Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (877) 551-6644 Fax: (916) 984-0270 View Additional Phone Numbers 6837 Mccomber St, Sacramento, CA 95828

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lifescaping meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business is in the process of responding to previously closed complaints.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Lifescaping
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 30, 2003 Business started: 08/06/2002 in CA Business under new ownership as of: 10/07/2015 Business incorporated 09/04/2012 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 1007986.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Adrian Borg, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adrian Borg, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors Gates Deck Builder Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas

Alternate Business Names
Borg Fence & Decks Natco Pregra, Inc
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 6837 Mccomber St

    Sacramento, CA 95828 (916) 455-5280


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We got our newly fence installed last Monday 7/16/16 by **** (Lifescaping Outdoors Co). When they were done, I had a run through with one of the crew. We found almost 50 woods with small cracks/splits and some with long cracks/splits. According to him, "We would replace it but we ran out of woods and this cracks/split should have been checked while at the warehouse. They gave you guys a bad quality of wood."So I called ******* (cust. serv.)and e-mailed her some pictures and she said she will show them to the "Operational Mgr". My wife and I also did a check around the house and we found some nails sticking out and one of the post with the cement a crew actually stepped on it and now that it's dry, you can see a shoe print on it. On 7/20/16 ****** **** spoke with me and stated, "Those cracks are wear and tear and they are normal." He even said that he saw the email and pictures and they look normal. I told him it can't be normal & it can't be wear and tear because it just got installed but he got upset and we got disconnected. Mr. **** called back and was on the phone with my wife and we discussed regarding the issue. He kept on telling us that it's normal and it's a wear and tear. My wife asked him,"how can it be a wear and tear when the fence was just installed last Monday?" My wife also discussed regarding other issues of nails sticking out and it's a safety issue for our 2yr old child and also us because we can get hurt with it. Mr. **** advised us to get a pliers to fix it but my wife told him,"We cannot do that because we don't want to be liable later on." So Mr. **** said,"I will come on Thursday to check what it looks like and I will call you to let you know that I'm on my way." Mr. **** came last Thursday and as I was showing him the longest split he said right away that, "Those are normal and I will not replace them" I said, "Ok, I will not pay because I'm not satisfied" he said, he will sue me and I said, "Go ahead". Very unprofessional person.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mr. **** to replace the woods with split on them and fix those nails sticking out. Or he needs to give us a discount. We haven't paid him but if we do, he needs to give us a discount. We have no problem paying him the whole amount but we need to be satisfied as customers as well. Mr. **** is aware that we are willing to pay as long as we are satisfied. Mr. **** as President of the company, he needs to be more understanding and need to keep his composure and listen to his customers.

Business Response:

Thank for the opportunity to respond to this customer complaint.  We would like to address what we believe are inaccuracies in the customers’ statement and then suggest resolutions to the issues.  Our contract and supporting disclosures, which we have attached, clearly states that wood is a natural product, that it will have cracks, knot holes, and color variations.  We inspect the wood when we receive it from the mill to ensure it is on grade.  Our crews are well aware of the high quality of the wood we use.  When the President of the company did a visual inspection he did not refer to the condition of the wood as “wear and tear”; he referred to it as the normal appearance of wood, a natural product.  When the President of the company initially talked to the customer, he stated that the fix for the nails would be to clip them with a pair of pliers, and that if it was urgent for the safety of their child, they could do it themselves.  When he came to do the inspection, he came with the tools necessary to address the nails sticking out.    Unfortunately the conversation became heated and non-productive and he chose to leave the customer’s property rather than continue to argue.  With regard to the footprint in the concrete, the surface of the concrete around the post will be rough and may have a partial print from the crew tamping it down.  This is usually not noticeable since dirt covers it.  We would also like to note that the two neighbors who share this common fence are completely satisfied and have already paid.


The customer would like us to replace 50 boards with minor, normal flaws.  We are willing to replace the 5 boards we saw that have the potential to compromise the integrity of the fence over time.  In addition, we are willing, as we originally agreed to, to deal with the brad nails that are sticking out, and to add concrete to cover the footprint.  The other option we are offering the customer is to leave the fence as it is, and discount his portion of the price of the fence, $5229.00, by 5%, reducing his payment to $4968.00.  We look forward to hearing the customer’s decision regarding these 2 options.

Business Response:

In response to Mr. ********* last message,, We respectfully stand by our position and have offered to either replace the 4 boards (which requires dismantling an entire 8 foot section of fence for each board affected to accomplish the repair due to the integrated construction of this style of fence) OR issue a 5% credit on Mr. ********* portion of the contracted amount, but NOT both.   As to Mr. ********* comments regarding conversations between his wife, co worker and Mr. ***** we feel that a 3rd hand report of a conversation can only lead to misunderstanding and half truths and respectfully ask those comments be disregarded.  We await Mr. ********* decision on his preferred option so that we may proceed with the resolution for this project.




