Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Full service heating and air condition contractor.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Big Mountain Heating & Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business is in the process of responding to previously closed complaints.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Big Mountain Heating & Air, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 2009 Business started: 10/01/2006 in CA Business under new ownership as of: 07/01/2014 Business incorporated 09/20/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 885341.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Toby J Tippets, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Toby J Tippets, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy
100% satisfaction guarantee on all services
Service Area
Sacramento Region
Products & Services

$69 - two for one rejuvenation special for units more than 10 years old

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 3800 Watt Ave Ste 155

    Sacramento, CA 95821 (800) 387-6223 (916) 378-4007 (916) 374-7905 (916) 925-7680

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had furnace + AC installed by BMHA 4-17-2013. 2 ½ tow unit. Larger than original units $3995. Better unit total cost $7,145.00 installed + paid for. Out at least 7 times in 2013 re problems. Got permit 6-19-13 between 4-17-2013 and 8-19-13. Failed both in spent 8-1-13 passed 8-19-2013. After RC inspector completed #4 of 5 needed correction. (See all documents). On 5-25-16 had took out form ** ****** (See documents). Had them do the washer professional and my not doing future business much w BMHA due to the partial list of problems.

Desired Settlement: They recinded their initial offer of $750.00 about 2 of my expense on 6-16-2016. My resource in BBB, handful apparently by fees cad from area business going to Kurtis on channel 10 and small claim ct. $1,659 would be fair but $1,500 possibly more appropriate.

Business Response:

Mr. *********,

I apologize that your experience with Big Mountain hasn’t met your expectation as well as ours. We truly do strive to meet the needs of all of our clients. I will not be able to address all of the items you listed as it is very hard for me to make sense of what you have written. I did have a conversation with the phone room staff, reviewed all of your call history, and looked over the scope of the work on your contract. It appears there are many inconsistencies between what you have stated and what has happened, number of times it has happened, and stated building requirements. That being said I will try to address the typed items that came through the BBB under Statement of the problem and Desired Settlement. At the time Big Mountain did have a system package at the price advertised. But as such it does require a site visit and further investigation. Every client is different with different needs. Some need ductwork, equipment relocation, electrical panel upgrades, ect., ect. The list can be very lengthy. In reviewing your contract replacing the lineset was not part of the scope of work to be done and you were therefore not charged for that. Our price to do that work is $738.00. We are willing to do any additional work you are willing to pay for.  I believe we provided you with the work you were willing to pay for at the time. When it comes to Building Correction Notices that is very common. We are always happy to make corrections to work the “Building Department” deems necessary.

                                                                                  

Business Response:

************,

This is a delayed response due to the fact of me being on vacation and unreachable by cell phone or internet. I know you have been communicating to my office staff by telephone and email. I would like to just pay you your requested amount to put the issue to rest. The company since your install has not only changed staff but ownership also. Let me know how and when you would like to collect payment.

 

Consumer Response:

Thank you Mr *******. My address is **** ******* ***, Rancho Cordova, California 95670. If a check could be mailed to that address , I would consider the matter resolved. Respectfully, ****** *********

11/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June of 2013 we had two Central H/A units replaced on our duplex. After several bids, we decided to go with Big Mountain Heating and Air. These are roof mounted units and they needed replacing for both sides due to the age/condition of the old units. The salesmans name was **** and my wife and I went through the entire agreement in our home. At one point, **** stated he had to call the owner and inquire if he could authorize a specific request of ours. This involved replacement of the plenems or curbs which mount to the roof. The A/C units then are attached to these. We both specifically recall **** being authorized by phone by the owner that these would be replaced. I distinctly recall asking, so this means everything will be replaced from the roof up? to which he stated he had authorization from the owner they would do just that. Not being savvy to the business, we were under the impression everything was done and everyone was satisfied.Last month we decided it was time to replace the roof, so we went through the process of acquiring estimates from multiple (5 total) contractors. Every single contractor stated we needed to replace the curbs since they were old and wouldnt outlast a new roof. Doing everything to contain myself, I immediately called Big Mountain and spoke to the owner, **** ******* and stated what the contractors all said regarding the curbs. I was advised by him that wasnt part of the deal, to which I argued all the above involving his salesman in our house and the agreement made. He further stated it would now cost us $2000.00 to replace the curbs. I stated that was unacceptable to which he stated the contractors didnt know what they were talking about. He even went as to offer a referral to a roofing contractor he knew who would do us a good deal. I advised him that again is unacceptable since we are getting a bad deal through him; we believe the referral would do just the same. We ended up going through Jaguar Heating and Air to the cost of $1500.00 to do what Big Mountain stated they would in the beginning. In fact, when the contractors foreman was performing the replacements, he stated he use to work for Big Mountain and this situation is only one of many why he no longer does. The work they did was very satisfactory however we are out the money due to Big Mountain. We are so livid with Big Mountain, what they say and their performance. It is past us how a company who we are subject to can say one thing and do just the other, take complete advantage of you then tell you lies. Simply unbelievable.

Desired Settlement: Big Mountain Heat and Air knows they did us wrong and we demand a full refund of the $1500.00 we paid to have the curbs replaced.

Business Response: *** ***********
  I had originally wrote a response and have now deleted it and written this one. I was attempting to respond to each and every accusation. As I did I found it very hard to respond to untrue statements....You know as well as I do that we were in full agreement that your curbs would not be replaced at the time of your installation. In many circumstances existing curb are use with new systems. They provide a stand for the equipment and that's it. The pictures attached clearly show the terrible condition of your roof at the time. You also knew that it would be a rather easy job to replace them along with your roof at a later date. Nothing was withheld or lied about. Two years later you contacted our office and spoke  to Maggie, NOT myself and she quoted you $2000. A reasonable price. You responded with foul, rude and unacceptable language. She immediately asked me to talk to you and find out whats going on. In which I offered to remove the 2 units, supply new curbs, and re-install the units after the roof was done...NO CHARGE! You said your roofer would not do that so I suggested that you maybe get another bid. I have never heard of a roofer that will not work with a company to install a curb at the same time they are doing the roof. It makes no sense to cut into a brand new roof to install a curb. It will not come out nearly as nice or water tight. You said you would get back to me and here you have. You have completely altered the facts of this from start to finish. Customer satisfaction is Big Mountain's number one goal! Normally in a situation as this we would gladly do whatever it takes to resolve a misunderstanding. However this is not a misunderstanding....It simply not the truth. We absolutely tried to provide you with a solution at no cost to you! I will gladly pay you for the cost of 2 curbs and an invoice from our supplier to back it up. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: For starters, we take pride in ourselves regarding honesty and integrity, so for anyone to make statement of what we say is untrue is completely non-credible. Further, we also believe in accountability and being held responsible for what we do or say. It’s a standard we can only wish others held as well. Secondly, I admit when your company erred when only the new A/C units were originally installed and it took 9, yes 9 months along with more calls than I can remember for your company to provide the paperwork for the rebates, you know I used foul language, yet I haven't since. It went to the point of my threatening doing this exact action of contacting the BBB and the CSLB for you to get it right. And just after that you yourself were personally knocking on our front door delivering the paperwork. Imagine that. There is also contradiction from what I read in your response. First you say ****** quoted your company would do the replacement of the curbs for $2000.00. Then you state you offered to 'remove the 2 units, supply new curbs, and re-install the units after the roof was done...NO CHARGE!'. That never happened. Then a bit further it states 'It makes no sense to cut into a brand new roof to install a curb.' Is it me or is ‘after the roof was done’ a brand new roof? When there is contradiction, there is doubt in the credibility of statements. Bottom line is you and your salesman while on the phone in our house made the promise to do the complete work including the curbs. My wife and I will continue to stand on that. We're not into dishing extra monies for what you and your salesman agreed to do. The final line says 'I will gladly pay you for the cost of 2 curbs and an invoice from our supplier to back it up.' You at no time offered any solution to us at no cost, only a referral to one of your contractors which wasn't going to take place. Just after that last phone call between us is when I submitted the attached letter to your office of final demand via certified mail, giving you until 9/24/15 to respond or we would move forward from there. So again, contradiction in you stating I didn’t get back to you, which I did with the letter. No response from you by that deadline is why it’s come to this. We were forced to have the job done by another A/C company, have the receipt and as I said in my letter attached, will provide you a copy only upon your agreeing to reimburse us the $1500.00 (which is actually $500.00 less than what ****** quoted) we are out due to what you say opposed to what you do. Additionally in the letter it again states wood shake roofs can be refurbished as our neighbors have done. So your statement as an A/C contractor regarding roofs holds no merit. Finally, we aren’t settling for your offer of 2 curbs and an invoice from any supplier of yours, just as we wouldn’t accept the referral of your roofing contractor. I find it to be insulting not to think the invoice as well as you doesn’t hold any credibility with us and continues to whatsoever, since numbers can be altered to suit the means.

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In my 2015 we had Big Mountain Heating and air come to our home and explain the YGRENE program on having energy efficient appliance installed in our home.YGRENE was sacramento county who did the financing for this program, we did an energy audit with the salesman and an upgrade to a new HVAC would be energy efficient, so we was told.this program also included solar as well,we was approved for the program waited about a wekk or so then Big Mountain called and wanted to install the new HVAC, that was fine, then in June I called and asked about the status of installion of our solsr, no news, although it was in design at ****,we waited very patiently for this ,making calls and not getting very good response,spoke with maggie who told me they were so busy that they couldnt get our system set up just yet, I feel they were taking jobs ahead of ours and doing them, in July I received a copy of the permit needed to do the job from the city of Elk grove, great !!!we waited more!! finally I got a call one dayin august and maggie asked me for the final inspection for the HVAC, what I didnt know about this, no paperwork from these people ,just a complete sham, this system was marely minimum and didnt qualify for the rebates, not what we was told before we signed up!! we have been lied to falsely misrepresented by Big Mountain heating and air, this unit now needs repair, its no better than the unit I had in the house, this business has extremely poor service!!!!! truly a scam

Desired Settlement: want either a refund on this system and or including my rebates or take this solar system off my roof and reinstall a different HVAC, I am tired of the lies and deceit from this company

Business Response: Our sales representative did make promises that were not specified on the contract and were in fact unknown to us. In resolution we have written an addendum to the original contract specifying details that were not previously listed. We have also increase his labor warranty, given a 3 year maintenance plan at no charge, and written him a $1,600 refund at his request. The representative in reference to this job has also been let go. This issue should be resolved to the clients satisfaction. 

7/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we had the unit installed on 6/04/14 by Big Mountain and everything worked great. Shortly after installation the main motor went out I do not have the exact time for this but it was soon after the unit was put in, they replaced the motor in a timely manner, then on 10/23/14 they discovered that the wrong thermostat was installed and replaced it. On 4/27/15 the air stopped working called set up for a tech to come out and look at it on 4/29/15 at 5:00 pm but nobody showed up. We had to reschedule for 4/30/2015, the diagnosis was a bad coil. I spoke with **** on 5/1/15, he said that it would take about a week to get the coil. I asked if he could at least fill my unit with coolant, he said no, because the representative from the manufacture, Day & Night needed to come out to evaluate the unit. On 5/4/15 ******* came out to add coolant and affirmed that the new coil would be in in about a week. On 5/15/15 we hadn't heard anything. My wife called and was told that they were still waiting on the part. On 5/26/15, no part and no contact from Big Mountain I called **** at 3:30pm and he wasn't able to talk, so I left a message with the representative that I wanted to speak with him. At 6:15pm ******* called me back. When I told her who I was and what was going on she said she'd have to speak with ****. She called me back and left voice mail that we were scheduled to have the coil replaced on 6/1/2015 at 8am. I had my wife call to confirm on 5/27/15. On 6/1/15 Big Mountain replaced the coil in the AM, the unit ran non-stop struggling to keep our indoor temperature at 76 when the outside temperature was only 80. At 3:30 that afternoon I was able to see the unit myself and noticed that it looked as though the wrong coil had been replaced. I immediately called Big Mountain to notify **** of the error and he confirmed that Big Mountain's representatives had indeed replaced the wrong coil. As of today, 6/7/15, we are waiting again for the correct coil.

Desired Settlement: I am concerned about the longevity of the unit I purchased, since in the first year of owning the unit, it has had to have a new motor, replacement of the thermostat and a new coil. I want a new unit with new service & equipment warranty or an extended service & equipment warranty with the repair of the current unit.

Business Response: Mr. ****** I apologize for what you have experienced with the leaking coil situation. We want more than anything for you to be happy with the service we provide. The reason I did not immediately agree to charge the system with refrigerant is due to laws surrounding refrigerant leaks and impact on the system. I was pushing the manufacturer to send out their rep hoping they would replace it. The unit can only be warrantied under their authorization. The manufacturer rep said they will not replace the unit on a coil leak. He agreed to order the coil sight unseen due to length of time it takes for them to get the coil here from back east. It takes them up to 6 weeks to get the coil here on a package unit system. These coils they do not stock but make on request. Upon this information I immediately sent someone out to charge the system so you would have cooling while waiting for the coil. When the coil arrived the manufacturer called and we  cancelled an install for the day and rushed them straight to the manufacturer to pick up the coil and go straight to your house to install it. The installers only installed the part they were given. The manufacturer warranty rep authorized and ordered the wrong coil set. We should have picked up the coil, inspected it to make sure it was the right one and then called you. That is our fault.We were only trying to take care of you as soon as possible.  The additional coil needed is still on order and has not arrived yet. Your system will continue to work and cool you fine until the new coil arrives.  The manufacturer is not authorizing a unit replacement at this time. As a side note 13 seer systems are no longer able to be manufactured as of January 1st 2015. The current minimum seer system is now 14. I am aware that you had an electrical part go out and now a coil. One part operates independently of the other. Although coil failures are becoming very common industry wide, through all the manufacturers, you are in a great position with a packaged unit because you have a 10 year parts warranty. I have had coil failures from ****** ******** ***** and lots of other brands this year. ***** is the most commonly used coil and only has a 1 year warranty. Again I know this has not been the ideal situation for either of us but I will always do my best to take care of you.  I have no problem extending your labor warranty an additional year. In the meantime if your unit stops cooling before the coil can get replaced please call me immediately!

