Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Martin Dentistry

Phone: (209) 951-4251 Fax: (209) 951-4822 View Additional Phone Numbers 1310 E Swain Rd Ste 2, Stockton, CA 95210 http://martinimplants.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Martin Dentistry meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Martin Dentistry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Martin Dentistry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1973 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dental Board of CA
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550, Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 729-7789
Fax Number: (916) 263-2140
dentalboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 23740.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Andrew Smith, Office Manager Dr. Dax Martin, Management Dr. Douglas Martin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Smith, Office Manager
Business Category

Dentist - Dental Implants Dentists

Alternate Business Names
Douglas M. Martin, DDS

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Martin Dentistry has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1310 E Swain Rd Ste 2

    Stockton, CA 95210 (866) 319-6980 (209) 951-4251

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the second time. My wife and I started seeing this Dentist November 2014. First time we were there, he charged us over $300 for things we didn't need and of course, the insurance didn't pay for them. We paid the charges anyways. This November, my wife gone in for a cleaning. The cleaning was covered by insurance but we recived a bill for $174 which the insurance rejected. This extra was called "Peiodontal Prophylaxis". I have no idea what it is. I called and they are closed for two weeks. Thank you,

Desired Settlement: I told them last time to let people know and ask for permistions before doing anything. Maybe you can do a better job of ordering them to do just that. Thank you,

Business Response:

Martin Dentistry wishes to respond to the complaint submitted on 11/29/2015 regarding service issues. We have reviewed the complaint. **** *** and ***** *** reported to our practice for evaluation on 10/30/14. We diagnosed necessary treatment at that time and explained to **** and ***** *** the reason for the treatment. We have signed Treatment Plans for each patient. This Treatment Plan, signed by **** and ***** ***, confirm that they were both shown in wri**** the necessary treatment and the required co payments.

We rendered the recommended care in a timely manner, but there seems to be some confusion on the part of **** and ***** *** as to the reason for their care. It is our policy to explain treatment at the time of diagnosis as well as before rendering care at a later. We cover the risks, benefits and alternatives for any recommended treatment. We require that patients understand and consent to treatment. If after our explanation a patient has any further questions as to the reasoning for care, then patients have a responsibility to delay treatment and ask for more explanation. We are very accommodating and will schedule treatment plan consultations with our Treatment Coordinator, ****** *******, free of charge at any time.

Part of the difficulty seems to be that we did not collect the patients portion at the time of care. Patients may opt to be billed after insurance pays their portion and that is what occurred this this case. As a courtesy to our patients we send all insured patients a copy of the bill we send to the insurance companies, so they can check on status of payments and stay informed because ultimately, if there insurance doesn’t pay for something, it becomes the patient’s responsibility to take care of balance, so we try to keep them in the loop. Most patients call us for information on receipt of this bill and we explain the purpose.

However **** came down to the office upset about bill he received for $174.00. We tried to explain that was the total amount for the procedure being sent to insurance, and this was just to keep him informed and we were wai**** for insurance to pay its portion for the periodontal cleaning. It is clear that there was some confusion about this and despite our efforts to explain our policy, **** *** left very upset.

**** returned to our office to pay his actual his actual copayment for his wife’s periodontal cleaning on 1/5/16 which was $8.50 after the insurance paid their portion. **** didn’t say or inquire into anything he just made his payment and left. Currently the *** family has a 0.00$ balance with our office.

Concerning the claim that **** *** was unable to contact us. Our office never closes for 2 weeks. The office is open 5 days a week, 8:30 to 5:30 except Wednesday office hours are7:00 to 3:30. We are closed for the following holidays New Years day, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. This year we took 3 extra days off that we were closed for: the day after Thanksgiving, and Christmas Eve, and New Years Eve. However, even when the office is closed we have an after hours answering service and one of the Doctors is always on call to care for patients at any time of the day.

I have attached copies of **** *** and ***** ***’s signed of treatment plans and also full print outs of accounts for both patients lisiting procedure, costs, insurance and patient amounts paid. Hopefully this clears up any confusion and answers and questions regarding these patients.

Thank you

Martin Dentistry

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: The treatment was not rendered at time of service.  My wife gone in for a normal cleaning.  She only stayed for for 15 minutes.  Later, we were send a bill for "deep cleaning" of $174.00.  On the bill, it show that if not paid with in 30 days, there would be a 2% added to bill.  So, I gone in and tried to reason with them by asking why charge for something not render (I also taped the conversation on my cell phone, there were about 8 people there),  They are giving false information.  Also, they send me a second bill showing the insurance paid their portion with a balance of $8.50.  I had to paid that or will get a 2% increase.  My opinion-it looked like insurance fraud.  Thank you, **** ***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Martin Dentistry
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart