Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

W.V. Alton, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (530) 742-7119 126 4th St, Colusa, CA 95932


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for W.V. Alton, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on W.V. Alton, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated 04/21/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00231910.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Peters, Owner Mr. George Peters, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Peters, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Contractors - Sheet Metal Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Alton, W.V., Inc.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

W.V. Alton, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    126 4th St

    Colusa, CA 95932

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    211 Elm St

    Marysville, CA 95901

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir or Madam: On January 10, 2016 my heater quit working completely. Thinking it might be a pilot light, I called **** * *. truck and crew arrived the next day and diagnosed the problem as the “blower wheel being badly warped and rubbing on the blower housing.” They indicated that it could be easily repaired as the motor was working well. They suggested that I contact a dealer to do the repair work. (See attachment). My brother-in-law, Dr. ******* ******* contacted the M. V. Alton, Inc. company on my behalf, and **** came to look at the problem. He verified the diagnosis made by **** * *. and the next day *** (with 27 years experience in the business) appeared at my door to repair the heater. He almost immediately told me he would need to order another blower wheel and that it might take a few days to get it. My sister, brother-in-law and I all waited 3 weeks to hear from them, but we received NO WORD from them! Meanwhile, the weather became colder and colder, I felt as if I were freezing, no matter how many layers of clothing and blankets I wrapped myself in. I became ill with the flu, developed a terrible cough and was completely miserable. The space heater my sister had purchased for me was simply not producing heat to help much. I finally called W. V. Alton, Inc. and left a message asking for **** to please return my call. I thought surely he would, but after two days he had not, so I called again asking to please have *** return my call. He never did do so. My sister, *******, felt there was something wrong going on with that business, so she and her husband began making calls asking for return calls. They never did receive a call back. It was now near the middle of February. Suddenly, one day about this time my brother-in-law received a somewhat cryptic message from *** stating that the blower wheel had been ordered, and that it would arrive in ten (10) days. Ten days came and went, NO blower wheel, no call from ANYONE at W. V. Alton. I had become “frozen to the bone” by this time. Miracles of MIRACLES, I made one last attempt to reach **** or *** and **** himself answered the phone. I asked him if he wanted me to have someone else do the heater repair work for me? He replied that he really didn’t care what I did…that he couldn’t care less! On February 22, 2016 at 9:30 am a very “grungy” looking man pounded on my door, said his name was ***, that he was a private contractor and that he was here to repair my furnace. He had made no phone call to inform me that he was coming, had no business card to give me and I was still quite ill and running a temperature. Obviously I was not thinking and I mistakenly let him through the door. He used a pocket knife to “dig” holes in the walls to push thermostat wires through to attach those wires to the furnace, completely irresponsible and incompetent. Also I guess he connected the wires incorrectly because the heater never did turn on! His words were that he “modified” the blower wheel…which was a complete and “bold-faced” lie.

Desired Settlement: I had to hire another reputable and competent company to clean up after the horrid mess that the W. V. Alton, Inc. people left for me!!! I refuse to pay the several hundred dollars W. V. Alton, Inc. is charging me for service I never received. However, I am willing to pay the wholesale price for the thermostat they left here. Yours very truly, ******** **********

Business Response: In response to the complaint, we responded to ********s call about the blower wheel. We explained to her that the unit is 30+ years old and that parts would be hard to get, however we would do our best to get a replacement wheel. We found a vendor that could get the wheel and that it would take a couple weeks to get here from the factory in the mid west, ******** had her brother-inlaw call me to go over the details with him. I offered them the option of replacing the entire unit rather than trying to fix a unit of that age, they decided to proceed with the repair. The new wheel arrived and we immediately had our service technician go to install the wheel, the wheel was not the correct one for the unit, we contacted the ******* furnace factory and explained that this wheel was wrong, they informed us that the correct wheel would be shipped out and that because of the age of the furnace a lot of the parts are no longer even in there system. We informed ******** and her brother- inlaw of the situation, they agreed to wait for the correct wheel to arrive. We received a call from another HVAC contractor in the Colusa area informing us that ******** had contacted him and told him to replace the entire furnace, I immediately called ******** to find out what was going on, she did not answer. I then called her sister ******* to find out what was going on, I asked her if ******** was having a different company replace the unit that we had all agreed to try and repair (per the customers request), She informed me that ******** had called another company. I was frustrated at this point that they did not contact us to let us know this, we were trying to fix the unit because of ********s "fixed income situation". At this point I was frustrated with the situation, she had called my office manager "incompetent" over the phone, she called my service tech at 8:30pm at night slurring her words and making no sense at all (drugs or booze?) I don't know. Then this whole complaint arises, as far as im concerned she is not being truthful with you on the facts in her letter and is looking to make a mountain out of a mole hill. Regards, **** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on W.V. Alton, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart