Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

City Electronics

Phone: (209) 529-5070 Fax: (209) 529-5038 3000 McHenry Ave  Suite #5, Modesto, CA 95350 http://www.buyusedtv.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for City Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on City Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 1994 Business started: 03/01/1990 Business started locally: 03/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 28721.

Business Management
Mr. Hawel Hawel, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hawel Hawel, Partner
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair Television & Radio - Service & Repair


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

City Electronics has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3000 McHenry Ave
    Suite #5

    Modesto, CA 95350

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON 11/30/15 CALLED CITY ELECTRONICS TO LOOK AT MY TV HAD NO SOUND ONLY ON HD CHANNELS, THEY CAME OUT TOOK MY TV APART AND SAID ITS A MAIN MODULE UNIT AND WILL HAVE TO BE ORDERED, SO I PAID THE $100.00 AND NEVER HEARD FROM THEM SO I KEPT CALLING ABOUT THE PART BEING IN AND WAS TOLD NOT YET CAUGHT UP IN THE WEATHER AND STILL NO PART ETC... THE OWNER WAS ON VACATION AND COULD NOT GET IN CONTACT WITH, TOLD THEM I CANT WATCH TV AT ALL BECAUSE OF THE WIRES THAT THEY DISCONNECTED AND I DIDN'T KNOW HOW TO RECONNECT, SO AFTER 1 MONTHS TIME I CALL CERES TV AND THEY SAID THE PART FOR MY TV THAT THE OTHER COMPANY ORDERED THEY COULD GET THIS PART IN (1) DAY. I TOLD THE OTHER COMPANY THIS AND THEY JUST SAID OH WELL !!!!! SO CERES CAME OUT TO LOOK AND SAID IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE MAIN MODULE... AND TESTED TV AND FOUND OUT IT WAS THE RECEIVER THAT HAD A PROBLEM AND FIXED IT AND REINSTALLED FOR $250.00+. I TOLD CITY ELECTRONICS THAT I WAS GOING TO DISPUTE THE $100.00 I PAID THEM AND THEY SAID MY CALLING FOR THE PART REALLY UPSET THEM AND HUNG UP ON ME. I FILED A DISPUTE WITH MY CREDIT CARD AND NOW THEY ARE TELLING ME THE CITY ELECTRONICS SHOULD GET PAID AND ARE GOING TO TAKE BACK THE $100.00 BECAUSE THEY DID COME OUT BUT??? LOOKS AT THE ISSUE ABOVE?? I FEEL THEY WOULD GIVE BETTER SERVICE IF THEY GET HIT IN THE POCKET FOR NOT KNOWING HOW TO ACESS THE PROBLEM IN THE FIRST PLACE.

Desired Settlement: I DONT FEEL THAT I GOT THE SERVICE I PAID FOR AT ALL , NOT TO MENTION CANT WATCH TV FOR OVER ONE MONTH!! IF THEY DONT KNOW ABOUT FIXING THE TV THAN SAY SO. FOR THE OTHER COMPANY IT WAS A EASY TO DIAGNOSIS AND THEY CAME BACK AND FINISHED THE JOB, NOW THAT IS THE WAY A BUSINESS SHOULD BE RUN.

Business Response:

Greetings
When this customer called we told him it is $49.00 to come out, check the unit and he agreed.
We went out to his house, check the unit, gave him an estimate of $495.00 after he accepted the estimate we charge his credit card $100 ($49 service call + deposit) 
First week of January, he called and cancelled the order
On January 7th we issued a refund of $51.00 on his credit card 

This customer is dishonest and here are the reasons why:
1- We never discounted any wires. when we check the TV for a muffle sound, we only wrote his model number to order the part . nothing was disconnected , TV had a picture with bad sound when we left the house.
2- I was never on vacation, one time he called and we told him it is on factory back-order and still is . please see below


***** ************* *** **** ****

Sharp parts and accessories 
Sharp DKEYMF612FM01 Kmb Main Unit
Part Number*************
Description *** **** ****
Substitute Partn/a
Estimated WeightUnknown
Alias part numbers
Box DimensionsUnknown
In StockNo
Estimated Ship Date04/07/2016or 2 days
On Vendor Purchase OrderNo
Total Price
233.50
kkkk








3-We never hanged up on him
4- His dispute should be only for $49.00 because $51.00 was refunded to him on the day he cancelled. please see the attachment.

Desired Settlement:
It was only fair to charge him $49, although we could have charged him an additional $51 for cancelling the order


Your truly
**** *****
Service manager
City electronics

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: they did disconnect my cables and that is why I could not watch the tv

 While waiting for the part I didn't even need! And the only reason I canceled was the part was available by the mfg and only would take 1 day? Why was it taking over 1 month? How would I have known the owner was on vacation unless that was what I was told when ibeanted to speak with him. Bottom line..they had me waiting for a part for 1 month and that was not even the problem. All I want at this point is to file a complaint with the BBB so if others check his complaints about how this business they may think twice. 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on City Electronics
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart