Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Holbrook's Clearance Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (530) 893-2019 View Additional Phone Numbers 1408 Park Ave, Chico, CA 95928 http://www.holbrooksclearancecenter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Holbrook's Clearance Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Holbrook's Clearance Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Holbrook's Clearance Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 03, 1991 Business started: 11/05/1991 in CA Business incorporated 08/03/1992 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 168460.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Maxwell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Maxwell, Owner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Holbrook's Clearance Center, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers the sale of home furniture.

Industry Tips
Put Your Worries to Bed: 7 Tips for Buying Furniture

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Holbrook's Clearance Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1408 Park Ave

    Chico, CA 95928 (530) 893-2019

  • 418 Walnut St

    Red Bluff, CA 96080 (530) 528-2069

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a bad back. We bought 2 mattresses from holbrooks, about a year ago. First they delivered the wrong mattress, then a damaged one, then a dirty one. In that time we paid him over $200 more than original price to get a good mattress. We had to pick up the mattress after that for fear that we'd have more problems. Within the time we actually had the mattresses we have slept in comfortable. My back has gotten worse. When we bought the mattress we were under the assumption it was new. After emailing *** and many phone calls and pictures he sent someone to pick up the mattresses with the understanding that it would only take 2-3weeks to get the repaired. It has now been 5 weeks was told he would call us monday. I called tuesday and of course he wasn't in. Today Wednesday we got a message in our machine saying that it was going to be not until next week maybe on Thursday or friday which would put us out at 7weeks. Im ready to buy 2 NEW mattresses not used like he sold us. And be refunded for both mattresses! It has caused more damage to my back and more stress then i ever expected. I've never delt with such a terrible business! I wouldnt recomend them to anyone. What kind if business makes a person go without their bed for 7weeks! And sells them a used mattress! I thought that was against the law! I have pictures to prove it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for my mattresses. And compensated for the pain and suffering of going without a mattress for 7 + weeks!

Business Response: We have tried everything in our power to help this customer out.  The customer has had the mattresses for 2 years.  They had an issue with it early on and we exchanged it for them which they upgraded for $100, not $200.  After the exchange, they still had an issue with them and we sent them back to the company for repair.  At that point, we are at the mercy of the mattress company for the return of the mattresses.  Sometimes it takes longer than expected.  Once they were done, they have not returned our calls.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: *** stated that he has tried to
contact us. He has only called us twice since this whole matter began,
and that was only due to the fact the we filed a complaint with the BBB
on Oct. 14th 2015, and the department of consumer affairs on Oct. 16th
2015.  On August 7th we emailed *** pictures of our receipts and the
problems with the mattresses. We were told by *** that they would pick
up the mattresses for repair on the 24th of August so it didn't sit in
their warehouse waiting to go to be repaired & that it should be
done in 2-3weeks at the longest.  On August 26th 2015 we called due to
the fact that no one came or showed up. We were informed that they would
come and pick it up on August 27th 2015.  On August 27th 2015 they
finally picked up the mattresses.  On September 8th 2015 I called and
spoke with *** asked how the mattresses were coming and if they were
done he told me no and that he would call me when they were ready.  So
my husband called September 17th 2015 talked to *** and asked him where
our mattresses were he said that he had already told me that it takes
2-3 weeks to be ready and that he would call when they were ready.  I
then called again on Sept. 21st 2015 since *** never called, he said
that he would call and find out where our mattresses were and what was
taking so long.  He again never called back.  On Oct. 8th and Oct. 12th I
called again and was informed that *** was not in but that they would
leave a message for him to call myself or my husband back.  Since he
never called us back i filed a claim with the BBB on Oct.14th 2015, and
one with the D.C.A. Oct. 16th 2015.  On Oct. 21st *** called and left a
message on my answering machine stating that our mattresses might be
ready next week on Wednesday or Thursday and that he'd speak to us
soon.  we figured that meant he'd call us when they were in like he had
told us the previous times before.  We never heard anything from ***
again until Friday November 13th2015 When *** called and left a message
saying our mattresses were ready and that have been for a while and that
he had just spoke to a gentlemen at the D.C.A. and wanted to know if we
had spoke to the man at the D.C.A. to hear what they had discussed.  We
didn't hear from the gentleman ****** at the D.C.A. until later on that
day, who in turn told us that upon speaking with *** that *** had told
him that he would only offer us two options.  One to come pick up our
old mattresses that were sitting in his warehouse or come pick out a new
one.  I told ****** that I would think it over and get back to him and
that we would go see what kind of mattresses *** had.  On November 17th
2015 we went to holbrooks to look at the mattresses he had to offer
& to look at the conditions of our old ones.  When we entered the
store we were approached by one of his sales men and he asked us if we
needed any help.  We proceeded to tell him that we were looking for a
queen mattress and would like to talk to ***.  While he went to get ***
we looked around the store at the mattresses he had to offer, all the
mattresses in his store were either filthy, bowing in the middle, some
were even 3 different colors.  We looked in what we assumed was his
warehouse/storage room where we saw a few other mattresses.  It was
filthy as well and we didn't a see our mattresses.  We saw nothing we
liked nor would we take home.  We bought our mattresses on Dec.21st
2013, and already had issues early in August 2015 I don’t believe that
we received mattresses worth our money nor did we see any mattresses in
his store worth our money.  I have also called my bank so i can show
proof of the money spent as well as the phone company to show proof of
the phone calls made.  I will never shop there again.  I have never
heard of a company leave a customer without a bed for over 3 months! nor
have I ever heard of a company selling a 10 yr old mattress with out
disclosure of its age.

