Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that California Energy and Air Quality Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on California Energy and Air Quality Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 17, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1998 in CA Business incorporated 03/02/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 747568.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Roger Kilby, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Kilby, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Energy Audits Air Conditioning Repair Contractors - Solar Energy Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Contractors - General Contractor - Insulation Ventilating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
California Energy Services
Products & Services

California Energy Services is a home improvement company specializing in central heating, air conditioning, solar and dual pane windows.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 4905 Golden Foothill Pkwy Ste A

    El Dorado Hls, CA 95762 (800) 985-5885


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been having air quality issues in my home.Something was making my family sick and I didn't know what.So i called California Energy Services to clean my air ducts and heating and air unit, which they said they would.I'd never had air ducts clean before and didn't know what to expect.I was hoping the air would get better.What they did was make it worse.They shot HUGE clouds of dust throughout my home, while a guy named ***** ***** told me and my family to go outside, because it was going to be very loud, as he was trying to sell me home energy improvement products.Before I stepped outside I saw they used a spinning wire bristled brush attached to a vacuum cleaner that sat near the vent and a small shop vac. that shot the dust from the ducts, through the vacuum , and out the back of the vacuum into the room.I pointed out to *****, that the dust was going out the back of the vacuum and from the spinning brush into the room.He yelled at the guy to fix the problem by using a wet towel and said it would be alright.They didn't clean my heat and air unit like they said they would, and charged me a maintenance fee. Right after they left I looked around a realized what they had done.Dust was everywhere.The same day we were sicker than we've ever been. Afterwards I've since found out that we have a black mold issue in one of our bathrooms, which I'm fixing, but the air quality of my home has been made much worse because of their actions.I called and spoke to ***** and asked him if it was normal for them to throw huge clouds of dust throughout the house, but got no response.My house was clean before they came, and I had mopped my kitchen floor the day before.After they left I used a solution of water and bleach to mop my kitchen floor, and the water was black with dirt despite the bleach.How can they do that!Each room is now covered in a layer of dust that wasn't there before!I have a ten month old granddaughter and a three year old granddaughter that live with me.All their stuff is now filthy too.

Desired Settlement: I don't want them back in my house. I trusted them. I want them to pay for me to have someone else come to clean up the mess they made throughout my house, and for them to never do this to anyone else.

Business Response:

This Homeowner called us out because she had dirt all over the house and thought it was coming from the Ducting. I explained to her there can be many reasons for "dirt" all over her counters, floors etc. She has old carpet on the stairs and bedrooms upstairs that is shedding as you walk on it. This creates a tremendous amount of dirt and carpet fibers floating in the air.  These all settle all over the house including downstairs.

I explained to her that we would clean the ducting with our High Quality Duct Cleaning Machine. This machine does not let any dirt out of its filter.  When the machine came on, the filtered air coming from the machine blew dust off her piano.  She asked me about the "dirt" in the air.  I explained that our machine traps everything in the HEPA Filter while it cleans out the Ducting.  She did not seem satisfied with this answer, so I had one of the Technicians run a second HEPA unit from the air handler to give her some piece of mind.  

The ducts were in fact filthy.  It took three times longer to clean her ducts than it normally takes.  There was one duct where the garage has been converted to a bedroom that my crew was unable to access. My Crew walked through the house with the homeowner to make sure everything was satisfactory before we left.

The homeowner called the following day and told me she removed one of the upstairs vents and found debris in the duct.  I told here that I would be happy to go out and run the machine through the duct again.  She declined. 

We have performed duct cleaning services since 1998.  This is the first time in our company history that someone was not satisfied with the results of the duct cleaning.


4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I signed up for a federal energy efficiency program that California Energy Services managed. The consultant (**** *****) sold us the program by describing several incentives we would recive - tax rebates, manufacturer rebates, and a PG&E rebate - for the upgrades we would do in our home. The PG&E rebate was dependent on how much energy improvement there was from our existing situation compared to after all the upgrades were made. We had a series of tests in our home before anything was done, followed by the agreed upon upgrades, and then followup testing to see how much of a difference there was, in order to determine our PG&E kickback. We had a followup meeting with the consultant, and he informed us we would be getting a check from PG&E for $3,000. Later I received a letter from the company that I didn't understand, saying I had to apply for any PG&E rebates. So I called to clarify that, as the consultant had told me it was all handled by them and I would receive a check in 6-8 weeks. At that time, the person I talked to told me that we would not be receiving anything from PG&E because we chose an electric HVAC system (which we did because we were also installing solar panels as part of the whole package), which disqualified us from that incentive. I told him that's not what we were told, that we had all these tests done for the purpose of determining our PG&E rebate, and that we agreed to the program in part based on this incentive. I followed up this conversation with an email to the consultant who worked with us and the president of the company, asking for an explanation. I never received any response. We spent a lot of money on this program (over $42,000), with the clear understanding we would be getting this money back from PG&E as part of this federal grant program.Note: the street address for this business is different from the address on my correspondence from them, but the phone number is the same. Perhaps another office used for the Home Performance Program?

Desired Settlement: $3,000 as promised.

Business Response:

I agree there has been some confusion on this particular job.  
Our company process as many as twenty of these rebates per month. We have a process that insures our customers have a clear understanding of the program before we begin work.  Homeowners that are making energy efficient upgrades May be eligible for rebates for work they are doing anyway.  These rebates are NOT an inducement to perform upgrades on your home, only to help offset some of the costs.
The *****s have received a total of $4550.00 in Manufacture rebates and discounts thus far.
For the Solar portion of the job, they are qualified for a $8850.00 Federal tax credit. 
The total amount of incentives received is $13400.00
Even though the *****'s have a Solar Array that qualifies for the Federal Tax Credit of 30%, ($8850.00) we can make no claim as to the Federal Governments ability to make good on this tax credit.  We are only allowed to let them know what is available to them.
With regard to the Energy Upgrade California Program, A Program Certified third party testing company showed us what the *****'s would qualify for based on the upgrades to be performed.   They produce a report that clearly illustrates what improvements must be completed to get a specific rebate.
When this Third Party Testing Company submitted the Rebate Application to the Energy Upgrade California Program, it was rejected.  It was explained that by converting from a propane central HVAC, to all electric, it disqualified them for the rebate.  This was not disclosed to me or the Third Party Testing Company in the "who is eligible" section. The testing company is working to find out why some were approved in the past.  The program admitted that the wording was not clear, but they will still not approve the rebate.  The said they will be changing the wording in the "who is eligible" section. 
There is no "promise" of a $3000 rebate made by CES. Please see our Contract. 
Seeing the large amount of incentives that we were able to get for the *****'s, I don't believe it would be fair for CES to pay $3000.00.  We have completed our contract with the *****'s.  
The complaint should be with the program administrators, not with CES.  
I've added the link to the program. 

Advanced Program.

  • Energy Upgrade California Advanced Home Upgrade - PG&E - Existing Home

    Work with a participating contractor or Whole-House Home Energy Rater to identify ways to save the most energy and draw up an action plan. An energy modeling software will be used to calculate your incentives based on your projected energy savings. You can earn up to $4,500 for a corresponding 45% calculated reduction in your energy usage.

    Sponsor: Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)

    Go to program website »

    Phone: 1-866-970-7348

    Up to $4500

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on California Energy and Air Quality Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)