Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that West Coast Growers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for West Coast Growers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on West Coast Growers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 28, 2008 Business started: 08/10/2005 in CA Business incorporated 11/09/2012 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Furr, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Furr, Owner
Business Category

Hydroponics - Equipment & Supplies Fertilizers Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Lighting Plants Fertilizer Plant Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Agwares, LLC
Products & Services

This company offers the retail sale of garden lighting and supply fixtures.


Additional Locations

  • 110 Spring Hill Dr Ste 10

    Grass Valley, CA 95945 (530) 273-8198

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $4,735.84 in full for an air conditioning unit on July 20, 2015. Was told unit would be delivered within two weeks. After two weeks passed and no unit was received, I repeatedly called and left messages for ****** ******* ****. He would not return calls. I went to place of business numerous times and was assured by Mr. **** that the unit had been ordered but there was a problem with shipping. Received a phone message from Mr. **** on September 8, 2015 saying that he was sorry, he is having financial difficulty, the product was never ordered, he does not have my money, but is hopeful that he might be able to repay me by the end of the month. He is a liar and a cheat.

Desired Settlement: I have filed a dispute with my credit card company for $2735.84, the amount that was charged to my card. I paid the balance of $2,000 to Mr. **** in cash. I would like all of my money back.

Business Response: BBB,

I realize that we have been late in responding to our customers needs regarding the delivery of the AC unit. We in fact did have one on hold to be shipped approximately three days after he ordered it. But personal family matters and an extremely slow August has unfortunately impacted our deliverables. The fact of the matter is that we will refund  ***** money by the end of the month and there were no maybes of if then statements expressed. We are a very reputable company and our ethics are strong. Whether **** has complained to the BBB or not has no impact on us in terms of making him whole.

As I expressed to him in today's voice mail, we will refund his money in full by the end of the month. It's  a shame that he feels the need to assassinate me publically and resort to name calling and take steps to hurt my business while expecting the worse of humanity while were doing our best to resolve the issue the best we can. We didn't deliberately take the mans money and go to Vegas. He engaged us with good intent and we will respond likewise even with the vitriol.

******* ****
************* ***
*** ********

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

This business owner has lied to us on multiple occasions, and now we are now expected to believe that we will be repaid in full by the end of the month?  He told me, to my face, as recently as two weeks ago that the unit had shipped from Florida to Arizona, and was awaiting to find a truck up here.  Again, HE NEVER EVEN PLACED THE ORDER.  Any chance at goodwill and understanding was tossed out the window the last time he lied to my face.  This guy took our money and applied it to other debts.  How do I know?  Because he said so in two voicemails he left for me yesterday.  We absolutely refuse to have any further voice contact with this person, and will wait and see if we are repaid by September 30.  If that does not happen, we will proceed with a lawsuit.

$4700 given to a business owner on July 20th.  Multiple calls placed by us to receive a shipping update that went unreturned by the owner.  Five weeks after the order was placed, the owner knowingly lies to my face about the order.  Seven weeks after placing the order, the owner finally admits that the order was never placed, and that our money was used to settle whatever debts the owner had at the time.

This isn't vitriol.  This isn't a personal attack.  These are the facts, and it is beyond unacceptable.

Business Response:

BBB / All,

This issue is more complex and will take more time to resolve. It turns out that the credit card company never received the full amount of money that the consumer reversed the said charges against. We are now paying that money to the credit card company which in turn is priority one for us. The remaining balance "$1500.00" paid in cash by consumer, will then be paid on a monthly schedule to be paid in full by March 30, 2016.

This is the best we can do under the circumstances. If our business exceeds expectations in revenue, you will be notified if we can accelerate the rate we can afford to pay back.

As we have said in the past, it is our priority to leave this consumer whole and we will pay him back based on this schedule. 

Thank you,

******* ****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. "

Good morning.  Please be advised that we have received final payment.  As a result, please close this case.  Thank you to the BBB for all your help with this matter that we consider closed.  ***** ******"



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on West Coast Growers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)