5/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an electric folding bed with a queen size mattress , in which I paid in advance for $2096.12 on my **********. Holbrook's promised delivery in 7 to 10 days. It came in after 4 weeks. The salesman guaranteed the electric bed would fit in my existing sleigh bed frame. After delivery and set up we found my existing sleigh bed frame did not allow the bed to function. My wife and I also found the new bed to be extremely uncomfortable. We went back to Holbrook's the next day and they agreed to take back the electric bed, sell us a conventional mattress that would fit our sleigh bed and credit the difference ($1376.06} on my **********. After 11 days and 4 phone calls to Holbrook's and a lot of promises both in writing and verbal we have received no refund or credit on our **********.

Desired Settlement: I desire the promised refund of $1376.06

Business Response: Customer received a refund on 5/19/2015

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, 8/21/14 or to who ever can help us with our problem. We bought a lift chair from Holbrooks Clearance Center. *** ****** *** *** ****** ** ***** ph#******** on July 17 We paid cash and got it three weeks later. It looked nice but when I sat in it, the back would not come all the way up, it feels like I am half lying down. So we called 8/13/14 talked to ***** and told him the problems with the chair. He said the truck had a flat tire and they wound't be able to come out that evening. We called 8/14/14 talked to ***** again, he said they would be out between 3 and 6 that eve, for svc. No call, no show. Called again 8/5/14. ***** again, all we got was more excuses. 8/16/14, called again, talked to *****, he said they were in the middle of a tent sale and would not come out until 8/21/14 between 3 and 6p.m. Again they didn't call, didn't show, nothing!! We would expect better customer service from what they have given. They obviously do not stand behind their product.

Desired Settlement: We want our chair fixed, money refunded, or exchanged. Hope you can help.

Consumer Response: The consumer called and stated that the company came and picked up their chair two weeks ago with the promise that it would be repaired within a couple days. The consumer states that they have not received a phone or our chair. At this point we would like our money back $635.

Consumer Response: Consumer states they had got the chair back from the company however the chair doesn't close exactly right still. He said he will deal with it and not pursue this anymore.

