Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AMain.com, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (530) 894-0797 View Additional Phone Numbers 424 Otterson Dr Ste 160, Chico, CA 95928 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.amaincycling.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Ten years ago, A Main
Hobbies embarked on a mission to build the greatest RC hobby store on
the planet, pairing the widest selection of RC Planes, RC Helicopters,
RC Cars, and Multi Rotor Drones in the world, with industry leading
service and support.
The mission of the  all-new AMain Performance Sports & Hobbies is to be the destination for all your Performance Sports and Hobby needs. We are proud to announce our expansion into road
bicycles, mountain bikes and cyclocross. Whether you’re new to the
hobby or an extreme enthusiast, a downhill junky or pain loving
triathlete, you can rest assured our team of passionate experts and
professionals will check, double-check and triple-check your order, and
provide the best before- and after-sale support in the industry.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AMain.com, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AMain.com, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AMain.com, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 17, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2004 in CA Business started locally: 05/01/2004 Business incorporated 02/03/2006 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Kelly Bennett, CPO Mr. Kendall Bennett, CEO Mr. Kevin Kiser, CFO
Business Category

Hobby & Model Construction Supplies - Retail Online Retailer Retail Stores Sports & Recreation Bicycle - Dealers Bicycles - Repair

Products & Services

AMain.com, Inc. offers the following product(s): remote control airplanes, remote control cars, remote control helicopters, remote control trucks

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, Discover, AMEX, Paypal
Refund and Exchange Policy

AMain Performance Sports & Hobbies wants you to be completely satisfied with your shopping experience. If, for any reason, you don't like or change your mind about an item you purchased from AMain Performance Sports & Hobbies, you may return New and Unused merchandise (with original contents and packaging) within the return period listed below, from the original date of purchase for store credit or a refund to the original payment method. AMain Performance Sports & Hobbies reserves the right to charge a restocking fee of 15% on any merchandise returned and refunded to the original payment method.

Customers & VIP Basic Members = 30 day returns

VIP Silver Members: = 60 day returns

VIP Gold Members = 90 day returns

VIP Platinum Members = 365 day returns

Alternate Business Names
A Main Hobbies AMain Cycling AMain Performance Sports & Hobbies
Products & Services

AMain.com, Inc. offers the following product(s): Bicycle frames, Bicycle components, Bicycle Gear and Apparel, Drones, Radio Control Cars and Trucks, Helicopters, Airplanes, Parts and AccessoriesMethod(s) of PaymentVisa, Mastercard, Discover, AMEX, Paypal

Industry Tips
How to Spot a Fake Online Business Shopping Online, By Catalog, Mail, or Telephone

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AMain.com, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2065 Dr Martin Luther King Junior Pkwy

    Chico, CA 95928

  • 424 Otterson Dr Ste 160

    Chico, CA 95928 (800) 705-2215 (530) 894-0797

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tech department (*****) at this store convinced me to ship my original helicopter when I called for basic help and offered a new one, they then tell me its fine and that I must pay for shipping to get it back. After almost 2 weeks of complaints they ship another one as promised by tech department that stopped working in 3 days without accidental damage or crash. They are now ignoring my emails for RMA . I simply had a question about the video formatting on the camera mounted on the helicopter, I was happy with it. Now I have a non operating unit,I followed the instructions as I did before.

Desired Settlement: BBB,***** the CSR Manager had originally offered my original helicopter along with a 20 dollar store credit which is much better than this defective unit. At this point I much rather have a FULL refund or a new unit that has been tested/inspected before shipping by in house team at Amain in Chino not Hubsan in China.Store credit would be my last resort.Respectfully,***** *********

Business Response: We have been investigating the situation and after careful review, Amain.com has been proactively seeking a resolution with the customer. In addition to the customer’s testimony I would like to include the following details. As you will see, these are the steps and actions taken to resolve the customer's defective helicopter(s). * Customer contacted AMain.com to return Lynx Heli * Order ID: ******* * RMA was created: ***** * UPS Call Tag was issued to customer, under the assumption the item was defective on arrival * Item was received by Return’s department - Unit was flown and crashed - Customer repaired the unit with tape and glue - Camera worked up until the SD card was plugged in - When a SD card was plugged in, camera video is disabled * Customer was notified of the crash, and the product being defective due to user error. Told customer we can send the unit back with next order, ship it (customer pays for freight), or if the customer wants to discard the unit we can dispose of it * Customer spoke with ***** and after a couple emails back and forth, ***** sent a replacement to the customer * Replacement Order ID: ******* * Customer contacted ***** again via e-mail, almost two weeks after replacement helicopter was sent, stating there were issues with the new helicopter. - Video feed works - Helicopter doesn’t fly * Sent e-mail response to customer asking for clarification on helicopter and issues. * Due to lack of details and communication, a return was never authorized. At this stage, I would like to get the replacement unit back from the customer and offer a complete refund. I have made an attempt to contact the customer via e-mail to make arrangements for a return. A return authorization number has been assigned, #*****. A UPS call tag has been issued and e-mailed to the customer for return shipping on the defective unit. Once the unit arrives back to our business a full refund will be processed within one business day.

Business Response: Additional Information and Follow-up: After the Customer filed a BBB claim Amain.com authorized a return of the helicopter the Customer stated was received defective and not running. A refund was promised to the Customer upon receipt of the defective unit. The supposed defective helicopter was received back to our distribution center on 12/18/14. Upon opening the box, it was very clear that the unit had been flown, crashed, then modified/repaired. This is the exact scenario like the previous unit, both units were broken during flight and then cobbled together using various materials. This is not a warranty issue, as the unit was in operable condition. When a crash occurs, we sell replacement parts to repair the aircraft. However, the expense is to the customer, as these helicopters are hobby grade and made to be repaired in case of an accidental crash. Investigating the received unit, the helicopter is not defective, it’s just broke due to user pilot error. However, since Amain.com committed to issuing a refund upon receiving the helicopter, we will honor our arrangement and see the customer is refunded. In addition, we wanted to make BBB aware of the issue, as this claim is due to user error and not a warranty issue, as originally described.

Business Response: Additional Information and Follow-up: After the Customer filed a BBB claim Amain.com authorized a return of the helicopter the Customer stated was received defective and not running. A refund was promised to the Customer upon receipt of the defective unit. The supposed defective helicopter was received back to our distribution center on 12/18/14. Upon opening the box, it was very clear that the unit had been flown, crashed, then modified/repaired. This is the exact scenario like the previous unit, both units were broken during flight and then cobbled together using various materials. This is not a warranty issue, as the unit was in operable condition. When a crash occurs, we sell replacement parts to repair the aircraft. However, the expense is to the customer, as these helicopters are hobby grade and made to be repaired in case of an accidental crash. Investigating the received unit, the helicopter is not defective, it’s just broke due to user pilot error. However, since Amain.com committed to issuing a refund upon receiving the helicopter, we will honor our arrangement and see the customer is refunded. In addition, we wanted to make BBB aware of the issue, as this claim is due to user error and not a warranty issue, as originally described.

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2-12-2014 I ordered a rc car from A-Main Hobbies order # *******. It arrived on 2-19-2014. I charged the battery with the charger (both came with the car ) and ran the car in the living room for about 10 minutes. The car stopped I recharged the battery and tried to run the car the next day. It would not work, I contacted A-Main Hobbies and asked for a refund. They said they would check the car and refund if it didnt work. I said I just wanted a refund because if it stopped working in the first 10 minutes then it might do the same once I got it back. The car was not damaged and its in the box it came in. Im a first time buyer from this company and feel they were giving me the run around on a refund. Iam sending the car back to them this morning 2-21-2014. I talked to a Adam Smith first then asked to speak to his supervisor which was a Alica. After explaining to her my concern that the car could stop working again if replaced I just wanted a refund she insisted they would not give me a refund. I asked several times to speak to her supervisor or Boss but she would not let me speak to anyone else. She asked me to send the car back which I am very glad to do and said they would check it. I only want a refund because a hobby grade rc car should not stop working in the first 10 minutes, I have been around hobby grade cars for several years and know how they work. I feel Alica should have let me speak to someone else. I have the conversation in email if you need it. I dont want the part replaced or the car replaced . After this problem with the car I have found out on the web the car has been discontinued so that tells me there is a problem with this brand of model.They should have the rc car back in their hands within a week from ups. Thank you for any help you can give me. Ricky Bohannon

Desired Settlement: Once they have the rc car back I would like a refund to my visa or pay-pal account.

Consumer Response: I just received a phone call from A Main hobbies and they are giving me a full refund. I would like to close the case  # *******  I had against them and would like to thank you for your help.
Thanks again Ricky

Consumer Response: I just received a phone call from A Main hobbies and they are giving me a full refund. I would like to close the case  # *******  I had against them and would like to thank you for your help.
Thanks again Ricky

Consumer Response: I just received a phone call from A Main hobbies and they are giving me a full refund. I would like to close the case  # *******  I had against them and would like to thank you for your help.
Thanks again Ricky

12/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never received the item, wasn't resolved despite numerous attempts to resolve the issue of non receipt of the items. I ordered some parts for my RC Heli which shipped on Nov 17, Order #XXXXXXX for the amount of $27.81, and chose the free shipping from this company which gave me an estimated Nov26 arrival date. I tracked the item on Nov22 and said it was delivered on NOV19 but I never got the package. I asked my neighbors if they accidentally received it to no avail. I contacted customer service right after and was told to go to the USPS, which I did and still no package. I contacted the amain's customer service again and was told they were going to open an inquiry with USPS, I contacted again on NOV26 and asked the status. Contacted again on DEC 3 and was given the same run around that USPS advices to look everywhere.

Desired Settlement: I just want my products which I paid for

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Hello ****, It's a pleasure to meet you. My name is **** and I am the VP of the Customer Service Department for A-Main Hobbies. I received a letter from the BBB, describing the delivery issue that occurred with order ID: XXXXXXX. I would like to start by acknowledging that the process took longer than it should have for you and I apologize that we made the process an unpleasant experience. Reading the notes on the order, I see that you spoke to a few people about the situation, none of which were proactive with your situation and forthcoming with your information. In the end, the blame falls on me since the team us under my leadership and I agree we could have expedited the solution and not be so redundant with our interaction. Moving forward, I see that we reimbursed you for Order ID: XXXXXXX in the form of product replacement (new order: XXXXXXX). The replacement order was created on 12/6/2013 and should have arrived by now. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to correct the situation and I apologize for the inconvenience you had to endure with waiting. Our goal is to create the best quality customer experience, not tarnish business relationships. Hopefully we'll have the privilege of working with you again in the future. I appreciate your business and if there is anything I can do to be of service, please don't hesitate to contact me. Take care and I wish you a Happy Holidays. Best Regards, **** ******** V.P. of Customer Service http://www.AMainHobbies.com 1-800-705-2215 (Toll Free) Ext. ***** 1-530-894-0797 (Local) 1-530-267-8268 (Fax)

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received the package. Thanks for takingnaction