Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cleanrite Buildrite meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cleanrite Buildrite include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cleanrite Buildrite
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 20, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1959 in CA Business incorporated 05/18/1979 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00689238.

Nevada State Contractors Board
2310 Corporate Circle, Ste 200, Henderson NV 89074
http://www.nvcontractorsboard.com/
Phone Number: (702) 486-1100
The number is 0079557.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Andreasen, President Mr. Bob Battezzato, Director of Marketing Mr. Curtis Chamberlain, Production and Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Andreasen, President
Business Category

Floor Coverings & Installation Carpet & Rug Cleaners Fire & Water Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Contractors - Flooring Contractors - General

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Cleanrite, Inc.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 1200 W East Ave

    Chico, CA 95926 (530) 891-0333 (530) 433-5157 (800) 870-0030

  • 19690 Hirsch Ct Ste 1

    Anderson, CA 96007 (530) 246-4886

  • 350 Bridge St Ste A

    Yuba City, CA 95991

  • 5430 Florin Perkins Rd Ste 200

    Sacramento, CA 95826 (916) 381-1321

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The fire restoration that was done to our house, left us speechless. It was even worse than originally thought. The broken furniture, stain on the walls and floors, damaged floor by leaving puddle of chemicals, the use of an unauthorized draining that caused damaged to the vegetation and septic the list just goes on. It was a horrific experience, that I would not want someone to experience. If I can give them any marks, it would be in a negative, Stay clear of this company. Nothing but trouble. The say one thing and do something else. They just don't care and are negligent in the way they handle peoples properties, causing more pain and grief. They caused damages that we are still dealing with like using my septic to dump chemicals from 3 previous jobs of fire restoration.

Desired Settlement: Furniture, rugs, flooring and septic damages by this company.

Business Response: We are aware of the claims reported however these unfounded, unproven and unsubstantiated claims are being investigated by the claimants own insurance company to which CRBR is 100% cooperating with. We can not proved any further details as the facts and details are still being gathered so that the parties can come to a resolution.  

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: the facts are hard to deny, broken furniture by crbr employees, chemicals in septic tank, puddle of chemicals left on floor in living room noted by another company (5 Star) that came to do the job after crbr, results floor bulged and in need of replacement. Numerous couches taken outside to balcony where whether and dogs got to them, results total loss. All damages noted and documented. I asked crbr take responsibility along with AAA who hire them but so far weeks later no one come forward and offered any solution. It seems that they are all waiting for this problem to magically disappear. Cleaning the septic and pipes from your poisonous chemicals would be a solution weeks prior but now my grapes and oranges are dying. No one contacted me about this business misconduct. I was left alone to deal with all the problems and paying out of my own pocket to restore my property and my belongings to original condition. 

Business Response:

**** has concluded their investigation and they have determined these accusation to be unfounded and have requested no further action from us.  **** *********, **** vendor Manager, as well as **** *******, **** special investigative agent, have both been involved and clearly have investigated the claims reported by this consumer, contradictory to his claims made to you as noted below.

 

Each and every item in their complaint is false, misleading, or greatly exaggerated.  The complaints actually may even include fraud related items such as there are streaks on the walls.  That is typical of a fire damage  and they have been paid by their insurance company to pant these same walls rendering the streaking irrelevant.  It is against the law to profit from an insurance claim and they seem to be trying to do exactly this at every turn and trying to strong arm us and ****.  **** sent another company out to inspect the claims and that vendor reported to **** that there was nothing wrong with what did there.  This is coming from our own competitors in the marketplace.   

 

1 – We did not break or otherwise caused damage to any furniture during our time on this project.

2 – The stains on the walls are due to the fire they had and they have been paid to paint those walls by their insurance company.

3 – There were no stains on floors caused by our work and we left no puddles of any chemicals.  The chemicals used on this job are nontoxic and all MSDS sheets have been provided to **** for their own investigation.  The chemical is specific to cleaning hard surfaces and does not damage them and is safe for disposal into septic systems.  This has been confirmed by the chemical manufacturer directly to **** as well as the Sacramento Water district who also inquired into the chemicals.  To which they found nothing wrong with our use of it.

4 – We dumped between 5-10 gallons of rinse water of the above stated chemical into the septic system.  This has been verified to be of no harm.

5 – How could we dump 3 other jobs of chemicals into their system and if we did how would they know how many and where?  This is an absurd remark and indicative of the complaint in its whole.  Initially they reported to their insurance company that we dumped over 200 gallons of chemical into their system.  Again, another completely fabricated, unbelievable and ridiculous statement.  Where would we get 200 gallons of anything and how would we carry it around and why would we if we could?  This is just outlandish.  We have confirmed we dumped 5-10 gallons (a few buckets) of rinse water or greatly diluted nontoxic cleaning solution that was used to wash the walls and smoke items in the home. 

6 – We cleaned the sofas on a upstairs balcony while their dogs were in a cage outside.  The dogs got out jumped on the couch and our technicians secured the insureds dog and put it back in the cage.  We are not liable or responsible for the insureds dogs or their actions.  Not to mention there was no damage done due to this.  The claim of total loss due to a dog sitting on the couch is again borderline fraudulent and absurd even if their dog was our liability.

7 – The chemicals are not poisonous as numerously reported and proven.

8 – Due to the nature of our service agreement with **** insurance they handle all complaints and conflict resolution with their vendors.  We were not allowed to respond as the complaint was made to **** to resolve as they referred us.  They investigated and found nothing wrong and requested no further action from us on any of these complaints.

9 – The water district has also investigated and found no validity to the poisoning of their grapes and oranges.  The chemicals used simply do not have that or any other affect as they are closely regulated by the state and for their intended use are non-toxic.

10 – *** and EPA did nothing about it because there is nothing wrong or nothing to do.  They both contacted us and we provided the same information to them and they all found nothing wrong.  The consumer has also not provided anything to substantiate his claims.

11 – **** has notified them of this as they told us so. 

12 – Comment from a post placed on **** on 6/8 clearly asserting he doesn’t know if anything was put in his septic.  He has gone from because the cleanout lid was off he doesn’t know if we did put anything in it, to making statements that we dumped specifically 200 gallons.  This is clearly indicative to his unfounded, random complaints to extort money from our company and his insurance company.  “Lastly, and it's very concerning as well we observed that our main sewer clean-up was open outside of the house was open which makes me believe that something was poured into it. That is a great concern and distress because we have a septic that connects which we only use environmentally friendly detergent because it's by the plants that can easily be damaged, we felt that not only it was unprofessional to open it but also to leave it open, if there will be problems which will be noticeable, I will have to make sure that they will to be addressed by Cleanrite

 

13 – They claim none of this should happen especially when you pay someone.  For the record we have received not a single penny for the services provided on this claim.

 

We have gone above and beyond to prove these claims unfounded through the investigation by **** insurance and they as well have found no wrong doing or no factual based claims being made. That being said, based on the severity of the statements being made by this consumer through this complaint and numerous other sites such as ****, Mr. **** continues to attempt to damage our company while at the same time telling differing stories and claims of differing damages that none of which are founded.  We will be seeking a relief from his defamation of our company at this point.  The statements are very serious and greatly affecting our reputation with no factual basis or backing and no accountability to them for making these statements. 

 

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I am very upset that CRBR still trying to cover their wrong doing by attacking me and bringing everyone else in their mess. I have proof of their damages, what do they have? Where is the investigation reports? Water company? ***? Did they perform any investigation at all? CRBR can write another 10 pages of stupidity but it won't change the fact that they did damage my home. EPA investigation is not over just yet. They must forgot that I have their vortex machines pictures on my property and each holds 100 gallons and dumped only when full so 10 gallons dosnt sound realistic to me and also why dumping at my septic? Why lock or unlock dogs when they are not yours? Why take furniture out of my home? Why leave walls dirtier then they initially were? Why leave puddle of chems in my living room? I have proof of all those questions? What do you have besides your ignorance and fake investigations? Where is the proof of any investigation conducted? 
I am very disguised an upset by your reply. 

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 3, 2014 I had a leak in my garage from a current rain storm. I called my insurance company and they sent out Cleanrite - Buildrite. Within a couple of hours they had 2 technicians at my home. It was dark by the time they arrived. They set up 2 dryers in my attic in my garage. They made a point of telling me because I had a tiled roof they would NOT be going onto my roof to clean or inspect it because they didn't want to crack the roof tiles. They had a ladder on the side of my house and had climbed up it to look at my roof and said it looked like I needed to have the "valley's" in my roof cleaned out and they could give me recommendations for roofers. After they left, they forgot to give me names of some roofers so I called their office the next day and obtained some names of roofers. I called several and finally received a callback from one who came out and cleaned the debris from my roof for $150. Several months later I received a bill from Cleanrite - Buildrite for $828.71 saying my insurance company was advising I needed to pay this amount. There was no breakdown of their services so I requested a breakdown of their costs. They have a charge of Roofing - Labor $262.16. When I called they said that's the minimum they are allowed to charge by the insurance companies. When I told her their technicians didn't even go onto my roof she said she had pictures that they had. I advised her they told me specifically that they had not gone up there, the photos were probably taken from the ladder and $262.71 extremely high for nothing when the roofer charged me $150. I contacted my insurance agent and she was able to get them to deduct their bill by $125. I am still not satisfied.

Desired Settlement: I have paid my bill minus the $125 but I would like a refund of $137. I believe it is the principle of the issue, they did not go on my roof and do any service or repairs. I feel like they are taking advantage of citizens in crisis and bordering on insurance fraud by charging for items not being delivered. How many times do they do this and don't get caught?

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

On the initial night, December 3rd, 2014, during a storm we responded, got on the roof, and reset tiles that slid down the valley.  Photos are attached of said work.  If we didn't do it we wouldn't have the photos.  This was however emergency work only, we advised her that she should have someone come out and do a thorough cleaning of the valleys to prevent further issues.

We did however in an effort to address her concerns, credit what she paid for those services off our bill.  This was in no way justified or warranted as what we did and charged for had nothing to do with what she paid the other roofer to, we simply did it in good faith to satisfy this customer.  We absolutely cant credit anymore of this invoice as we clearly were on the roof, we have photos of the work done the night it was done.  Unfortunately sending crews out at night during storms is not free and in fact its very labor and overtime and overhead driven.  262.71 to respond at night during a storm with a two man crew is very reasonable.  Even if they had not done anything as Mrs. ******** claims,  they still responded and there are substantial costs to our company to provide that to this customer.  We have attempted to explain this to Mrs ******** on numerous occasions and are willing to explain it additionally if needed.  


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I understand they are now coming up with quite a story. But I was there when their representatives told me they would NOT be going up on my roof period. I did not hear them up on my roof and their ladder was not tall enough for them to gain access to my roof. They are also charging Equip. set up, and monitoring after hours for $158.12 so it's not like they are not being paid for their time. If this is the stand they want to take that is fine. But rest assured I will pass along their name to my family, neighbors and friends to not use they in their time of need as they truly take advantage of their situation and "pad" their bills and change their stories to suit their billing practices. Thank you for your time BBB.

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our 2nd floor laundry sink overflowed causing water damage in our home. The company came out and starting removing the water right away. When the repairs started the quality of work was okay. After the drywall and sheetrock had been replaced that's when the trouble started. It started with the ceiling area repaired bowing and having to be redone. The baseboard all through the areas repaired were measure wrong. The baseboards were heavily layered with caulking to cover the mistakes. The sheetrock didn't meet the baseboard and left gaps in the wall. The texturing had to be redone more than once in certain areas. The communication between the works and management often resulted in things not getting done. We had carpet installed and the estimate on the carpet installed and the carpet square footage that was installed on estimate was way beyond the size of the rooms. There was little carpet left over after the installation. There were numerous charges on the estimate for work not done. The major issue is the craftsmanship of the work done. Were not asking for anything to be different. Just return the baseboards, wood trim, paint, doors, walls and everything back to it's original state. Instead of doing the repair work the right way from the start they have continued to bandaid things with caulking, paint etc. When we tried to discuss our concerns with the manager ***** earlier this week it was a disaster. He told us that we were expecting unreasonable results. For the work to be completed in the manner that it is complete it is unacceptable. Even though our homeowners insurance is paying for the repairs. The poor quality of repairs affects our homes value. Also the home insulation that was put in the attic was not the same as we had before. We had blown, now there is batt and the home is suddenly really drafty. Asking for receipts for the carpet installed we were told it was none of our business how much it cost by ***** the Manager at the Yuba City location.

Desired Settlement:  We want the craftsmanship and the quality returned to it's original state. We were assured that we would get like for like with the repairs. The end result is sloppy, cheap and poor quality. All we want is for the repairs to be done in a way consistent with the craftsmanship before the damage took place. We feel as though we have been cheated by the quality of work done. Just do it right and stop pointing fingers at who did what and get the repairs done right!

Business Response: This consumer was taken car of by his insurance company USAA. They refunded him in full so he could take care of it himself.

9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cleanrite Buildrite came an took some items for restoration and clean up after our house fire. when we called to inquire to out items were then notified that our large bedroom armoire was disposed of due to the damage and that they were unable too clean and returned a doll and mirror. They returned a children's wood desk and an end table. The Armoire was thrown away with out consulting me. They said they "thought" hey told us. this piece was not even in the room or next to the rooms that were on fire. it had some very top. This piece should have been left up to me to dispose of. I wanted it back. they returned the desk and end table that were fixed in terrible condition. there are till smoke rings and odor. they never touched the mirror and originally told us that they could not find the doll. later called us and said they found it in a garbage bag and could not clean it. because we were supposed to get the armoire back we did not claim it. we are now cashed out and want reimbursement for the furniture that was carelessly thrown away. Im not happy that they did not clean certain items when I was able too. The work they did was not professional. There overall customer service from they has been rude. they charged $5000 to overall due some repair to a small desk and end table that was done poorly! They told me they would personally reimburse me for the armoire since insurance was not covering this. When I went to negotiate a refund price they keep talking about the insurance is covering it. ???. They just told me they were personally reimbursing me? then told me they could refund $200-$300, our insurance was paying full replacement value, this piece was part of a $2600 bedroom set...not acceptable. Our insurance company has confirmed that they have reached out to Cleanrite Buildrite to resolve this, but they keep saying the insurance is taking care of this. this has been a 2 month process. Product_Or_Service: furniture restoration

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the full cost replacement. It was part of a set ($2500) that now is incomplete. $800-$900.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Customer was issued 750 for payment on 9/17

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Overall I am still not happy with the service and quality of work we revived. I was given an a fair offer that I accepted to put this matter to end. Payment has been revived on my end


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cleanrite Buildrite
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)