Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bell Brother's Heating and Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bell Brother's Heating and Air, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

155 Customer Reviews on Bell Brother's Heating and Air, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 153
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 155

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 2000 Business started: 06/01/1991 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 04/04/1995 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 726129.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00650490.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Bell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Bell, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Bell Brothers Heating & Air
Products & Services

Bell Brother's Heating and Air, Inc. specializes in heating and air conditioning for residential and commercial consumers.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bell Brother's Heating and Air, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10555 Norden Ave

    Mather, CA 95655 (916) 226-4902 (916) 235-8866

  • 1254 Dupont Ct

    Manteca, CA 95336 (209) 234-4321

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This letter is regarding an issue that occurred during the spring and summer of 2015. There were various techs from Bell Brothers at my house, and I also talked to ***** (I forgot his last name) in June. I told him I was unsatisfied with Bell’s response, or more lack of, to the issue. I told him I was going to be out of the country for almost 2 months, and then when I came back I was going to do some more research, but that I did not consider it a closed issue. I also called the Better Business Bureau; I did not discuss specifics with them, or even the company of concern. I just wanted to find out if there was any time limit on how long I had to open a file with them if we do not come to resolution; there is not. I do not want anyone to think I have not been concerned about this all along, and just suddenly decided one day months later that there was a problem. I would like this letter to go to someone who has the authority to address this issue, and I would them to call me to discuss. My Trane heating and air was installed by Bell in 1997; there have been various people there who told me that was not possible; I have confirmed with others it was. It was of the Bells who installed the unit, whether or not they were doing business as Bell Brothers. The builder of the house was **** *********, who built primarily custom homes in the Elk Grove/Wilton area. He build this cul-de-sac of homes under the name “Bluegrass Homes”. Since I have been in this house, I have had the AC and heating serviced regularly, and always by Bell; no one else has worked on this unit. On 4/10/15, your tech performed the normal springtime maintenance and service check (See Inv. #******). The invoice says “No issues found” “System Operational”. Due to mild weather and the fact I am not a big user of AC, I didn’t use the AC at all until early June. When I did turn it on, I found only lukewarm air came out of the vents. I called Bell Brothers, and a tech came out on 6/9/15 (See Inv. #******). The tech said the unit had no refrigerant and must have a leak. I really could not understand how everything could be fine in April, I never used the unit, and there was absolutely no coolant left. I was told it could spring a leak and everything leak out, even with no use. I asked at that time if there was something (like leaving a valve open) that the tech may have accidentally done back in April that could have caused the leak of coolant; I was told no. There was a lengthy power outage that day, so no other work or testing was done at that visit. A couple of your sales people did come out later that day to give me information on purchasing a new unit should that become necessary. The tech returned on 6/11/15 (See Inv. #******) to do a leak search. He could not find a leak, so he filled up the unit with coolant, adder dye, and set follow appointment to come check again for a leak. He returned on 6/26/15 (See Inv. #******). He still could find no evidence of a leak. I talked to ***** because I still could not understand how all the coolant could be gone, and there was no leak. I still felt it was possible the tech in April made an error. He told me that couldn’t happen. He said someone must have stolen it. He said if I wanted to accuse your tech of stealing it, they would look into it. I would NEVER accuse someone of stealing unless I had some facts to support it. That is a serious charge and impacts a person’s reputation and potentially their job. I also don’t believe someone came into my back yard with, which doesn’t have that easy of a quick escape, with the equipment needed to steal coolant. If someone wants to steal coolant, there are easier units in Elk Grove to access than mine. ***** seemed unwilling to even discuss any possibility your tech made an error. Since that time, I have done some additional research. I certainly do not consider myself to be any kind of expert on AC units or coolant. I did get input from some people that I consider reputable experts. I was told if the cover that screws onto the valve that controls the coolant is not seated properly when it is put back on that indeed coolant can leak.

Desired Settlement: I still believe that something happened during the April 2015 service that caused this issue. I paid almost $1200 dollars for the leak detection and coolant for a unit that has no problems and no leaks. As I stated earlier, I would like to discuss this matter with someone in your office that can hopefully work towards a resolution with me. ***** ** ******* **** ***** ** *** ***** ** ***** *** *** ****

Business Response:

In reviewing our records we are unsure as to how refrigerant was lost in her system however, we are issuing a full refund. Client has been contacted and is in agreement with this resolution.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

 

I appreciate your attention to this and am sorry it had to go to this level to get Bell to contact me.  Not that it probably matters, but there is more information than just the cause of the leak is unknown.  But, the main issue is they did contact me, and I have already received the refund from them.  I agree this complaint can be closed.

 

Thank you again.

 

***** *******


1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 25, 2015, I called Bell Bros to fix my water heater. On August 27 their serviceman came and expected the water heater, and told me that either the pilot assembly and gas control needed to be replaced for $740.00 or the entire water heater (30 or 40 gal) replaced for $2,175.00. I elected the lower cost remedy. On August 29 the serviceman replaced the repair work, but then told me that the "T & P valve" didn't work and that needed to be replaced for another $271.00. He attempted to talk me into a new water heater again. I declined. He said he couldn't replace the T & P valve that day. Later I called and asked that they send another serviceman to replace the valve. On September 4 I checked the water heater and noticed the smell of gas. I contacted **** which came and found a loose pilot nut which the **** worker tightened (same part the Bell Bros serviceman replaced). At that time the **** worker noted that the vent to the roof was disconnected and should be repaired or replaced, another problem the Bell Bros serviceman did not notice or tell me about. When a serviceman from Bell Bros came out to replace the T&P valve, he told me the pipe above it was leaking and it was too dangerous to replace, another problem not noted on the first visit. I called Bell Bros about this, and a woman said a manager would call me within the next 4 hours--that didn't happen. I called the office again, and the woman again tried to get me to buy a new water heater. By that time I was done doing business with Bell Bros, which seemed to be trying to take advantage of me, and only wanted to sell me a new water heater that I considered overpriced.

Desired Settlement: I want Bell Bros to finish the job for the originally-agreed upon price, $741.00. If there were other problems with the water heater, that should have been noted by them at the outset. They told me they could repair the water heater for that price, and they should take the responsibility for their own carelessness or negligence for failing to recognize there were other repairs that would need to be done for the water heater to work properly.

Business Response:

 Bell Bros Plumbing, Heating and Air went out to ***** ******' residence on 8/27/15 because her water heater was not staying lit. The plumbing technician found that her water heater was at least 11 years old in a very dirty outside closet filled with cobwebs and dust. He determined that the gas control and pilot assembly were bad and needed to be replaced. He quoted Ms. ****** the price of $741 to replace the parts and went over the option of replacing the entire water heater with a new one due to the age and conditions of it. Ms. ****** decided to go with the repair. The technician came back on 8/29/15 and replaced the parts. He had to shut the temperature and pressure valve off to replace the parts and then determined that the valve was also broken. Bell Bros has a policy not to touch the temperature and pressure valve on an old water heater unless absolutely necessary because there is a high risk of it leaking. This is why we did not know the valve was not working on the initial visit. Our technician then gave Ms. ****** the option of replacing the valve for $271 and she said she wanted to have it replaced. Another plumbing technician came out to replace the valve on 9/3/15 and Ms.. ****** became irate and told the plumber to leave.

 

The plumbing manager called Ms. ****** on 12/21/15 in regards to this complaint with the BBB. she claimed that she didn't know about the complaint and Bell Bros needed to talk to her brother, Ralph ******, who handles everything for her. She said that he was in Mexico on vacation for the week and would not be home until Monday 12/28/15. The plumbing manager attempted to call Mr. ****** on 12/28/15 and left a message on his home number.