****** ****


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. We decided to accept the 5% discount ($4,968). We are very disappointed and will not be satisfied if ****** will only change 4 boards and have us still pay the whole amount which in fact there are more other boards with small cracks at the time of the installment. It does not make sense and fair at all to have us pay the whole amount. To not prolong this issue and it's been very disappointing dealing with this company we decided to accept the 5% and not deal with them anymore. As I have mentioned before, we have no problem paying as long as it is fair. I will pay the amount due ASAP. 


Thank you BBB



7/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Borg Fence & Deck/Lifescaping Outdoors (DBAs for Natco Pregra Inc.) to replace two gates and a length of fence after getting 4 estimates from companies highly rated by BBB. The day following installation and while comparing gate latches (I had discovered the night of installation that the front latch cannot be locked), I noticed water pooling at one back gate post and immediately notified them by email with photos. After I followed up the morning after notification, they sent out two workers to remove the post, a plumber and then a leak detection specialist the next day. They never disclosed they hit the water main nor that they incorrectly installed that post, holding a steel frame gate, to a depth of only approximately 18 inches when they are contractually obligated and required to install each at 2 feet. That shallow gate post was put on top of the water main pipe they creased, which was leading from the marked water meter access area. I discovered this after declining their offer to cement the post back in place, even while there was an active leak near the post. They deny their work caused any damage. They say the leak detection report they initiated shows the only leak far away from the post installation and said they'd provide that report to me, but never have. I've had five plumbers on site (including and their input has been that a hard hit to the pipe, enough to crease it as it did, could cause the leaks we have near and immediately downline. The pipe they hit was damaged enough to require replacement. I've had to proceed with fixing the plumbing problems since Borg/Lifescaping is claiming no responsibility, stands by their installation on top of a marked water main, has not provided any reports in writing, and has effectively abandoned the paid project. I will also need to have the rest of the work evaluated since at least one post was not installed to a required 2', fixed as needed, front gate latch fixed, and back gate correctly reinstalled

Desired Settlement: Desired resolution: 1) this job by Borg/Lifescaping be independently inspected since they never disclosed the work discovered to be in breach of contract; 2) appropriate reimbursement for fence & resulting plumbing issues; 3) their BBB rating be reassessed (it was a decision-making factor I considered). Since they didn't correctly install, notify me of an issue or potential one, or take responsibility (and only offered to reinstall the post, covering up damage), I no longer trust their work.

Business Response:

Borg Fence & Decks welcomes the opportunity to respond to this complaint. While we will briefly address each of the issues here, we will also forward to the BBB the complete package we sent to the CSLB and to the client in response to her complaint with them.

This is the first time we have been told about the gate latch issue. We would be glad to address that for our client under the terms of our warranty once we have an understanding of how we are proceeding with her other concerns. She has not paid for the fence and therefore there is no warranty currently in place.

We used the appropriate hand digging procedures to dig the fence post hole where the water pipes were marked. We exposed the pipe, and touched it; however we did not break it. This was confirmed by the leak detection company and the plumber.

When informed of the leak, we hired a licensed plumber, and they hired a leak detection company, both at our expense, to locate any leak. We also removed the gate and post, and are willing to reinstall them, also at no additional cost to the customer.

With regard to the depth of the posthole, it is true that the standard hole depth is 2’. However, it is acceptable construction practice to widen the hole to offset a lack depth when digging deeper would be an issue. To have dug under and around the pipe, installed the post to a depth of 2’ and poured concrete under and around the post would have created the potential for more damage to the pipe.

We have provided the customer a complete copy of the response to her complaint to the CSLB, including all reports and correspondence from the plumber and leak detection specialist who examined her property. In addition, we will provide her a copy of this response.

Consumer Response:


Thank you for garnering a response by Borg Fence & Decks/Lifescaping Outdoors (Natco Pregra Inc.). I am rejecting their response. Below is my response to the points they made:


The gate latch issue was emailed to their employee, ***** *., on 5/12/2016, the day after installation, at the same time as the initial notification of water at the base of the back gate fence post. I attempted to confirm receipt of that email by ***** approximately 4:30pm but was told she had already left the office and no one else could confirm receipt.  I called again at the start of business the next morning and confirmed receipt of the email by *****, who forwarded it to their office manager, **** ******. That day I had conversations about the latch, in addition to the more time sensitive matter of the water leak, with office manager **** ******. I was told by **** ****** that the two workers sent to the site to look into the water around the gate post were not ones who would also address the gate latch. No other Borg/Lifescaping employees were sent to site for the post or gate latch issues after the day they removed of the post, 5/13/2016.


The fence was paid for in full when due, at the conclusion of work on the day installation, 5/11/2016. The next morning I received an email from ******** ****, their Contract Administrator/Accounts Receivable, thanking me for the payment and with an attached confirmation as receipt of the 5/11/2016 invoice marked “PAID 05/12/2016”. 


The BBB has been provided both the original email notification of the front gate latch and water pooling at the back gate post, as well as the marked paid invoice as receipt. 



I’ve been told by multiple plumbers that to dent and crease a pipe as it was, it had to have been hit with a great amount of force.  This response to the BBB (and their prior response to the Contractor’s State License Board) are the ONLY times any Borg/Lifescaping employee or the president admitted anything about contact with the pipe under the fence post. Plumbing experts I subsequently brought in evaluated that the pipe for which Borg now claims to have “gingerly hand dug the hole” (from their response to the CSLB) and then “touched” (from this response) definitely needed to be replaced because of the denting/creasing damage and compromised state. Furthermore, plumbers I had on site also stated that to be dented to that extent, the impact would have jarred the attached pipe enough to cause the leaking in my water line after fence installation.



I initiated leak detection also and it was determined to be much closer to the post location than their leak detection marked. Based on conflicting information conveyed during conversations with the plumber they hired and the leak detection personnel sent out on their request, I do not trust their reports. (Those reports were finally provided to me in response to my CSLB complaint and received after filing this BBB complaint.) 


They offered to reinstall the post and gate before the leak was fixed and in the exact same area without disclosing they dented and creased the pipe. Once I discovered the damage they caused and that the post was not installed correctly, there was no way I would be having them reinstall the post in the same location above the creased water main and at an incorrect depth.  Discovering facts they didn’t disclose to me, when they had every opportunity to at many stages, leads me to think they were hoping to cover up their mistake in an attempt to avoid culpability. 



Contractually, they were obligated to install the posts to a depth of 2 feet, not approximately 2 feet, nor 2 feet unless the hole is widened to an unspecified additional amount (which was not done either).  If an installation depth of 2 feet was not possible after observing where the water main was marked, they should have, as fence professionals they were hired to be, come to me at the start of the job and proposed a better solution of a different post hole location. 


Installation of the post with concrete around the water main pipe, as they state, would not have been an acceptable solution either.  The post cannot physically be put two feet deep because that would’ve been directly through the pipe. When they discovered this, whether it be because of where the city utilities marked lines or when they were digging, they should’ve realized this and come up with a better solution. Their procedure to install at that location anyway, hit a pipe, not disclose that or have it evaluated by a plumber, then install the post in breech of contract on top of the damage they caused, was unprofessional and negligent. I look forward to the investigation by the Contractors State License Board to evaluate this issue further.  


In conclusion, after reading the response by Borg Fence & Decks/Lifescaping Outdoors (Natco Pregra Inc.), I am further baffled at their continued lack of communication, both internally and externally, inaccuracies and overall unprofessional behavior.  I am rejecting their response and hope you take whatever measures to review their rating, which is among the resolutions I am seeking. Many thanks.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the client’s rebuttal to our response.  We are not exactly sure what the customer is seeking as final resolution in the case.  We have made it very clear that we are willing to take care of any gate issues that exist as a result of the excavation of the gate post and subsequent digging that occurred while we tried to identify alleged leaks that we caused.  We are certainly willing to set the post and hang the gate to complete the job.  We are also willing to replace the latch, if it is faulty, with one where the holes for a padlock line up more accurately.  This is not in contention.

Where the concern lies is that we are not willing, nor are we going to further entertain, any allegations of the clients attempt to liable us for damages that we did not cause.  We have presented verifiable documents from licensed contractors to refute the clients allegations.  We are not liable for the water leak on her property, the correction of that leak, or the replacement of her water pipes.  In addition, we are concerned that the customer has demonstrated her willingness to stretch the truth for her benefit and we are seeking legal counsel on how to stop her continued actions from slandering our company’s reputation.   Once the client agrees that the ONLY issue that remains is the repair of the gate and she agrees that she will cease and desist on all other allegations we will gladly return to restore the gate to its original state.  

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

The business may refer to the “Desired Outcome/Settlement” section of this original complaint filing with the BBB to refresh themselves as to what my final resolution sought has always been.

From the outset of this complaint, I have stated why their actions and responses no longer garner trust. I will not be having them on my property again.

What it seems the BBB can assist with is my third and final desired outcome point regarding reevaluation of the rating of Borg Fence & Deck/Lifescaping by the Better Business Bureau. Having a favorable rating was a factor I took into consideration when choosing this contractor and I hope others have the benefit of more accurate information during their research.

