This business is not BBB accredited.

Slipstream Electronics

Phone: (916) 247-8700 3226 Garfield Ave, Carmichael, CA 95608 View Additional Web Addresses ! Slipstream Electronics is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Slipstream Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 2012 Business started: 02/14/2007 Business started locally: 02/14/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 84496.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00966409. On 3/3/2016 BBB confirmed that the license from Contractor's State License Board expired.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. James Malcolm, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Malcolm, Owner
Business Category

Contractor - Electrical Electricians Contractor - Low Voltage Systems

Products & Services

Slipstream Electronics offers the following product(s): Company offers sales of electronics.

Products & Services

Slipstream Electronics specializes in electrical contracting services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3226 Garfield Ave

    Carmichael, CA 95608 (916) 247-8700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** (owner) took a deposit from us in November of $4000 and became very aggressive after he had our money he has not shown up to do any work and does not return calls, etc. Its now April and we feel he stole $4000 from us.

Desired Settlement: I'd like ***** to refund our money in full as he has not provided any services at all. He did not provide a detailed statement of work as requested and refused to provide a drawing of the work he was to do despite committing to deliver this when we gave him the money.***** also used intimidation towards my wife on one of his visits while he was in our home.

Business Response: This is completely incorrect. 

 
I had numerous times been over to Mr. ** ******* house. On November 9th 2013 I submitted a full work quote as well as timeline for completion. On November 9th 2013 he accepted this quote via email as well as placed a deposit of $4000.00 dollars to order components for the installation. At that movement we had scheduled the install for Dec 2nd, 2013 - Dec 10th, 2013. ***See Attached Email***. On November 15th, 2013, He contacted us via email to request if we could move up the install due to his family going to be at his home sooner. ***See Attached Email***  We contacted him via phone to notify him that we were completely booked. He sent us an email on the 16th of November, stating that he had spoken to his wife, and they would like to move the install to January. ***See Attached Email*** We agreed to this. In January He called me requesting a meeting to discuss some additional work that they wanted to add to the scope of the project. We agreed and met with him on January 10th 2013. Everything was great and we returned to the office to update the quote. About 3 hours later we received an email stating that they wanted to cancel the entire project. ***See Attached Email***. This is our response, also ***See Attached Email***. 
 
***Emailed January 10th. 2013***
*****,

I am very disappointed that you are trying to cancel our contract after I have done so much and spent so much time and money preparing for it. Under California law you can not cancel a contract after three days except for extenuating circumstances. Your wife or you having a change of heart does not qualify. See here under department of consumer affairs terms of contract cancellation.
 
 
I am also disappointed that you are threatening me with your attorney after you brought this on. Under California law you cannot involve an attorney if you, the individual are making a claim towards me for under $10,000.00. If you feel the need to escalate this to court it will be in small claims court. See here.
 
 
If you choose this option, I will counter sue you for all of the money I am out of pocket, court fee's and my time.
 
I wish to avoid this so the only option I can come too is this. I will turn over all materials except for paint and primer since I have not purchased them yet. Once you pay the difference plus 4 hours of my time that I have spent dealing with this matter we can conclude our business. This amount comes to $2711.46.
 
The breakdown is as follows.
Total of parts minus primer and paint: $5843.94
Sales Tax for said parts: $467.52
Four hours of labor: $400.00
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Total: $6711.46
Minus Deposit: -$4000.00
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Remaining Balance: $2711.46
 
If you find this an acceptable coarse of action, I will accept check or cash. if you pay by check I will hold the parts for one week after we receive the check to make sure it clears and is not canceled. If you pay with cash, once received, I will deliver parts on the spot at the location of your choosing.
 
Please advise on how you would like to proceed.
***************************************************************************
 
Everything I have done has been exactly within the scope of California law. I had put $2300.00 dollars out of pocket on top of the $4000.00 dollar deposit for all of the parts for this order. His response to this was "Just return them". I had stated, that these items are not returnable because they were purchased from a wholesale distributor, which they do not accept returns unless they are defective. He stated he did not care and it was not his problem. At that time he also had threatened me with civil action if I did not comply to his request. As of today, I have not received a summons to court. All I want to rectify this matter is stated above, which is for him to abide by the contract he agreed to and pay for the parts we are out of pocket on.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: 

 
***** has conveniently fabricated this story to avoid doing any work for money he has been paid.
 
The reality is ***** has been at our house a total of three times.  
First time - to look at the work we wanted done
Second time - to deliver and review his quote where I gave him a deposit of $4000.00 and we agreed he'd deliver a more detailed plan including a drawing of what he end result would look like (specific details other than a materials list).
Third time - after several calls from me he came out again to go over the work he was supposed to do and review some minor changes we were thinking of.  ***** immediate reaction was quote: "I need to tear up the original quote and do a complete new one, this is going to be a lot more money" ***** also went on to say that several of the requests I had were stupid and he was going to do the work another way than what we requesting.  ***** was confrontational and offensive.  I had 3 adults at the house who all heard this and after ***** left they were shocked at his lack of respect and we all agreed he was just trying to grab more money from us.
 
Shortly after this meeting I called ***** and told him that we were not comfortable with him or his approach, trying to determine what his problem was.  ***** started using profanity and got very angry at which point I suggested perhaps us working together was not a good idea.  ***** hang up on me and so I followed up with the email canceling the work requesting the deposit be returned as he had said in front of us all that he had not done anything specific to our job.  This is the point were ***** return my email requesting more money.
 
I called ***** again shortly after this email giving him enough time to compose himself and calm down.  Again this call was one where ***** used a great deal of profanity and was verbally abusive and agin hung up on me.
 
Its been 5 months we have not heard from James, he took $4000 of our money and delivered nothing.  In my opinion this is theft.
 
I believe a refund of our money is appropriate and in line with good business practices.

Business Response: All I can say is WOW!

 
#1. Everything you have said so far is a lie, and here is the proof.
 
Posted on home advisor.
"***** stole thousands of dollars from us. We found out later that he has a track record of taking deposits and disappearing which is exactly what he did with us. No calls back he's vanished. Do not work with this person. He also became threatening to our family do not let him into your home. He can not be trusted!"

I have never taken a deposit and disappeared, There was one minor issue with a customer which I was on medical leave, which I had already performed the work. The extra funds they provided was for a part. That customer was taken care of. You have not called me since you threatened me with civil action. I have always had the same number. I would like to see proof of these call I have not responded to.

#2. Your so called minor changes, were a complete radical change of the room. Which included a coffered ceiling, adding a drop down projection system, and stone tiling a wall. Any contractor in there right mind would have to re-quote the job. I dont like to make matters personal, but since it seems I must here is my you changed you mind. During our last meeting, after we had discussed your ideas, you asked your wife to weigh in on what you were requesting. She did not seem all that thrilled with what you wanted to do. I dont think you discussed it with her at all by the looks she was giving you. At some point she said do what ever and walked out. I think any financial decision should be discussed with your spouse, at least that is my opinion. Yes I did say I needed to make a whole new quote. Any work no matter how small, should have a written quote or change order, also it is GOOD practice when a customer asks you to make changes that would add several thousand dollars to the bottom line. Now I as well have witnesses to our interaction. The day you called to make changes, the call was on speaker since I was in the car driving. I have an employee which over heard everything. I also have a witness to the conversation after you requested your cancellation.

#3. Quoted "Shortly after this meeting I called ***** and told him that we were not comfortable with him or his approach, trying to determine what his problem was.  ***** started using profanity and got very angry at which point I suggested perhaps us working together was not a good idea.  ***** hang up on me and so I followed up with the email canceling the work requesting the deposit be returned as he had said in front of us all that he had not done anything specific to our job.  This is the point were ***** return my email requesting more money."
 
I never once said I would give a refund on your deposit. I stated on our phone call in which you became irate, that I have purchased equipment and supplies above and beyond the total of his deposit. As well as if he choose not to proceed for any such reason that I would be more then happy to give him the equipment I special ordered for his project, if he were to pay the difference. I bealive that is a far compromise in any situation. I am not in the business of "Stealing" from my customers, because that would hurt my business, myself, and my family. Plus the fact that I have over 70 5 star reviews and 11 4 star reviews vs 3 2 star reviews and 2 1 star reviews which one of which is yours. That speaks for it self. Also I am highly rated on angies list. I have numerous customers which will attest to my business ethic and 3 of which put down HUGE amounts well over 40k each, and all are very happy customers.

#4.  I am curious for reason you have not pursued legal action toward this matter as threatened? If you say I have stole thousands of dollars from you, I would think any person in there right mind would take this course of action to recover there funds, at least I would. I think if you did this, any judge or magistrate would tell say you dont have a leg to stand on. We have a contract which you stated you would not like to pursue. I am ok with that but, you by law once a contract is agreed on it can not be canceled after 3 days. I have offered fair compensation which it seems you have refused, which brings us to this current situation. I, as the owner of this company have an obligation to protect the well being of the company. 

 
#5. No where did we agree to a drawing. If there is please provide proof that I was to provide a drawing? It was never mentioned or requested. No email I have ever received states anything about a drawing. Even for the upgrade, we had reviewed numerous pictures via the internet on google, but that was the extant of our graphical research.


#6. Since you will not pursue the necessary legal action, I will save you the trouble and pursue it my self. I wish to avoid this, but since we cant come to an amicable arrangement I think this would be the right thing to do to recover what is owed. Please prepare to receive a summons.
 



Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
What more can I say, a crafted story for convenience.  ***** is big on the words but very short on deliverables.  He can attempt to try and discredit everything to force things to go round and round.  The fact of the matter is he has thousands of our dollars for service he said he would provide and has delivered nothing, this he can not dispute.
 
If you had any ethics or moral fibre you'd refund my money.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ignored several voicemail and text messages for service/support. No response at all. Parts order pending unfulfilled. Warranty unfulfilled. Contractor installed outdoor landscape lights. Several of them became inoperative. Contacted for warranty service and ordered replacement parts. Ignored several subsequent phone calls and text messages requesitng delivery of parts and service call to replace defective units. Appears to be out of business. Concerned about him taking deposits on jobs from unsuspecting clients.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of defective light components; delivery of replacement parts ordered

Business Response: Initial Business Response
#1. Your lights in the tree have no warranty as discussed on installation due to tree movement and growth. #2. Your so called attempts to contact us were to a personal cell phone which we do not have access to. You have not once called our main business line and or left us an email. #3. We have always taken VERY good care of you.. Every time you have needed service we have been there generally same day or when you are first available. Even on the last call, we did not even charge you due to the fact that you were a good customer even though one of your own family members messed up your equipment. #4. I told you that I would be more then happy to see what I could do to help you with those lights. You said "dont worry it not something that needs to be done ASAP, so get to it when you can". #5. When have I ever taken money and ran?? I would expect that kind of a malicious comment from someone else but not you, even after you gave me a $4000 deposit and I fulfilled that contract without one problem. #6. If you were so unhappy with our service why did you send us a large referral.. you can even ask him about my service which has always been top notch. As we sit we are even. You have not put down any kind of a deposit, payment or an official order. I neither owe you nor want to provide you service.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Slipstream Electronics
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)