Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sierra Pacific Home and Comfort is a Sacramento heating and air and Sacramento solar company servicing the Greater Sacramento area. Sierra Pacific has provided service to over 24,000 customers in Sacramento and Placer Counties and surrounding cities.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sierra Pacific Home & Comfort, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sierra Pacific Home & Comfort, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sierra Pacific Home & Comfort, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 1990 Business started: 03/01/1984 in CA Business started locally: 03/01/1984 Business incorporated 03/09/1984 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 453302.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Hanson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Hanson, President
Business Category

Contractors - Solar Energy Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Wind Energy Systems Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair

Refund and Exchange Policy
Customer Satisfaction Guarantee
Products & Services

heating and air, home performance, solar electricity, solar heating, solar hot water, solar attic fans, solar pools, insulation, tankless water heating, pool pump equipment, Lennox

Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service Tips for Building a Swimming Pool

Additional Locations

  • 2550 Mercantile Dr Ste D

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95742 (916) 340-1151

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not done business with this company. They have sent me numerous mail solicitations. On both March 18, 2016 and April 12, 2016 I asked them to stop soliciting me by postal mail. They continue to contact me, including on early June 2016. Letters show either the company logo or the company owner in return address. My requests to have them stop soliciting me have been ignored. If I were in the market for their products, I would not do business with them.

Desired Settlement: No further contact by business. Business will make changes to their advertising so that when any person first contacts them to request no advertising, they will stop all further contact with that person and with their residence. Phone number and email posted on their web page of employee responsible to stop further contacts.

Business Response:

I apologize. I will review the address of this consumer and make sure it is provided to the mailing center to remove from our lists for mail.

Anytime a consumer requests to be removed from our mailing list, my staff will provide that address to the mailing center to be removed from our mailing lists. It is possible that another mailing may go out again because the address was already populated onto a letter before the request was received by the mailing house.

We will identify this one address specifically and make sure it is on our DO NOT MAIL list.

I apologize for your concerns. 

Kind Regards,

***** ******* President

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

If the business follows up as they describe, then it will be an acceptable resolution to the complaint.

 


5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After spending $30,000.00 on a solar system with Sierra Pacific and only three months, we noticed that one panel was producing only 1/3 of the energy that the panels around it in the same cluster and roof location were producing. After three phones calls to them in which we felt we were getting the run around they would only agree to come test/check the panel unless we would agree to pay $150.00. They would tell us in one phone call that the panel in question was more shaded even though it was in the middle and the one on the top and bottom were producing much more. Then in another phone call they said that the panels were registering incorrectly and that the bottom panel was producing less. They switched the monitoring system via computer to reflect this after that phone call. This makes me have a real trust issues with this company. We have four clusters of panels on our roof. Every other panel in every other cluster is producing the same as the panels around it. Why would it be that this one and only panel would be different?

Desired Settlement: I would like them to test the panel for free and replace it if needed. At this point, even if they come out I'm worried they won't even really test it and just say its fine.

Business Response:

I am reviewing this information and will respond in greater detail once I have been able to investigate further.

As an interim response I will note the following:

We provide a ****** solar resource analysis to our clients before the installation to identify production for the overall system. It is noted that the annual production of the entire system is at a high level.

The company is able to review production of the modules and the system as a whole. The overall production of the solar electric system is greater than the projected amount of kilowatt hours that the State of California calculator projects. Which means our solar electric system as a whole is producing very well.

One module may perform less than other modules based on having less access to the sun. According to our monitoring system and the data compared to the ****** report, we see the panel is performing at a level that indicates it is within specifications. 

Sierra Pacific does not charge any fee send two technicians out to the home, get on the roof, remove a module and test it when we see a performance issue that is out of specifications. If we do see the module is performing within specification and the homeowner requests that we come out anyway, we offer to come out to perform the test on the module. If the test proves that module is not within specification (in essence, the monitoring system is providing false data) we do not charge for that test. However, if we discover that the test proves the module is performing correctly, and that the monitoring is accurate, we collect a fee for the work involved. The fee is $150.00. To clarify, we have technology that reports problems to us to via the monitoring system. We are only collecting a fee to recover our cost to verify the information we already have is correct.

I will review this further with Sierra Pacific staff and reply with more information.

Respectfully Submitted,

***** ******

President

Sierra Pacific Home & Comfort

Business Response: We have sent the required information to the manufacturer and we are awaiting their response and warranty support to send us a replacement module. We are no longer monitoring the situation to determine a course of action. We have initiated the warranty procedures with the manufacturer and are dependent on their next action to support us that will allow us to support our client.

***** ******
President
Sierra Pacific Home & Comfort

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

 

This is true but I do not want to close this complaint until the new panel is installed and functioning the same as the others in that cluster.

 

**** ***********


11/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I continue to receive advertisements in the mail from Sierra Pacific Heating and Air. The article sent is very misleading!!!! It states: Service Reminder/ your furnace/heat is due for an annual safety inspection. Name,address,and 800 number is given. Next in bold type: Have your heating system inspected immediately. It goes on about rebates. I called Sierra Pacific last season when I received a flyer through the mail stating basically the same. I did not purchase my heating and air through them and asked them to take my name off their mailing list. I am able to spot a poor advertising scheme! It's the elderly that I am speaking up for. Our senior population my not see this as a trick to get them to schedule with Sierra Pacific. This type of advertisement needs to be addressed.

Desired Settlement: I would BBB to take action on this matter and reply to me. I do not want to talk to Sierra Pacific again. I tried last year and was told they would take my name off their mailing list.Also, was told that they have had others complaining and that the issue would be forwarded to the appropriate person. That didn't work! This time is wasn't a 8x10 colored flyer is was a postcard size card that was made to look very official and urgent that I call the.!!!

Business Response:

This post card is simply an annual service reminder going out all clients we have contact with. It's a reminder to have their heating system system inspected once a year.

I have taken this address and sent it to firm that handles our mailing data and instructed them to make sure not mail from my company goes to this home again.

I apologize that the reminder note is unwelcome and I am glad to not mail anything to that address again.

Respectfully,

***** ******

*********

9/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday on the 20th of August I noticed a fault on my Inverter status panel of my solar system that I have a alarm stating that I have DC generator fault ..a arc gap issue. With this fault my solar system does not operate so I am using **** power. So I called Sierra Pacific Home Comfort and advised them of this fat on my inverter panel on Friday the 21st. On Monday they sent out to two technicians while working with a ***** *** technician or SMA on the phone and reset the ***** *** Inverter and cleared the fault after determining they found no other issues with the Solar System. It was operational till Wednesday then the fault returned. I called Wednesday night To Sierra Pacific and left a message. The next morning I had no return call till 10:30 a.m. I called them and was advised that **** will call me back in two hours but found that unacceptable. I **** myself and spoke to him and advised that I am leaving town and will not be back for several days. He advised me that he could not promise but he will try to get someone out tomorrow at 2 on Friday. They will try to reset this inverter again. I advised him of my reservation that this will clear the problem. He advised they may have to replace the inverter.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to replace the inverter and would like to see a diligence and zeal in repairing issues as they do in their zeal in promoting and selling their products. I will lose capability of my solar system for several days because of this issue and will not be reimbursed for the loss of the capability of this solar system. There is a warranty on this system but it does not cover the nonoperation of the solar system where I pick up the high cost of power. I would like some compensation

Business Response: We are responding to the service request. We are responding quickly and meeting all the support of our installation per our agreement with the homeowner. There is a warranty for the product and our service. We provide the labor accordingly. The manufacturer provides the product/parts according the specified warranty. The client has incurred no costs for the service and we are working to quickly respond; accordingly we responded and made a repair within a day of his request. While repairs like this are not common nor frequent, when they do occur our track record is to respond within days; this is not specified in our warranty but we work to complete requests in a timely manner. In this case we are able to respond within a couple days. At this time the homeowner is not available at the time of our next opening, tomorrow. We have already created a plan to respond sooner should other operational commitments be completed sooner than expected. 

Consumer Response: Sierra Pacific did respond quickly and that is appreciated but this is the second time they had to come out on this issue. They have given me instructions to clear the fault on the inverter in case it happens again but have concerns that I will have troubles with this inverter in the future since we have had problems with this before. I have spoke to the foreman **** before where they have said that it may be a few days to take care of the problem, but somehow they responded quickly but with some prodding. As I mentioned in the complaint the maintenance response leaves me leery that they will not have this great response as they did this time. I have called before with issues and I get a answer that they cannot promise a response and they say they may go into over a week before they can. If that occurs it leaves me without solar. I would just say they seem short staffed on their maintenance for responses such as mine thus affecting service. I would like to keep this complaint open at this point since this appears it may be a ongoing problem.  This issue never occurred for over a year and half since this solar system has been installed till the 20th of August.  Since then it faulted again on Wednesday the 26th and made my solar capability inoperable. I need a response from SMA as to why this equipment is faulting and what recourse I will need to take if this occurs again instead of just a reset of the fault that can only be detected by my visual detection and presence.   This of course does not assure me that this issue is resolved.  Every time  this Inverter faults my solar is inoperable. What happens when I go out of town or away for some extended time.  How will Sierra Pacific address those concerns?

Business Response: We will continue to respond quickly to service requests as they occur and will go through the systematic process of resolving the issue per the manufacturers instructions. Out intent is to eliminate the fault from occurring. Our installations experience a miniscule percentage of service repairs but we continue to exceed industry service times and standards when they do occur. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sierra Pacific Home & Comfort, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)