5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company works closely with **** *****. I have trusted **** ***** for many years now and everything I have got done in my house has been specifically with vendors with **** *****. Knowing that this is a multi million dollar business they would hire some of the best of the best companies to work with seems like that wasn't the issue here. I went to **** ***** in December 2015 to ask them if they recommend fencing service, since the fence I have in my house was falling over. They referred me to a company that the work "closely". Individual by the name of *** ******* had come and spoke to both my neighbor and myself in regards too what type of fence we wanted as well as the size and height of the fence should be. Specifically both my neighbor and I had communicated we wanted a 6 foot fence with a lattice on top. For some reason *** ******* had understood that, but quoted something different such as a 5 inch fence with a inch of lattice on top. Completely different then what we wanted. When the fence individuals had come to our house it seemed like they couldn't even figure out what we wanted and asked me if i wanted a slant or a straight fence, last time i checked you had the contract and if there was any confusion you should ask your ******* by the name of **** ********. Not to mention this individual was super sweet, **** *** in the beginning asking if we would like to proceed almost every day, when we decided to, when they did the job wrong, he began to get unprofessional, ***** *** ****. Not to mention he is a complete **** when it comes to communication. He had the audacity to tell me to google terms. I am a teacher, I do not need some unprofessional individual to tell me to "google" terms. I am sorry, you dont ever sterotype or throw out rude terms like that, rather you try to help your customers if you want more service for the future. DO not go with this company to build your fence, it seems like they have dirty dirty secrets to pull you into their RUDE ugly trap.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate the fence to meet the description of what my neighbor and I had communicated to *** ******* and the rude **** ********. Fix the problem of making it a 6 foot fence not 6, with the lattice on top. I paid over $4,000 for the project, so it would be ideal to fix it with putting the fence to the side that both of us agreed on or reimburse my money because this is not what i wanted. **** ***** needs to think about who they are doing business with for future fence installations.

Business Response:

Thank you for allowing us to respond with our side of this issue.  We appreciate the work that the BBB does to resolve these types of customer issues.  We followed up with the customer, reviewed the actual contract, and talked to our employees involved in the complaint.  Our contract clearly states, in 3 places, that the fence height is to be 6 foot finished.  In one area, it defines this as “6 feet tall”.  When building a 6 foot finish fence with lattice, the board portion of the fence is constructed to 5 feet height; and the 1 foot of framed lattice is added to the top to meet the total finished height of 6 feet.  While, in retrospect, the client may have wanted a 7 foot finish fence, we priced out and constructed the fence the customer specified when signing the contract.  With regard to the statement that our employee was rude, and insulted the customer by suggesting they do a google lookup on fence height terms, we were trying to offer the customer a different venue for the definition, since they were not accepting the definition from us.  It is never our intent to be rude to a client.  Finally, we offered to change the height of the fence with a signed change order for an additional charge, however the customer was not interested in this option.  Thank you again for your assistance in working with our client to resolve this complaint.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: this company is very unprofessional and I will never refer them to anyone for the future. The way the individuals speak on the phone- very unprofessional and not willing to accommodate in any way, so dont sit there and lie that you were willing to work something out with us. We had to drop an additional 2,000 to get our fence fixed. If their attitude, mission, and professionalism was there, we would probably think about it, but with someone with such an ugly and unprofessional attitude and demenor, the busniess will not go far. Take care and do not try to sit their and ** now.

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March, 2015, I met with ******* *******, sales consultant with Borg Fence and Decks, **** ******** ******* *********** ** *****, with regard to replacing several lengths of wooden fencing on the property listed above. I was satisfied with his proposal and asked him to draw up a contract. Part of the oral stipulation was that one segment of the fencing (shown as item A on the enclosed contract copy) would be constructed to match the existing fence, including the height of the structure and with a lattice top. I was occupied with other matters during the construction of the fencing and did not notice until the work was completed that the replacement fence did not match the remaining sections (see enclosed photo). I immediately called Mr. *******, who came out and saw the error. He admitted that he had agreed to have the portion of the fence in question built to match the adjoining segments and that he had neglected to include a requirement for lattice work on the contract form. He said that he would contract officials in the company’s home office regarding means of rectifying the mistake. I indicated that I would withhold payment until satisfaction was made. Concerned that I had no response after a period of time, I called Mr. ******* who came out again and took photos of the mismatched sections. He again said that he needed to discuss the matter with company officials. Several months went by. On November 3, 2015, I received an email from ***** *****, of Borg Fence and Decks, citing n attached invoice for payment (see enclosure). I replied that payment would be made when the problem was rectified. Within days we received preliminary notice from Borg of intent to file a lien against our home. Because such a lien would seriously damage our credit rating we promptly paid the sum in full.

Desired Settlement: We believe that Borg Fence and Decks has behaved in a deceitful and unprofessional manner and that the appropriate remedy would be to replace the section of fence as originally agreed. ** ***** ********

Business Response: It is unfortunate that we received this complaint from Mr. ********. We tried multiple ways to come to a resolution on his concerns regarding his fence. When we received Mr. ********’ contract, we processed the order as specified. Mr. ******** met the crew the day of the install, we installed the fence per specifications on the contract and did not receive any mention of any issues with the installation. When we billed Mr. ******** for the completed project, he responded that there were some issues with the fence. We asked for details and pictures of those issues. Unfortunately, he wanted a fence that was a complete different style and different height from what he agreed on the contract. Any previous conversation with the sales rep is unknown since he is no longer with the company and all that was agreed upon is on a signed contract. We offered to redo his fence at a discounted price and we offered him a $400 credit for any inconvenience – both of which he refused to accept. After not receiving any type of payment or willingness to resolve the outstanding issues, we had no option but to send a pre-lien letter in attempt to collect the money that was owed for the contract that we executed. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  Borg does not acknowledge the fact that their sales representative failed to include in the sales contract the condition that was agreed to orally.  As a result, the fence was constructed improperly.  The offer of $400 does not rectify the mismatched fence height and design.  I have a difficult time justifying the problem with my next door neighbor with whom I share the fence

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Bord Fencing to remove my old fencing around my pool area. I also hired them to install my new fencing purchased through them. When they removed my old fencing they left all of the bolts sticking out of my stamped colored concrete and installed the new fencing. When they gave me the estimate they never mentioned the fact that they were planning on leaving in all of the bolts. This in a pool decking, with metal bolts sticking out. I contacted them and they sent some men over to cut off the bolts, in the process of sawing them off at the concrete surface they let cut marks & gouges in my concrete. My concrete now is marked up and the bolts are still showing and have sharp edges. They never even cut off all of the bolts. Had they disclosed they were going to leave the bolts in the concrete and exposed, I would have never went with this product or this company.

Desired Settlement: Since I appear to be stuck with this end product since removing the fence they installed would leave more bolts in my concrete, I am requesting a significant adjustment to the amount I was charged (Over $4200). I paid for a fence to be removed, without any disclosures or documentation of a partial removal.

Business Response: We have been in contact with this customer since she let us know of her concern with her fence. Per her request, she wanted the fence line moved 3-4' from the original fence line, which by doing so would leave old footings in the ground. We addressed the old footings like we normally would, by cutting them to grade, or below grade when possible. It is not possible for us to remove the footings completely without damaging her existing concrete. Customer was not satisfied with the way the old footings looked, and in an attempt to meet her expectations, we went out a second time to smooth out the footings - we buffed them out to make sure there were no rough or sharp edges sticking out. She is unhappy with the look of her concrete, which we informed her she would need to address that on her own, as she had requested to move the existing fence line in the first place. We've done our best to deliver the best service we can, but at this point, the customer's expectations are not aligned with what we can do. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  The company never disclosed they were going to leave exposed metal sticking out from my cement.  Yes, they came back and cut the screws that were sticking out 3inches, with the exception of two they missed.    However they NEVER sanded or smoothed anything.  They left an eye sore and a hazard behind.  I would have never signed for them to remove the fence and install a new fence had they disclosed this is what I would be left with.   At this point if it's not resolved here I will be forced to take it to court. 

Business Response: The customer contracted us to remove the existing fence and install a new fence at a different location. As we were contracted to do, we demoed the existing fence and cut the old bolts to grade. Borg had no knowledge that the bolts were embedded into the ground with epoxy and would not be able to be removed by unscrewing the bolts, as is normally the case with wedge anchors or red heads. At that point, our standard operation is to cut the bolts to grade or below grade. She was not happy with the results so we went out a second time to try do cut the bolts further, as much as possible. Again, the customer was not satisfied so we sent a crew out for the third time to buff out any sharp edges. 

Since the customer was contracted with Borg through **** *****, she opened a claim through **** *****. The District Service Manager, ******* ****** was assigned to the case to bring the matter to closure. She visited the project to inspect the installation and concluded that the customer’s expectations were beyond what the customer had contracted us for. The customer wanted the bolts removed which would compromise the integrity of the concrete and pool area – which is a large liability, and should have a cement contractor go out and take care of it. To help her out with the expense of her repairs, she offered the customer a 5% credit to her account and a $100 gift card. The customer did not accept the offer. Regardless, **** ***** credited her account the 5% as a sign of good faith. 

Under the scope of work that we contracted for, we have delivered the material and services per our agreement. I have included some pictures of her installation. We’ve made every effort to take care of our clients concerns, but the work she is demanding is beyond the scope of work that we contracted for and out of our license classification as a C13.  What she is asking to be done is the work of a General contractor, Mason or Concrete specialty license.  

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

The information that Borg is suppling is not truthful.  There are still bolts sticking out above grade.  They did NOT sand or buff anything.  **** ***** gave the 5% installer discount that was a part of out original contract that was being offered at the time.  I have emails from BORG acknowledging the "Installers discount"  prior to any work being done.  I have received NOTHING since this poor work was done.  **** ***** did offer $100 gift card I decline since this is FAR from what I signed a contract for.  I signed for the fence to be removed, not part of the fence, not bolts visible sticking up from the concrete or being a hazard to anyone walking barefoot.  This install and removal has seriously devalued the pool area of my home.  Please see the attached email correspondence starting March 3, 2015, there is the 5% Installers discount that they were suppose to give.  The discount was not apart of a botched job, it was a promotion **** ***** and Borg were running.  

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My neighbor and I sought a fence to be installed through Home Depot. Someone came from Borg Fence and gave a good presentation of options . My neighbor and I agreed to proceed with a fence for around $2000. This was to be split almost 50/50 (my side had a small extra fence). My neighbor and I gave our credit card information with installation May18. On May 13th, I was billed for the entire portion instead of my portion. I sent an email complaining for being charged twice my obligation, asking for them to refund the money, and asked them to cancel the fence. I also stated I would contact my credit card complaining that I was being charged twice what I had agreed to. Within 1 hour of sending this email, I received a call from "Mr Borg". He stated I was "way over the top" on my complaint. It was human error, and my response was excessive and unwarranted. In addition, I was under contract and they would hold me to it (but fix the billing). He said my "legal action" was uncalled for. I asked what "legal action"? He replied that me complaining to ******** ******* (for being charged double what I agree to) was the "legal action". I also told him it was they that had committed an error, not me and that as a customer I was upset and critical. He stated they had only committed a "human error" but I was more in error in reacting so excessively."Mr. Borg" then stated that he was going to file a complaint against me (to whom might I ask??) for - and I quote this exactly - for "leveraging my position" (because I am a physician??) in "filing a complaint" about Borg (to ******** ******* for charging me double what I owed?). To summarize, I realize "human errors" occur. As a consumer however if I am charged an extra $1000, it is my right to complain to my credit card company about the error. I don't enjoy what I felt was a bullying and harassing phone call for me having sent an email complaint about the charge.

Desired Settlement: I am complaining (first BBB complaint in my life) about an abusive, rude, and bullying phone call I received. There was a large billing error and I complained. Then I was threatened in a ridiculous manner and told I was going to have a complaint against me for "leveraging my position". I wish to formally complain. I wish an apology. I also wish clarification of what "complaint" could possibly be filed against a complaining consumer who was overcharged. Sincerely, ** ** ******* ***** *****

Business Response: ***** ******, administrative manager, spoke with customer this morning and agreed to refund the $910 that was mistakenly overcharge and continue with his scheduled installation for Monday May 18th. We have resolved the issues with customer as of Thursday May 14th. Please contact customer to confirm and close out this complaint. 

Feel free to contact ***** ****** ** ************ * *** 

thank you

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Borg fence build a gate for us. It doesn't look right (we can still see the frame). The first gate they made is hard to open. I have called them 5 times and have not received a call back. This was done June. This was done in connection with a fence that was done in May and was added to Mark Shaffners job. This makes me very frustrated. This was started through **** *****

Desired Settlement: To have the gates fixed to our satisfacation.

Business Response: For the past couple of days, Operations Manager and Mr. **** have been in communication. Mr **** called called in today and spoke with *****; she explained to him that his repair will be scheduled for a repair crew and as of today, we are still working on routing his repair. Once we have an available crew, we will contact Mr **** to advise him on the date. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me providing they actually follow through with sending a repair person.  It took multiple attempts before they actually returned my phone calls.

2/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 17 2014 Borg Fences & Decks replaced fence and gate around the perimeter of our home. Unreported to us the workers severed a portion of the electrical wires supplying a portion of our outside sprinkler system. They did not communicate this breakage. They also encased the severed wires in the concrete they poured when they installed new fence posts. This they also failed to report. As a result of the breakage, no water was supplied to the rear sprinklers and this caused the yard to die. We have only this week discovered the breakage and fixed it. But the yard is unsalvageable and we are in the process of replacing it at a cost of approximately $1500.

Desired Settlement: We are currently selling our house and don't have time to wait for a leisurely resolution to this issue. We will have to replace the yard quickly. Therefore, I'm requesting Borg fence refund the cost of our yard that was destroyed by their negligence and lack of communication. This amounts to only a portion of what we payed for their services. As an alternative, if they can respond quickly, before we hire a gardener to do this work, I would accept Borg replacing the yard at their own expense.

Business Response: On January 17, 2014 – 13 months ago – ****** *******
contracted Borg Fence & Decks to replace 72’ of side fence that was to be
shared with her neighbor, along with two gates on each side of her house. We
quoted the 72’ side line at $3200 and that was split equally between the two
neighbors. Mrs. ****** ******* paid $1600 for that side of her fence.

Our contract and general terms and conditions specifically
state that Borg Fence & Decks is not responsible for any damages to
sprinklers/underground pipes or wires.  We advice our customers to move
their sprinkler line if it is against the fence line, or to cap off the
sprinkler heads. During any installation, if our crews make any damage to
pipes/sprinkler systems, out of good faith, they will try to repair it; if they
are unable to, the customer is informed about any damages. In most cases,
although we are not liable, Borg Fence & Decks will cover some if not all
of the repair costs in order to please our customers and continue to earn their

Our records do not indicate that there were any issues
during the installation of the fence. The customer signed off on our Customer
Approval Form, indicating that (#8) all underground utilities, irrigation
systems had been checked. Our normal workmanship warranty is valid for one year
of installation, and we did not receive one call from Ms. ****** *******
regarding her concerns. The first attempt she made to contact our office was on
2/09/2015 (same date of this complaint submission).


It is irrational to demand a $1500 compensation. If we had
been informed in a timely manner of her concern regarding the sprinklers, we
could have addressed the water supply to her sprinklers and agreed on a
solution. Unfortunately, we were not informed of such, our records and sign off
indicate that the installation was complete and to the customers satisfaction.
After 13 months of installation, now that the customer is considering selling
the home,  we cannot take responsibility for a damaged yard that died out
for lack of water supply.

If there are any issues with the fence that we originally
installed, we are glad to speak with the customer and discuss her options. 

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/9/2013 I purchased a vinyl fence from Borg Fence & Decks for $5450.00. On the back of the contract it states that the Installational Professionals will obtain any required permits. On October 15, 2014 I received a letter from the City of Sacramento that my fence was to tall 5'4 an it needed to be cut down. They told me if the contractor had filed a permit that he would have found out that we could only have a 4' fence on 5' fence. I contacted **** ******* and ******** **** from Borg Fence and Decks and they want to charge me for cutting the fence down. I purchase this fence from Home Depot on Howe Ave in Sacramento. This was the contractor they sent to build the fence. They should have known the laws regarding permits.

Desired Settlement: I would like the fence taken down to the 4' level at no charge as requested by the City of Sacramento or a completed refund on the fence so I may have another company put up wrought iron.

Consumer Response:

To whom it may concern,
I filed a complaint on 11/11/2014 with the Better Business Bureau regarding Borg Fence & Deck. I would like to let
you know that I have been in touch with Adrian Borg at Borg Fence & Deck and we are resolving the issue at this time.
Thank you for looking into this for me.

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We and our neighbor shared the cost of rebuilding a common fence. The contract is in my neighbor's name, ******* **** ** **** **** ******* *** ** *****. The date of the contract is Oct 15, 2013. There is a slight slope between our yards with our neighbor's being higher. As a result, the dirt from our neighbor's yard keeps coming through from the bottom of the fence. Our neighbor and us agreed that the new fence should be built into the dirt, creating a retaining "wall" section. However, the work with done with the fence built above the dirt. My neighbor contacted Borg Fence & Decks and one gentleman came and inspect the work and said that the work would be rectified. However, he did not have a crew in the nearby area. We cooperated with waiting for an available work crew who would be in the area. This did not happened. I contacted Borg subsequently but did not get any response. Unfortunately, I did not keep track of the dates of contacts. This time I contacted Borg on Sept 25, 2014 and spoke to ******** ****, who was supposed to respond did not. On Oct 6, I talked to ******* and explained the situation to her and also indicated that I would register a complaint if I did not get a response. I was also informed that the work done came out of the San Mateo Calif. office at * * **** ******* ****.

Desired Settlement: We like to have Borg Fence & Decks complete the work as contracted to do. An alternative would be for us to get another contractor to complete the work and Borg Fence & Decks pay for it.

Business Response: As a response to the complaint placed by ******* *****, we
would like to provide an update to this case. Back in October 2013, we were
contracted to do work for ******* **** in San Francisco. The neighbor, *******
*****, shared the cost to this fence; however, we were not part of the
agreements and terms of payments between the two neighbors. After the
installation took place, customer ******* **** was communicating with our Sales
Rep, ******* ****. The communication with our Sales Rep and the customer did
not reach our office and management was not informed of any outstanding issues
with this project. As of July 2014, ******* **** is no longer with the company.
We apologize to both our customer and their neighbor for the lack of communication
from the time ******* parted ways.

Since the date the complaint was filed, **** ******** has
spoken with Mr. ***** to discuss the issues with the fence. As of today,
October 15th 2014, Mr. ***** has sent an email with pictures of the
fence and the areas he needs addressed. Our operations manager is reviewing the
pictures and has been communicating with Mr. ***** via phone and email. Mr.
***** was provided with **** ********’s direct cell phone number so he can
reach him at any time during the day.

We will provide an update as soon as this matter has been

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Neighbor says Borg reconnection of his to my fence is unworkmanlike/improper. I agree. **** declines to inspect in spite of >5 contacts over 3 months. Borg fence & decks was referred to me through Livermore home depot. The project at **** ******* *** ********** *** was estimated 6/21/13 by ** ***** ****** reconstruction of existing and installation of new redwood fence and gates. Work performed and paid in full July 25 for my neighbor *** **** **** ******* Ave) and myself. The order number on the estimate form is: X-XXXXXXXXXX. The completion notice was signed for the installer by **** ****** 7/25/13. I was notified approximately 8/15/13 by my other neighbor, *** ********* (who was out of town the day of work completion) of **** ******* **, that he was dissatisfied with the quality of the reconnection to his fence of a Borg-rebuilt section. Specifically, a faceboard was used for structural support where a 2x4 is standard, and where his panel rail was reattached to the misplaced faceboard the support for the rail is inadequate. I concur with his assessment. I have made numerous attempts through August, September and October by telephone (with ***** at ****: XXXXXXXXXX) and email (with Mr ****** to get a Borg representative to meet with Mr ********* and I to inspect the problem and settle on a remedy to the situation. In spite of numerous claims that 'someone will get back to you this week', noone from **** has been willing to schedule an appointment to handle this issue under their 1 year warranty. It is slightly unclear whether this issue should be handled by Home Depot, but there seems to be no contact path for resolving the issue via Home Depot in Livermore. Borg/Home Depot was paid at the time of service by credit cards $4775 plus some minor add-ons not estimated. None of the add-ons were in the portion of the fence shared with Mr **********

Desired Settlement: Ideally, Borg or appropriate alternate satisfactory to Home Depot and **** should come out and rebuild the fence connection to Mr ************ satisfaction. Failing that, refund $200 to me so that I can arrange repair by other means.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We have contacted this customer and made arrangements to do a site visit on 11/22 to determine what needs to be done to address the issue to the customer's satisfaction.

Final Consumer Response
Borg came out yesterday and fixed the problem to my neighbors satisfaction. please close the case with satisfactory resolution.

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, We contacted Borg fence and Decks about installing a fence and gates. They sent their salesman ***** ****** out on 6-29-2013, We had concerns about where the front fence and gates were going to be. We wanted them built the same way and in the same spot. He said, not to worry it would be the same. So that was our oral agreement between the three of us. They broke the stucco on the house to the flower bed. **** ******* operations manager said it was wear and tear. The stucco isn't that old. ***** ****** jack hammered the cement under the gate to find the leak. She finally found the leak down by the post. The water followed the path of least resistance, they set the fence and gates out to far, now the grass is growing on the inside where we have cement. We didn't water so the fence would dry out for painting. In a week or so we watered, it poured out of the seam under the gate, on the inside of the gates all over the cement. They set the fence and gates out to far over a sprinkler line and broke the pipe. It cost $424.22 for ***** ****** to jack hammer the cement and fix the pipe. They couldn't help but see when they dug the post holes that they broke the pipe. I don't care about paragraph 2 in the contract, we had an oral agreement between my husband the salesman and myself to build the fence and gates in the same way and in the same spot. I have several witnesses: ***** ******** (XXX)XXXXXXX She took a video and faxed it to BF&D,they said they never received it. ***** ******** (XXX)XXXXXXX She mowes the back yard and is familiar with my property. ***** ******* (XXX)XXXXXXX She has mowed the back lawn and cleans up around the yard and house. ****** **** ******* (XXX)XXXXXXX Lic.# XXXXXX-XXXXXX Mowes and trims the front yard every week. He couldn't find the leak either. ***** ****** (XXX)XXX-XXXX Lic#XXXXXX She removed the cement under the gate and fixed the leak Called several times,left messages for Mr. ********* Called back again and finally got ahold of him once. He would talk to ****** ****. Contacted them several times and didn't hear back from them. Very disappointed in the customer service. Hope this doesn't happen to anyone else. There workmanship is poor. Thank you, Mr. and Mrs.****** *****

Desired Settlement: Pay the 424.22 that I had to pay out of my pocket.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to this client's concerns. When the client initially contacted us after her fence was built, it was to complain about chipped stucco and cracked concrete. Our Operations Manager did a site visit and determined that the damage she indicated was not caused by the fence installation. She has since indicated that we did not build the fence in exactly the same spot that it was before; and that we broke sprinkler pipe on the fence line when digging a post hole. We built the fence per the contract, which the customer signed. While there were specific instructions on height of the fence, and gate swing and latch information, there was no indication that the fence was to butt up against the concrete pad. As for the sprinkler pipe, our contract specifically limits our liability for broken sprinkler systems. We do require our crews to notify the customer if they are aware that a sprinkler pipe is damaged; and we work with the customer to affect the repair before filling the post hole with concrete. In this case, there was no water or other visible sign that the sprinkler was damaged, and therefore no notification was given to the customer. At the time that she communicated to us that there was a broken pipe under the post, she had already hired and paid someone else to fix the problem. Since the person she hired is a licensed painting contractor (C-33), not a general, landscaping or fencing contractor, the fact that she de-constructed and then re-constructed the fence we built also impacts the warranty on the fence. We were not given the opportunity to address the broken pipe prior to it being repaired by someone else; so we had no opportunity to mitigate the cost to the customer or to ourselves by handling it as a warranty concern. In good faith as an upstanding company, we have offered the client a credit of $100.00 which represents more than our cost to repair the pipe. We will be happy to provide the BBB with copies of our correspondence with this client.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Lifescaping
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart