Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mobility Plus of California

Phone: (209) 552-2244 Fax: (209) 552-2288 View Additional Phone Numbers 627 Galaxy Way, Modesto, CA 95356 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mobilityplusofca.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

FREE CONSULTATION for Mobility Needs 
FULLY STOCKED SHOWROOM (refreshments served)Lowest Prices of any full service local supplierLowest Cost "White Glove" home delivery service
INSURANCE PRE-AUTHORIZATION 
FULL SERVICE (LOCAL) REPAIR SHOP
ITEMS AVAILABLE FOR RENTAL:
Rollators
Wheelchairs
Scooters
Knee Walkers
Powerchairs
Hospital Beds
Gel Overlays
Trapeze Bars
Patient Lifts
Overbed Tables
Passive Motion (Knee or Shoulder)
Cold Therapy
Mobility plus of California is a full service HOME MEDICAL EQUIPMENT SUPPLIER. Our knowledgeable staff will help guide you through insurance authorization issues, as well as find the right solution to your mobility independence need. We carry just about everything you may need with the exception of respiratory supplies. We will pre-authorize equipment through your insurance. Simply call to speak with a customer service staff for an over the phone "intake". Maintenance and repair services are provided by our Certified Repair Technicians. We will often be able to provide repair services even if you did not receive the equipment from us. Medicare patients will receive a loaner (Powerchair) while your repair is being completed. You are encouraged to come in and shop our showrooms and meet personally with our knowledgeable staff. We are here to help! 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mobility Plus of California meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mobility Plus of California include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mobility Plus of California
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 2003 Business started: 05/04/1995 in CA Business incorporated 10/21/2003 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence Paschett, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence Paschett, President
Business Category

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies Medical Equipment & Supplies Scooters - Medical Wheel Chair Lifts & Ramps Beds - Electric & Adjustable Rehabilitation Products - Pediatric

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit, Checks
Refund and Exchange Policy
No Refunds after 3 Business Days. Returns after 3 Business days are for store credit, less 20% Restocking Fee.
No Returns or Exchanges after 5 Business Days.
No Returns on Special Order Parts or Items. 
Products & Services

Mobility Plus specializes in mobility & home medical supplies.


Additional Locations

  • 627 Galaxy Way

    Modesto, CA 95356 (209) 466-3466

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refusal to give copy of original sales purchase order for verification for insurance to be covered under 2014 calendar year. After numerous calls to no avail, I was told to come to the business in person - I cannot drive and I am in a wheelchair. Upon arrival the Manager/Bookkeeper informed me that she would not provide the information requested, "It would take weeks to find and time is money, I am not going to spend my time looking for your form. I gave you that wheelchair at rock bottom prices, so, you don't need to turn it into the insurance to get more money. Can't you pick a date out of your head, or is that not possible?"

Desired Settlement: Business to provide a copy of the original sales purchase order dated December 2014.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ********,

Thank you for alerting me concerning a customer grievance.
We always seek the highest level of customer satisfaction and do everything
possible to achieve that.

We have complied with the customer’s request for another
copy of her sales receipt (see attached). Please note that although this
customer did originally inquire about a wheelchair in December of 2014, she
made the decision to make a cash
purchase of a specifically requested (special order) upgrade wheelchair with
the date of sale being January 7,
2015.

Because there had been initial interest on her part to
pursue insurance coverage, our company informed her verbally that the
wheelchair she wanted to purchase for cash would not be eligible for insurance reimbursement. She verbally
agreed, and was provided with a copy of the sales receipt at that time.

In March she requested a copy of her sales receipt which we
provided for her. In April she asked our company to bill her insurance. We explained
again that as a non-covered cash sale item it would not be reimbursable.  She understood and agreed. We later received
a call from the customer’s insurance company regarding her request to receive
reimbursement for her purchase. We explained to him that this was a cash sale for
a non-covered wheelchair, by request of the customer.

We continued to receive calls from the customer requesting
insurance billing. We explained that there was nothing else that we could do
for her. On July 24th, she again requested a sales receipt (given to
her twice previously). At that time her sales receipt was back-filed, and she
was told that it would require time to provide another copy.

I understand the customer’s hope for reimbursement, and sympathize
with the frustration this has caused her. However, she made a good decision to purchase
the exact wheelchair that she wanted. Certainly if there was anything else we
could do for her I would gladly consider it.

Sincerely,

 

******** ******** CEO

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

Thank You to the Mobility Plus for sending me a copy of the receipt, however, what was sent was not complete enough for my insurance to accept as "professional quality" because it failed to include the following:

* Tax I.D. number
* MPI number
* all code/numbers pertaining to wheelchair ordered; including any/all custom order changes

Therefore, my request was actually made for the original order form written up by the salesman from December 2014 which included the Tax I.D., the MPI, and the codes/numbers for the particular wheelchair ordered. 

The accountant/billing person at Mobility Plus Modesto stated, "Looking for that form would mean time and time means money.  I won't take the time to look for and make you a copy of that order form.  I won't do your insurance work for you."

I never asked the accountant/billing employee to deal with my insurance and my insurance assured me that they would never call Mobility Plus to deal with this issue.  Therefore, the employee's accusation that "I am tired of your insurance company calling me, they keep calling me and asking me stuff" is a false accusation.  I intend to deal with my insurance on my own behalf when I receive the copy of the correct information on the original order form that was filled out in December 2014 during which time the accountant/billing employee was to my knowledge on vacation. 

Business Response: Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Blvd
West Sacramento, CA 95691

 

Complaint #********

Dear Mr. ********,

Our customer in the above referenced complaint has repeatedly
insisted that there is an “original order dated back to December 2014” that she
seeks to submit to her insurance company for reimbursement.

Since there was NO order in 2014, we are unable to comply with her
request. Please note that an inquiry does not constitute on order,
as an order must contain all the necessary medical documentation required from
an ordering physician to obtain any piece of equipment.

In December we provided a phone quote as to the price of the
chair the customer requested. There were NO codes and NO reimbursable medical
qualifiers associated to this quote. It was only eligible to be
acted upon as a cash purchase.

There is also an apparent misunderstanding in the customer’s
statement pertaining to our “looking for
a form requiring time and money” as there
is NO form that exists that would allow her to bill for her wheelchair
purchase (which occurred in January 2015). Repeated requests were made
for a sales receipt which we have complied with.

Additionally, there were no rude or dismissive comments made
by our staff as alleged.

There is a very strict and exacting process to obtain
insurance reimbursement for medical equipment. When it is not followed, and in
this case the customer agreed to not follow it, there is
absolutely nothing that we or any medical equipment provider can do to change
that.

The original sales slip signed by our customer states “I agree that the item(s) provided above are not an insurance
covered claim. Mobility Plus of CA. will not bill insurance or accept a lower
payment.”

After at least ten
insistent requests from this customer, I must respectfully request that NO further requests are forthcoming for
us to produce an original order dated December 2014, as none exists.

 

Sincerely,

******** ******** *** 



Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I do not agree with what is stated in the response concerning accuracy, honesty and good business practice. 

I will not continue this dialogue, but know that in the future I will not refer anyone to Mobility Plus for services and we will terminate any and all further dealings with Mobility Plus. 

In addition, ****** **** ***** will be alerted to my experience with Mobility Plus. 

Thank you for your time and attention - Have a blessed day.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mobility Plus of California
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)