Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Evans' Furniture Galleries meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Evans' Furniture Galleries include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Evans' Furniture Galleries
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 20, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1966 in CA Business incorporated 03/28/1984 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 85832.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Harry Swinney, CEO Mr. Chris Swinney, Manager Ms. Tammy Templeton, Accounts Payable
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harry Swinney, CEO
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
C & A Swinney, Inc.
Products & Services

Evans' Furniture Galleries sells new home furnishings.

Industry Tips
Put Your Worries to Bed: 7 Tips for Buying Furniture

Additional Locations

  • 1345 Churn Creek Rd

    Redding, CA 96003 (530) 222-9300

  • 2101 Dr Martin Luther King Junior Pkwy

    Chico, CA 95928 (530) 895-3000

  • 379 Epley Dr

    Yuba City, CA 95991 (530) 821-0192

  • 734 W Onstott Frontage Rd

    Yuba City, CA 95991 (530) 673-2745

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pair of bedroom lamps at Evan's huge 50% OFF SALE. They were marked at $629.95/ea. with 50% OFF. Upon taking the tags off at home, I noticed they had not removed the tag showing the original price at $399.95/ea. Looks like I paid FULL price for the lamps as originally marked. I hate being deceived. I would rather have purchased the lamps at full price, rather than being scammed by a retailer I thought was honest. This can't be legal. If the lamps were truly 50% OFF, I should have paid only $399.95 for the pair, not $629.95. Deceitful and bad business. I learned a valuable lesson and won't be shopping at Evan's again.

Desired Settlement: I'm not the only person purchasing SALE items from this store. We are all being scammed. I want Evan's to stop this practice immediately and be made to publically acknowledge their practices. They should be monitored closely to see this does not happen again and that any SALES in the future are valid and above board.

Business Response:

Hello Mrs. ***** ********

We are sorry to hear about the confusion we may have created with our price tag regarding your recent purchase on February 4th.

Nearly every item on our showroom floor is priced at the Manufacturers suggested retail price. From that price, we may elect to reduce it even further than that price, to an even lower 'fixed' price. In other instances, we may elect to offer a percentage discount off the manufacturers suggested retail price.

In this particular case, regretfully, our staff appears to have made a mistake and left both tags on these items in error.

Clearly that has left some confusion, so in your case, we would like to offer you some options to remedy the situation, and perhaps a chance to make you a happy and satisfied customer once again:

1) We will gladly honor the lower price PLUS, in addition, take the aforementioned 50% off of that. Clearly this was our error, and we wish to make good with you.

2) Although the lamps were sold 'AS-IS' and stated on your receipt 'non-returnable', we do not want you to feel forced to keep them if we made a mistake that affects your satisfaction. You may choose to return them for a full refund up until February 14th.

Please let us know what you would like to do; our goal is to make you happy!

*****

 

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. They have offered to honor the lower price

and take 50% off that amount.  I accept this offer.  I will keep the lamps.  Thank you so much.  ***** *******


12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a high end leather recliner for my back problems after 29 days of use it broke and it hurt my back. we attempted to return and then we had to wait for a manager the next day. After speaking with the manager he said they can only do store credit. We have been doing business with Evans for over 12 years and this is how we get treated? I don't want store credit, I don't want this very cheaply made product, I wish to have my purchase refunded.

Desired Settlement: Please have the store pick up the very defective product and refund our money.

Business Response:

We are sorry to hear of Mrs. ********'s problem and in accordance with our store and product's brand warranty, will happily make best attempt to remedy the situation.

To our understanding, although the chair in question is beyond the 7-day exchange period, in good faith, our store manager has made arrangement for delivery staff to pick up the broken chair and Evans Furniture Redding to extend a store credit in the full amount of the invoiced amount.

As we understand, this conversation has occurred between the store manager and Mrs. ******** earlier this morning and all details were mutually agreed upon including the credit amount and date by with the chair was to be picked up by our delivery staff (scheduled 12/30/15).

I hope this satisfies all parties involved in this situation.

 

 

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I was not advised of the 7 day policy return. I am under doctor's orders not to stress, for I take blood pressure meds.

I don't need the inconvenience of not being able to decide for myself,  if I wanted to return as a customer at Evans furniture.  I want my refund back on my credit card used to purchase the item. 
I have had similar defective furniture from Evana with no problems solved by them. I just want the money back.

12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought and paid for couches and bought very expensive warranty and they wont honor warranty have sold out work to separate companies who wont fallow through on getting work we paid for done.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund if not on the entire purchase due to the fact that we choose to purchase from this company primarily because of the warranty that we are not getting.

Business Response: ******* is a 3-rd party accident insurance policy offered by Evans Furniture, that our customers may elect, at time of purchase, to add to their sale, covering the new furniture they are purchasing.
*******'s purpose is to provide peace of mind and security that, if by accident, any damage or loss of use is caused by the end user of the furniture, *******, will, at their expense & discretion, repair, replace, or credit a partial refund, and in some cases a full refund.
All of this is outlined in their policy of 'Covered Accidents' and 'Non-Covered Accidents', all of which have time limits as to how promptly a claim must be made following any covered incident.

Although the process of making a claim is direct between the insured and *******, ******* has allowed us information on this particular incident.

As Evans' understands, ******* made arrangements with customer to inspect claims of stains on both sofa and loveseat arms. Upon this 3rd party inspection, the technician notated that the stains were not the result of a 'coverable' accident. At the customers insistence, ******* made arrangements to send a second 3rd party technician to make another independent assessment. ******* explained to me over a phone call I made the day following BBB email to me Wednesday 12/10, that the second technician appointment was scheduled with customer for that following day (12/11).
I, as of yet, do not know the results of that second inspection, but my guess is they will result the same as the first technician.

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/21/2014 I went couch shopping with my friend as we have bought all the new furniture we needed. I went to Evans furniture gallery in chico ca. I found a couch and paid cash in full. With in 3 month's the furniture started to, fall a part. I was in one of the recliners when, i went back the head part pop and snap. I called evans, and was told a man would come out to see the damage and, the condition of the couch. His word's were, it's in perfect condition and it look's like it was caused due to, poor craftman ship. So we had a choice of, picking out another couch or have the one we had fix. We chose to get another couch. On 12/8/2014 My husband and i went and found a couch we like. The manager Bob Farmer said that, now the rest would go as store credit. I said to him when, i came here the first time and got a couch that is all i was in need of. He said store credit only. what will i do with store credit when everything we owne down to towels are brand new. So i have been forced to take them to, small claims court. I still have this pile of junk in my garage. And have called several times to have them com and pick it up, still in my garage.I think these people need to be put in their place. I paid CASH. I did not go shopping for a house full of furniture juat a couch.

Desired Settlement: I paid cash we pick out another couch by the way was a floor model. and was told by Bob farmer the rest of the cas will be store credit. are you kidding me. I want full refund.

Business Response: Thank you for reaching out to me.
I apologize for the problem you have had with this particular piece to
your sectional.
Although furniture design, materials, and production techniques have
evolved and improved over the years, they still are largely assembled by
hand using wood, laminates and other wood composites.
Every manufacturers goal is to produce a dependable, durable product
designed to meet their customers expectations throughout the life of the
product.
Having said this, rarely, on occasion, errors occur during assembly, and
some times, materials may contain a flaw.

After inspection of your recliner segment of your sectional, our service
technician came to the conclusion that it was indeed damaged as a result
of a manufacturer defect.

Per the manufacturer's product warranty, they outline and instruct us to
repair the furniture, provided the materials and parts are available,
and product is within 1 year old of delivery date.

However, of our own volition, we wanted to provide you other options in
an effort to proved a better customer service experience.
At your choice, Evans Furniture will:

A) Deliver, exchange, and replace (at no charge to you) the damaged
segment of your furniture.

-or-

B) Allow a full, in-store credit for the entire amount of the purchase
price of the sectional, including delivery & exchange at your
convenience.

Unfortunately, we are unable to extend any type of cash refund of monies
paid should there be a difference in price, and any balance above and
beyond would be due upon delivery.

Please contact me directly via email, I would like to resolve this for
you as quickly as possible, as I understand you wish to resolve this
prior to the Christmas Holiday.

-***** *******
Evans Furniture

Business Response: Business states that they have contacted consumer and the complaint issues have been settled.

Consumer Response: This case has been settled with, the owner and i as of,12/10/2014


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Evans' Furniture Galleries
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)