Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

R.A.L. Builders, Inc.

Phone: (916) 960-4889 Fax: (916) 960-4892 View Additional Phone Numbers 500 Giuseppe Ct Ste 1, Roseville, CA 95678

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R.A.L. Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on R.A.L. Builders, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 10, 1993 Business started: 08/01/1993 in CA Business incorporated 08/02/1993 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00677466.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Philip Raynal, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Philip Raynal, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Awnings & Canopies

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 500 Giuseppe Ct Ste 1

    Roseville, CA 95678


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Job is not complete because of frames on sunroom hammered in with raw edges and is causing screens to rip. Workmanship is very sloppy. **** has back dated the bill to the start date and has over charged me from contract. Now he is demanding payment without fixing the problems. I have everything documented in pictures but do not know how to send them. **** ******** *****

Desired Settlement: I want him to replace the bent frames and torn screens,and correct sloppy work. He also is billing me for material I did not receive.

Business Response:

In response to her original complaint filed on 3/16/16 Job is not complete because of frames on sunroom hammered in with raw edges and is causing screens to rip. Workmanship is very sloppy. **** has back dated the bill to the start date and has over charged me from contract. Now he is demanding payment without fixing the problems. I have everything documented in pictures but do not know how to send them. **** ********.  
We were actually surprised to receive the BBB complaint letter. We have been in constant contact with her (as you will see in the timeline/chain of events below) to set a time to go over the issues and repair them we never at any time told her we wouldn’t fix the items she requested.  We never at any time back dated any bills – we do not charge customers until we start the work and do not expect payment in full until we finish including the Electrical.  We were not aware of any issues with billing nor did we ever over charge her from the original amount and in fact gave her a credit.  We responded to her each and every time she contacted us.  The only email that went unanswered was the one that had all the photos attached that went into our junk/spam mailbox – once we were aware of this we contacted her immediately both via phone and email.  When **** and *** left her home on March 22, 2016 she sent in payment and led us to believe all was well.  Once she contacted us again we immediately set out to find a time to return to the property.  Sometimes out best efforts just don’t work out due to scheduling conflicts – we try to meet the needs of all customers in a timely manner. We will continue to address all of her concerns and make repairs as warranted as soon as we possibly can. 
The below chain of events is in response to **** ******** complaint against R.A.L. Builders, Inc.
**** the owner of the company met Ms. ******** on January 15, 2016 and a contract was signed for a screen room.  (Please see attached Contract and scope of work). At this time she gave us an $800 deposit which we applied to her account.  We started the Permit Process and HOA approval process.
Communication Log:
Jan 25, 2016 we received HOA approval – Applied for Building Permit same day
Jan 26, 2016 text exchange between Ms. ******** and **** (owner of R.A.L.) - & Phone Conversation regarding Landscaper/Concrete work done by others.
Jan 28, 2016- **** went out & met with Ms. ******** to go over her concerns with the work done by the landscape company which was not a part of our contract.
Jan 31, 2016 – Text message to **** - He responding the next day 2/1 because he was working at a Home Show – regarding Landscaper issue – again not our scope of work but we were happy to help where would could.
Feb 2, 2016 - we received the Approved Building Permit.
Feb 10, 2016 Screen Room was put into production – and her screen room was placed on the install schedule for the week of February 22, 2016.
Feb 18, 2016- text from Ms. ******** - **** replied on 2/19
Feb 19, 2016 – Ms. ******** asked us to postpone install because she was unhappy with the concrete work done by the landscaper- her exact text message was “you need to schedule someone else for next week I cannot start another project with this mess in my backyard”.  We then rescheduled her install for the following week of Feb 29, 2016.
Feb 29, 2016 Install scheduled – crew arrived at the property and started Screen Room. 
Mar 2, 2016 Screen Room was completed for the exception of the electrical which is performed by a licensed Electrician.
Mar 4, 2016 – We received text messages with items she wanted reviewed and changed.  We immediately replied and said we would be out as soon as the electrician was finished.
Please note at this point she had not paid us for any of the work other than her initial deposit.
Mar 15, 2016 -Electrical completed by ******** ********. **** attempted to stop by that very day but Ms. ******** had to leave for a family emergency
Mar 17, 2016 -we received a certified letter containing multiple pictures with a letter stating she also emailed the letter and pictures to us.  This letter prompted us to look for her email.  Due to the size of the email and the number of pictures our email system thought it was spam/or a virus and sent it to our spam folder.  We immediately called her and left a voicemail message as well as sent an email asking her to call us so we can set a time to address all of her concerns and punch list items.  The office staff also notified the owner of the Company (**** ******) of the email/letter containing the list of items she would like addressed.  **** also reached out to her via phone.
Side note: We did not have any knowledge at this point that she has filed a complaint to the BBB. 
Mar 18, 2016 – Ms. ******** responds to our email from Mar 17, stating she had spoken with **** and let him know that she had been out of town and would not be back until late on Mar 18.  He said he was unavailable that afternoon but would be available either Tuesday 3/22 or Thursday 3/24.  – We then responded also on March 18 that we would pass along her response to ****.
The appointment was set for March 22 at 10AM.
March 22, 2016 10AM – **** and *** arrived at her home where she had a gallery of 5 additional people to help point out the areas that she would like address.  Each area was marked with blue tape.  **** and *** looked at each item (some of which she couldn’t even remember what the issue was).  At this point *** stayed onsite and completed all of her requests including some additional items that we were not a part of the screen room contract.  Later in the afternoon Ms. ******** emailed the office stating the work was done and asked for her final bill including a credit that **** happily approved.  We emailed the invoice to her that same day, March 22, 2016.
March 25, 2016 – We received a certified letter containing payment for the Screen Room, Electrical and Permit.
**please note**At this point she appeared to be satisfied and we still had no knowledge of the BBB complaint.
March 29, 2016 @ 4:58PM we received another email with 5 photos attached stating the roof was leaking and that a screen was torn.  At 5:00PM she sent another email saying she had sent us more pictures please check our email to make sure we received.  Please note our office is closed at 4:00PM so we did not receive the emails until the following day, March 30, 2016. We immediately responded with an email that said we let **** know and he instructed us to put it on ***’s schedule as soon as possible. (We are currently scheduling 3 weeks out due to high volume of work).
March 31, 2016 – We received the letter from the BBB with her complaint.  This was our first knowledge of this.  We immediately contact the BBB to find out what the process was to address the complaint.  We then started to gather all of the information to send in response. 
April 5, 2016 -After many attempts to coordinate a time for **** and *** to return to Ms. ********s home we offered the date of Monday April 11, 2016.  An email was sent to Judy on April 5, 2016.  She responded the same day with a one line email saying “I will not be home on the 11th”.  We then sent her another message on April 6, 2016 asking if Tuesday April 12 would work.  Her response was “Yes Tuesday is fine just give me a time”.  We then sent a response to say Tuesday April 12 – to which she responded “Thank you the time doesn’t matter as much as knowing when so I am not sitting here all day”  We then responded with between 9-10AM
April 11, 2016 – Unfortunately we had to reschedule to the afternoon because we were notified that *** needed to be onsite at a different job site to receive concrete and this was the only time slot.  We had no choice but to move the appointment to the afternoon.  Her response was:
“On March 29 I sent you an email to check your email because I had sent pictures of more torn screens and where the roof is still leaking in two places as it has been from the beginning that was two weeks ago and the third time out with the same problems no tomorrowafternoon I have plans I left the morning open because that's when you said Ted was coming this is not acceptable do not contact my nephew ***** ***** anymore ****”
Our response:
“We apologize for the inconvenience, unfortunately we have a concrete pour tomorrow during that time period that we cannot change, and we were not notified until today.  Your earlier email message stated you would be home all day.  We understand schedules change.  We have left a message for **** to call you to reschedule.”
Her response to our back to us:
“I did not say I would be here all day I'm going out of town and I changed it because I had waited two weeks I made it very clear I needed a time that I was not going to sit here all day I will be gone the rest of the week I have changed plans and canceled other jobs I'm not gonna change my plans again ****”
Second email received on 4/11/16 at 7:15PM (after business hours)
“Just for the record I tex **** I said I would not be available tomorrow afternoon or the rest of the week I never said I would be home all day if you look back through the emails you will see that stated I would be here when I was given a time I find it interesting that I was canceled out due to a concrete pour **** told me he didn't do concrete that's why he brought ****** to my house????”
Our response on 4/12/16
We understand your frustration. Just to clarify - we do not do finish concrete work as communicated to you by ****, the concrete pour today was for in ground footings and setting posts.  Patio concrete flat work is a different process.  We did receive the pictures indicating drips of water outside the screen room off the edge of the roof and the tiny area of the screen that appears to be stretched.  Please contact us when you are available with 3 times that you will be home and we will make every effort to be there on one of these times.

Additional items to note:
During this entire time period we have also been receiving calls from Ms. ********’s nephew asking us to return to the property to make the necessary repairs which we assured him we would do as soon as possible.  We have every intention of addressing all of Ms. ********’s complaints and will continue to.
Once again, we will continue to make every effort to address all of her concerns and make repairs as warranted as soon as we possibly can.  
**** ******
R.A.L. Builders, Inc.
*** ******** ****** ***** * ********** **  *****

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I also have a calendar of events of how everything happened and pictures to prove it and witnesses that saw things the first scheduling was changed because of the bad cement work from his buddy someone he brought to the job and told me was the best to use him it was his recommendation and someone I thought was working with him I paid him in good faith thinking that all the torn screens and the roof leaking had been fixed it was raining at the time and I did not see that this was not done there was never any correspondence with him during the work time nor his workers and he never was going to come and see me when I had the emergency and had to leave I can back up everything I have said with emails photos and Witnesses he didn't give me a credit out of the goodness of his heart he gave me a credit because he used cheaper scream then originally was contracted for and he did back date the bills he sent me a bill on March 10th with a due date of March 1st and that was the first full day of work it was not the completion of anything if you want me to sit down and write out a day by day of what really happened and send pictures to prove it I can do that this was a sloppy job with no communication on *****s part until I started sending in pictures of rip screens and problems with the screened room I would like to know what work he thought he did that wasn't part of the job today he sent me an email stating that the pictures I sent with two additional rip screens look like they were just stretched they are definite holes and this keeps happening the drips that he calls from the roof are not coming off the top they are dripping through the insulation he has known this from the very beginning and the reason I paid was because I thought in good faith he had fix the problems but when the rain stopped and I could get out there and look at everything it was obvious there were more problems I gave him plenty of time to correct these things with no response two weeks and then he sends an email saying he's coming on Monday a day at which I was not going to be home then he schedules Tuesday morning I said fine I would be here I never said I was going to be here all day I said I needed a definite time I also have emails to prove this the electrician works for **** I was told that by the electrician and by **** in **** is the one that pays him and his work should have been done before everything was complete because the wiring was not done like it was supposed to be I am very unhappy with the workmanship I would never want anyone else to have to go through the experience that I have and end up with a product with poor workmanship **** ********

Business Response:

May 12, 2016





****, contractors State License Board

                Better Business Bureau

                **** ****, City of Lincoln Building Department

                **** ********  


Acknowledgement of Correction Notice on final inspection of screen porch located at *** ****** ****** ******** ** ***** by **** ******, owner of R.A.L. Builders, Inc.


R.A.L. Builders has spoken personally to **** **** who conducted the final inspection of said screened-in porch construct.


There are two corrections on the notice:


1.       Upon removing exposed flex line conduit that went vertically through existing 2”x 6” wall mount ledge against home, directly above existing porch light where previous line was tapped into in order to operate existing fan/light on existing open lattice cover. R.A.L. relocated the line over the top of the new insulated roof to fan location. In the bottom of the 2”x 6” ledge, a ½” drilled hole was patched and covered. However, in the top of the 2” x 6” ledge, a ½” hole where conduit went through was left open approximately 8’6” above the existing floor, completely out of sight. R.A.L. proposes to patch and seal this hole. This, as acknowledged, is not an electrical correction, but a decorative repair.


2.       On the north west exterior roof (beyond and not inside of new screen porch), water after rain drips off the corner and may continue for some time after a rain. This is due to the fact that the insulated roof is designed and built, per contract, with a drip edge. This dip edge is a C channel that creates a 1/8” dam on the top of the new roof as per “manufacturer’s design of product.” As rain flows over the roof, gravity will pull it to the top of the 1/8” C channel and will gradually drip over the 1/8” C channel, thus creating the drip. Note: This drip is not occurring inside said screen room. Should a leak occur inside the screen enclosure through the new roof structure, R.A.L. will be happy to return and repair any and all leaks through the warranty period. Please note: This is an open screen enclosure and that with inclement weather, rain can and will potentially blow in through screen walls.


Summary: R.A.L. Builders has maintained and will continue to stand behind its work now and in the future. These continued punch list items created by the home owner and attended to by R.A.L. in a timely manner are just that; punch list items. This should never have been turned into a formal complaint. With that being said, R.A.L. looks forward to passing final inspection and moving on.



Thank you,

**** ******

Owner, R.A.L. Builders

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: it is simply not true I sent you a package today with more of the same I don't care if you talk to the inspector that came out to my house they are friends and the inspector was the one that ran his hand over the hole in the light and wrote it up along with the leak in the roof I have contacted the manufacturer of the Rails that are bent and tearing the screens that **** said came that way from the factory I sent pictures to them and they said that was simply not true ****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on R.A.L. Builders, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)