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

11/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a new system installed by Big Mountain Heating and Air in July 2011 specifically because we were having a new baby and needed AC $7,500. The initial installation was terrible they had no respect for our house and dirtied EVERYTHING! Our floors all had to be cleaned after install, my wife's entire closet of clothes had to be cleaned due to them getting insulation everywhere from the attic access. I had asked if I should move or cover the clothes out and they said "no, we will cover them." Lies. Covering a 41 weeks pregnant woman's entire wardrobe in insulation and having to wash entire closet full of clothes! Very unhappy at that point. The system was not approved for permit and needed a whole day's worth of adjustments to get the permit. Took weeks.In 2013, summer comes around and our brand new AC didn't seem to be working very well. Didn't think much of it at this point. Since it was such a new system.In 2014, the system completely stops working. Is blowing air same temp as outside. Schedule check up on it and they say, "Well you might have a leak." So early summer, blazing hot with a toddler and a NEW baby we have no AC! I call multiple times and finally they agree to test the system and refill it with refrigerant. Call us back in 4 months. So October comes along and they check for dye, find a leak in our coil, tell us that will not have AC next year unless we replace it for $2,100 minimum fix or recommended fix of about $3,200! Looked up the part (which is known for breaking quickly) and it is only $350. I feel scammed. We still owe over $4,000 on our system and it does not work. And they constantly advertise a brand new system for $6,500. Which makes us feel even more swindled.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, I would like the coil replaced at Big Mountain's expense and refrigerant refilled so that they system is fully functional. Like a 3 year old system should be.

Business Response:

I am sorry for the experience you have had with Big Mountain Heating & Air. It is most important to us that our customers are happy with the installations we provide. I understand that when things happen it can be difficult to call and let a company know the issues they are having. I wish I would have known about the installation problems you were having. It can be very difficult to remedy them at a later date. Again I am truly sorry.

I know the situation you are in is frustrating. You chose to purchase a system that comes with a 1 year Labor warranty. Evaporator coils are failing industry wide. To replace an evaporator requires almost as much time and manpower as installing a new system. We as well as many other contractors have repeatedly asked the manufacturers to help us with labor. They will not. We have asked because of the costs to do so make the end users angry at the contractor. If there was another alternative product EVERY contractor would jump on it immediately. We understand the situation you are in and want very much to work it out in a way that makes sense. Making the repair for free is not something that we would be able to do. Call me at ###-###-#### and I would be happy to work out a solution with you.

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damaged a/c compressor while making damage assessment to my a/c unit. The only problem I had with my a/c was that it was blowing hot air. there was no damage to the compressor. Tech took cover off of outside unit. We looked together at the compressor and entire unit. Tech then asked me to go in the house to turn switch on. When I came back outside he holds up a wire from the compressor and says, this the big problem, the wire blew out of the compressor causing major damage". I knew that wire was not blown out before I went into my house. Because I was not sure, I had my friend who looked at the a/c before Bib Mntain looked at it to come back to take another look at it. He agreed, the wire was not out of the compressor when he first inspected. I did not tell, Big Mntain this, but another company looked at the system before them and they did not see or mention that the wire was out of the compressor. So, we have three pairs of eyes that did not see a wire pulled out of the compressor as a problem. I can have the tech from the other company verify this, if need be.

Desired Settlement: I want Big Mntain to own up to the fact that they damaged my compressor and replace it. If not, I am taking them to small claims court.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
***** called us out to look at his system because it was not cooling. Our technician performed a diagnostic service and found a wire blown out of the compressor terminal. Technician advised Mr. ******* of the situation and he declined the necessary repair.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Big Mountain Heating & Air, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart