ln Ste 150, Orangevale, CA 95662 http://www.statefarm.com/agent/US/CA/Orangevale/Sandra-Alva-5KK1M1YS000


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sandra Alva Agency offers insurance services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sandra Alva Agency include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sandra Alva Agency
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 17, 2012 Business started: 04/25/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357
The number is 0721394.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Sandra Alva, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sandra Alva, Owner
Business Category

Insurance Agents Insurance - Auto Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Insurance - Rental

Alternate Business Names
Sandy Alva-State Farm Agent
Products & Services

This company offers insurance services through State Farm.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8940 Greenback Ln Ste 150

    Orangevale, CA 95662 (877) 574-5232 (916) 989-2144

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** **** is trying to keep a credit refund that they owe us because our agent did not represent us fairly or honestly. ***** **** and our Agent have been dishonest about our policy, the amount of credit that is owing to us and then started an audit for a General Liability policy we have only had for 2 months. Our agent has been approving payments without us knowing on a policy that was put on hold by our agent due to the credit issues. Putting us further in debt with no credit refund as of yet. Our agent now tells us that we owe her for our policy payment that she made with out our consent or informing us that the policy will be canceled even though it was put on hold by our agent. The audit now informs us that we did not have employees listed. Even though our agent was told that we have employees from the beginning. This is an issue that our agent caused and is constantly avoiding telling the truth or being upfront about our policy.

Desired Settlement: We want all credit applied to the primary policy that is in effect now. No audit charges are to be applied to us due to the outlandish dishonesty made by our agent regarding our employees.No charge to us for a policy that has been supposedly put on hold by our agent. A policy on hold means no coverage during that time and no payment for non service. We want a new agent. One who knows what they are doing.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau.

I will try to your concerns item in an effort to address any misunderstandings regarding your Commercial Artisans/Contractors policy ************)I don't believe that my actions or information was dishonest or deceitful, that certainly was never my intention. I can understand your confusion and frustration when multiple issues are being addressed.Those issues: Change of Agent, change of policy, change of coverage, change of policy period, audit, payments and credits, premium adjustments due to audit.I now know that i made a mistake in assuming that you were fully informed and understood the criteria needed and used for writing and issuing a Commercial Policy.My assumption was based on the fact that you previously had a Commercial Policy with ***** **** before transferring to my office and with other carriers prior to insuring with ***** **** according to your application.I apologize to you for that assumption and not making sure you understood the criteria on which the policy is written and premium is established.

The initial policy issued on June 01, 2015 was not written by me but transferred into my agency in October 2015, per your request.A replacement policy was issued exactly as originally written with General Liability only, but showing the change of agent of record with a new policy number keeping the same Policy period of 06/01 to 06/01/2016. Policy number ***********.In reviewing the initial policy, I noted that you only had coverage for General Liability which would cover any damage you may cause in the performance of your occupation.I contacted you to determine if there was a policy in place which provided protection for your business equipment. It was determined you did not. I suggested that you either consider and Inland Marine Policy separate and part from the existing Liability Policy or amplify your existing policy to include that coverage.You elected to amplify the existing policy to include Business Equipment coverage.

Due to the change of coverage the policy had to be rewritten once again and a new policy application was submitted effective 10/13/2015.The prior General Liability Policy, started in 06/01/2015, was cancelled and replaced with the newer comprehensive policy effective 10/13/2015.Commercial Policies are auditable at the end of every policy period, if the policy is cancelled midterm then the policy is audited up to the point of cancellation.

The reference you made regarding the audit being on the newer policy is inaccurate. It actually addresses the original General Liability policy only. The audit covered the period from 06/01/2015 until 10/13/2015, the date of cancellation of the prior policy.Once the audit is completed, the company reviews both the audit information and information provided at the time of application to determine if the premium being charged is correct or if based on new information an adjustment of premium is warranted.Any money paid is first applied to the cancelled policy and held until the audit is completed. If the audit shows that the premium charged is accurate and all payments in excess are passed on as a credit to the new policy.

Based on what was presented on the original application to my knowledge there was no mention of employees, so I mistakenly believed that there would not be any adjustment to your original Commercial Policy premium and any money paid would be passed onto the new policy as a credit.

As to information indicating that you had employees, notice of employees were only reported in an email to me 12/23/2015 when you requested a quote for a vehicle that you purchased and wanted to use in the business. The email mentioned that you were purchasing this vehicle for your crew to use. In a lengthy email i explained to you that it would not be in your best interest to single out this vehicle from your household and you would be better served if you tried to keep all your vehicles with the same carrier.

I should have at the time followed up on the mention of employees and requested an estimated payroll to pass onto ***** **** to make any adjustments necessary to the NEW policy in force to avoid any storage of premium at your next renewal on 10/13/2016, when this policy will be audited to set premiums for the upcoming year.I did fail you in that respect, I am sorry, and request that you inform the Company or your future agent of estimated payroll for 2016 to avoid any unanticipated increases.I assured you that i would monitor this policy and make sure that there would be no lapse in coverage, due to the length of time that it took to get the audit completed and premiums adjusted, there was a cancellation pending.I sent you proof of payment needed to keep the policy in force until this matter was cleared up. I did just that, I covered the premium to protect your policy.

I never asked for nor did i indicate to you at any time for reimbursement. I believed that you were entitled to the refund and based on the information we were using felt that I would preserve the policy by advancing the anticipated pending credit.As for paying this bill without consent, I believed you forwarded me the copy of the bill with the coment "Please take care of this as promised". I did just that.I know you believe that I  was responsible for the audit. I have no involvement in audits that is company driven.It is regrettable that we are in this situation, I sincerely believe that a great deal of the issues were due to not understanding the policy and policy requirements and certainly not having those issues addressed by the agent, weather the prior agent or myself.

The desired resolutions: Of no charges due to an audit by a dishonest agent, is something I cannot address, since I did not write the original policy and do not have knowledge of what information was provided to the Agent and ***** **** for the policy written effective 06/01/2015. That issued should be addressed directly with the prior agent and ***** **** Insurance.

The desired resolution of: No service fees due to putting your new policy on hold. At no time was the policy from ***** **** showing that your policy was active and in force with no lapse in coverage to the present time.The hold you are referring to is the "stop of any automatic payments" being drawn from your account until we could get a handle on charges or possible credits being applied.

Should you have any further questions, please contact me by phone at ***** ********

Sincerely,
****** ** ***** *****

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: After this lengthy letter all I got out of it was that Mrs. Alva has no intention on taking responsibility for any errors she caused with the policy in question. 

We now expect a full refund for any monies we paid for this policy. We no longer want anything to do with not only our agent, Sandra Alva, or ***** ****. We expected ***** **** to employee honest and professional agents, Mrs. Alva has shown none of these qualities. 

 

 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sandra Alva Agency
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)