This business is not BBB accredited.

J.S. West & Companies

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 577-3221 Fax: (209) 523-9828 View Additional Phone Numbers 501 9th St, Modesto, CA 95354 http://www.jswest.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for J.S. West & Companies include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J.S. West & Companies
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1909 in CA Business incorporated 01/01/1909 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eric Benson, President Mr. David May, GM Mr. Dana Mayo, Manager Mr. Randy Rowe, Hardware Manager Mr. Gary West, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Benson, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Gary West, President
Business Category

Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Hardware - Retail Lumber - Retail Feed - Wholesale & Manufacturers Lumber - Wholesale

Alternate Business Names
J S West Propane Gas JS West Lumber & Hardware JS West Milling Company

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1301 State Highway 174

    Colfax, CA 95713

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    26026 Outback Industrial Way

    O Neals, CA 93645

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2892 Highway 49 #2

    Angels Camp, CA 95222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4003 Stage Ct Ste 1

    Placerville, CA 95667

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    501 9th St

    Modesto, CA 95354 (209) 577-3221

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    564 W Stockton St

    Sonora, CA 95370

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    730 S Washington St

    Sonora, CA 95370

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 11, 2016, we notified JS West Propane Gas of our move-out date (February 19, 2016) from the home we were renting. The propane tanks had recently been filled and we sent a payment for the amount billed to us for the fill, which was $314.16. The billing rep I spoke with (*****) indicated they would read the tanks on the move-out date and send us a check for the amount we over-paid. On March 16, 2016, I followed up with ***** about our refund. She indicated we were due a refund check in the amount $209.03. I asked why is was taking so long and she told me it was a process that took awhile. Still not yet receiving our refund, I contacted ***** on April 12, 2016 and she told me the refund was still in process, adding several excuses for the delay. She even mentioned that some were waiting since December for refunds. I believe it is wrong that JS West has not refunded our money. They are a utility provider and owe us a refund in a reasonable amount of time particularly since we had no choice on using them as a provider (Landlord's choice). It has been almost eight weeks since moving out.

Desired Settlement: We want a check for the refund owed us no later than 4/20/2016.

Business Response:

We wanted to acknowledge that we received the complaint from the consumer and I have researched their concerns. After review of the issue in question I have communicated with the consumer and have resolved the issue to a satisfactory conclusion. Please let me know if you need specifics as to the verbal communications with the local office in which their account was located.

Cordially,

 

**** *****

Director of Propane Operations

JS West Propane

************ *** *** ************ *ell

 

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern. I received a check for the expected refund and feel the problem is resolved.

Thank you for your assistance in the matter.

***** ********


7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I closed my propane account on April 7, 2015 and still have not received my refund of 480.70Every time I contact them they say corporate will mail it out. I still have not received it.

Desired Settlement: Refund immediately.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that they have finally received their refund. Two and a half months after it was supposed to be sent.

2/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered gas on 12-9-13 for delivery. gave card number to **** who told me she would process that day. 12-26 im being billed for same gas 17 days later called west 12-09-13 ordered propane from **** over phone 125 gallons @2.60 a gal. Gave her debit/visa card number. **** was going to process and send receipt. Would be del in l0 days. $330.52 12-11-13 delivered given receipt by driver#32, Truck#l00l. We were of the understanding that the card number #**** given to **** on l2-9 was charged and this was the receipt that she told me she would send. Gas paid for, done. 12-26-13 I get a bill in mail acct #****** dated 12-13-13 $330.52 owing. I called West comp spoke to ********, **** not in, told ******** i ordered gas though **** 12-9 with card #**** by phone why was i getting a bill for $330.52? my husband had also called west on the 9th to order gas gave his card #**** and was told i already ordered it with card #****, no need to process his. On l2-26 ******** told me that the account had bill card #**** and didn't know of any card #****. ******** says we still owe $330.52 as of 12-26-13 for mailed bill. I checked our bank account but found no $330.52 debited. 17 days later were told we owe when we were told and have a receipt from the driver we still owe 330.52. **** was supposed to have processed card #**** on l2-9 but didn;t ******** told me they used card #**** which they told my husband they werent going to process because i already had called in the order ahead of him. There is something very wrong with this billing process and now were supposed to come up with 330.52 after christmas 17 days later? Because they billed us? What about those card numbers that were supposed to be processed? From the very begining we had billing problems due to a math error on there bill. It took a act of god to get that straighted out. Now what???? This is not good business practice and im mad that now i have to come up with 330.52 when i had already been told this was done. I do not feel I have to pay again and would like to have them resolve this problem/eat the 330.52 and we cancell our account without fees or other such things. **** ******

Desired Settlement: JS West has billing problems within and is trying to and has caused us grief before and now. I feel the 330.52 should be zero our account will be cancelled without fee of any kind tank will be picked up without charges and we are never billed again!

Business Response:  I had our local manager call and arrange a meeting with them a couple of days ago. I am glad to report that the issue has been resolved after that meeting and she is a happy customer. There were some misunderstandings regarding payment method and that is now cleared up as well.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I hope in the future they can train there business office associates to better handle customers instead of threatening them. As of date were back on track.

**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J.S. West & Companies
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)