Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Ashley Furniture Homestore - Grass Valley offers furniture retail services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ashley Furniture Homestore - Grass Valley meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ashley Furniture Homestore - Grass Valley include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ashley Furniture Homestore - Grass Valley
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 13, 2007 Business started: 12/17/2007 in CA Business incorporated 09/06/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 151954.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michele Peterson, President Ms. Lucy Baker, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michele Peterson, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Mattresses Office Furniture & Equipment

Alternate Business Names
River Rock Interiors, Inc.
Products & Services

Ashley Furniture Homestores is a retail furniture store.

Industry Tips
Put Your Worries to Bed: 7 Tips for Buying Furniture

Additional Locations

  • 161 Mill St

    Grass Valley, CA 95945 (530) 273-8400

  • PO Box 1239

    Grass Valley, CA 95945

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a couch this June 2016. We quickly saw that the couch had a large and obvious defect. I called for service and spoke to *******. We made an appointment for the following week. When the appointment day arrived, nobody showed up and nobody called. I called and talked to ******* again, where he informed me that he simply forgot the appointment. We made a second appointment and he did come out and assess the problem; the couch was indeed defective. He had to order the part, which took 3 weeks to arrive. An appointment was then made for the repair. On the morning of the appointment; one hour prior, I received a phone call telling me that the replacement parts were not reviewed before making the appointment and indeed the parts were wrong and somewhat brushed it off. This is now the third day that I have had to miss work, reschedule my day and lose money. I was offered the floor model, but I did not pay for a used couch and declined the offer. I did call and complain to the manager, who was nice enough, but seemed unmoved. Only after I had to ask, he agreed to give me a future purchase discount. Finally, the right part was then ordered. Another 3 weeks plus passed, when I received the call. When I called back to talk to *******, I asked if he would be available this last Monday, Columbus Day to do the repair. He told me that he would have to check his availability for that day and would call me back. This was over a week ago and I never had my call returned. Apparently forgotten once again! So, basically, I purchased a full price defective couch, which I have been forced to live with for over 3.5 months. I am concerned at this point to try for a fourth fix/appointment as I fear I will lose yet another day of work and income.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer a full or partial refund, or a new replacement but I am open to discuss alternative resolutions.

Business Response:

I have called the customer and apologized for the slow manner in which this complaint for handled.   I also apologized for the lack of customer call back on the part of our customer service department.   This is not procedure and not the way we have ever handled issues with our customers.  I also advised the customer that we are ordering a brand new sofa for them despite the fact that the issue was only a folded piece of padding under the arm.   Our policy has always been customer first and their satisfaction is primary.   I will loose money before upsetting a customer if the issue is our fault.   

Consumer Response: I was contacted by the owner and she offered to replace the couch with a new one, including free delivery. I am satisfied with this more than generous resolution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ashley Furniture Homestore - Grass Valley
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)