Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Granite Outlet, Inc.

Phone: (916) 368-1868 View Additional Phone Numbers 10057 Mills Station Rd, Sacramento, CA 95827

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Granite Outlet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Granite Outlet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 04, 2007 Business started: 09/12/2007 in CA Business incorporated 07/01/2007 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Thang Lam, President Mr. Han Quach, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thang Lam, President
Business Category

Granite Building Materials Countertops

Products & Services

This company offers the sale of granite countertops, and kitchen and bathroom cabinets.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Granite Outlet, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10057 Mills Station Rd

    Sacramento, CA 95827 (916) 368-1868


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quoted price of my quartz countertops was $1235.00 total. I deposited $545..00 with ****** **** and was told the labor fee would be $690.00. The installers came to my residence three weeks later and stated they needed $1000.00 for the installation. And If I did not agree I would loose my $545.00. I was forced to agree. I paid extra for a sink they PROMISED to install totally. But later refused to totally install after being paid. I payed extra for PLYWOOD that they never used and took. They also created a hazmat situation in my house by NOT telling me they were using a strong chemical adhesive that necessitated using a mask while in the house. They ALL wore mask but did not advise me or my wife of the danger in advance or ever. Seeing them all wear their mask while we were in an adjacent room traveling to the kitchen alerted us. I suffer from High Blood pressure and was sick most of the evening after they left because of this . If my condition does not get better I will need to obtain an attorney to represent me in this matter. They should have alerted or advised anyone with health issues to leave the area and not be exposed to the harsh deadly chemicals that used. I am 72 years old and have recently spent 4 days in the military hospital at Travis AFB for high blood pressure. I take high blood pressure pills and Lipitor. While using such strong chemicals the installer should have restricted the work area to workers and advised occupants of the home to restrict their movement. After refusing to complete their promise to totally install all parts of my sink they left my home laughing. All of the installers "claimed" they could NOT speak english. Which brings to mind how are they licensed if they do not speak english and have not the ability to speak english and WARN consumers of this hazmat issue. The compliance agent of the company has the fiduciary responsibility to insure this,and the legal burden when not met. The Quart stone is not the same on my Island Quartz Slate. its lighter and stain

Desired Settlement: I think this matter is the tip of the iceberg for people who send people out to enter consumers homes and place families at risk and danger to deadly chemicals that can damage the immune system. The proper corrective action is to take the compliance agent to court and subpoena the installers who "do not speak english". This would speak volumes in front of a Judge. Since they are a corporation I will also file a complaint with the corporation commission with the same issues. At BBB level,credit.

Business Response: Here are the sequence of even for Mr. ********:

1)  Mr. ******** came into Granite Outlet on 8/4/2015.  He provided our staff the measurements of his kitchen counter-top.  Our staff calculated the number of granite slabs need for his counter-tops based on          the on the measurement he provided.  (that's the estimate Mr. ******** attached along with his complaint)  

2)  He then asked if we do installation, our staff told him we do.  We also gave him an estimate of the labor cost and told him that if his measurements was a few inches off, it would be fine, but if his                        measurements was more than a few inches off, the cost of labor will go up and he might have to purchase more materials.  He agreed and we scheduled him for the installation on 8/26/2015.  (a copy of his        invoice is attached along with this response)

3)  Yesterday, 8/26/2015.  Our installation crew went to Mr. ******** home to do the installation and measured his existing kitchen counter-tops and found out that he was off on his measurements and told him        he needed an extra slab in order to do his counter-top.  He agreed.  My crew re-calculated the labor cost and the cost for an additional piece of granite and a sink, which Mr. ******** didn't even purchase yet      for the installation.  Mr. ******** looked at the new calculation and even signed the labor contract before work started.  (We've attached a copy of the contract along with this response)  Mr. ******** also had      a copy of the contract too.  But he didn't attach it along with this complaint because he is not being truthful.  

4)  Mr. ******** called Granite Outlet and paid for the extra slab of granite and a stainless steel sink with his credit card.  (a copy of the invoice is attached to this response)

5)  After the installation, Mr. ******** wrote a check in the amount of $1,140.00 for the labor.     

Response 1)  We did install the sink for Mr. ********.  If Mr. ******** said we didn't, send us a picture to prove it.  We will tear-out the whole counter-top for him and replace it with a new sink and counter-top               installed.

Response 2)  For the plywood, the installer took it back so we can call you today to refund you the money.

Response 3)  The adhesive is not hazardous.  It is epoxy resin.  It is found all all kitchen counter-tops.  Mr. ******** can sue the manufacturer of the epoxy resin.

Response 4)  We are two separate entity.  Granite Outlet sells materials only and G.O. Stones does the installation.  We don't take deposit for anything.  He purchased the materials from Granite Outlet and paid       that in full.   He could have cancelled the installation anytime because he didn't pay the installation yet, and he can return the materials to Granite Outlet and get his money back.  

Response 5)  If one of our staff went to Mr. ******** home to measure his counter-tops and gave him that estimate, we would have 100% honored the quote.  But we didn't.  Mr. ******** gave us that            measurements.  He also could have cancel the installation when my installer told him that he need extra piece and extra labor, but he didn't.  Everything was upfront before we did the installation               for Mr. ********.  The attached documents clearly showed that.

Thank you. 


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: There are issues the business never addressed. I mentioned stains in my complaint. These are clearly visible in the attached photos. Why  did the installers wear mask if the adhesive was non toxic. And  how are these people licensed through their regulatory system if they do not speak English. If they are unable to speak, what standard did they meet to qualify for a license. I will reject the payment made through ********** and ask for a inquiry that allowed this damaged quart to be sold as a good product. The installers promised by nodding their head and grunting they would completely install my sink.Which was not the case. I also will inquire with Sacramento Corporation commission why these people are allowed to come into peoples homes and only grunt and smile when asked questions. But in the meantime I would like to know what is to be done about these stains that I mentioned in my original complaint that were never discussed?

Business Response: As we have mentioned, if the sink was not installed, why doesn't the retired cop provide a picture of the incomplete sink install?  I did not remembering any complaint about stain on the granite.  If there is stain on the granite, call us and we'll schedule a time to come and inspect the stain and resolve the issue for you.  We guarantee our labor for four-years.  If the sink was not installed send in pictures.  Why doesn't the customer send any pictures of the uninstalled sink?  He did with the so called stain.  As for the mask, a lot of professional people wear mask to do the job, like nurses, nail tech, and doctors, that doesn't mean the materials or people they handles are toxic.  We are a reputable company.  We stand behind our work.  We're not like this retired police trying to strong arm us.  It is a crime if you're not very proficient in English?  Mr. Retired Police Officer?  Police officer in the United States if not ABOVE the law.  You can just strong arm people like you were when you were still in the force.  If you want to have your counter-top re-evaluated, you can get a second opinion from another granite company and we'll go from there.  But threaten people just because you're a retired police officer.  We are law abiding citizen and we know the law too.   

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased granite through Granite Outlet and was suggested to use there installers for better price. I had no call from the installers on their arrival time, they showed up 3 hrs earlier then I was told, having us to rush our prep. Install was suppose to be a 2 day job, which they finished in 7 hrs by cutting corners. Here is the list of complaints against the installer which is * ** ***** *******. 1. They scratched my newly painted cabinets and said it was my fault and that it was "cheap" paint. I even hung up plastic with painters tape to avoid this, then he blamed the painters tape for the scratch. 2. He left all the doors open, even after I requested him to leave them closed, so our pet cat does not get out. 3. They did not use the new plywood we purchased, instead they used the old one which caused our counters to be 1/2 inch unleveled. 4. They placed the slabs in that are mismatched in color and it is scratched in multiple places, granite looks like a patch job, the granite piece that was suppose to go in is sitting in the garage5. They is a gap between the granite and wall, I can stick my fingers in it. I was told by installer to put in 1 1/2 inche of tile for my backsplash6 Multiple chips in granite upon install

Desired Settlement: - I want to be reimbursed for my cabinets that I have to pay a painter to fix- I want demo to be done to take out the cracked granite- I want to be refunded on the materials that I have purchased and have gone to waste, because I hve to buy new granite and hire my own installer.

Business Response: We already told this customer that we will tear-out and fully refund them the money.  They already cancel the paid for the installation and our estimator when out to look at the job and told them that we will refund them the money for the materials.  As for the paint, our installer had nothing to do with it.  They repainted the cabinet without even sanding it down and when they remove their taped plastic covering, the paint came off.  If our installer damaged their cabinets with the granite, that would leave a dent on the cabinet, but there were no dent or scratch at all.  It was a piece of paint that came off.  Our estimator toke pictures of the so called damage on the cabinets.  Anyone can tell that there were no dent or scratch on it.  We already told these people that we will tear-out the granite and give them a full refund.  As for the cabinets, we will go to court to resolve it if it has to be.  The paint came of because they painted their own cabinet without sanding out the old paint, therefore, the paint came off when they remove their own plastic covering that they put on themselves.  I have never heard of any customer complaining about installers being early to the job before.  Also, isn't it the homeowner's job to secure your pets on the day of the installation?  How do you expect the installers to do their work without opening the doors?  We toke responsibility on our part and will refund them fully. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I had to call ELK Grove Police Department on GO Stone, INC/ Y QU Stone company on October 24, 2014, There install was suppose to tear out the granite they had poorly installed. The installer came in yelling and screaming at 7:15 pm at night ( He was suppose to be at our house at 6 pm). He started to yell at me and then proceed to yell at my wife. He demanded that we pay him for " tear out". We did not feel safe in our own home. I told him to leave, the installer then proceed to start yelling in our street.  I then make to phone call's. I spoke with *** **** ***** The CEO of the GO Stone  CA Contractors # 920815, He proceed to insult me over the phone and told me to call the police. I had Elk Grove Police Department come to our house. The install then speed off, but 2 police officers were dispatched, 1 officer stopped the installer on a near by cross street. The officer that came to our house said if these guys came back, it is trespassing. I then called *** again when the Police Officer was at our house. He answered the phone and said, " What do you want now". He c***ged the tone in his voice when he realized he was speaking to an ELk Grove Police Officer. The Officer told him over the phone that he is in breach of contract and that he needs to not have his so called professional crew show up hours late to job site and treat people like this. *** then developed attitude with the police officer, the officer hung the phone up, because *** was not making any rational sense and proceed to say that " We are trying to cheat him". 

The agreement was per ***** (another manager that works there):
1. We pick out new granite at there store
2. We find our own installers ( which we did)
3. There crew that installed, would come back and demo for the horrible job. 

That Friday Night there installers refused, and was very hostile and threatening. My wife was fearful in her own house. I don't know how these guys can run a business. I had to pay my new installer for the tear-out for what they were suppose to do. I will be providing you the call log number from the Elk Grove Police Department soon. I do not want these installers back in my house ever again, and they should not be installing in people house and intimidating people. 

Business Response: I spoke to my installer and they said they never made any threat against this couple.  It is all made up because they were upset at us that we couldn't accommodate their change in plan.  They called our store that Friday and wanted to move the tear-out from 6:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. but we told them we couldn't do it because the installer had another order to finish before he could do the tear-out.  So that plus when my installer showed up late for the tear-out, they were furious.  As I told the officer on the phone when the officer said that this couple told him that the installer demanded money and threaten them, I said to the officer, "if my installer threaten this customer, that's extortion and robbery, go ahead and arrest him."  The officer than said, "your installer showed up late, your wrong."  I said to the officer, "is there a crime for showing up late?", then the officer hung up the phone.  I feel that this officer might be a friend or relative of this couple, as this couple told my other manager that his wife's brother is an officer and that his father is a lawyer.  This couple is just being a bully because they have people in the law enforcement.  As agreed from the previous respond, I told them that we would fully refund them their money for labor and materials, but yet, they want to push us around because they know people.  We been in business for a long time and we do hundreds of installation, but never have complaint.  If we're as bad as this customer is alleging, wouldn't we have hundreds of complaints by now?  We offer to resolve this situation by a full refund plus the tear-out, but if that's not enough, then we'll just have to go to court to let the judge decide.     

2/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday jan 18th we drove to Granite Outlet Inc to look at their granite. We ended up finding something we liked so we went up to the counter and paid. We didn't have any straps to secure the granite so we told the employee that we were going across the street to a supply store to purchase some straps. They told us they had some we can buy. So we bought 2 of them (which was the suggested amount needed by the employee). Note:the straps were not in any kind of packaging when they handed them to us. The employees then loaded to granite in a wooden crate and placed it in our truck. The same employees then used the straps we had just purchased to tie everything together. They had us sign some type of waver before we left. (We were not given a copy)Only a few minutes from getting home, the granite fell over and broke to pieces. We stopped and took a look at the back and noticed one of the straps snapped. We were unable to return to Sacramento on Sunday (a 50 mile drive). On Monday January 20th we retuned to Granite Outlet Inc. with the granite still loaded on our truck. I went in and spoke to a young lady, I explained to her what happened. She told me that this has never happened before. She called her manager, I believe his name was ****. He was looking at the straps and then started talking to another man in their language. He then went to look at the granite in our truck. And continued to talk to the other man in his language. "****" then said he was going to go look at something. After about 10 minutes he came out with the waver we had signed a couple of days before. And said that there was nothing he can do for me. I read over the waver and it said " I acknowledged that Granite Outlet employees did inform me of the potential risk for my granite pieces breaking due to the way I secure my granite transport. I will not hold Granite outlet liable for any loses resulting from breakage of my granite pieces during transport."The issue is that THEY secured the granite with THEIR product.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back.

Business Response: Unfortunately, we're unable to refund *** ******* **** her money because we're not responsible for the breakage.  The ratchet tie down we sold to her was made by Haul Master and we only assisted her to tie down her granite because she agreed to sign the waiver of responsibility.  We do not help customer tie down their granites without the customer signing the waiver.  It is the customer's responsibility to secure the granite once we loaded the granites onto their vehicles.  The waiver clearly stated that we try our best to secure the granite for the customers if the customer requested our help, and that we're not responsible for any breakage as a result of us helping to secure the customer's granite.  We've been in business for over ten-years, and we helped numerous customers secured their granites and this is the first time that this happened.  There are many factors that can contribute to the breakage, like turning too fast, driving over a speed-bump too quickly, or driving over a big pot-hole.  We understand that you're upset that your granites were broken but unfortunately, we cannot take responsibility for this breakage.  The best to can do help you out is to offer you 30% off of the repurchase.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Granite Outlet, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart