This business is not BBB accredited.

Expo Furniture Gallery

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 483-3976 Fax: (916) 392-3267 3412 Auburn Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95821 View Additional Email Addresses http://expofurnituregallery.com/ View Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert on Expo Furniture Gallery !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Expo Furniture Gallery include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to have a required competency license
  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Expo Furniture Gallery include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Expo Furniture Gallery
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 145819. On 5/27/2014 BBB confirmed that Expo Furniture Gallery had not obtained a necessary license from Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation.

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 165322.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Saleem Raza, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Saleem Raza, Owner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Raza Imports Rug Outlet & Home Furnishings

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Expo Furniture Gallery has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3412 Auburn Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95821 (916) 483-3976

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7310 Home Leisure Plz Ste 4

    Sacramento, CA 95823 (916) 392-3233

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sofa & love seat from this establishment on 2/19/2014. The salesperson that sold the furniture her name is *******. On July 9, 2014 I put a call into ******* with complaint the sofa metal leg was bended and the middle of the sofa was unlevel ******* put me through to the repair department which asked me to take pictures of the damaged sofa leg. A repair person was sent to my home, however the repair person could not bend the sofa leg back to it orginally position. But made it that the sofa was not unlevel I told ******* I was not please. per ******* call her if the same problem occurs. I called back on 3/17/15 spoke to a manager named ***** which informed me that ******* does not worked there any longer. My Warranty has expired and I should have purchased a two year warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back or better yet a replacement for a better sofa and loveseat.

Business Response:

Hello,

I was able to pull this customers’ paperwork and it shows that we delivered the merchandise in good condition on 2/24/14. Sometime in July, she called in requesting service for her sofa. We sent a technician out on 7/23/2014. The service was completed and the customer was satisfied.

She called in 3/27/2015 requesting a refund. We cannot give her a refund as our policy states, and her manufacturer warranty is expired, unfortunately, there is nothing we can do.

Attached is the paperwork for the service provided to the customer, ******* ********, that states that she was satisfied with service provided.


Thank you,


Expo Furniture Gallery

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered 2 leather electric reclining sofas in August, 2014, which were delivered almost a month later. Started having trouble with the one we use the most in December. Called & emailed on January 5, 2015, and sent photos on January 7. I was dealing with *****. She called to tell me they were going to replace the sofa. She called on January 27 to schedule delivery for January 31. On January 30, received a call from a man saying that ***** had been fired, that there wasn't a couch for them to deliver, & they would have to come to look at our couch before doing anything else. He said the manager would call. On February 2 received another call from a different person saying they had the replacement couch and would exchange it, but that I would have to pay their delivery fee, since we are so far away. I said that wasn't acceptable, since this was a warranty issue. I requested a call from the store manager, which I haven't received.

Desired Settlement: I want them to deliver the new, replacement sofa at no cost to me. They also have to take away the current sofa.

Business Response: Dear BBB and ****,

We have contacted **** about the warranty replacement of her sofa and agreed to deliver out the replacement sofa. At this point, everything is taken care of and all the issues have been remedied.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Expo furniture gave me the wrong fabric on my custom made furniture. even though that have owned their mistake it has been months and i have yet to receive the couch i paid for! not only that, their manager has been rude and blatantly disrespectful towards me! THE FACT THAT THIS COMPANY IS GETTING ALL BAD REVIEWS INCLUDING COMPLAINTS AND IS STILL ALLOWED TO BE OPEN TO THE PUBLIC AS A "BUSINESS" IN THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA WITH SUCH HORRID SERVICE IS MIND BOGGLING AND SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE FOR THE CUSTOMERS WHO HAVE BE GYPPED AND COMPLETELY HUMILIATED BY THEIR DISRESPECTFUL EMPLOYEE/MANAGER. it is within my trust that BBB when help to resolve theses matters.

Desired Settlement: i would like a refund. I want nothing ti do with this company. i have been gypped and disrespected. I have waited three months for the furniture i paid for and have yet to receive.

Business Response: Hi.  My name is *****. I am the store manager at Expo Furniture.  In early February, Ms. ******* made a purchase with our company.  She had us do a custom order with a fabric that SHE chose out herself.  We have paperwork from the manufacturer stating the fabric that Ms. ******* had signed off for according to our diagram and special order form with her signature.  Unfortunately when we delivered the product to her home, it wasn't the shade of color she was expecting, but I don't believe that our company did anything wrong.  We fulfilled our end of the contract according to what Ms. ******* picked out and signed off for.  We do not determine what shade of color the customer is going for.  We simply have the customer pick out the fabric when they're in our store.  And as agreed, we delivered that exact fabric that she ordered.  We do not control lighting or other things that might make the fabric look different in the customer's home.  Our company even gave Ms. ******* the choice of picking out another fabric, which she did.  And that order also came in. And yet she didn't want the second order either.  Even though the second fabric she chose out was in black.  I believe our company has done everything in our power to make the customer happy.  I am sorry the customer didn't know what shade of color she wanted in her home.  But we fulfilled our agreement with Ms. *******.  We delivered her exactly what she ordered and even gave her a choice of ordering a second time.  As of this moment, she still has the original sectional she ordered in her home.  So for her to say that our company hasn't delivered her merchandise is incorrect.  We are confident that the fabric swatch she signed off on and the fabric that she has in her home are identical.

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 3, 2014 I purchased a bed set as well as sectional couch from Expo Furniture Gallery. During this time I was permitted to customize the couch and ordered a dark chocolate colored microfiber sectional. On June 6, 2014 the couch was delivered and it was two different color browns. When I informed the delivery driver of this, he reported it was the same color and all microfiber couches had a different shade of the color. He then urged me to sign for the delivered items and left.I called the Auburn store location (where I placed my order)and spoke with the manager Edwin who insisted his driver denied anything being wrong with the couches. He then insisted that he needed me to forward him pictures of the couch before they could make a decision on how to move forward. I demanded the couch be retrieved today and he stated they would be willing to order replacement pieces to the couch. The product ascertained and paid for in full is an inferior product as it is seemingly two different couch orders probably from two unsatisfied customers, passed on to me as "custom.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer they retrieved this inferior furniture from my home immediately and refund me my money so that I may adhere to a reputable furniture vender and purchase a section couch.

5/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a couch from Expo Furniture in October of 2012. During the time of purchase I was informed that I could also purchase 5 year warranty because the couch only had a 1 year manufacture warranty. I was told the warranty covered any color change, spill and or damaged to the leather. When I called the store back after 1 year because my couch's color was fading and broken, they said that they would not cover the damages even though I was told otherwise. I had I know that the warranty would even cover any of those damages then I would have never purchased the couch from them. I was also told that the couch was a hundred percent leather and that is not the case.

Desired Settlement: The couch is not sturdy and the color fades. The customer service after they get your money is practically non-extistent. They are rude, unhelpful and deceitful. I would like my money back or at least compensation for the time I've wasted for having to deal with them for the last 4 months.

Business Response: Said client came in to the store stating his sofa had damage to the frame. At this time the client only mentioned damage. We explained to the client that although his sofa was outside of the supplier 1 year warranty ( by 2 months) we would pick up his sofa from his home, repair his sofa and return it to his home at no charge. We did this due to the client is valued and the supplier agreed to the repair. After we repaired the clients sofa and attempted to deliver it to his home he stated that he felt the leather was fading. He stated to me that he and his wife had decided after having the merchandise for a few months that they did not like it but they for whatever reason did not say anything to us for over a year. In addition the client purchased a 5 year extended warranty that comes in to play after the supplier one year warranty expires. The extended warranty covers any accidental rips, spills, tears breakage of frame, scratches nicks and tears. Neither the extended or supplier warranty covers fading. We repaired the sofa and could not detect any fading to the leather fabric. Bottom line the client waited for over a year to lodge a complaint by his own words he stated that he wanted to return and select a different set right after he purchased and is now trying to return it well after the warranty expired. I am not sure if the client called the extended warranty company or not.  We went over and above to try to make the client happy but he is still trying to get a new sofa set after he has had it and used it in his home for over a year.

Consumer Response:

I have read said company's response and find the accounts they've reported to be untrue. I originally reached out to the extended warranty company first and was informed that the warranty did not cover color fading or fixing the broken frame. I was advised to reach out to the original furniture company I purchased my warranty and couch from. I called Expo Furniture Gallery November 2013 informing them the color on my couch was fading and the frame was broken. At first the company stated I would be charged for the cost of delivery to pickup and drop off the couches for the repairs. I then went into the store and spoke to the management of the fading and how I was informed during the time of purchase that the warranty would cover such issues, but it turned out to not be the case and so they waived the delivery charges. I even sent pictures of the color fading when they asked for proof during this time period. I purchased the couch because I was informed the couch was a 100% leather during the time of purchase and the sale associate said the color would not fade. The fact is if the couches were a 100% leather like they said, the color wouldn't fade and I've kept the sofa set in a low lit room and made sure to proper clean and treat the couches so they shouldn't be fading so quickly. 

They said it would only take them 1-2 weeks to repair, but it took them a month to repair the couches. Whenever we would call Expo after the 2 week time frame on how much longer it would take and follow up with them, they were rude and I would never get a straight answer. What my husband and I asked for was that they repair the color fading and the broken frame. We never asked for a another sofa set or said we did not like the couches. I am fully aware that the couches are over a year a old and they've been used, but not once did we say we want a new set and I certainly do not ever want anything from them again.  What I ask for is that they admit the couches are in fact not 100% leather and I want my money back. I paid a large amount of money for a product I was told was superior, when in fact that was not the case. As for Expo trying to go above and beyond to service us because we are "valued customers" is not the case. We've received nothing but push back and rude attitudes from the employees at Expo when the issue first arose. Bottom line is, I was willing to work with them and fully understand the couches are over a year old, but their unwillingness to help, the rude interactions and untruthful claims have made this debacle that much more difficult and is the reason why we have launched our complaint.

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a solid wood dinning table set at Expo Furniture Gallery, but they delivered a set made by engineer wood. They refused to refund deposit. On the afternoon of 3/31/13 at the Expo Furniture Gallery which located at 7310 Home Leisure Plaza, Sacramento, CA95823, we ordered a dining table set with 6 chairs. The salesman, *********, stated that the dining table was made up of solid pine wood. We then again made sure with ********* that the table set was made up of solid pine wood. He promised that the dining table set would be made up of the same solid and would be delivered to our home. The agreed upon price for the set was $1,600 with a deposit of $200. ********* stated that the deposit and the full payment must be made in cash, otherwise, his salary would be decreased and the price for the table set would have to be greater than $1,600. Therefore, we had no choice but to pay him $200 in cash to keep the price we wanted. The dining table set was delivered to our house 4 weeks later. During the delivery process, we discovered that the dining table top was not made up of solid wood but layers of engineered wood glued together. Only one floral design was made up of solid wood. Since it was not the same dining set that we had agreed upon, I refused to sign for the delivery on site and the delivery was returned to the store for the management to address. In the beginning of May, we returned to the Expo Furniture Gallery to talk to ********* and the store manager to have our deposit of $200 returned. They refused, stating that engineered wood is solid wood. They continued on to say that the refund could not be returned and we must purchase $1,600 worth of furniture to have $200 discounted from the purchase. We were upset since the store had not provided the product we had agreed upon originally. Since we could not trust in the integrity of the store's management, we refused to purchase anything else from them. Since May, we have attempted to retrieve our deposit from the Expo Furniture Gallery multiple times without success.

Desired Settlement: We would like to file a complaint to the Better Business Bureau against Expo Furniture Gallery for its dishonest product sales and poor customer service. We hope that you will investigate into their quality of customer service and our specific case. We hope we could get the $200 cash deposit back. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
I appreciate the opportunity to respond to **** ***'s complaint regarding the dining set and deposit. In **** ***'s original complaint, it says, "I ordered a solid wood dining table." In response to that, we at Expo Furniture Gallery did follow through on our part and delivered out the "solid wood dining table", which is indicated as "XXXXX-T Table" on both the receipt and the catalog in which **** *** saw the item. However, later on in the complaint **** *** stated "We then again made sure with ********* that the table set was made up of solid pine wood." Upon investigating the validity of this statement that **** *** made, the salesman ********* informed us that **** *** asked if the table was made of "solid wood", to which ********* responded "yes". There was no mention of "solid pine wood" when **** *** purchased the table. After delivery of the set, **** *** insisted that the table was not the one he ordered; however according to the signed invoice we delivered the same table that **** *** saw in the catalog. Since **** *** refused to sign for the delivery, we had to bring back the table; and when **** *** returned to the store to return the set he purchased, the manager explained that per the invoice that **** *** signed, his order could not be cancelled. In fact, the first line of the contract reads, "Special Orders Are Not Subject To Cancellation". However, in trying to cooperate with **** ***, the manager agreed to allow **** *** to cancel with a 25% restocking fee (which includes the delivery costs) out of good faith. The $200 deposit is withheld to cover part of the 25% restocking fee. If you have any questions, feel free to call me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thanks for clarifying how to use this $200 in store credit. Please let me know how to claim it.

Final Business Response
The $200.00 Store Credit does no require a purchase of more than face value of $200.00. The client may use the credit toward a larger purchase, a purchase equal to the credit or a purchase less than the credit. The only condition in regards to the Store Credit is there will not be a cash back feature.

9/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told this was all real wood, no pressboard; assured the TV could be secured within the unit and that CD and DVD holders were built in I purchased a custom entertainment center on 6/8/13, Inv #XXXXX that it was all real wood, no pressboard; assured the installation could secure our TV with the upper shelf, and promised CD and DVD holders within the components. The installation on 7/1/13 was shoddy and they sent another installer to fix that satisfactorily. I have gone in, e-mailed and called, but they have done nothing to resolve the other issues. I finally hired someone to install a bracket to secure the TV and purchased baskets for the CDs and DVDs. I see no resolution for the false promise that this is real wood. I have never had such bad customer service - they never return calls or do what they say they are going to and I finally had to resort to fixing what I could on my own.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the $224 for having the TV professionally mounted inside the unit and $40 for the baskets I purchased to store the CDs and DVDs

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We have no problem refunding Mrs, **** for the Amount $264 she can come into our store and bring the credit card she used for the purchase.

Final Consumer Response
Please issue me a check and mail it to my address. I was not able to use my credit card for these purchases, and my husband's health prevents me from continually running around.

Final Business Response
A check for $264 was issued and mailed.