Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

IKEA West Sacramento

Phone: (916) 376-0597 Fax: (916) 376-0936 View Additional Phone Numbers 700 Ikea Ct, W Sacramento, CA 95605 http://www.ikea.com/us/en/store/west_sacramento


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that IKEA West Sacramento meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for IKEA West Sacramento include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on IKEA West Sacramento
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 2007 Business started: 03/01/2006 in CA Business incorporated 09/01/1999 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 158875.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Javier Flores, Customer Service Manager Apolloni Schleeter, Customer Relations Manager Ms. Julie Dolcini, After Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Javier Flores, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Apolloni Schleeter, Customer Relations Manager
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
IKEA IKEA U.S. WEST, INC. IKEA US West Inc. #157
Industry Tips
Put Your Worries to Bed: 7 Tips for Buying Furniture

Additional Locations

  • 700 Ikea Ct

    W Sacramento, CA 95605 (888) 888-4532 (916) 376-0597

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a memory foam mattress of Sultan Finnvik from Ikea three years ago. This mattress is in badly quality which caused me severe rash. This is a long story. During the last three years, I experienced unremitting rash on skin. However, I could not find the reason. At first I thought it is because of the houses, then we moved three times in the past three years. But rash was still there. Last month we suddenly found that the cover of the mattress could be removed for washing. After removing it, we found there were lot of black unknown things embedded in the fabric of the inside cover. It is horrible. Then I realized that this could probably the reason for my unremitting rash during the past three years. To justify this, I changed removed the inner cover and the rash went away. I went to IKEA West Sacramento and asked for the solution. At first they said they can do nothing without receipt. Most of people won't keep the receipt for three years. Then I remember that I used my IKEA family card when purchasing this mattress. So I asked one of the managers to track the purchase history associated with my card. However, I was told that they are unable to track the history. That is so ridiculous. IKEA are well-known for its card which has all the purchase history. All right, I tried myself to find that purchase via login into my IKEA family account and show them I bought that mattress. After that they found this purchase in their own system. But they said it was voided transaction. Really ridiculous! If that was voided transaction, how can I got the mattress and all the other items in that transaction?

Desired Settlement: 1) I suffered unremitting rash because of the badly low quality mattress. So I request compensation for this. 2) They should exchange the mattress for another brand or refund. 3) They should give formal apology for their customer associate's behavior.

Business Response:

I spoke with the customers over the phone on the first or second of July to discuss their situation and frustration. I apologized for the hassle regarding their trip to the store. I offered a cash refund for the mattress so they would be able to choose a replacement mattress at any store of their choosing. The came into the store the same day and were given cash back for their mattress. I asked if the solution had been handled to their satisfaction and if there was anything else I could help them with. They were thankful and were happy with the resolution.

***** ********

After Sales Manager

IKEA West Sacramento

5/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a dresser, desk and bookcase. The desk has sever damage with holes not not drilled. The desk had the drill holes in the wrong place. We were afraid to open the dresser. We called the have the items returned. We have waited on hold for 45 minutes to 2 hours to have them returned. They usually have no record of these calls and the items have not been picked up to date!!!

Desired Settlement: Store Credit and pick up items.

Business Response: Called customer. Customer already has a case set up and a delivery scheduled however the delivery company did not happen as promised. I gave the customer my information and told him that I would email the customer and then follow up. Customer seemed to be ok with that.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: They have not picked up the furniture nor have they returned the money. Nothing has been resolved!

Business Response:

Contacted customer on 5/2/16 at 9:13am and confirmed that refund has been processed.

Thank you,

******** ******** ******** ********* *******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

9/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 3 IKEA dressers including one for kid over the past 2 years and none of them came with anti-tipping safety kit. I read the news in June that IKEA issued recall for those dressers because there were some child injury/death cases related to them. I went to IKEA's website and it claims that it would send anti-tipping secure kit for those dressers with 2 weeks after I signed up. So I signed up for 3 secure kits. In mid August more than 2 weeks after signup I hadn't received the kits. I called their customer service about it and was told they couldn't do anything to help and I had to sign up again. So I did. Now one month passed and nothing showed up. I am very disappointed with IKEA product and service. The product design is so poor that the kid dresser would tip over sometimes even by opening the top drawer. Moreover there was no anti-tipping safety kit. The service is even worse. IKEA was forced to recall due to the injury/death cases and asked the users to sign up for the anti-tipping kit. But it never sent out the kit. I am wondering whether IKEA just put a fake notice on their website to comply with the recall and continue the unsafe business as usual while leaving millions of vulnerable children live with IKEA time-bomb.

Desired Settlement: Send me the kits

Business Response: Called the customer to let them know that I would be sending out 3 repair kits as requested. Left message with my phone number and extension for a call back if needed. Thanks, ********

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are in the process of a half kitchen remodel. One of the many items we purchased was a sink. I assembled all the cabinets and installed them according to instruction given. I set the sink in place so we could have people measure for counter tops. I went to install our faucet and it will not fit through the hole provided in the sink. I called IKEA and left messages for the past 3 days. And nobody has returned our calls. A relative told me that ONLY IKEA faucets will work in IKEA sinks. If that is the case why didn't the sales person inform us of that issue when we were putting together the list of items to purchase. We are finding out that this is the case with all IKEA items. Only IKEA items will work with IKEA items. So now our options are limited. We can either return the sink and hope to find a sink that will work with IKEA cabinets of which we doubt due to thats the way IKEA manufactures items to only work with their items. Or we can go back to IKEA and for $250.00 purchase a faucet that will work with their sink. This is not ethical business practices as far as i am concerned. All they had to do was tell us up front.