 

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bell Brothers installed a new water heater on 11/26/14. They pulled a permit from the County of Sacramento. I live in a mobile home so they need to obtain the permit from HCD. Finally at the end of May 2015, I obtained the permit from Bell Brothers. I called HCD on 6/1/2015 and it was inspected that day and did not pass inspection. On 6/18/2015 the repairs to the water heater were made. I was advised by the inspector and it is on their report to Bell Brothers that repairs are to be made within 20 days, a new permit pulled and another inspection made.I called HCD yesterday and they have no record of a new permit.Someone from Bell Brothers returned my call yesterday and I was expecting a return call and so far nothing.This has been my response from Bell Brothers to MANY of my calls.They charged me $1875.00 for this water heater and that is supposed to be a discounted rate as I am a club member.A few weeks later, my neighbor had a new water heater installed for a total price of $1000.00. He obtained the permit, it was inspected and the installation all completed within a 2 week time period. I am unable to get Bell Brothers to resolve this issue and I don't know what other recourse I have.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to obtain the permit so I can get this issue resolved.Needless to say I have cancelled my membership with Bell Brothers and I would not recommend them for plumbing, heating or air conditioner service.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I have attached the permit.

 

Please let me know if there is anything else I can do on my end.

 

******* ******* ******* ****** **** ** ************ ** ************

M: ***** ****** **** ****** ******** ** *****

Business Response:

I apologize it is not a clearer copy. It is a carbon copy piece of paper which does not always scan well. It is not in our possession yet to mail out. I hope to have it next week to mail to the customer.   

 

Consumer Response: Consumer called saying the inspection had passed and complaint can now be closed as resolved.

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a check of my HVAC system and a "technician" was dispatched to my home on Friday, June 19th, 2015. My system was functioning fine, except the air was not as cold as the last time I used it. The person arrives and checks the interior system, then proceeds to the outside unit. before he arrived, you can lower the thermostat and the fan kicks in. It did this while he was there, however, outside, he pushes the switch in on the unit and shocks himself, dropping his clipboard. he then uses a screwdriver to push the swicth in and the unit comes on, fan running. He does this several times and then tells me the contacts are bad (now they are), my transformer is burnt out and I have a leak in my system. all this was diagnoesd with a screwdriver. He then tells "I wouldn't put a dime into this system". Gets a i little upset when I decline the repair and tells me "it's not going to work any more".What kind of service is this? I want my system put BACK to the operating condition it was in when he arrived. At least it would turn on.I have called several times, last Friday (was told someone would call me tomorrow) no call on Saturady. I call Saturday, no one is there to talk to me. no one calls Monday. I call again Tuesday, some will acll in the morning (today) still no call.Some kind of company that refuses to return phone calls and leaves my system in worse shape than when they arrived.Sort of like driving your car to a mechanic and having to have it towed home.

Desired Settlement: Put my system back to the condition it was in when the "technician" arrived. it would turn on and he could turn it on. Now it doesn't since he "worked" on it.

Business Response: When our technician arrived, he immediately found a badly burned out contactor and capacitor on the outdoor unit. The technician went back to the customer to explain the issues he had found. He informed the client that due to how badly the contactor was burned, a electrical short occurred during his inspection that caused the transformer to burn out as a result. A contactor will never shock to the touch unless it is in extreme disrepair. The technician informed the customer of the situation and the customer declined to make any corrections at the time of the visit. It is interesting that he mentioned having an issue with the recommendation for a leak search. In the call recording provided in this response, the customer mentions in his initial call that the refrigerant lines were damaged during a project with another company and that he believes that it may be low on charge as a result. The customer called our office again that day and voiced his complaint about the issue. In the second call recording attached to this response, he explicitly declines several attempts to have a technician out to assist in resolving the problem. I personally spoke to the customer on 6/19/2015 and explained that the reason for the failure of the system was a badly damaged contactor that shorted out, causing the transformer to fail as well.The customer was very rude and beligerant and did not allow for a calm and logical conversation.This customer began to use offensive and foul language and at that point he hung up. We offered many opportunities to help this customer but he declined. the system failed due to a variety of reasons. 1) the system was in extreme disrepair lacking proper maintenance as recommended by the manufacturer. 2) the unit is a day and night system 29 years old. The parts in question are original to the unit and are way beyond the normal life expectancy. Combining this fact with the lack of maintenance on a system of this age, shows not a lack of experience on the part of our technician, but a lack of diligence on the part of the owner to properly maintain his unit.In his analogy of having to tow your car home after a visit with a mechanic, that is to be expected if one does not follow the recommendations from the mechanic and make the needed repairs. but choosing not to make the needed repairs, does not make the mechanic responsible for the underlying issues that caused the failure in the first place. Based on the information and recordings provided, we feel that we have sincere effort to attempt to help this customer out. at this time we ask that BBB review the evidence and advise on a course of action.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

Recordings only show what they want you to hear. The is that was after they worked on the unit so it has no bearing on what happened.
They only give partial information. Such as, he doesn't mention that the previous service was TEN YEARS ago as I specifically told the technician. Conveniently left out because it doesn't fit their story.

The facts are:

The system was working before the technician arrived.
It was working while he was here.
It didn't work after he worked on it.
No one else touched the system.

The only thing was it wasn't as cold as it used to be, now it doesn't work at all of the technician.

The only "recommendation" came after he rendered the system useless and that was to replace "everything".

Business Response: We are willing to refund the customer back the $79.95 he pair to have our technician out and diagnose his failed system. Getting the system up and running would require the replacement of several other parts that were the cause of the failure in the first place, mainly a burnt and pitted contactor that caused electrical damage to the transformer. We are willing to replace the transformer at no charge. We will not guarantee the systems function beyond that due to the Numerous other issues that the unit has. If the customer decides to accept this solution, he understands the system may or may not remain functional afterwards. We are willing to accept the possibility that we caused the failure of the transformer, but the client must accept the responsibility of having neglected the system and contributed to the problems due to lack to maintenance. We feel this is a reasonable solution that is fair and balanced for all parties involved.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I don't agree with the "neglect" statement, however I can agree to this solution as long as a different technician does the needed repair. I would also, propose the contacts be replaced and I would pay the net price of the contacts and deduct the $79.95 from that labor cost. Just a thought, I will await their response.


Business Response: Bell Brothers has reviewed the client's response and agree to proceed with the work as suggested. will be contacting the client to proceed as agreed by both parties. we ask that BBB close this complaint at this time.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

2/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: December 22,2014 I saw water on my porch. I didn't think anything of it until Monday 12/29/15 when there was more water on the porch. First I contacted a roofing company they told me it wasn't the roof. They suggested calling a plumber.I called Bell Brothers Heat Air & Plumbing they were recommended to me. They did come out, had to open the wall to get to the leak all they did was disconnect the lines and cap them off. The plumber did not even notice there was mold within the wall and left with just a paper cloth covering the hole. Five Star restoration was called to clean up the mold and Sierra Environmental Testing gave a certificate of completion of air quality. I had to call Bell Brothers back again to get them to come out and reconnect the line that should have been done in the first place. My insurance company could not proceed until the line was fixed properly. My home owners insurance requires a breakdown of costs. Needless to say I was given an invoice that had no breakdown of costs. I have contacted Bell Brothers numerous times by telephone trying to get the breakdown with no results. The manager of the plumbing department told me standing in my house he has the breakdown all the insurance company has to do is call them. My insurance company has contacted Bell Brothers numerous times also with no results not even a return phone call. Due to this I have to come up with $500.00 to pay my copay in addition to the $599.95 I have already paid Bell Brothers because they will not give me a breakdown of their costs. My advice to anyone looking for a plumbing company to stay far away from Bell Brothers because they do not stand behind their word.

Desired Settlement: I and my insurance company need a breakdown of the cost so we both know what my copay will be so the insurance company can refund my money. They will not until they get the breakdown. Also I'm trying to refinance, I need an appraisal and I can not have an appraisal until the bathroom is completed. Bell Brothers is holding everything up and just may cause me to lose my refinance and that will cause me to lose $200.00 per month. If I am lucky enough to extend it they need to pay the extra fees.

Business Response: BBB, to whom it may concern;

 On December 31, 2014 Miss ****** called my office asking for a
breakdown of the pricing for the work we had performed on December 30, 2014. My
office informed her that we would be more than happy to give the breakdown to
her insurance company once they called us. In early to mid January I was given
a message to call her insurance company and give them the breakdown for which I
did and left a message on a voicemail with the explanation of the breakdown.

 
On January 22, 2015 Rudy and I went back out to her residence to
reconnect the shower valve. At this time Miss ****** let me know that the
insurance company said they never received a call from me. I asked her to
please have them call me again and I would be more than happy to give them the
information.

 As of February 5, 2015 I have not received a call from her
insurance company, I did however receive a call from Miss ****** (while I was
out of the office) stating that I she did not receive the breakdown that
evening she would file a complaint with the BBB.

At 0806 this morning this is the e-mail that I sent to Miss ******:

***,

Here is the information that I had given to your insurance company
when I called a few weeks ago.

 This price breakdown is intended for insurance purposes only:

 
$49.95    Dispatch Fee

$125.00  Diagnosis

$175.00  Access

$250.00  Pipe Repair

 
Miss ****** has received the breakdown that she has requested, I
ask that you now close this case.

 Sincerely,

**** **********

Plumbing Operations Manager

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: On Dec .31, 2014 I requested

10/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Bell Brothers because I was interested in installing an HVAC system in my home. I am a caretaker for my father-in-law who has health issues and didn't want him to suffer through the summer and winter. The salesperson came out and did a walk through of my home a couple of times before I decided go ahead with it. We had the system installed on 5/19/14. The system worked fine for a week then we really started not feeing cold air in the home. I called Bell Brothers and they sent someone out to take a look. I was told that my home did not have adequate insulation for the unit to work properly. We added an attic fan and still was not feeling relief. On a 100 degree day our home felt like a sauna even with the air on. I called Bell Brothers a third time and was told that they would have a manager call and set up a time to come out and take a look. That never happened. Overall we had the most miserable summer with a $12,000 unit that didn't do anything for us. A relative of mine have a home about the same age as mine and called another HVAC company to inspect her home for a unit and was told up front that her home needed adequate insulation for a system to work properly. She decided not to get it because of the cost. If Bell Brothers would have been honest from the beginning I would not have spent that kind of money for something that doesn't work. What's worst is I don't have the money to insulate my home to make this unit work properly. I feel that this is false advertising on their part for telling me that having the unit would make my home so much more comfortable. I was a lot more comfortable with my window ac unit and wall heating unit. Both units were taken out after the installation. If the heating does not do well for the winter I would have to seek legal help for paying for a $12,000 system that does not work.

Desired Settlement: I would like an explanation as to why the people who came out neglected to tell me even after inspecting the house that the unit would not work well since I did not have adequate insulation. Instead they saw the kind of money they would make and decided to tell me after the fact that the unit would not work well unless I had adequate insulation. I would have kept what I had before the unit was put in. I would like a refund if possible or some help insulating my attic for the unit to work.

Business Response: We will be contacting the customer to provide clarification to their concerns. We will offer to have a installation supervisor to go out and see what the options are. We received a call from the customer on 6/9/2014 letting us know that they has issues with the unit. Our technician went out on 6/10/2014  found that the home had inadequate insulation in certain sections of the home. Here commended an attic fan and a high flow register to improve airflow into the areas but also suggested adding insulation. The client did not pursue thisoption any further and only agreed to have us install the high flow register.We sent out a technician on 7/1/2014 to install a high flow register andafter this was completed, we set up an appointment to have a supervisor out todouble check installation and make sure the system was working properly, andsee what other factors might be in need of attention. On 7/2/2014 we arrived tothe home but the customer did not allow the supervisor into the home. Perclient, everything was fine and they had installed an attic fan themselves. Wehaven't had any calls from the client expressing further concerns on the issue.The customer feels that we withheld the recommendation for insulation at thetime of sale in order to charge the more for it later. Whether it had been doneinitially or after the install of the system, the cost would have been thesame. It appears to be a possible oversight on behalf of the sales representative who sold the install. But at no time was there any intention of offering this option at a later time for a higher price. We recognize this was a missed opportunity and we are willing to assist the customer further if needed. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I am rejecting the response that someone came to the house on July 2. The first visit was by a technician who did come out and install a part. It was then that we were told that the house did not have adequate insulation and it was suggested that we install an attic fan which we did. We were also told that we would need to properly insulate the home for the system to work properly at this time. I took time off of work since I had family visiting from July 2nd through the 7th and was home. No one came to the home at this time and I definitely did not reject anyone saying that my attic fan was working well. First of all when I called I was promised that a manager would call me back and schedule an appointment to come out. No one ever called me or my husband and no one came to the house. I thought that there was nothing that I could do until I spoke with a competitor who visited my cousin's house and was told that we should have been told about the inadequate insulation to begin with. I was also told by the competitor that when the salesman came out for the walk through this was something that should have been brought up. This I was told, was a ruse to get me to agree to buy the system and then tell me later that the system would not work properly until I spend many more thousand of dollars later to insulate my house also. We originally were going to get the system that sits on top of the roof and that may have worked out.  But because of regulations with the city it was decided that we needed to get one that would be housed in our attic with the condenser outside. But we should have been told at that time also since a second walk through was needed for this and done. Have I been told about the insulation issue I would not have agreed to buy such an expensive system which I am still paying off to this day.

Consumer Response: I have received a call from Bell Brothers and scheduled a time for them to come out and take measurements on the house. The technician came out in Monday October 27 th and I am still waiting to find out what needs to be done as far as insulation. 

Business Response: We will be calling to schedule the insulation of the areas found during our visit at the home with out supervisor. This will be done at no charge.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I am awaiting the call from Bell Brothers and hope that the insulation will help especially now that it is getting colder.

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on june 9 2014 a bell bros technician came to my residence to perform a summer inspection and tuneup on my airconditioning unit. when the technician left he assured me that everything looked in good shape and all in good shape. the next day i noticed water dripping from the ceiling ofthe bathroom directly below the attic unit. i called bell bros and was told someone would call meback shortly. tha was wednesday, june 11. i have yet to receive a return phone call to at leastto assess the validity of my concerns. there was no problem with leakage before the technician'svisit.mymy unit is only 6yrs old.

Desired Settlement: all i ask of bell brothers is to come out to see what happened. ihave no heating and air skillsso i do not know what to look for.

Consumer Response: Company came out and resolved the issue.

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 20, 2014 my husband called Bell Brothers out for a service repair call on our heating that was not heating. On January 21, 2014 the Technician ***** came out to look at our unit. He stated that the unit came on and he did a safety inspection which he found to have two broken eyelets and two cracked chambers. He quoted us $1200 to repair and $4597 to replace. He set up a second opinion at that time for another Bell Brothers Technician. ** ***** came out for the second opinion and confirmed breach on heat exchanger and eyelet on bottom of chamber missing or cracked. He said the system is working but did not advise to use. He called my husband and said that we need to replace the furnace and it is a safety hazard to run it. On January 22, 2014 We called out another licensed HVAC company to check the furnace since we do not have a lot of funds to replace the unit. He reviewed Bell Brothers paperwork looked at the furnace and did not see any cracks at all. He stated the furnace is working correctly. I asked him to double check he went up and checked again and stated that he is in the business of making money but he does not charge people for something they do not need.

Desired Settlement: I would request my $49.95 Service Fee refunded and our Club Membership Agreement with Bell Brothers Terminated immediatley.

Business Response: Home owner ****** ******** was originally concerned that we found a possible breach in her heat exchanger which is an item in her furnace. After having another technician from another company look at the claimed damaged item (breach in heat exchanger) he reported that he could not locate the breach. I called homeowner (****** ********) and let her know that the level of training that our technicians receive here at Bell Brothers supersedes other contractors in the area therefore we are better equipped to locate such damages such as possible breaches in heat exchangers. Our Guarantee here at Bell Brothers is that if we claim there is a breach in a heat exchanger and other technician from another company can prove it does not exist we will buy and install a new furnace for that homeowner at no cost to the homeowner. ****** loves that guarantee and is currently locating the original technician that claimed there is no breach.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

155 Customer Reviews on Bell Brother's Heating and Air, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart