Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gilmore Heating & Air

Phone: (800) 200-9696 Fax: (530) 626-3766 View Additional Phone Numbers 4429 Missouri Flat Rd, Placerville, CA 95667 http://www.gilmoreair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gilmore Heating & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gilmore Heating & Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

84 Customer Reviews on Gilmore Heating & Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 83
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 84

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 02/13/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00559305.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Valerie Barry, Administrative Manager / Bookkeeper Mr. Darrin Gilmore, General Manager Mr. John D. Gilmore, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Valerie Barry, Administrative Manager / Bookkeeper
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Contractors - General Contractor - Electrical Electricians

Alternate Business Names
Gilmore Heat Air Solar Contractors
Products & Services

Gilmore Solar Heat & Air is a air conditioning,heating and solar contractor that can service and install complete heating,air conditioning and solar systems.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gilmore Heating & Air has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4429 Missouri Flat Rd

    Placerville, CA 95667 (916) 233-1450 (530) 344-4330 (209) 623-1375 (530) 344-4335

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Gilmore diagnose my ac problem. R22 coolant was low so the tech assumed there was a leak (most likely correct). Tech proceeded to tell me that the cost of r22 was biggest cost of repair. 2.5 lbs of r22 cost me about $300 (I found r22 online for $30 a pound so I got seriously hosed). Diagnosis cost me $78. UV dye cost me about $150. Leak detection will cost me $299. Based on comment that r22 will be largest expense I assumed maximum out the door cost to fix my ac would be at most $1127 assuming leak repair would be at most $299 since $300 cost for r22 was my biggest expense. After I paid for diagnosis, r22 and UV dye the tech told me the repair will cost me $2300 to $2800 on top of what i just paid. $3128-3628!!!!! What just happened?!! I was bait and switched!! I filed a complaint and asked for a refund for av dye and a 1 year service agreement the tech sold me before I realized the true cost of repair ($199 per year not factored into my calculations). In my opinion I should only pay for the $78 diagnosis. Everything else was agreed upon under false pretenses. I will update this post with Gilmore's response to this issue.

Desired Settlement: Refund for all charges executed under false pretenses. Total charge should be $78.

Consumer Response: My complaint had been resolved, but I couldn't figure out how to resolve it using the website.

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gilmore hvac installed this system 4 years ago. it has had problems every year since installed. problems usually at the beginning of winter or summer... Last year they left the people living there without air in the middle of a heat spell for several days while they ordered a part from Stockton via us mail) I paid 12 thousand dollars for this system and expected them to go to Stockton to get the part. this may seem trivial to those reading this but they didn't even tell us what was going on. this has been a pattern is there service calls and business practices. last year the general manager kept telling me he was going to give me something to make up for it...I don't want something...except for this unit to work correctly! when I called this time angry that this problem still exist after explaining the history of this unit I was told what was the problem. hello...its not working again. this could be my problem if only I would sign up for the twice yearly service ($$$$$) believe it or not I worked in the hvac trades for twenty years and even though I am of an advanced age, I know most if not nearly all of these units should have a twenty to twenty five year life span... that is unless this profession has gone to hell in a hand basket. Can you help me help them to see the errors of their ways? if not my only recourse would be to file litigation against the company

Desired Settlement: fix the damn unit once and for all...aqnd don't send away for the parts by mail to say ione, Jackson, sutter creek.

Business Response: Good afternoon, In response to Mr. ****’s complaint: Gilmore Installed new heat pump 6/2008. He has had 2 repair calls prior to his recent call, both which were resolved at no charge. As with any mechanical device, there will be failures. We do not manufacture the equipment, but we are always here to service if there is ever an issue. We have always promptly responded to any calls for service. Our last communication with Mr. ****, was on July 1, 2014 at about 6:45 PM. Here are the notes from our call center when he called: 07/01/14 ******* CALLED BELLIGERENT AND IRATE AND CUSSING SCREAMING DEMEANING WORDS SAYING OUR COMPANY IS **** AND WE NEED TO FIX THE UNIT ASAP BUT I EXPLAINED HE NEEDED TO CALM DOWN AND CB WHEN HE COULD TALK WITHOUT BEING RUDE. He then called back and talked to our unit manager at approximately 6:55pm. He was still belligerent and rude and would not let her get a word in edgewise. Our manager assured him we would have our technician to his rental at 8AM, which we fulfilled. We got the unit running and recommended he get the unit back on the maintenance plan as the manufacture recommends to avoid these nuisance items, which he did. I am surprised to hear he is so angry when we have always, always given him great service and all covered under warranty.We can not guarantee a unit will not break down, but we do guarantee to always be here if it does. We have done absolutely nothing wrong. We have gone over and above for the gentleman even while he verbally abuses all he comes in contact with at our company. I see that you received this response the same night he called in for service. It was a minor repair and all should be good. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you. Sincerely, ****** ****** ###-###-####

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incorrect Unit Installed. Ongoing defects with Unit. Multiple parts replacements, only to have another part go out.Lennox Air Conditioning Unit 5 ton Unit installed in 2010 and immediately did not work. We are part time residents and every time we are at the residence for 2 weeks or more the unit stops working. Conden2er, circuit board, misc various other parts and many service calls. They repeatedly promise a Lennox rep will come out, but that has never happened. It is 112 and we have called them twice, no response. A new, rarely used unit, should not go out every time we come home. We want them to replace it. We have requested this many times before. They keep telling us this is the last issue, but it never is. We hsve spoken to other Lennox Dealers who tell us it is usually the Installer. They need to realize by now, this is a defective unit from the start and needs to be replaced.

Desired Settlement: We want a working unit we can depend on to be installed by one of their senior techs; This problem is a huge inconvenience and my wife has an autoimmune condition that could end her in the hospital with extreme heat or cold when the unit fails. They repeatedly tell us they have fixed it once and for all. The last time a tech came out here he couldn't figure it out and called Lennox only to find, this unit had defective circuit boards. Had to replace. Well, the circuit board has gone out again and they are not returning calls. It is 112 degrees

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
t this time Gilmore has reached an agreement with our client. Our company has ordered a complete replacement system for Mr. & Mrs *********. We have extended the courtesy of "upgrading" the model to address the energy star ratings that was of concern by the client. At this time we are waiting for our client to choose a convenient time for Gilmore to Install the new HVAC system. We are in touch with our clients & greatly anticipate concluding this transaction. Thank you *** ****** Office Manager for Gilmore Heating & Air.

Consumer's Final Response
The Company has agreed to replace the defective Unit with another Unit of our choice They are to be back in touch with us around July 8th for resolution. We will await the outcome.