Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 751-2600 Fax: (916) 751-3471 View Additional Phone Numbers 2248 Watt Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825 http://www.la-z-boy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 27, 1989 Business started: 08/15/1983 in CA Business started locally: 08/15/1983 Business incorporated 09/17/1965 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 119568.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bodeen Ganhutagarngid, VP of Sales Operations Mr. Jim Reego, President Ms. Sheila Strong, Vice President of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bodeen Ganhutagarngid, VP of Sales Operations
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
La-Z-Boy, Inc.
Industry Tips
Put Your Worries to Bed: 7 Tips for Buying Furniture

Additional Locations

  • 12190 Tributary Ln

    Gold River, CA 95670 (916) 985-2850

  • 2248 Watt Ave

    Sacramento, CA 95825 (916) 481-5883

  • 2315 Esplanade

    Chico, CA 95926

  • 2363 Athens Ave

    Redding, CA 96001

  • 315 S Lower Sacramento Rd

    Lodi, CA 95242 (209) 957-2222

  • 396 N Sunrise Ave

    Roseville, CA 95661 (916) 773-8125

  • 756 Ikea Ct

    West Sacramento, CA 95605 (916) 287-4100

  • 8265 Laguna Blvd

    Elk Grove, CA 95758 (916) 691-1250

  • 8265 Sierra College Blvd Ste 314

    Roseville, CA 95661 (916) 751-2600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a complaint against the Lazy-Boy Furniture Co. I was in their store in Redding, Ca. a couple of weeks ago. When I attempted to buy a chair the sales person told me there would be a $39.99 transfer fee added to the price of any furniture item I wanted to buy. This is not a delivery charge which is an additional $39.99. She said these fees would be added to the price tag price of any piece of furniture in the store. Since my visit I have seen both T.V and print advertising that had the same prices as the in store price tags. Yours Truly, ***** ** ****

Desired Settlement: Since no one can buy the furniture for the advertised prices without being charged this "transfer fee" I believe they are guilty of false advertising. This is over and above legitimate charges such as delivery fees and taxes.

Business Response:

Thank you for visiting La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries as your business is valued and appreciated.  We'd like share with you our policies related to transfer and delivery fees:

 Customers can purchase and pick up any advertised and most stock furnishings off the showroom floor without any transfer or delivery fees.

 However, if a customer has chosen furnishings that are only available from the La-Z-Boy warehouse in Southern California, such as a special order or another color or fabric not stocked at our store, and would like to pick it up at the store, there is a $39.99 transfer fee to have that item delivered to the store.

 However, if a customer chooses to have furniture delivered to their home (which most do), delivery fees to the customer's home start at $39.99 without any transfer fee involved. 

 Thank you for bringing this point of confusion to our attention. We will redouble our efforts to train our staff and make sure they clearly understand all options.   We hope you will reconnect with the Redding Showroom so that we can assist you in finding the most comfortable and beautiful new chair.

Business Response:

We understand your frustration and want to assure you that we have clarified our policies to all staff.  We hope you will give us another chance at your business.

Consumer Response:

The obvious insincerity of La-Z-Boy’s last response is about what I would expect after the way we were treated when we were in their store. I consider this matter closed. Thank you for your efforts to assist me.

5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sectional sofa, an area rug and misc. decorator items from La-Z-Boy in West Sacramento, CA. The sales associate indicated that the front legs of the sectional sofa should be placed on top of the area rug to secure the rug from movement and for best appearance. My sales associate assured us that the delivery people would install and setup all furnishings including placing the sectional soft on the area rug. The sectional delivered immediately. The area rug and remaining items were delivered several weeks later. At the time of delivery of the rug, the delivery men refused to place the area rug under the sectional as promised by the sales associate. Repeated emails and phone calls to my sales associate have either gone unanswered or unresolved.

Desired Settlement: I would like La-z-boy to send someone to my home to complete the placement of the area rug.

Consumer Response:

Dear Sir or Madam,
I was just contacted by the **** *********** *** La-z-boy store manager about my complaint submitted to BBB on 05/01/2016.  He came to our house and fully resolved the issue.  Thank you for your kind assistance in this matter.  Please consider the issue closed and satisfactorily resolved.
Best Regards,
****** ******* **** ******* **** **** *********** ** ************

4/13/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: La-Z-Boy pulled the old bait and switch on our purchase. My wife and I entered this store and placed an order for 4 pieces of furniture. One of the pieces was a double cushion sleeper with memory foam. The double cushion was the only one on the showroom floor. My wife and I sat in the double cushion and my wife pointed to it and told the sales rep “we wanted that one”. There was absolutely no other choice but the double along with the fact that because of the size of the room there was no way anything other than the two cushions was going to fit. My wife initialed each one of the pieces depending on the sales rep to know what each of the product codes were and to be giving us what we pointed out. As a customer we have no idea what the codes are especially when there is no distinct description, it was pointed out on the showroom floor exactly which one we wanted and it was told to us this is what was entered into the system at $899.00 plus the memory foam for $300.00. Well upon delivery it was discovered that instead of a double cushion sleeper it was switched to a three cushion queen and the price increased to $1297.00. Of course we refused delivery and tried to handle this with the ***** ******* ******* **** with no success. In talking with Mr. **** he made it clear that in order to clear this matter up we would have to pay restocking which we feel we should not have to pay since it was the store’s fault. He even called his manager Mr. ****** ************** who also said we would have to pay restocking fee. As a regular customer who has made other large purchases with La-Z-Boy I would think you would not be quibbling over $200 vs customer loyalty especially when the switch was made on your part. I would appreciate your assistance in this matter. You can also call me at ************. Thank you for your attention to this matter. Attached is a copy of the order with the item in question circled.

Desired Settlement: My wife and I would like to have the correct sofa delivered to us without having to pay a restocking fee for the one that we did not order.

Business Response: We have attempted to contact the customer for resolution and are waiting to speak with them about next steps.  

10/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 3, 2015, we purchased a sofa and chair for my husband’s new executive office. Delivery was made on Thursday, July 23, 2015, at which time I was unable to receive the items due to an emergency vet visit. Our bookkeeper received the items. As soon as I was able to view the furniture in the office, it was apparent the chair was too large, any chair could not be accommodated. I immediately called ****** ********, your salesman, on July 27, 2015, Monday, to return the chair. It was a stock item in a stock color. ****** said he would speak to the manager.

Desired Settlement: I called ****** again on Tuesday, July 28, 2015, and again on July 31, 2015. I was then referred to ***** **** at ************, at which time my husband spoke with him. ***** agreed to charge restocking of $39.99, not the exorbitant 30% restocking. My husband explained we own a business as well, and sometimes it is important to work with the customer for good will. We then received your letter dated September 25, 2015, indicating we had a store credit that would expire in 60 days. We have purchased many pieces over the years from LAZBOY, as have our three children. We are not in the market for another chair, and I requested from ***** ****, that our credit card be reimbursed on October 5, 2015. Your terms and conditions have a clause if you request a refund within three days, a credit will be issued for the same card. We did call in less than 3 days, not counting the weekend. This complaint will be forwarded to The Better Business Bureau. We are hopefully to receiver a satisfactory response in a timely manner. Sincerely, ******* * ***********

Business Response: Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******** ************  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.

Ms. *********** purchased an apartment sofa and chair on June 3, 2015.  At that time, a sales ticket with our Terms and Conditions was reviewed with the customer.  Per the Terms and Conditions of the sale, it states that for In Stock merchandise, “You have 3 days to change or cancel an order after placing it unless you have already received your furniture, except you may not change or cancel orders for Clearance or As-Is merchandise.  You may not cancel your order or obtain a refund after you receive your furniture.”  The Terms and Conditions further explain, under Refunds and Exchanges, that “We provide refunds or exchanges only in the following circumstances.  If you request a refund within 3 days of when you place an order for anything other than Clearance or As-Is merchandise, we will refund what you paid us unless you have already received your furniture.”  Ms.. *********** signed that she acknowledged these terms and conditions at the time of purchase.   A copy of sales ticket ********0 is attached.

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  In the interest of customer goodwill, we will extend Ms. ***********’s credit to reflect 6 months from their last letter, dated September 25, 2015.  Please contact our Accounting Department at ***** ******** if you have any questions regarding this credit.

10/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November I went into lazboy to look around as I had bought a brand new sofa loveseat and chair that was not firm enough because I am disabled and have alot of medical and back issues. The sales person ******* said if I purchase the couch and loveseat that I was looking at, I would be able to take advantage of the current sale price. I explained to her that I would need to sell my current set to make room and I was in no hurry. She said if I ordered it right then I could have it delivered whenever I wanted. I asked what happens if it goes on sale and ******* said that once delivered and the set goes on sale again within 30 days after delivery they would refund the difference. In January or February I still had not sold my set but got a I finally agreed to the the deliver date of February 2nd I believe. Not even two weeks later it goes on sale for $650.00 less then I paid. I contacted ******* at the store to tell her about the huge difference and she said It was only refunded within 30 days from the November date of when I first came in. I opened up the account with ******** **** directly and they tell me the date of purchased is in February when it is delivered. That is absolutely not what ******* said or I would not have agreed to that. She apologized and said there was nothing she could do, she already got her commission. We can argue back and forth all day, my word against hers, that is what she told me. Remember, I had a set that I had purchased before going into lazyboy so I was not in a hurry and if I had not been told about the 30 days refund from the delivery date I would not have had it delivered. I also contacted lazyboy corporate office and they said these things are usually handled by the local office and someone would be contacting me. I never heard from anyone so I sent another email and have not heard from anyone. I did not want to have the local office call me anyway, only to repeat the same story.

Desired Settlement: I want the $650.00 difference refunded to me or credited to my ********* **** ******* ********************. They can come and get the furniture and refund the entire purchase price if they want as the furniture has not been used.

Business Response: Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ***** ******.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.

We attempted to resolve this issue with *** ******, however we have not been able to reach her.  Most recently, we sent *** ****** a letter on September 5, 2015 and left her a message on September 8, 2015.

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner. 

Business Response: RE:  Customer ***** ******
       Case # ********

Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ***** ******.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.

*** ****** purchased from our *** ***** showroom on November 29, 2014.  Per her signed terms and conditions of the sale, *** ****** acknowledged the she understood our Lowest Price Guarantee.  This states, “If within 30 days of your order date you see the identical merchandise advertised for less, under the same terms and conditions, we will gladly refund the difference in full.” 

*** ****** contacted us approximately three months after her date of purchase, which exceeds the 30 day Price Guarantee timeframe.  In the interest of customer goodwill, we have reached out to *** ****** and offered resolution concerning this matter.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I will accept the $325.00 offered just to be done with this whole thing.

8/21/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a La-z-boy leather recliner in Nov. 2012 and also purchased a 5 year warranty for the product at an additional cost of $100. At the time of purchase I was told the warranty would cover virtually anything that went wrong with the chair over the warranty period. I am now having color loss at various areas of the chair, particularly on the headrest area. Even though the warranty plan is called the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care 5 year protection plan La-Z-Boy now informs me that the warranty is actually provided by an independent company. This was not disclosed at the time of purchase. The La-Z-Boy warranty is only for one year so they claim no responsibility for the chair's defects.The warranty company refuses to restore the chair claiming that color loss is normal wear and tear and is excluded from coverage. Based on this logic the warranty is worthless and should never have been sold.

Desired Settlement: I believe La-Z-Boy should either repair the chair or reimburse me the cost of the worthless warranty.

Business Response: Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding our customer, **** ****.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their home.

Customer **** purchased a recliner and the Comfort Care accidental protection plan from us on November 26, 2012.  At the time of purchase we gave Mr. **** the literature outlining the coverage details of our accidental protection plan.

During a recent conversation with Mr. **** he confirmed he had the literature and had read through the coverage details.  The Comfort Care Protection Plan has exclusions in regards to non-coverage for claims that are a direct result of everyday use and for non-accidental damage.  The reason why Mr. ****'s claim was denied is due to the following two reasons:

1)  An accident was not reported with the claim.  Mr. **** stated that the leather chair had dye loss that occurred over a period of time.

2) Per the accidental protection plan literature, under the Exclusions clause, it details the following in regards to dye loss..: "Wear related issues such as fading, wear and tear, seam separation, stress tears or cracks, foam or padding softening, loss of foam resiliency, fabric stretching, pilling or fraying fabric, color loss or cracking and peeling on any leather or vinyl, split leather or bicast leather product"

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience.  Please contact us if you have any further questions.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  In essence the warranty covers nothing that can happen to the chair.  I was never told that the warranty only covered damage due to an "accident."  In my view severe color loss of a three year old chair is something that should be covered by an extended warranty as this is clearly a problem with the manufacturing of the chair.  Since fading or color loss is excluded from coverage I have no choice but to accept La-Z-Boy explanation.  I certainly won't shop there again and will be very cautious in purchasing warranties in the future.  You may consider this closed.  Thank you.

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing a leather sectional couch on May 31, 2015 and delivery on April 10, 2015, we noticed after 3 weeks that the cushions predomintely used were going flat. We contacted ****, Store Manager for Redding, and she advised us to call Comfort Care. We called Comfort Care and Jose came out in May, took pictures of the two seating areas, and said we would be receiving fiber in the mail and when that arrives we should call Comfort Care again and he would be out. We did not received anything in the mail, so I called **** in Redding, and she said it looked like it was backordered and I should call Comfort Care again. I spoke to **** at Comfort Care, but she didn't have any time frame and didn't seem interested in assisting. I called the Sacramento Lazboy and was connected with ***** ***** who is a laison between Lazboy and Comfort Care. He began to research the issue and got back to us that same day, July 9, 2015, and the order was backordered until Oct. 30, 2015. They were willing to give us $200.00 off. We really like the sectional, and are very disappointed with the lack of concern. All we want is to have it stuffed the way it should be. The back and seat cushions are considerably flat compared to the rest of the couch. My husbands back is challening him most of the time and now the couch is not a comfort zone. We paid $3,000.00 for this which is a lot of money for us. We would just be happy if we could have the couch in the same condition is was when purchased. But, my concern is, even if we have it stuffed with more fiber, will this happen again???The leather is in great condition, the fiber is the problem.the fact that we have not had a follow-up phone call from anyone from Lazboy is poor customer service. The last contact we had was Thursday, July 9, 2015. This was our first purchase with Lazboy and I thought we would be doing business in the future but at this point, I don't think so.

Desired Settlement: Either replace the sectional with one that the fiber will not break down or repair the existing one so it does not occur again or a complete refund.

Consumer Response:

Attn;  BBB
 
Just to let you know ***** *****, from La-Z-Boy, Sac. called us yesterday, July 15, 2015.  He informed us that Comfort Care La-Z-Boy would give us a one time offer to replace the leather sectional.  So, at this time we are working to resolve this problem.  My husband and I will go to the Redding Showroom tomorrow or this weekend and see if we can find a replacement.
 
We are hopeful this will workout.  I will keep you posted.
 
Thank you for your time and support.
 
Sincerely,
 
******* and **** *********

7/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sofa and loveseat from La-Z-Boy on August 22, 2014, and it was delivered on October 4, 2014. I purchased from La-Z-Boy, because I believed that I was buying quality furniture, and they warranty it up to a full year. All of the furniture cushions have threads everywhere and two of the arms look worn out. So I put in a service call. I was instructed to purchase a fabric shaver to fix the problem? I was insist ant that someone come to my home and correct the problem, since it is under warranty. A technician came over and took pictures, but did nothing to the furniture. He instructed me to call after ten business days if no one contacted me sooner. I phoned Customer Care 877.738.8852 and spoke with Heather. She looked at the pictures and said All I see is a beautiful couch. Again, I told her that the furniture is a very dark color and there is damage. She told me that she would have a technician take a look at the pictures and call me back. Its been over a week and no call.What I gather from La-Z-Boys customer care is that they are very well versed into NOT honoring warranties. The language they use is that this is this normal wear. This is the sixth couch set I have owned with the similar fabric, and this has NEVER EVER happened before. I thought I bought from a reputable store that stands by their product. I will never purchase form them again and will advice other not to also!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor the warranty and repair my furniture.

Consumer Response:

Dear BBB,
 
I wanted to let you know that complaint ID ****** has been resolved.
 
***** *****, with La Z boy customer care had emailed me stating that I have been approved for the furniture in question to be replaced. I wanted to let you know that he provided me with outstanding customer service. My faith has been restored in La Z boy!
 
I would also like to thank your for your service. Please let me know if there is any further action I would need to take.
 
Regards,
****** ******
*** ***** *** ****** ** ***** ************

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They delivered a broken glider chair for my nursery weeks ago promising to send someone to fix it within the week. After repeated calls they still have not sent someone to fix it. They stood us up twice. At each follow up call they assure us the will fix it right away and make it right. We still have no fix in sight. At this point my son is now 5 weeks old. This broken chair in the middle of our nursery has negatively impacted the bonding experience between me and my son. I have to go to another room to nurse because this broken chair is in the way. I can't even get them to come get the chair and refund our money. I feel held hostage by this company. It's shameful they would do this to us at this difficult time of having a newborn in the house. Please help us. We have been more than patient with them waiting on a fix and making follow up calls.

Desired Settlement: Come get the chair immediately and issue a full refund. We will consider a 50 percent discount acceptable if they actually fix the chair within the week. In either case, an apology and review of their broken system.

Business Response: Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                         
West Sacramento, CA  95691     

Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ***** *******.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.

We have resolved ***** *******'s issues. 

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  We will be in contact with Ms. Wilson directly to discuss the status of her exchange.  Please contact us at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

Consumer Response:  ;I am rejecting this response because: Absolutely nothing has changed. I still have the broken down recliner glider chair taking up a large space in my nursery and our money has not been refunded. There has been no apology or retribution for the shameful hassle this has cause me and my newborn child during one of life's most difficult times. He is now six weeks old. We bought this chair to use to nurse him. Instead, we are spending our precious time following up and waiting around week after week.

Further, their response uses the name "Ms. Wilson" in the last paragraph of their response. I have no idea who this person is. My guess is that they meant to use my name in this template-style response. Clearly they are still being sloppy and insensitive to our situation.

Business Response: Please excuse the error in our previous response.  It is our understanding that Ms. *******'s issues have been resolved. 

We apologize for any inconveniences that Ms. ******* has experienced.  We have relayed her experience to all parties involved.

If Ms. ******* has any outstanding issues she would like addressed, she may contact us at ###-###-#### during normal business hours. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

This is not resolved. The broken chair is still in the middle of my nursery. Our money had not been refunded. They insist they can’t pick up the chair until Dec 19th. A wait of another 10 days is unreasonable and I have no confidence they’ll actually show up. On two prior occasions we had confirmed appointments 10 days out to repair it and they simply didn’t show up. On the third occasion they showed up and simply said it’s unrepairable…but left the chair in our way!!!

My newborn son is seven weeks old and we are still at the mercy of this company. It’s horrendous.  have to leave my nursery to nurse him because this broken chair is in the way.  A reputable company would have immediately taken the chair away, given us a loaner chair, and a significant discount for the trouble.


Business Response: The chair has been taken from Ms. *******'s home.  We have asked that Ms. ******* or Mr. ******* contact us at ###-###-#### if there are any outstanding issues. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
They have not refunded our deposits, $135.00 on Discover Car and $135.00 on Visa card.  Also, bizarrely, we just received a package in the mail from them with parts! We have no idea why that was sent to us since they told us the chair was unfixable and they took the chair away on 12/19/14. Not sure what to do with these parts. This company is so sad. They still can't get it right. 

Consumer Response: Consumer states that they have received the refund for their deposit but would like to note that they remain dissatisfied with the the manner in which the business handled the situation.

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called about a problem I have with furniture I bought from Lazy Boy Furniture. Bought Sofa and two chairs on Aug. 8, 2014. Was delivered over two months later. The recline Rockers - I paid extra for what they called ARC handle (metal handle) They brought me one with metal and one with plastic handled, which I can't operate it. The were supost to fix it but after three months nothing has been done. The sofa looks like its been diped in mud. The one in store had nail decoration on ends. Now they say that was extra, which I was told it came on the sofa, like in store. I feal I only got one chair that I ordered for $959.13 Dollars that I paid in Aug. 8-14. (When you get almost 90 everyone wants to over run us) Thank you for any help.

Desired Settlement: I feal I only got one chair that I ordered for $959.13 Dollars that I paid in Aug. 8-14.

Consumer Response:

Dear BBB

  Thank you for contacting La-Z-Boy. After writing to you. They did send the part for the chair, after over a month. I haven't heard from them at all if they are going to fix it or what they will do about the sofa. 

Wanted to tell you I did get the handle for the chair.

Thank you,

***** *******

Business Response: We have attempted to contact Ms. *******.  When we have called her, the line has been busy.  Please have Ms. ******* contact our Chico showroom at her earliest convenience.  

Business Response:

Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ***** *******.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.
 
We have been able to make contact with the customer and this issue has been amicably resolved.
 
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  Please contact us if you have any further questions.

Consumer Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

Thank you for your letters and help. I talked to Lazy Boy Furniture in Chico. She said I could pick another sofa or another or another fabric. I called again to get more information to how I would take the sofa back. And if I would have to pay for pick up. And about my expenses when I pick another replacement. I did receive a return call Dec. 5, saying they would pick up my sofa, which is exactly as they brought it, on Dec. 18. When I reorder it will take close to three months to get new. So I can't say its resolved until I know my other chair they have scheduled it to fix the 16th. The people I have talked to have been very nice. But I have nothing in writing. I do really appreciate your help.

Thank you, ***** *******

Consumer states: I have been in contact with the company and they are working to resolve my issues. I will let the BBB know if they do not follow through on their word.

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sofa from La-Z-Boy on August 11. Paid a deposit of $691.74, special order. The sofa was delivered to my house on October 3. There was an issue with the sectional fitting together properly. I called the store and spoke with ****** the salesperson that sold me the sofa, I sent her a picture of it. She spoke with the guy that delivered it. He tried to fix it but could not. I stayed in touch with her tying to get the matter taken care of. They sent a service person out to fix it. Still it is not right. Sent another person out, after I showed him all the things that were wrong with the sofa, all he did was take pictures of it. I have been trying for almost two months to get this resolved. This is a 2,300 hundred dollar sofa that is overstuffed, puckered, uneven, a big gap where it is supposed to fit together. From what I gather from the few people I have spoken with is, I'm stuck with the sofa because it's a special order. I waited almost three years to buy a sofa. I went with La-Z-Boy because of their reputation for quality. I did not get quality. I got junk. I'm embarrassed to have it in my house. I cannot express how completely disappointed and frustrated I am at this point. I need some help here please. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: In the beginning I was willing to work with them, take the sofa back and have it redone. After the way I have been treated by La-Z-Boy I do not want anything else to do with them. I want them to come and get the sofa. I want my money back. Thank you, *** ******

Consumer Response: Consumer states that business has contacted her and the  complaint issues have been resolved.

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At this store where my husband sat on all the furniture that we ordered including a loveseat with a console. We ordered our on items on delivery the loveseat didn't have a console like the one we had sat on in the store. My husband immediately called the manager and he said "sign for it, and we will make it right. We don't want you to have nothing to sit on". We waited 2 weeks to wait for a response from corporate. Where it was a 15% restocking fee, charge for pickup of the wrong one, and charge for a delivery of the correct one. I was outraged that this was the mistake of the associate and wasn't our mistake to pay for. I told the associate this and she informed me that none of her tickets said with console. I told her I don't work in the furniture industry and how would I know it would say with console, being that the one I sat on in store had a console and I wasn't asked otherwise. I called corporate customer service where I was bounced around, told that it was the store's decision to make, the store told me it was corporate's decision. Every time I call customer service I get the can you give me 1 days and I don't get a return call. I've called corporate 4 times and seem to get no where with them. I find it ridiculous that the store manager knows which loveseat which is still in his store now with the console and still won't make this right, the associate didn't ask about the console, I'm of the mindset you sit on what you want to order not something different, and how are we to know she ordered it wrong loveseat is still a loveseat with or without console. She never said without when going through the paperwork.

Desired Settlement: I would like the correct loveseat that I sat on and told the associate to order, without me paying for her mistake. I previous was willing to pay the $60 difference but now with all of this run around and 3 weeks later and no settlement. They should just eat the extra $60 cost to make this right.

Business Response: November 11, 2014

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                                                
West Sacramento, CA  95691     

RE:     Customer ******** *********** ********
           Case # ********

Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******** *********** ********.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes. 

The customer has since been in contact with the store and the new sofa was ordered on November 3, 2014.

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  Please contact us if you have any further questions.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Thank you for your assistance after only 48hrs of Making contact we finally got results that we couldn't get in the 3 weeks of dealing with problem. We got the love seat ordered no restocking fee and no charge for the pick up of the wrong one. Thank you

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two reclining loveseats were purchased from the La-Z-Boy Furniture Gallery at 2315 Esplanade, Chico, California on June 20, 2014 and delivered on August 23, 2014 about 4:00 pm. The complainant notified the store immediately explaining that the loveseats were unsuitable for the intended location. The following day the La-Z-Boy store manager went to the complainant's residence to examine the loveseats and their location and agreed with the complainant that the loveseats were too small for the intended area. The store manager told the complainant that there would be a 30% restocking fee plus transportation costs, but she would check with the corporate office to determine if there was an alternative. When she did not receive a return phone call, the complainant telephoned the store to determine whether corporate was willing to compromise further on the restocking fee. The store manager informed her that corporate said there would be a 50% restocking charge and that complainant would need to refund $125 in gift cards she had received as an incentive for shopping at La-Z-Boy. Further, the purchase reimbursement would be given as an in-store credit only. It should be noted that the invoice for this purchase refers to it as a special order, even though the loveseats purchased were identical in fabric and color to the floor model in the store. The one in the store went on sale for about 40% less than the identical ones purchased by the complainant several days following delivery.

Desired Settlement: Although the complainant considers the response of the store and their corporate office a poor business strategy, she would be willing to accept replacement furniture as an option.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                                                
West Sacramento, CA  95691     
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******* ******.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.
Ms. ****** came into our Chico showroom and spoke with our Store Designer.  Ms. ****** explained that she had a sectional in her home and she was interested in two loveseats to replace it.  Our Store Designer told Ms. ****** about our In Home Design program, in which she would come out to the customer’s home to take measurements and provide a full scale presentation for the customer.  Ms. ****** declined to participate in this complimentary program and came in later to special order her loveseats with her own measurements of the room. 
The items Ms. ****** ordered are special order due to the change in pillow fabric.  All changes to product that differ from our stock units must be special ordered.  Per our terms and conditions, as signed and acknowledged my Ms. ******, “We make special order furniture specifically for you and your home.  You may change or cancel your order within 3 days of placing it.  After that three-day period, you may not cancel or change your order or obtain a refund.”  The terms and conditions further explain, “Special order, Clearance, and As-Is merchandise cannot be returned or exchanged for any reason.”  In addition we require the customer to verify the item and the upholstery to ensure accuracy for every special ordered item.  Ms. ****** initialed and confirmed that what is listed on her order is correct. 
When Ms. ****** called in to express her dissatisfaction our Store Manager and Store Designer came out to the customer’s home, per her request, to take a look at the layout of the furniture in her home.  They agreed that a sectional would take up more space in the home and contacted the corporate office to see if an exception to the special order policies would be allowed.  They received confirmation that they would be allowed to offer Ms. ****** an exchange of her furniture with the condition that there would be a restocking fee because they are special order units.
During the time Ms. ****** made her purchase we offered a gas card promotion.  Ms. ****** the disclaimer notifying her that, “I received these Gift Cards as part of the current promotion through La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries.  I further understand that if I cancel or return my purchase for any reason, my Gift Cards are not returnable and the Total Gift Card Amount will be deducted from my credit or refund amount.”
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  We will be in contact with Ms. ****** directly to discuss the status of her exchange.  Please contact us at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 17, 2013 I visited the Roseville Lazy Boy Furniture Gallery. While I was there I ordered four pieces of furniture from a sales associate named ***** ********. Item #1 a Home Work Station ******* Item #2 a Desk ******* Item #3 an Rectangular End, TBL ******* and Item #4 a 64" Entertainment Unit *******. I was told there was no sales tax at the time and per your terms and conditions only a 50% deposit was required for special orders. I would like to know why I was charged sales tax and had to pay the balance in full upon placing my order. While waiting for my furniture I was informed the sales associate ***** ordered the wrong desk. I then was guaranteed by the manager that I would be able to cancel the order if it was delayed beyond February 2014 as I had been waiting over 2 months already. On January 30, 2014 I did not accept the desk that they were attempting to deliver. I was told by ***** the desk would be chair height which it was not and no drawers. I am a seventy three year old woman and would never order a desk I had to sit on a stool with. At this time I was offered another desk that would sit lower and accommodate the Home work deck. This other desk they wanted me to accept would not fit into my living space due to the floor vents in my mobile home. I was told I could never have my money refunded and had to choose something else I was also told I would not be responsible for any pick-up or delivery fees. On March 30, 2014 I ordered the Home Office Cabinet 920-944 along with a storage wall 920-940 from sales associate **** ********* ******** at you Watt Avenue location for which I was again charged delivery fees. While the delivery people were moving the furniture into my home on May 28, 2014 they broke my front porch light fixture. The following day I contacted **** ********* about the incident. Delivery people came out and took pictures of the broken light and the Home office cabinet. They called me on June 14th and informed me I waited to long to report it and they would not be doing anything further about it. The Home office cabinet's right side door is not aligned evenly with the left door and does not close. There is a good 1/4 of a inch difference lower where they meet. Also the file holders are missing from the bottom file storage. The slide on the drawer of the end table is broken. The entertainment centers doors won't close and dips down on top. These two pieces do not match in color as the storage wall and home office cabinet yet they are supposed to be coordinating pieces from the same collection. Finally on December 28, 2014 I ordered the Collins Sofa ****** ******* ** *** from ***** ******** at the Roseville location which came in at the end of January. On February 24, 2014 I called to inquire was to when it would be delivered and did not receive it until March 4, 2014. It is nothing like the Collins Sofa I purchased two years ago. The pillows on the seating area and back pillows are hard. The nap on the seating does not match. I went into Lazy Boy to check out the Collins Sofa they have in the showroom and it is soft not all hard like mine. They have sent out service technicians to look at all the furniture and they stated it needed fixed or new pieces should be ordered to replace them. I have gone into both locations and spent hours on the phone trying to get these issued addressed and things fixed to no avail. I get no sense of care of concern to fix this mess that I have lived in since November 17, 2014. My home has been in a state of transition, unfinished and uncomfortable for eight months now. I came into Lazy Boy because I trusted the name and had confidence in purchasing top quality furniture. Instead I get broken furniture that doesn't match. I don't even have friends over anymore, It's embarrassing. This is horrible customer service not to mention just bad business. Whatever happened to just doing the right thing.

Desired Settlement: At this point I just want my money back and this furniture out of my house. I do not want anything to do with this company. This has been a terrible experience that I just want to end. Lazy Boy broke my porch light fixture when they delivered furniture and they ar responsible for fixing it period.

Business Response:

Dispute Resolution Services
Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard
West Sacramento, CA  95691

RE: Customer ***** *****
Case # ********
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ***** *****.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.

The terms of Ms. *****’s sale was given as a discount equal to the sales tax, therefore the discount was taken off each item directly.  This process has been communicated to Ms. ***** prior.  When our salesperson ordered Ms. *****’s desk, the top of the desk had been discontinued and it took our merchandising department some time to locate one to fulfill Ms. *****’s order.  When the desk was delivered, Ms. ***** was unhappy with the height of the desk.  She claimed she did not realize the height of the desk even though she was given a printout of the desk with the dimensions.  In the interest of customer goodwill, we offered to give Ms. ***** full credit for the purchase price of the desk.  

Due to the complexity of the second portion of Ms. *****’s complaint, we have broken our response by item:

*******, Home Office Cabinet – Sales Ticket ********* (delivered May 28, 2014)
Ms. ***** states that the right side door is not aligned evenly with the left door and does not close.  There is a good 1/24 of an inch difference lower where they meet.  Also the file holders are missing from the bottom file storage.
We had a technician come out to inspect this unit on May 31, 2014.  The tech leveled the doors and noticed there was a small cap missing from the bottom of the hinge pin.  A new hinge and file holders were ordered and delivered to Ms. *****’s home on July 2, 2014.  The La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department is ready to schedule a technician to install these parts.

*******, 64” Entertainment Unit – Sales Ticket ********* (delivered January 28, 2014)
Ms. ***** states that the “entertainment centers doors won’t close and dips down on top.”  This was communicated on May 28, 2014, the same time as the Home Office Cabinet.
During the technician visit on May 31, 2014, he looked at the entertainment unit and was not able to level the doors.  An exchange for a new unit was approved.  The new unit has arrived at our warehouse and is ready to be scheduled for delivery.
Note that Ms. ***** made a claim that the doors were rubbing on March 12, 2014.  A technician came out on March 21, 2014 and adjusted the legs to compensate for uneven flooring causing the doors to even out.

*******, Rectangular End Table – Sales Ticket ********* (delivered January 30, 2014)
Ms. ***** states that “the slide on the drawer of the end table is broken.”
Ms. ***** did not communicate this issue to us before the technician visit.  When Ms. ***** contacts the La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department to schedule a technician to install the hinge and file holders for the home office cabinet, Ms. ***** may also make arrangements to have the technician inspect the end table drawer.

****** C990672 FN 000, Collins Sofa – Sales Ticket ********* (delivered March 4, 2014)
Ms. ***** states that “the pillows on the seating area and back pillows are hard.  The nap on the seating does not match.”
The only documented issue we have on file for this sofa was from March 12, 2014, where Ms. ***** called the La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department stating that there was a smell coming from the sofa.  A technician came out to inspect the sofa on March 21, 2014 and noted that “there is no discernible odor.”  This service order has been closed.  
In regards to the seat and back pillows feeling hard – a new unit may take some time for the “pillows” to soften as this occurs from use.  Our floor models have been sat in and may sit softer than a brand new unit.  Comfort is not a covered defect as it is a subjective claim.  When Ms. ***** contacts the La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department to schedule a technician to install the hinge and file holders for the home office cabinet, Ms. ***** may also make arrangements to have the technician inspect at the nap direction on the sofa. 

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Our store staff is available to assist Ms. ***** with scheduling the replacement entertainment unit.  Our Sacramento showroom can be reached at ###-###-####.  We ask Ms. ***** to continue to work with the La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department to address any outstanding service issues and can be reached at ###-###-####.
 

Consumer Response: I do not intend to continue to going back and forth with La-Z-Boy. As I stated in the letter I sent dated July 9th, 2014, I have been doing that for almost nine months now to no avail. I do not want anything to do with their company again. I want my money back and they can come pick up their defective furniture. That is why I contacted your office. When I went into their showroom on November 17, 2013 I had just lost my husband of 55 years to cancer sixteen days prior. I talked to the sales associate about it and I feel that because of that information, along with my age, that I have been treated unfairly and brushed off. They went against their normal policy and made me pay everything up front and when the order was placed not when it came in. Even now they still have not answered my questions or agnoliged all of the issues. Such as damaging my property while delivering the furniture into my home. They have been dishonest in their responses and have not seriously tried to resolve these issues concerning the furniture. They have delayed delivery while the other was in and when I finally did get it was broken, missing parts, and was not even the same color as the other pieces. I am exhausted with this whole situation. They did not live up to their end of this transaction and I feel that because they already had the money, they did not display any genuine concern to make it right. I was made to feel like my issues were not valid and to just accept what I got. I am not happy with paying thousands of dollars for broken junk and being treated disrepectfully and of no importance. Enough is enough. If they cared to correct the situation it would have been corrected. They had more than enough time to do so. They have no right to hang on to my money. They do not run a reputable business and are greatly lacking in integrity. In researching the company on the internet, there are a lot of other unsatisfied customers who feel the same. In closing, I trust that you will handle this complaint and satisfactorily put an end to it.

Business Response:

As described in our initial response, we are prepared to address any legitimate issues Ms. ***** may have.  We are waiting for Ms. *****’s cooperation in order to move forward. 

Ms. ***** refers to damage that was done to her property at the time of delivery, however the damage claim was not immediately reported.  Delivery damage claims must be reported to the distribution center in a timely manner.   Delays filing a delivery damage claim may cause the claim to be denied. 

Please refer to our initial response to this claim for more detailed information.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I don't want their furniture. I have been with this since November 17th. In January I started asking for my money back. They have not given it back. The tax should not have been charged.

Business Response: Per the Terms and Conditions of Ms. *****'s sales agreement, the items purchased were special order.  After a three-day period after placing the order, special ordered items may not be cancelled, changed or refunded.  


We will repair or replace items any problems covered by our warranty at our discretion.  Per these terms and agreements, as signed by Ms. *****, we will not be offering her a refund on her order at this time.  She must comply with the action plan as outlined in our previous communication or she may contact the La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department for further assistance.   

Business Response:

Dear ******* *****,

We responded to the tax issue in our original response by stating the following, "The terms of Ms. *****’s sale was given as a discount equal to the sales tax, therefore the discount was taken off each item directly.  This process has been communicated to Ms. ***** prior."  Please let us know if you still need further clarification.
 

8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint # is ******** & it is NOT resolved!We are very disappointed that La-Z-Boy has not settled this dispute. They state that the long delay is beyond their control. This is their company & refusing to acknowledge their responsibility does not relieve them of it. Why would they allow customers to place orders for leather furniture when they don't have the leather required? We learned this in June, not in January when we made the purchase. That was waiting over 5 months & now in just a few days it will be 7 months. This situation has caused serious set backs for a family member, under doctor's care since January, who uses a wheel chair and needs a recliner to keep his feet elevated.That is the reason we ordered the furniture, in the first place!There have been a number of sales since our purchase but we were unable to take advantage of the savings because ours was a prior purchase. The furniture we ordered wasn't being manufactured, the order was just waiting for the leather. We're sending just 1 ad showing a sale of leather furniture back in Feb. & Mar.We did not receive the attempts to discuss accommodations as the last letter states. Only 1 phone call was received that did not originate with us. No calls from the store managerial staff or corporate were received. Most of the time our sales rep was good about returning our few calls.To settle this dispute we want La-Z-Boy to take 10% off the total price of our sales ticket which is $8,791.07. We do NOT want a gift card for future use. We want the money off this purchase since they will not cancel it.

Desired Settlement: We want La-Z-Boy to take 10% off the total price of our sales ticket which is $8,791.07. We do NOT want a gift card for future use. We want the money off this purchase.

Consumer Response: Please be advised that this complaint has been resolved.  Thank you for your assistance.

7/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 01/07/2014 we purchased a leather power love seat, a leather power recliner & 2 leather high leg recliners. They were all on special order. We were told it would take 8 to 12 weeks for delivery. We were told unforeseen delays on the leather could extend the delay by a week or two. Today is 06/17/2014, over 5 months since purchase. We were the ones to call with information for updating the delivery dates. Even some calls made with requested call backs were not always honored, but ignored. During the day of purchase a sale was on. We learned that our savings was $20. Since the purchase date a number of sales have occurred for special orders. It would have saved us nearly $800. In requesting some consideration we were promised $90. off the delivery fee. We have purchased La-Z-Boy chairs for our home since the 1960's & love the product, but are very disappointed in the business practices that are now taking place. We don't feel a "sorry about the delay" is sufficient.

Desired Settlement: We would like a substantial financial consideration. We feel we should receive the best custom order sale price during the delay. Yesterday we learned that the middle to the end of July is the new target date for 2 pieces, but the other 2 chairs will be much later. When such a long delay takes place, it seems only right that the customer should be released from the obligation, to purchase elsewhere. This was far beyond normal expectations of delay & is unacceptable.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                        
West Sacramento, CA  95691    
 
RE:   Customer ******** M. ******
        Case # ********
 
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******** ******.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.
 
Unfortunately due to circumstances out of our control, delays may occur.  These delays are generally out of the norm and we apologize for any inconvenience it creates for our customers.  Our Elk Grove Showroom Manager has been in contact with Ms. ****** and has provided an accommodation for the delay.
 
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
The company has done nothing to address the concerns we've expressed. We are affected by abnormal delays beyond the control of the company. Customers should not be held hostage to contracts they cannot fill in a timely, reasonable manner. (The only contact has been with our sales rep. My husband has been in the hospital twice since March and not having the furniture has become a complication to his rehab. His feet need to be elevated above his heart & our old furniture sold June 1st in light of the new furniture arriving.) See Attached File...

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                        
West Sacramento, CA  95691    
 
RE:   Customer ******** M. ******
        Case # ********
 
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******** ******.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.

The last units of Ms. ******’s order are scheduled to ship at the end of this month and we should be able to schedule the delivery of her order shortly. 
 
As stated in our previous response, due to circumstances out of our control, delays may occur.  These delays are unexpected and we apologize for any inconvenience it creates for our customers.  Per the terms and conditions of the sale, we are unable to cancel or provide refunds on special ordered merchandise.  We have made attempts to contact Ms. ****** to discuss accommodations we are prepared to offer off her sale due to the delay of her furniture. 

In Ms. ******’s communication, she references seeing her furniture sold at a lower price.  If she would like to discuss her observations further, she is welcome to contact our corporate offices at ###-###-####.

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am disabled. In 2009 I purchased two 4-position power lift recliners with heat and massage from La-Z-Boy in Santa Clara. In June 2013, my wife wanted to replace both chairs because I had surgery again and my mobility issue had worsened. The chairs my wife purchased in Roseville were 3-position chairs, which I had no use for so I had her arrange to return them. We had to pay a $500 cash restocking fee on top of the purchase price and now have a $3869.96 credit, which we now cannot possibly spend to replace our old (original) 4-position power lift chairs. It's not our fault La-Z-Boy no longer offers such chairs or that my wife assumed you might in 2014. We waited hoping that you would offer chairs similar to those that your company sold in 2009 with heat and message. We both retired in 2009 and have no more furniture needs beyond replacing the lift chairs we have with something offering similar features. I spend 12-18 hours a day in my chair. It is not a luxury; it is a tool like my walker/wheel chair and I need it to survive. We tried to be loyal customers.

Desired Settlement: Why can't this company accommodate our needs and return our money? We are desperate to get new chairs because our current chairs are breaking down and we are in our 70s. We simply cannot afford to let this money go unspent right now nor do we foresee the need for other furniture in the future.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                                
West Sacramento, CA  95691           
 
RE:  Customer ****** ** *********
        Case # ********
 
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ****** ** *********.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.
 
**** ********* purchased two Clayton Power Recliners with Massage and Heat on June 14, 2013.  The customer contacted her salesperson stating that her husband did not like the chairs and our corporate office was contacted by the salesperson to receive authorization for an exchange on June 21, 2013. 
 
Per our Terms and Conditions, see attached, the customer signed acknowledging that “we will allow you to exchange regular-priced in-stock merchandise, within 3 days of when you receive it, for product of same or lesser value.  Fabric protection and delivery charges are not taken into account in determining the value of the product you received.  You may not receive a refund when exchanging an item of lesser value.  All exchanged items must be in ‘new’ condition (no smoke, pet odors, hair, soil, etc.).  You will be required to pay a restocking fee of 30% for exchanged merchandise.  There are separate charges if you want us to pick up your merchandise or deliver the replacement merchandise.”    
 
In the interest of customer goodwill, a concession was made for the customer and the store was authorized by our corporate office to charge a 10% restocking fee in lieu of the stated 30%, for exchange only.  The merchandise was picked up on July 13, 2013.  The customer has a store credit of $3869.96 that has been available to the *********’s since July 13, 2014, to use towards their new purchase.  We have additional styles of recliner that are available as a lift recliner with massage and heat for the customer to choose from that have become available over the past few months.  We have invited the *********'s back into our showroom to make their furniture selection on numerous occasions.
 
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We ask that the *********’s use their store credit by December 31, 2014.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact us at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

On 6-14-2013, just past mid-night, I underwent emergency surgery at Kaiser, Roseville. I was still in the hospital and recovering 3 days later so there is no way I could have rejected those chairs, which by the way, were not even present in to our home by the time that I returned.

 In fact, I knew nothing about this purchase until just before they were delivered late one evening the following week. Prior to this, I did not go to the La-Z-Boy store and test them nor did I go online to shop for them. In short, this was supposed to be a much needed surprise present to supplement the rental hospital bed in my dining room. I make this point only because the La-Z-Boy response is largely inaccurate with the exception of the attached receipt to whit: refund policy.

 Per La-Z-Boy, I am entitled to a refund to Visa only if I change my mind within 3 days of purchase. So, while this company is happy to complete a sale for 2 expensive chairs and take my wife's money on 6-14-2013, the fact is neither chair was available for delivery within the 3 day period, nor refundable per contract. This is the old Catch 22 argument: La-Z-Boy assures the consumer it is refundable in theory, but, in reality, it is not possible.

 Those 3 days in the hospital were hell for me, but no less so for my poor wife who had to endure my suffering  plus create a small  hospital at home to accommodate her disabled husband's recovery. Check the calendar. Doing this on Friday, Saturday and Sunday is a tough job. I am also sure the La-Z-Boy salespeople were aware of her anxiety and how indisposed I was at the time.

 I also wish to cite that the La-Z-Boy response was not signed. I would not have signed it either. Note please that there was no mention of details like: 1) when the chairs were delivered or what time; 2) upon assembly, that I tested one chair and requested they take both chairs back and save time returning to pick them up; 3) the deliverymen refused to take both chairs despite my explaining they were 3-position lift chairs and useless for my needs (which is why I bought two 4-position lift chairs from La-Z-Boy in 2009); 4) how many times my wife went back to the store and inquired about the  availability of a 4-position  lift chair since then; and, 5) for kickers, the La-Z-Boy response failed to mention the "ultimatum" letter sent to us dated 5-24-14 by Accounting Administrator, **** *** *********. The response likewise failed to address the $500 restocking fee which the company charged us for returning the chairs.

 In summary,  I am a disabled senior citizen with debilitating arthritis, a bad heart, and a rotten immune system, all of which has made me largely immobile and confined to my broken old La-Z-Boy 4-position lift chair for 12-18 hours a day. I need to replace it. If my back goes out, I need to sleep in this 4-position chair. La-Z-Boy offers no solution to my problem now or in the future.

 In its response, the company chooses to hide behind contract language, not facts like their own logistical problems, questionable return policy or substandard customer service. I am entitled to a refund. The company has sold those chairs that I returned to them. It has not lost a dime because they were returned. I sat in them once and neither chair suffered any damage. In fact, I am out $500 for giving them back. I have been a loyal customer in the past. I want my money returned. I cannot buy what I need from this company so a credit is as useless to us as extending the credit expiration date to 12-31-2014. Said concession is self-serving to them, not my wife and I. Or perhaps La-Z-Boy is just hoping my wife and I will die first and this complaint will expire.

Sincerely,

****** *********

**** ******** ***** ********** *** ***** ********

Business Response:

The Terms and Conditions allow a customer to request a refund within 3 days of making their purchase, unless the furniture is already in the customer’s possession.  Once the customer has accepted their merchandise, they have 3 days to contact us to request an exchange with a 30% restocking fee.  Our refund and exchange policies are not intended to overlap each other.  By signing the sales ticket agreement, Mrs. ********* has confirmed that she understood these terms and conditions at the time of purchase.  It is the purchaser’s responsibility to determine that the merchandise they select is what they want, whether it is for themselves or for another individual.  We proceeded with the order in good faith according to the signed sales ticket.
 
The merchandise on sales ticket 150-25984 was delivered to the ********* household on June 18, 2013.  Mrs. ********* signed for the items in good condition, see attached signed delivery manifest.  On June 21, 2013, Mrs. *********’s salesperson communicated to her that the chairs could not be returned for a refund; however we allowed an exchange with a significant reduction in restocking fees.
 
The letter sent to Mrs. ********* dated May 24, 2014 was a friendly reminder of the unused credit.  These funds may be used to make any purchase in our showroom, including a possible replacement for Mr. *********’s broken chair.  We checked our records for a purchase made by the *********’s in 2009 and found a sale for a sleeper sofa - we were not able to find a sale for a lift chair.  Without more information regarding the chairs purchased in 2009, finding a similar replacement would be difficult.  Please note that the La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department may be contacted to assist with repairs of broken La-Z-Boy furniture.

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We ask that Mrs. ********* use her store credit by December 31, 2014.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact us at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.  To speak with a La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department representative, you may call ###-###-#### for assistance.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: La-Z-Boy has not responded to the issues which I cited in my last letter. Furthermore, La-Z-Boy has not performed due diligence with respect to our dealings with the Roseville store. If their representative, bothered to read my last response, I clearly indicated that we purchased two 4-position recliners from the La-Z-Boy store at 2550 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, California (on 8-24-09) prior to moving to Roseville in November, 2009. We did not purchase the chairs from the store in Roseville. We did, however, have to replace 3 sets of controllers for said chairs per warranty and went through the Roseville store to order them. The same store had to arrange for a warranty service call to fix a problem with one chair and a man was sent out to repair the problem. Now how could we have arranged for all of that work unless we owned La-Z-Boy chairs with all the paper work.  Yes, (2) Style 1L6 515; Cover: C876868; Stock #: NOCA0624096-001-009 Lift Chair W/6 MTR P. R; Amount: $1349.50/chair; Total: $3047.66 /tax included.

I accused La-Z-Boy of fraudulent business practice. In response, they claim my wife signed away her right to a refund at the time of purchase because she initialed each clause. I claim that La-Z-Boy sold her the wrong chairs, I claim that when said chairs were delivered, I rejected them as unsatisfactory to my specific needs as a disabled man, but the men refused to take them back at the time. This delivery was already past the time to qualify for a credit to our Visa account or three days. Thus, we are at odds because I was in the hospital until 6-17-13 and unaware until said chairs were delivered on 6-18-13, that a purchase had even occurred. There is so much wrong here that it makes my head spin.  A 'yes, but" company policy that should in all fairness, simply state, "all sales are final". A company that cannot admit it received $500 for restocking the chairs or that said chairs were subsequently sold by La-Z-Boy during the past year. In short, La-Z-Boy has not lost a dime and, yet it is choosing to cry foul rather than refunding our money in a timely fashion. This simply means it has no regard for their loyal customers.

Lastly, it is obvious that my needs for a 4-position recliners are as inconsequential to La-Z-Boy as their need to supply one for me.  Why? They do not make 4-position chairs anymore. Instead, they imply how willing they are to help me repair my broken chairs. Is this La-Z-Boy's way of telling me that at my age, I do not warrant new chairs? That I must accept less than more? Just what right does this company have to send me such  a message? I need a chair that I can sleep in if necessary with heat and massage. I spend  up to twelve hours a day in my current chair. These are not "his and hers" chairs that were bought. One is a backup for the one that I use in case it goes haywire. These chairs keep me from being bedridden. I need to replace both 4-position chairs now. This is not a luxury item to me. It is a daily necessity. What good is a La-Z-Boy credit to me? Will it buy me what I need right now? Of course not. That is why the company offers it to me. Catch 22 all over again! La-Z-Boy's policy is self-serving and paradoxical at best. I want my La-Z-Boy credit refunded to my Visa Card. The company sold the chairs and made $500 on the restocking fee, neither of which will the company admit.

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a love seat with a pull out bed in October 2013 at La-Z-Boy in Sacramento, CA. for $1289.92 and received the love seat in November 2013. I told the sales person that I was to sleep on the pull out bed every night. The sales person said it was fine for such. When I received the love seat the bed frame was not correct and I called the store. After arguing with the store, they finally sent out someone to look at it. I was told it was fine, but the frame was bowed down in the middle. After further arguing they replaced the frame, it took six weeks to order and 2 weeks further before they came to install it. Only then was I told it was not for everyday sleeping, after I had expressly asked the salesperson that it was intended for so. Now in April 2014, I closed the frame, heard a noise, and now the bed will not pull out. I called La-Z-Boy again and was told it would take well over a week for a technician to come again.

Desired Settlement: I have spoken with the store and currently they only want to repair the problem yet again. I would prefer that they remove this faulty love seat and give me a refund.

Business Response:

Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, Linda Humfleet.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.

When our customers purchase furniture from La-Z-Boy, they have purchased one of the best manufacturer warranties in the industry.  The limited lifetime warranty ensures that problems with frame, mechanism and moving parts are covered for the lifetime of the unit.  Upholstery claims and labor charges are covered for one year after the delivery of the piece.  The La-Z-boy Incorporated Customer Care Department is obligated to uphold the standards set by the La-Z-Boy warranty.

The Comfort Care Department sent a technician to Ms. Humfleet’s home for initial inspection of her sleeper on December 5, 2013.  Per the technician report submitted, the technician was not able to replicate any issues that Ms. ******** reported.  The technician also showed Ms. ******** how to properly operate the sleeper mechanism during this visit.  Ms. ******** was not satisfied with the resolution of the technician report and a new mechanism was eventually ordered as a customer courtesy.  The new mechanism was installed on February 5, 2014.

Ms. ******** contacted the Comfort Care Department again on April 1, 2014 and stated that her sleeper mechanism would not open.  A technician was sent to her home on April 8, 2014 and was able to successfully operate the sleeper mechanism over a dozen times without fail.  

We contacted the sales associate who assisted Ms. ******** with her sleeper purchase.  The associate confirmed she remembered Ms. ******** and reiterated to us that La-Z-Boy sleepers are not intended for everyday use.  The assisting associate has been an employee of the La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries for over 10 years and is very knowledgeable about La-Z-Boy products.

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact the La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.
 

4/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a chair August 2013 and was told it could take 2 months. After 2 months had pasted they could not provide me a date I would get my chair. In November after much frustration and requesting compensation the Store Manager offered me $50 to be taken off the price. $50 did not meet my loss of not getting my chair but I agreed. After reviewing my bill the credit was not on my account I again called the Store Manager and she mailed me a sheet of paper showing the credit on the left side of the page. However it was not taken out of the balance on the calculated right side. I sent this to to the credit card company and they obviously denied it. Not only did I not get this credit, but another $50 credit offered to me August for a delay in my order being process and the mishand***g of the order by the clerk named April I believe.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $100 credit applied to my account at once.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                                
West Sacramento, CA  95691           
 
RE:  ******** ****** ****
        Case # *******
 
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ****** ***n.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.
 
Ms. **** received a credit of $50.00 off her sale.  The adjustment was made in our sales system on November 26, 2013.  We processed Ms. ***n’s financing after her delivery on November 29, 2013, which is why she will not see a credit on her credit card or financing account.  The original sale totaled at $1039.15 and the amount charged to Ms. **** is $985.02, a difference of $54.13. 
 
We have no record of an additional $50.00 credit due and believe Ms. **** is referring to the same credit.
 
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than wiling to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact us at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
Please see attached receipt showing the details sent to me from the Store Manager.  The $54, they are referring to was on Aug 17th, from my Master Card paid on the day I went into the store to purchase it.  The balance of $985.02 is what I am billed and as you can see from the calculations no credit was given.  It clearly shows on the left side of the page they intended to, but from the total given it was not issued. 
 
If you need another copy of this receipt it came is available at the Elk Grove location.

Sincerely,

****** ****

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: It still does not show I received the 2nd $50 amount taken off.  I can see the Refund amount of $54 ( why the $4 is odd ) and will accept the 1st $50 credit but I am don't know if your receipt was tampered with. The copy I sent the 2nd $50 was not given showing the above $54 refund only.  As I have calculated it from the amount sent to be billed and it is not there.  I did call and speak with the Store Manger at least 2 times and NOTHING was resolved.  Your receipt should be displayed in a simple manner because I would not spend this time over $50.  I feel Lazy Boy needs to do a much better job.  They promised the chair with a no end in site delivery date and I was expected to just wait it out; then after the 3rd month of waiting I am compensated with a small $50. That I cannot see that I received, thats why this is a big issue.  And now I feel as if they are covering up their errors with by the responses I am seeing here. I don't plan on letting go of this.  If you value your customers as you have stated here this would not have gone this far. I am done.  I will be paying my account in full in the next 30 day and not return to your store. 

Business Response:

We have verified that Ms. ****’s sale has been credited $25.00 at the time of purchase and an additional $50.00 on November 26, 2013, equaling $75.00 in credits, as reflected on the sales ticket provided by Ms. ****.  We have attempted to contact Ms. **** to further explain how these credits appear on her sales ticket however we have only been able to leave her a message.  Ms. **** has not contacted us back.  

La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact us at ###-###-#### if the customer would like us to explain her sales ticket in further detail.
 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Your business continues to use my Master Card payment as my credit in August of $54 and the receipt I was given did not deduct either one of the two credits from August or November 2013.  Your welcome to mail me a detail explanation or receipt that backs up your claims.  As I have stated before I am not going to let this go with out just a justified reason.  

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Purchased 2 expensive recliners about 4 years ago. The padding broke down in both recliners and so bad in one of the recliners that it exposed the wood frame and when you sit, you hit the frame. I have called La-Z-Boy several times, the first time being 3 years after the purchase. I was told we were not under warranty and for them to assess the problem they would charge $100 to come to our home. I asked if we could bring the recliner to them and was told that was not possible. They also told me there would be a charge if they were to make any repairs.I believe that a leather recliner costing $1500 should last more than 3 years.

Desired Settlement: I would like La-Z-Boy to inspect and repair the recliner at no cost to us.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                        
West Sacramento,CA  95691    
 
RE: Customer ******* **** ********
      Complaint ID# *******
 
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******* ********.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.

Per the Warranty Service Policies Mrs. ******** signed on her sales contract, she agreed to acknowledge that, “The La-Z-Boy Limited Lifetime warranty covers the repair or replacement of frame or mechanism parts against manufacturing defects for as long as you own your pieces and one year free labor.  The warranty also covers parts and labor on fabric defects for one year.”  Please see the attached copies of Mrs. ********’ invoices for reference. 
 
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  All La-Z-Boy service issues are handled by our Comfort Care Department.  Please contact the La-Z Boy Comfort Care Department at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.
 

Attached:          Copy of Sales ****** ***********
                        Copy of Sales T***** ***********

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                        
West Sacramento, CA  95691    
 
RE: Customer ******* **** ********
       Complaint ID# *******

Mrs. ******** referenced poly compression issues with her recliner shortly after she received it in her most recent response.  We have no record of her contacting us in regards to poly compression.  We have record of a non-related service that was opened on **** 19, 2009.  The issue was corrected for her at no charge, as she was still within the labor warranty timeframe.  From the closure of this non-related service on October 10, 2009 until her most recent claim on January 29, 2014, we have not heard from Mrs. ********.  

 
Starting **** 20, 2010 Mrs. ******** has been responsible for any labor fees that may occur.  Mrs. ******** acknowledged that she agreed to the Warranty Service Policies on April 17, 2009, which clearly outlines the one year labor timeframe.  Please refer to her signed invoices included in our previous response.
 
As stated in a previous response, La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  All La-Z-Boy service issues are handled by our Comfort Care Department.  Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:I did contact La-Z-Boy twice before this most recent time regarding the compression of the chair filling material and was told about the charge to come to my home to view the chair.  I was not  willing to pay $100 only to be told they would not fix the chair.  When it got worse I called again and asked if we could bring the chair to them to avoid the $100 charge and was told "no".  I feel that even though I had agreed to be responsible for labor fees, they should have fixed the chair free of charge because the poly filling  was clearly defective.

Sincerely,

********

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased sofa 7-2013. Sofa delivered 8-17-13 with chemical smell. We thought smell would dissipate but it has not. First contacted Lazy Boy in October 2013. Have tried to resolve issue. Agreed to exchange but Lazy Boy did not have a sofa similar in color and style. Sofa was cleaned 1-8-14 by lazy Boy but did not eliminate chemical smell.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $917.85 and pickup of sofa at no cost to me

Business Response:

February 14, 2014
******** *******, Dispute Resolution Coordinator
Better Business Bureau
3075 Beacon Boulevard                                                                                                
<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:city w:st="on">West Sacramento, <st1:state w:st="on">CA  <st1:postalcode w:st="on">95691     
RE: Customer ******* ****
Case # *******
Thank you for your recent inquiry in regards to our customer, ******* ****.  We appreciate your concern for our customers who choose La-Z-Boy to furnish their homes.
The La-Z-Boy Incorporated Comfort Care Department, who generally handles all customer service issues, did not find any defects with Mr. ****’s sofa.  In the interest of customer goodwill, we approved a return of Mr. ****'s sofa with a refund.  Mr. **** was aware that the delivery fees would not be refunded.  The sofa was picked up on January 20, 2014 and the refund occurred on January 23, 2014.  We have not heard from Mr. **** since then.
La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer’s experience.  We are more than willing to address the concerns of our customers in a timely manner.  Please contact the La-Z-Boy Comfort Care Department at ###-###-#### if you have any questions.

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Website indicates a product is on sale & there is a "bonus coupon" for an "additional 20% off." However, in-store there is only one discount offered. According to http://www.la-z-boy.com/Product/XXXX-XXXX/Collins-Sectional/, this sectional is on sale. On the bottom right corner of the screen there is a link to "The Bonus Coupon Sale." When you go to this link, you can download the Weekly Ad. On this ad (http://gallerycms.la-z-boy.com//media/XXXXXXX/lzb%20bonus%20coupon%20sept%20fi%20v2.pdf), there is a coupon that states "Take off an additional 20% all sectionals in-stock or special order." The word ADDITIONAL leads me to believe that there is more than one discount that can be applied. The only fine print says "valid thru 10/14/13" and "*Pricing valid 9/10 thru 10/14/13. Delivery charges not included in prices" I went into the La-z-boy store on 756 IKEA Court West Sacramento, CA XXXXX with a print-out of the coupon and was told by a salesperson that there was only $20 off the Collins Sectional With Sleeper and that is what the coupon indicates. I asked him why it says "additional 20% off" and he stated again that the discount is only %20. I left the store and called 916-287-4100. A woman answered and reiterated that the sale is 20% off the original price. I told her that the coupon says there is an "additional 20% off" and the website already has a sale price. Her response was that yes, the sale is for 20% and the price I see online reflects the "20% off" on the coupon. This is completely misleading and false advertisement. I immediately went to the La-z-boy website and used their "contact us" tab at http://www.la-z-boy.com/Support/?ContactUs&WT.ac=customercare_contactus@topmenu to let them know that the ad is misleading and that the store in Sacramento told me there is no "additional" discount whatsoever, just a 20% off sale. I have not received a response.

Desired Settlement: I would like the La-z-boy furniture gallery at 756 IKEA Court West Sacramento, CA 95605, to take the additional 20% off the price listed on their website for the Collins Sectional With Sleeper. If the price online is already discounted 20%, then this means they should honor the advertised coupon for and additional 20% off, for a total of 40% off the price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding ****** ****'s experience while viewing our current sale online and at the La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries of West Sacramento. We appreciate your concern for our customers who consider La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries to furnish their home. We explained to Ms. **** that we are currently promoting our Bonus Coupon Sale at our West Sacramento Showroom. In general, a coupon may be used when a customer comes into the showroom and presents the coupon they would like applied to the sale. The coupon is used in addition to the great prices found in the showroom. Our sales associates are able to deduct the coupon from the marked price of the furniture in our in-store order placement system. Due to restrictions with our online order placement system, customers are unable to apply a coupon to the sale; therefore we automatically deduct the appropriate coupon in advance so that our online shoppers can take advantage of the same great offers we have in store. We were informed by Ms. **** that she was no longer in the market for furniture. She will be in contact with us when she has a need for furniture in the future. We have since made changes online to the Bonus Coupon Sale to help prevent any further confusion this may have caused other consumers shopping our sale online. La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries takes pride in doing their best to solve any problems our customer's experience. Please contact us at (916) 751-2600 if you have any questions.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I was directly contacted by La-Z-Boy corporate and was explained more thoroughly how their discounts work. I expressed my feelings on why their ad was misleading and am glad they remove the online coupon to prevent any further confusion. Acknowledging the confusion was important to me as a consumer. I was also extended an additional discount, which was greatly appreciated.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)