Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

K. Hovnanian Homes

Phone: (916) 920-0200 Fax: (916) 920-0379 1375 Exposition Blvd #102, Sacramento, CA 95815 http://www.khov.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

K Hovnanian Homes offers home building services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K. Hovnanian Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for K. Hovnanian Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on K. Hovnanian Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 2000 Business started: 03/24/1988 in CA Business incorporated 04/18/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 700788.

National Mortgage Licensing System- NMLS

The number is 3259.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.bre.ca.gov
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01183847.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Wyatt, N CA Division President Ms. Lisa Johnson, HR Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Johnson, HR Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael Wyatt, N CA Division President
Business Category

Home Builders Home Design & Planning Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
K Hovnanian Companies of California Inc.
Products & Services

K Hovnanian Homes specializes in new home building services.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

K. Hovnanian Homes has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1375 Exposition Blvd #102

    Sacramento, CA 95815

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new home in ******** , ****** from K hovnanian worth more than 1.1million dollars .The house came with standard level 1 tiles as a default (included in cost of house) but Miss ******** **** at the K.Hovnanian Design Center in ****** ***** ******* showed us a level6 porcelain tile(Arizona/Santa Fe/Eternal color :limestone beige 20x20 tile and explained to us that its much better and cannot be stained easily . We upgraded the tiles by paying extra 4000 dollars and got new tiles which we thought would look much better and would enhance the beauty of our newly constructed home. But, the tiles installed in our house have deep coffee ground stains which were not there in tiles shown to us at the design center and are looking very very ugly. We even went to ******* ***** to look at the product and got sample from there but the tile sample we got from ******* ***** and tile we got to look at the design center is a complete misrepresentation of the actual tile we got as an install. When we brought this to the attention of the sales team initially they promised us they will do something about it and kept on making us wait . Finally , they told us they won't do anything for us . We requested them to at least replace the defective and stained tiles instead of ripping and replacing all of them but they refused to do anything . We are very highly disappointed .

Desired Settlement: We want these tiles replaced if possible or at the very least replace all the stained , ugly tiles which unfortunately are many .

Business Response:

I tried to respond to the customer complaint on the website but I received an error message indicating the link for the complaint did not exist. I called the local office and they suggested I Email our response to you directly.

 

Complaint #********:

RE: Tile color variations

**** *********

**** ********* *****

****** *** *****

 

As the homeowner indicated in the complaint, they were shown a few samples of the floor tile prior to purchasing the home. After they purchased the home they complained about uneven grout joints on the floor tile during the new home orientation, but there was no mention of the color variations. Approximately a month and a half later they opened a warranty service request regarding the level of the grout joints, but again, they did not mention any color variation issues.  It wasn’t until after the two initial complaints regarding the grout joints that they finally brought up the color variations.  In response to their complaint we did some research and confirmed the samples that were shown to them were the correct tile, and we also confirmed the tile installed in their home is what they selected.

 

The tile they purchased is a ceramic tile that is designed to look like limestone, and as such it has dark rings in the pattern that are meant to mimic the look of the natural stone. These darker rings can be mistaken for the “coffee ground stains” that the homeowner is referring to in their complaint. This particular tile has several patterns that are digitally printed on the tiles and then they are mixed throughout the box to help provide the natural look. This means a sampling of 4 tiles may not completely represent the full range of color variations in the entire selection. ******* **** has a warning to this effect on their website and in their product literature.   From the website: There will be noticeable variations in color and movement between pieces.

 

*****************************************************************

 

 

We have contacted ******* **** as well as the tile installer and there is nothing abnormal or defective with the tile that was installed in the **** *********. The samples shown to the homeowner as well as those shown on the ******* **** website are consistent with the product that was installed in their home. This includes the occurrence of the dark circular rings on the pattern that the homeowner is complaining about. Since we confirmed the tile installed in the home is the correct pattern as were the samples that were shown to them prior to purchase, we have denied the claim to replace the tile.

 

Supporting documentation including the copies of the original  orientation report and the subsequent tile related service requests has been attached for reference.

 

If you need any additional information please let me know,

Consumer Response:

I am hereby posting my reply back from builders message which i only got on 8/22 as it was not e mailed to me and i called miss ******** and he forwarded to my e mail .
Complaint #********:
RE: Tile color variations
**** *********
I reject the answer given by the builder . 
1. We were invited for a prewalk somewhere in march end . At the time, we were not even sure if we would be able to clear the tedious loan process and get the house . our whole concentration was on looking at the the electricals and basic stuff . The defect in the installation of tiles and uneven grouting was very very obvious so we had mentioned that in the first instance . That the tiles would have stains or look so ugly was beyond our imagination . Neverthless the house was dirty and needed cleaning even before we could comprehend the fact that floor has dark stains . Meanwhile we had house painted and the floor was covered with sheets from the painter.It  took us a lot of days after we had moved in the house on may 10  before we could  and realise the  difference between tiles shown to us and those installed at our house .We got these tiles installed as an upgrade to enhance the beauty of our home which costed us >1.1 million dollars . But, relatives friends and neighbours coming to visit the house commented -"dirty tiles , look s like painter left paint , coffee groud stains spilled !!" We reported the matter to the sales person at K hovananian on 6/8 verbally .We also mentioned it quite distinctively on the phone survey which they did just a few days later .  
 She (miss ******* ****) visited our house the same evening and assured us that she would contact the higher authorities regarding this issue . She even showed us a neighbourhood house with standard installation which looked quite cleanwith little or no variation .  
2. The tile samples shown to us none of those had such dark big stains . If it had been the case we would never have chosen this tile as it was not mandatory . On the contrary , we were explained that these tiles are porcelain level 6 tiles and are very very good as they cannot be stained easily and if anything falls /spills on them can be wiped off easily . Neverthless , there is no place for a chance spill stain as its already stained so badly . 
3. We waited for the higher authorities to respond to this matter very patientily for a whole 1.5 mths before we contacted bbb . I agree that the name of tile matches the name of the tiles shown to us but just matching the name is not sufficient . Its like you are matching the model number and name of a fridge but delivering a fridge that does not work .  To a layman like me who knows nothing about construction - I dont know what a natural lime stone looks like . I even dont know that if tile is limestone beige it means its suposed to mimic a natural limestone  . I can only go by whats shown to me and that the tiles are so stained was not shown to me . i was not explained they are mimicking natural limestone and that natural limestone looks so dirty . 
4. Having a little bit of variayion in tiles or for the matter in any tiles /stones is acceptable but here it looks like the tile we originally selected is completely missing and all we gt is a varaition in colr /pattern which is like 99% of tiles and is totally unexpected . 
 4. In a time and era and in a country which boosts of customer satisfaction and almost evrything you buy from grocery to high end appliances you can return /replace things I believe K hovananian is far behind on customer satisfaction and as such does not care about a customer who has purchased a >1.1 million dollar house from them . 
i expect K hovanian  to be a responsible builder tackling with customer grieviences in a professional manner but they did not even care to inform us that finally after a whole 2mths of waiting they decided to do nothing , absolutely nothing for us . Quite a shame I must say -would never recmmend them to anyone ever .

Please respond back to this

Business Response: Business states that they have been trying to contact homeowner  to set up an appointment but have been unsuccessful. Business has not received response from consumer and has been unable to set up an appointment. Business is still currently contacting consumer. They would like access to the home so the matter could be re-evaluated and the necessary actions taken. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I got a call from the builders agent Mr. *** while i was at work .He asked me for visiting the house with his manager . I told him a day when I can be home but he said he cant come . I gave hiim my husband's numb and he called my husband Mr. ****** . My husband told him that since he is in middle of a meeting at work he cant talk but he called Mr. ***  afterwards several times but he never responded . i also called him and left voice mail but he never called back . finally i emailed him  on sep 18th as follows:
Dear Mr. *** ,
We really appreciate your effort in trying to visit our house with your manager . Please give us at least 3 different days and times which suits you the most and we will make sure that someone is at home to welcome you .
We tried to call u several times since your last call and also left vm for you but never got any response back .
Neverthless, i am writing this e mail to you as a follow up.
Thanks,
***** ****
**** ********* **
******
###-###-####
Please see attached sent e mail for confirmation . I am still awaiting a reply .
We still want them to visit our house and change tiles .
Thanks ,
*****

Business Response: Business states that they are meeting with the homeowner on Friday October 3rd. They are only waiting for homeowner call to confirm a time.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Will be home on fri oct 3rd . They can come either in afternoon between 3-6pm
Will try to call and confirm as well


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on K. Hovnanian Homes
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart