Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

R.C. Willey

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 770-2700 View Additional Phone Numbers 6636 Lonetree Blvd, Rocklin, CA 95765 http://rcwilley.com


Click for BBB Rating on R.C. Willey

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

R.C. Wiley provides furniture and bedding retail services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R.C. Willey meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for R.C. Willey. BBB of Utah has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for R.C. Willey.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 12, 2006 Business started: 03/01/2006 in CA Business incorporated 07/01/1959 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 151828.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00897275.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
John Bennion, Director of Customer Serv
Contact Information
Principal: John Bennion, Director of Customer Serv
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Industry Tips
Put Your Worries to Bed: 7 Tips for Buying Furniture

Additional Locations

  • 10000 Allantown Dr

    Roseville, CA 95678

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2301 S 300 W

    Salt Lake Cty, UT 84115

  • 6636 Lonetree Blvd

    Rocklin, CA 95765 (916) 770-2420

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a sofa and loveseat from RC Wiley in 2010. The brand I bought clearly said Natuzzi on the sofa and loveseat. The first set that was delivered, had such a toxic smell, it had to be returned. The second set that was delivered no longer said Natuzzi on the sofas. It said "Editions". They said it was the same thing. I felt like it was something different than what I purchased. As time went on, one side of the couch became weaker and weaker until it felt like you were sitting in a hole. By the time I got around to calling, that part of the warranty had expired. So, I paid for one of their repairmen to come out to fix it. He turned it upside down and stuffed it full of foam. This did fix the hole problem, but then there was a deformity in the cushion. This made it very awkward to sit on. I mentioned that to the technician, before he left, and he assured me the lump would go away. It is now a year later and the lump is still there. It is embarrassing to have such a deformity in the cushions. I have to explain it to any guests that we have over. Today, I called again about getting this fixed. Of course, I have to pay another technician to come out. The first person I talked to said she needed to transfer me to her supervisor, and maybe he could help me. The supervisor was ******* in Customer Service. What ******* did, for me, was say he would set up a service call. I am not sure why the first person could not do that. Later in the day, I found a message from ******* on my voice mail. He called to "take care of the service charge" so he could arrange the service technician. I do not understand, why he could not do this on the initial call. This was a complete waste of my time, calling him back and waiting on hold once again. Actually it was insulting to me, as I have spent thousands of dollars at RC Wiley and never owed them a penny. All my purchases have been paid in cash. I have spent over $3,000 on this sofa set and it has been nothing but junk.

Desired Settlement: I would like the couch fixed like it should be. That was what I purchased in 2010, a new sofa and loveseat (Natuzzi) that should have been perfect. It is what I paid for last year, when I paid for a technician to fix it. I do not feel that I should have to pay any more. I feel that they should fix this, or say they cannot fix it and return my money. They should not continue collecting money and not taking care of the problem. This has been very disappointing.

Business Response: We have waived the service fee as a courtesy, and the customer will be responsible for any parts needed as the units are out of Warranty.

 
Thank you

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:  Although I appreciate RC Willey not charging me a second service charge, I am unsure what they plan to do about my sofa. A technician came to my home on Friday, the 5th, and immediately saw the problem.  He took pictures with his camera and said, it was a vendor problem. Then he left. I have not heard from the company since.

I do not know what, if any, the next step will be.  Is the sofa fixable?  When I purchased this "Natuzzi"  set, they assured me it was one of their very best brands. However, I feel that a sofa should last more than 2-3 years. It was about 2 1/2 years old, when I contacted RC Willey about the deep indentation in the sofa.  It felt like you were sitting in a hole.  In our home, it is only my husband and myself. We are of average size.  Our children are grown and have their own homes.  However, when our 3 children were living at home we purchased a sofa at 1/3 of the price of this sofa and it lasted over 15 years.  It was still useable when we bought this new set.  Again, I do appreciate RC Willey waiving the 2nd service charge, and I hope I will end up being a satisfied customer in the end, but at this time I cannot say that I am satisfied.

Business Response: Company stands by original response. We want to try and help but the furniture is four years old.