Desired Settlement: We want IKEA to provide us a faucet that will work with their sink at no charge to us. Or they can refund us the cost of our present faucet so we can purchase their faucet. And pay our mileage at the present government rate for the many trips we have and will be making to and from their west sac store. It is a 40 mile trip each way for us and at todays gas prices and wear and tare on our vehicle that is fare.

Business Response:

Called customer on 8/9/15 @ 11:15. Informed customer that the sink will work with non-IKEA faucets as long as it is the same diameter. Customer stated that the diameter of the hole in the top measures 1 1/8" however, the base of the hole measures less. Customer states that an employee recommended that he use sandpaper to sand down the portion of the hole that is too narrow and asked me if that would be acceptable. I informed the customer that though he is welcome to come into the store to do an exchange for the product, he is able to sand the area of the item if he so chooses. Customer was concerned with warrantee for the product and did not want to void his warrantee if he were to do so. I assured the customer that we would honor any warrantee issues for him should any arise and gave him my name and phone number to contact me directly if that were the case. Customer seemed to be satisfied with the solution and will call me if needed.

Thank you,
******** ********
Customer Relations Manager

Consumer Response: IKEA has allowed me to enlarge the hole enough to fit our faucet. And they (********) told me that if something happened to the sink they would replace it at no charge to me.

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a porcelain sink at Ikea West Sacramento. The item was given to me from the "furniture pick-up" area by an Ikea employee. I was not allowed to select the item from the sales floor. The sink had clearly been repackaged and when I opened the box, the sink was cracked. Basically, the Ikea employees purposefully repackaged a damaged item and resold it to me as new.I have been trying to get some resolution from Ikea Customer Service and they say my only recourse is to pay $198 to have a new sink delivered and the old one picked up at my house. The original product only cost $109.I am writing this complain because Ikea is willfully repackaging damaged goods and selling them as new. This is deceptive and shows a complete disregard for honest business practices by the company and their employees. As I was not allowed to select an undamaged package, I feel it is not my responsibility to pay to have the sink replaced.

Desired Settlement: I request that Ikea deliver an undamaged sink to my home address and pick-up the damaged sink. Alternately, they can refund my entire purchase price.

Business Response: Called customer @10 am on 7/27 to discuss situation however she stated that someone had already called her yesterday and that a resolution was agreed upon that is satisfactory to the customer. Thank you, ********

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased several of the ARV dinnerware plates from this IKEA store. We bought a full set of the white ones and a full set of the grey ones. We had these plates for about 6 months and began to notice that our cupboard smelled like mold. During this time our 8 month old baby came down with what seemed like a cold but later turned out to be a bacterial infection which turned into double pneumonia, my husband broke out with a rash all over his body which the dr's could not explain as to how or why but said "for now we will call it dermatitis" and all of us had what seemed like a chest cold that would never go away. I decided to pull everything from the cupboard to look since i kept smelling the mold smell. Upon a deep inspection i found that the smell was actually mold. It was the bottom of only the white Ikea plates. The ring at the bottom seemed to have no porcelain and it was a light brown. When you rubbed your finger on it the brown would wipe off. I inspected and found that all the white plates had this very fine powdery almost unnoticeable mold on the bottom ring. One plate had a hairline crack and when I wiped my finger over the crack the color changed since it to had mold growing out of it. I researched light brown mold to find that all the health issues my whole household has been encountering can all be caused by mold spores. We immediately contacted IKEA customer service via phone+email as to what we encountered. They promptly contacted us and said they received the message from customer service and our email and acknowledged the severity of the situation. The said they would send someone to pick up the plates and would need to be home to sign for them, they would refund us the amount we paid, and they said they would have their insurance company Liberty Mutual contact us due to the medical bills incurred during this period. They picked up the plates immediately but no insurance company nor IKEA has ever contacted us since. We emailed several times since that is the only contact we

Desired Settlement: Have insurance company contact us as promised. Have statement reflecting the return of our merchandise for the credit received. Currently the refund was just a check for $60.43 but it makes no mention of how that number was calculated or what items they show as even returned.

Business Response:

Our loss preventions team has submitted the information to Liberty Mutual as promised and was told that the customer would be contacted. The customer has been mailed an itemized receipt for the refund of $60.43 and given their claim number. Given the situation, I have asked our team once again reached out to Liberty Mutual and we were informed that the adjuster called the customers on July 1st. He spoke with Mr. ****** and Mr. ****** was going to talk to his wife and call Liberty Mutual back. Apparently he never called back and the adjuster has left 3 or 4 messages since then but has not heard back from them as of today.

 

Thanks,

********

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I recently purchased a Sektion Bodbyn Ikea kitchen. We purchased the kitchen in late March based on a kitchen planner set up for us by their sales department. At the time of purchase we were told several parts were out of stock, but would be replaced in several weeks. Now we find out these parts are nationally out of stock and are not expected to be in for months. Ikea is taking no responsibility for selling kitchens they cannot provide the parts for and is still selling these kitchens to new customers with the pretense that they can deliver this product with a week or two. To make matters worse, Ikea will not notify us when our missing parts have arrived. There is no waiting list based upon who already bought these kitchens. They expect the consumer to call countless times hoping to call on the right day and be able to pick up the product before other consumers purchase it. We have spoke in with Jamonite for the National service department. Her supervisor Jeannine, refused to talk with us. The local Ikea store, states they do not have the staff or resources to contact all the people they have sold kitchens that are missing products.

Desired Settlement: I want Ikea to sell me the rest of my kitchen, that they assured my was available for purchase and I want them to ship for free those parts when they arrive with an apologize for not managing their product line more responsibly and ethically.

Business Response: Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent experience. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience due to the out of stock items. I was able to locate your out of stock order placed by Raquel and check the current delivery status of the items. Though all of the products are still out of stock currently, I would be happy to keep an eye on them to ensure we are able to satisfy your order as soon as possible. I will give you a call a little later this afternoon so we are able to discuss this matter further. Should you have any questions in the meantime, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-#### or via email at ***************************

Thank you,
 ******** *********
Customer Relations Manager
IKEA West Sacramento
700 IKEA Ct.
West Sacramento, CA 95605
###-###-####

5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Long story short I taveled 30 minutes one way on three different occasions for the mattress that matches the frame to the couch I purchased and was given the wrong one. The first trip we had our furniture delivered and no mattress, the second trip the employee grabbed the wrong mattress and the third trip they told us it was not in stock for another week! Totaling two weeks with a couch frame and no mattress! After countless hours taking to customer support and a manger all that was offered to me was a $15 gift card ( after spending about $2500) or for us to have to drive 86 miles one way to the next closest ikea that had our mattress in stock and pick it up ourselves! I will never shop here again or recommend ikea to anyone as long as I live!

Desired Settlement: I believe with the inconvenience and rude customer service representatives we should receive the mattress with free delivery! We are still willing to pay for the mattress itself seeing as how we will never shop there again and now have a gift card to ikea for the price of the mattress after returning the wrong one but it should be delivered to us free of charge and I expect an apology for this huge inconvenience!

Business Response: Hello,
 Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience in our store. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience of not having the mattress available for you on multiple occasions. I would be happy to help bring this situation to an end for you by offering the delivery of the mattress at no cost to you once the item is in stock. According to the estimated date of arrival on that product (Beddinge Lovas Mattress 55 1/8x78 3/4" - 301-020-64) we should receive a shipment of 11 quantity on Friday May 8th. I will contact you shortly to begin setting up a case so that we can ensure this is handled as soon as the product is available. Should you have any questions in the meantime, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-#### or via email at ***************************

Thank you,
******** *********

Customer Relations Manager
IKEA West Sacramento
700 IKEA Ct.
West Sacramento, CA 95605
###-###-####
?

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 2, 2014, I placed an order with IKEA USA e-commerce that totaled $877.00 before shipping and $938.39 with shipping. On August 7, 2014, I canceled the order successfully, and got confirmation it had not shipped, so IKEAs policy would stand and I would receive a refund of $938.39, to be credited to my bank account. On August 12, 2014, I spoke with ***** in customer service, who claimed my refund was approved, and that she would place a note for the business order in my file. On August 15, 2014, I spoke with ***** again and she said the same thing. After attempting throughout the day on August 18, 2014 to call IKEA but getting hung up on all day, I called ***** successfully on August 19, 2014, and she said she would call the business office and then call me back, but she did not do so. After several social media postings, ******** ******, an escalations associate, contacted me via email and claimed, As of today, your case for a refund has been processed. Please allow 7-10 business days for the refund to reflect the original charging account, depending on your financial institution. On August 21, I asked my bank, ***** ******** ****, if these funds had been transferred to the bank, and the bank had no record of this.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I would desire is a full refund of $938.39 credited successfully to my account.

Business Response:

This case was sent to the West Sacramento Store mistakenly. We are not able to assist with this issue but ask that IKEA home shopping be involved with the resolution of this case.

 

Thank you,

****** ******

Admin Manager

IKEA West Sacramento

700 IKEA Ct.

West Sacramento, CA. 95605

###-###-####

Business Response:

Dear ******* *****,

The Contact for The IKEA shopping department will be :

******* ***** ********************* *** ******** ******** *************************

 

thank you.  

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

To clarify, the response itself is not satisfactory, insofar as the Asheville office of the Better Business Bureau suggested I file with the specific store I did in absence of a clearly identified e-commerce option in the Better Business Bureau's complaint system. However, after a steady amount of contact with IKEA's customer service lines, I have finally gotten the refund that I was promised, and since IKEA has made good on its promise, despite a heavy amount of back-and-forth, I drop my claim.
 
Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on IKEA West Sacramento
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)