Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nixon's Heating, Air Conditioning and Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nixon's Heating, Air Conditioning and Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nixon's Heating, Air Conditioning and Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 25, 2008 Business started: 09/01/2000 in CA Business incorporated 02/16/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 787917.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Douglas E. Nixon, President Ms. Christine E. Nixon, Secretary Mr. Jason Nixon, Management Mr. Justin Nixon, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas E. Nixon, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Fireplaces Stoves - Wood, Coal Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Industry Tips
Drain Your Pipes Not Your Wallet - Hire a Legitimate Plumber Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 800 Emerald Bay Rd Ste B

    S Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (530) 541-2353

  • PO Box 9642

    S Lake Tahoe, CA 96158 (775) 288-0500 (775) 841-2353

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired Nixon's to install a connecting water line before having the sprinkler system installed by a different company. They did set up a pipe hookup, however forgot to show the tenants and myself (who were all present that day) where the shut-off valve was. So in November, the pipe froze and busted because the tenants shut off a different valve downstream where they could see one, not realizing they needed to go looking under a stair-step to shut the proper one off. I called Nixon's immediately and the tech showed us the problem and what should have been done. Since it was winter, he recommended to have the pipe re-evaluated and fixed in the spring. Now that spring is here, I called to set up an appointment, but mentioned that we had previously discussed this issue with a manager who gave us an estimate for parts and labor, and that he would make a note that they would cover half the cost for the inadequate communication. However, when I called and spoke to the owner (****), not only was I told it wasn't their problem, but that they were not going to honor the agreement. He continued to say that it wasn't their fault and the irrigation company (who did not install the pipe) was the responsible party. He also added that it wasn't his fault for my tenants' IQ level and that I was more than welcome to try another company. I feel that this is unethical and poor business as the shut-off valve should have been explained to either myself or the tenant the day it was installed, which would have prevented the pipe freezing and bursting. I suspect this business is shady and to ensure business, they set you up to fail. I also had found out when I had a leak in the plumbing that Nixon's was the one that fixed it a year before (prior to when I bought the house), and I called Nixon's to fix it and they replaced the part with the same part they did before, which leads me to think it will break again. I will not do business with a business that has such an obvious lack of integrity.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the $108 initial hour when the technician came to shut the valve off after the pipe had busted. It only took him less than 5 minutes to turn off and should not have charged since they never bothered to show where the valve was to us in the first place.

Business Response: We installed a pipe from an existing stop and drain valve under ground and did show the tenant where to turn on and off. Then they hired a gardner to hook up to the pipe to run a sprinkler system, he had to turn on the water and should of informed the tenants how to properly shut off the water for the winter. We did a free call in the winter to shut the system down after it froze and broke. I feel we did everything we needed to do. **** *****

Business Response: We installed a pipe from an existing stop and drain valve under ground and did show the tenant where to turn on and off. Then they hired a gardner to hook up to the pipe to run a sprinkler system, he had to turn on the water and should of informed the tenants how to properly shut off the water for the winter. We did a free call in the winter to shut the system down after it froze and broke. I feel we did everything we needed to do. **** *****

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

**** is the owner of the company and just wants to save face. He is not the person who we were dealing with when we came to the arrangement to have a plumber come to fix the broken pipe without having to pay another first-hour of labor since he literally came and said the pipe was broken and we needed to wait until the spring to evaluate it after the thaw. 

The pipe installed was their responsibility. The plumber did not show the tenants or myself how and where to shut the valve off. We did not have a "gardner" come by the house. We had a landscaping company come out to install the sprinklers and they attached their section of the pipe to the pre-installed one from Nixon's. They, unlike Nixon's, did show the tenants where to shut theirs off, but the real valve to shut off was the one attached to Nixon's. So it is easy to see how there was confusion, but ultimately Nixon knew that theirs was the actual valve to turn off as it was the one closest to the water main. 

This is negligence on their part and they are not taking accountability for it. Instead, **** spent 20 minutes arguing instead of trying to work something out and they lost my business for shoddy work. There was another indoor plumbing issue that was fixed by Nixon's prior to me purchasing the house, and it broke 1.5 years later and the plumber even remembered and replaced it with the same part! So only to have it probably break again in another 1.5 years. I think this business lacks integrity and needs to be investigated further. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

**** is the owner of the company and just wants to save face. He is not the person who we were dealing with when we came to the arrangement to have a plumber come to fix the broken pipe without having to pay another first-hour of labor since he literally came and said the pipe was broken and we needed to wait until the spring to evaluate it after the thaw. 

The pipe installed was their responsibility. The plumber did not show the tenants or myself how and where to shut the valve off. We did not have a "gardner" come by the house. We had a landscaping company come out to install the sprinklers and they attached their section of the pipe to the pre-installed one from Nixon's. They, unlike Nixon's, did show the tenants where to shut theirs off, but the real valve to shut off was the one attached to Nixon's. So it is easy to see how there was confusion, but ultimately Nixon knew that theirs was the actual valve to turn off as it was the one closest to the water main. 

This is negligence on their part and they are not taking accountability for it. Instead, **** spent 20 minutes arguing instead of trying to work something out and they lost my business for shoddy work. There was another indoor plumbing issue that was fixed by Nixon's prior to me purchasing the house, and it broke 1.5 years later and the plumber even remembered and replaced it with the same part! So only to have it probably break again in another 1.5 years. I think this business lacks integrity and needs to be investigated further. 

Business Response: Business states that a refund check was sent to the customer last week

Business Response: Business states that a refund check was sent to the customer last week


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Nixon's Heating, Air Conditioning and Plumbing, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)