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 2 reclining chairs in Oct 2013. In February 2014, one broke. I contacted Holbrooks and an employee told me that it was probably a faulty piece of wood or a knot that broke. He told me they would not replace it, but would fix it. I asked when would be the best time to bring it in, considering I only have two chairs in my living room. He told me to bring it in on Thursday, Feb. 20th, because their repair man would be in. He said that it would take a couple of days. I brought the chair in that day, but there was no repair man on site. Another salesman told me the repair man would not be in until Mon. I left the chair. On Monday I was told that they had to order parts and that they would not be in for a day or two. On Wed. I got my chair back. The salesman excitedly told me that they added a lumbar bar for more support. When I brought the chair home, it was not fixed, in fact, the chair is worse. The foot stool would not stay up; it is broken on the right side. The lumbar bar is in the wrong place. It is in the thoracic region and very uncomfortable. I called Holbrooks that day and explained the problems. The salesman told me that I would have to talk to a manager, who was not in at this time. I left my name and number and asked that he call me as soon as he gets in. I called back on Thur. and Fri. I called again on Monday and Tuesday. I was told that the manager would be in at 10am and that they would have him call me. The manager finally got back to me and I explained the situation. The manager told me there was no lumbar bar put into the chair. I told him they put something there because it wasn't there before and it is very uncomfortable. He told me I was wrong and didn't believe that his employee said that to me. He said the chair worked fine when it left the store. Obviously the chair was not fine. The manager refused to fix the chair, saying the company will only fix an item once. He also refused to honor a return of his defective product or replace it with a new chair.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement with a new chair or a full refund of my purchase price $399 plus tax.

Business Response: The recliner in question did leave the store in perfect condition.  All our items are sold 'As-Is' which is clearly stated on our wall facing the customers where they make a purchase.  We did decide to repair the recliner for her because she did not have it for a long period of time and it sounded like an easy fix.  Our repair person did notice a break in the wood where a knot was.  He ordered the correct size of wood and screws to fix it which took a couple of days. Because he is not always in the store it took a little longer for the repair.  He then repaired it and put everything back together, tested it and it was ready to go.  Salesmen at our store do not know or see any of the repair process.  After the customer picked it up, she complained that it wasn't repaired correctly and wanted a new one.  Our policy of selling items 'As-Is' does not require us to replace it.  We offered to repair it again and she became unruly and rude.  She said she was going to blast our company on Facebook and try to shut us down if we didn't replace it or give her a refund.  It also clearly states on our wall and the receipt that we do not do refunds.  So we decided to cut ties with her because of her threats.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: It truly discourages me at how businesses are run now a days. Where is the integrity, honesty, and pride. First of all, the manager did not offer to fix the recliner again, he was too busy calling me a liar and he stated that they only fixed products once. I don't know weather or not his employee was present during the repair, but he did tell me the lumbar bar was placed. Also there is something there that was not there before. Second, if the chair had been tested, the repair man would have noticed the broken arm that holds up the foot rest. Third, I never asked for a refund until I was treated so rudely. I asked that the recliner be replaced. I don't know about you, but being called a liar would upset anyone. The manager rudely told me that I was wrong and interrupted me several times. This is when I became very upset and told him I would Facebook all of my friends about their bad business. This is America. It's my prerogative to us my 1st Amendment right. What my friends do with this information is their prerogative. After being treated so badly and called a liar several times, I walked away from the phone. Whatever was said post, I have nothing to do with, and furthermore, I am the customer. Not anyone else. I payed for the faulty furniture. I would like this business to show some moral and do what is right.

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 31, 2013 I went into Holbrook Clearance Center,Inc. I tool my daughter into buy her a new bedroom set or her newly painted room. We looked around and could not find anything that she liked that was in stock. The sales associate told me that if we found something that my daughter liked in the catalogue that they provided, we could order and pay today and they would pick it up at routine furniture pick up in the city. My daughter found a matching bedrooms et that she lked. The sales associate then told us that it would not take long to ge the set and he could get it by 8/8/2013. Trusting his word I paid for the complete bedroom set. August 8th came and went and I did not hear anything from Holbrooks. I made a coll on August 11th and was told that they jost got back and the sipment had not been unloaded. I was told to call back. I called again on August 17th and was told that they stuill had not receied it and told m to call back in a week or so. I called back agina on September 1st and they told me that the only thing they had was a night stand and the associate told me that they would refund my money becuase the order in its entirety had not came in. I decided that this would end my frustration. I sent my mother in law with the receipt because I was unable to take time off of work to deal with this matter. This store is located two hours from my home. When my Mother in law went into get my refund the sales associate rudely told her that they don't do refunds sorry that guy should have not told you that. My Mother in Law called me from Chico and told me that they were not going to refund my money. I immediately called Holbrooks and told the sales associate that I was tired of the run around game and I should have never been told I was going to get my money back. He told me that the associate was sent home for telling me this. He told me that this is how retail works and I needed to basically get over it. This comment made me very angry so I asked to speak to the manager. The Manager called me and did apologize for how rude I was treated and told me that I could maybe reorder a bedroom set from some online catalogues. My daughter did find one bedroom set she did like. So I once again called Holbrooks on September 9th. They were unable to find the information needed to order over the phone so I agreed to come over to Chico and once again try to order another bedroom set for my daughter. The manager told me that he would not be there but someone would be Mere to help me. I went to Chico on the September 2lst and waited with my daughter for a long time for someone to help us; a young man appeared from the back of Me building and asked if we needed help. I explained why I was there because he obviously had not been informed of me coming and what my issue was. He gave us some books to look at My daughter was able to find four bedroom sets that she did not love but because we were told that we could not get our money back she souled for them. The young man went into an office and came back and said sorry none of these are in stock. This was very upsetting. I explained to him that I made a special 2 hour trip to deal with this matter. He told me that the manager was the only one who could deal with this issue. I told him that this ordeal has gone on too long. The next week I tried to make various calls to Me manager and anally was able to reach him. He tried to talk me into another color other than white and I told him no, I was not going to pay for something she did not want. The manger finally agreed on September 26 to refund my money. He told that he had to file papers and to call back the next week. On September 3Oth I gave him my financial information for my refund. Over a week has gone by and still no refund .On October 9th I called the Manger and spoke with him about the fact that I had never received my refund. He assured me that he would talk to the woman who handles the money and call me back the next morning. I said I would double check my bank account in the meantime, I did and called back and left a message with a sales associate to tell the manager that the money had not been refunded into my account. I waited for the next day to hear from the manager and he never called. When I got home from work I called Holbrooks and was put on hold only to be told the manger was too busy for me. This entire mess has gone on for over two months. I have never been so badly treated by a furniture company. I feel helpless. They deposited my money on 6/2/2013 and I still have nothing to show for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Company states she was refunded before she even filed her complaint, and called her to tell us so.

12/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delivery was promised the following week - now we are asking for a refund and are being 'delayed' Date of purchase with payment by credit card 11/22/13. promised deliver:"next Wednesday or Friday". We called Friday 11/29, they said next week, we have your number, we will call you. We go NO call by Saturday 12/7 so we called; they said it will be here next week, we said 'that was last week'. Then came an explanation of how someone would have to sit at a loading dock for hours maybe days to be next in line, so we asked for a refund to the credit card. We were told no manager was there, but it would be taken care of Monday. I called Monday morning and said I would be there soon and when I got there, ***, who said he was a manager took a photocopy of the purchase order #XXXXX and said it would be Wednesday or Thursday before it could be processed. I asked some others if that was valid and they said a credit card can be credited as quickly as a charge transaction.

Desired Settlement: Simply swipe the credit card and process a refund without delay.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response
I went to Holbrooks at about 10:15 this morning, 12/11/13 and was told that the manager was on the phone and would be with me shortly. He soon came and immediately wrote a check on a company account for the full amount, asking only that I not cash it until tomorrow. I actually had him make it out to my wife since it was her credit card and name on the PO. It really seemed like they had gotten some kind of a message from someone (maybe BBB) and wanted to clear thing up. Any help is deeply appreciated.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Holbrook's Clearance Center
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart