This business is not BBB accredited.

One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (916) 442-5542 Fax: (916) 435-4687 View Additional Phone Numbers 3845 Atherton Rd Ste 4, Rocklin, CA 95765 http://www.onehourheatandair.com/franchises/ca/rancho-cordova.aspx View Additional Web Addresses ! There is an alert on One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Complaint Information

Some consumers allege that the company's service personnel use high pressure tactics to sell replacement units. Complainants indicate that they had other contractors inspect the units, who found their existing units were functioning and there was no need for a replacement. Several complainants allege that these diagnoses were given during routine maintenance checks under contract with the company - and in one case the company showed for the maintenance check with three service personnel who installed a replacement air conditioning unit at the time of the maintenance appointment.

The company responds to complaints by issuing refunds for service fees or offering discounts on installation charges.

On September 13, 2013, BBB wrote this company requesting that they address the pattern of complaints described above. On September 17, 2013 the company responded indicating that any issues reported by customers are reviewed with their employees and a follow-up plan is addressed at that time. They also stated they have implemented a stronger follow up with customers, including a scorecard that customers can use to provide feedback regarding the services they received.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 2001 Business started: 03/01/2001 Business under new ownership as of: 09/01/2014 Business incorporated 03/18/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 995565.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott F Boose, President Ms. Sonya Flores, General Manager Mr. Brian J Lewis, RME
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott F Boose, President
Principal: Ms. Sonya Flores, General Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Direct Energy Services Retail Inc
Products & Services

One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning offers heating and air conditioning repair, installation and service.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3845 Atherton Rd Ste 4

    Rocklin, CA 95765 (800) 574-1725

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ****** from One Hour Heating and Air, came on 4-19-16 to perform a service call (check-up)on my AC unit. He claimed a part was going back and that it would cost $4,000.00 to fix it. He suggested I replace me heating and air for a cost of $9,2000.00. Today, 4-25-16 I had **** ******** come to check my AC unit. They did find 2 parts that were going bad and replaced these parts for $650.00. I feel One Hour Heating and Air has deceptive business practices telling people they need to replace their systems and/or telling them the cost to repair the part is a lot higher or as it turns out the part they claim needs to be repaired is not the part that needs repair.

Desired Settlement: I think One Hour Heating and Air should refund the $179.00 I paid for twice a year maintenance on 10-1-15.

Business Response:

Just spoke with the client and we will be sending her a full refund for the maint program she bought from us.

Thank you -  *****

 

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had from Rocklin, CA #**** your guy Justin I think, come out to look at AC he said the wire burned on the capacitor. need new capacitor--from receipt--Recommend replacing system due to high cost of repairs. L2 dual run capacitor $327, of course trying to sell new unit--but my wife and daughter with her two autistic kids had to go all night in a hot house even though I didn't want to pay $300 + for a 30 dollar part-- he put the hot wire on the wrong prong. Had a real ac guy come out and fix it. NO charge--one wire moved and I have a cool house--this is really pushing the limit on selling I can't believe this! I spent $89 to have him set me up for failure. for a sell---

Desired Settlement: This company be reprimanded!or fined it is a sure rip off to sell a 110-15 thousand dollar for a couple dollar fix.

Business Response:

If client is unhappy with the service, we are more than happy to resolve it with him. Below are the notes from the call where our tech explains
the burnt wire but client did not want to do anything about the repair or the replacement. Customer has not called us to let us know about the
dissatisfaction with any service, and we hope he does so. ###-###-####.

Age:10 yr old ac/ 25+ furnace
Size:2.4 ton
Location:closet/backyard
Work Performed:89.95 eval. Found burnt wire coming from common side of contactor to common side of capacitor.
Performing Ok:No
Recommend replacing system due to high sost of repairs. L2 dual run capacitor $327. Customer wants to think about best option for them.
?

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Id id contact the business through their web site. Also I wanted the ac fixed but did not want to make a commitment for 15000 dollars at that time. the issue was a new capacitor would and did fix it but when replacing the wire their agent put the other end of the wire on the wrong terminal so when a replacement for 30 dollars compared to the 325 dollars he wanted to charge, it did not work and I had to call and pay someone else to move one wire. I believe it was a force to by the whole thing or he new it would not work. As he spent a lot of time trying to get it to turn on to show it must be the compressor but it was not. Not that it doesn't have many hours on it and it may be in need of replacement but it did not have to be that day---It is a very large amount of money commitment for a family of 6  and for two autistic children to go through a change and be uncomfortable for even one night when they really did not have to is unexceptionable to me.

5/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing AC service/repair on 5/5/15 where I was charged $327 for a "Contactor" (like a solenoid), I queried the part online and found these contactors retail (****, ******, etc.) for $12-25. So I called to ask for a partial/reasonable refund, whereby ***** (identified as manager) refused to even negotiate. When I asked could he tell me (and document) how much they paid for this part, he answered "that is irrelevant", explaining all the other costs of his doing business. To which I replied, then why don't you itemize these charges (to cover costs of truck, etc.) instead of marking up a part over 2000% (21.8 x $15 = $327). When I insisted he answer my question, ***** flatly refused to issue any refund. So I closed by canceling my Comfort Club annual membership (for 1 heat and 1 AC service per year); her rather reluctantly agreed to do this. I also said I would be filing a complaint with BBB and NEVER doing business with them again, nor recommending them to others.

Desired Settlement: I would like a resonable refund of a portion of the overcharging for the contactor. I would consider a 300% parts markup reasonable enough; so approximately $50 for a contactor which I can buy online for around $15. A resonable refund then would be around $275 (327 - 50 = $277).Sincerely, *** *****

Business Response:

Hello BBB rep, our client had us out to do repairs as their system was not working. Now it is.
We replaced the contactor, like the client stated, and also a 3amp fuse and repaired his wiring for 127.00
of this fee he paid. The customer agreed to the charges and even got a 20% discount on the repairs.
As a contractor, we do not disclose our techs pay and with all parts repairs the clients receive a 2yr warranty.
The customer is getting a refund on the membership they purchased for 179.00 already plus the
discounts he received totaling another 200.00 he didn't pay for. He got a great deal already and said he
was happy with the service when the tech was out, along with the fact his system is fixed and running.
Our accounting dept will refund the customer in full and mark his account "do not service." He will see a refund
for 179.00 plus another one for 388.80 giving him all his money back. Thank you.

?

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One Hour Heating came to our new address in Elk Grove and after inspecting our furnace, said we had cracks in the heat exchanger. They said carbon monoxide was getting in the house which was dangerous. They then tried to sell us a new system for $6000.00. I had another heating company check the system and they found no trouble with our heater! I then had PG&E come over and after a check of our heater they found the heater to be working extremely well. There was no trace of carbon monoxide in the house! It is a scam to sell new furnaces. My wife and I are in our seventies.

Desired Settlement: They need to stop scaring people about carbon monoxide in their home because of a faulty furnace! When in reality there is nothing wrong with the heating system.

Business Response: Doing a thorough check of our clients heating and air system is part of our checklist and we would be doing the customer a disservice if we never checked the heat exchanger. Cracks will eventually cause CO to be present in the home its just a matter of time. Since once we touch the unit we are responsible for it, should there be any concerns we always stick to a "complete" check. This customer says he was told CO was present but it is not on his paperwork and the tech said he did not tell him it was present now but could be in the future. The customer has a warranty on his home and hopefully got it checked by a licensed HVAC contractor. The customer did speak with us about the concern in November and a full review was done to insure we are handling these situations correctly. Our apologies for any issues this caused the customer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)