Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Construction and consulting firm specializing in residential and commercial hydronic radiant ceiling heating and cooling systems. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Talbott Solar & Radiant Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Talbott Solar & Radiant Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1991 in CA Business incorporated 03/25/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 887274.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dean T. Newberry, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean T. Newberry, President
Business Category

Energy Conservation Products & Services Solar Energy Research & Development Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy Solar Energy Products - Retail Contractor - Electrical Electricians Geothermal Heating & Cooling

Hours of Operation
M: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
T: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
W: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Th: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
F: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Talbott Solar and Radiant Homes, Inc.
Products & Services

Talbott Solar & Radiant Homes Inc, is a construction and consulting firm specializing in residential and commercial hydronic radiant ceiling heating and cooling systems.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company installed an inverter for a solar PV system more than a year ago. Also installed was a wireless device that allows remote monitoring of the system and email notification when there is a problem with the system. The email notification has never worked because the product must be registered with its manufacturer and it never has been, nor was I informed at the time of installation that this was even an option (I stumbled upon this in trying to see if I could deal with the issue myself). I have made repeated attempts (literally dozens) over the past year to get this issue resolved and it has not been.

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem. Get the product registered and fully functioning or, if necessary, replace with another unit and get that unit registered and fully functioning.

Business Response: Company states: The energy making equipment is functioning properly. This feature not something that company typically recommends using nor supports it. The few times that we have tried have been failures. We are as equally frustrated that this feature is not working as hoped. We recommend monitoring the PG&E bill and that would be the primary way of monitoring your system. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:The company states that "The energy making equipment is functioning properly." This statement does not address my complaint, which had to do with the lack of functioning of the monitoring device the company installed, and the fact that the company has been unable to provide me with a serial number and  other information  required by the  manufacturer to register the device. The company states that "This feature [the monitoring device] is not something that company typically recommends using nor supports it." The company never advised me of this and  was more than happy to charge me the roughly $500 the device cost. The company states "The few times that we have tried have been failures." The device worked for a while, but, as noted above, required a serial number and other information in order to be registered and allow full functionality. The company states "We are as equally frustrated that this feature is not working as hoped. We recommend monitoring the PG&E bill and that would be the primary way of monitoring your system." This is completely unacceptable. Had I wanted to go this route, I would  never  have purchased the monitoring device. The company should be obligated to either get the device registered and functioning or refund what I paid for it. My sense of  it is that Mr. Newberry was not very familiar with these devices to begin with. If that's the case, he should find someone who is who can complete the job, register the device and see that it is functioning properly.

****** ***** 

Business Response: Company states: It appears that the consumer is experiencing issues with the monitoring device. I will reach out to him to rectify the situation.

Consumer Response: Consumer states: I did not receive a call from the company and so I contacted the manufacturer directly and they walked me through resolving the issue I was experiencing. 

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been leaving messages for Talbott Solar for the last ten days and have not received a response. They installed a tankless water heater in September 2010 and on January 16, 2014, it stopped working. I have turned to someone else for repairs and they tell me the gas line installed is not the correct size. This company has not gone out of business and it is inexcusable for them not to respond.

Desired Settlement: I would like to hear from Talbott and have them correct the improper installation.

Consumer Response: To Whom It May Concern:

I filled a complaint on January 27, 2014, ID******, about failure to hear from Talbott Solar & Radiant Homes. They have since contacted me; today they made a repair to the gas line on my tankless water heater.
my problem has been resolved.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Talbott Solar & Radiant Homes
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)