Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Chung Custom Construction

Phone: (916) 730-2777 P.O Box 293444, Sacramento, CA 95829 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.chungcustom.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Chung Custom Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chung Custom Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2013 Business started: 05/30/2008 in CA Business started locally: 05/30/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 916418.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Chung, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Chung, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Floors - Laminate Construction & Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Awnings & Canopies Fence Contractors Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Carpenters

Products & Services

This company offers building and remodeling services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O Box 293444

    Sacramento, CA 95829 (916) 730-2777

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ***** of (Chung custom construction) has unlawfully ceased work, and abandoned the contracted work for building my desserts restaurant. He also stole Sheetrock bonding compound from the work site that i clearing paid for. On 2 emailed occasions , I reached out to him , to resolve the issue by meeting at the construction work site. To which he did not respond to mediate the issue in a civil manner. He did not have a payment schedule on the contract, to which he has been paid in total of $56,000 to date. In an email He replied that due to the first down payment check bouncing it voided that original contract. He did not offer a re evaluation to the contract, in facts we have paid him immediately with cash of $5000. we continued and made 3 more continuing payment in the total amount of $56,000. First $5000 cash, $18,000 in a cashiers check, $25000 in a cashiers check, then $8000 in cash . We have researched and found out that on his contract job list prices listed , in total he has only build up to the amount of $44,553, to which $11,443 is still in his possession. All we want is for my wifes and I hard earn money doesn't stay with him, in the hopes of opening our restaurant.

Desired Settlement: All we want is for our hard earn money doesn't stay with him, in the hopes of opening our restaurant. He owes us $12,443 and 1 month delay of work, in rent pay of $5,600 . In total $18,00 . All documents and emails and payment record available

Business Response:

To explain things from the beginning, Mr. **** provided us with a $5,000 check on December 8, 2015 in which he instructed us to deposit 3 days later, we waited until the 4th day December 12, 2015 to deposit the check (refer to Appendix A: bounced check showing check date December 8, 2015 and date of deposit December 12, 2015). However, the $5,000 check still bounced, which affected all the payments I paid out to my subcontractors and vendors.  (Please refer to Appendix B: Letter dated May 18, 2015 from **** and **** ****) Mr. **** stated

“we had paid in full a $5,000 deposit that we agreed on in order for the construction to start by your team.  We had written you a check in the amount of $5,000 in which you were informed to deposit 3 days after receiving it from us.  You disregarded those instructions and had deposited the check in advance of the agreed 3 days, thus negatively affecting your bank as well as ours.”

As show in Appendix B, we had agreed to deposit the check after the three days and had deposit the check on the fourth day.  Mr. **** had also forgot to mention, the required deposit amount was for $9,862 per the contract not $5,000, but because Mr. **** didn’t have the funds, we had agreed to $5,000.  Mr. **** paid us the $5,000 deposit in cash on December 21, 2015. 

Mr. **** also stated in his letter referenced in Appendix B:

“As we are new business owners who do not have adequate knowledge of what constitutes legal and proper construction conduct you have seemingly taken advantage of us in that fact.  In accordance to The Contractors State License Board (CSLB) the down payment amount we paid is more than sufficient for which you are obliged to not only start construction but complete in its entirety before the remaining balance would be paid in full to you. “

Mr. **** is referring to California Business and Professions Code Section 7159.5, subdivision (3), which referenced that if a downpayment will be charged, the downpayment may not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) or 10 percent of the contract amount, whichever is less.  This only applies to home improvement contract and home improvement contractor.  The contract that my company have with Mr. **** is for tenants’ improvement and building of a commercial restaurant or café.  The $5,000 in downpayment does not mean “we are obliged to complete the project in it’s entirety”. 

In addition, per Appendix B, Mr. and Mrs. **** stated:

                “Due to you abruptly stopping the construction at our restaurant you are the direct cause of the delays that had ensued… You had verbally promised that the construction of our restaurant would be completed around the 1st week of May and we had paid in full the deposit in which you requested of us, thus we see no reasons for the continuous delay on your end.”

We did promise Mr. and Mrs. **** that the restaurant could be completed around the 1st week of May. However, Mr. **** had forgot to include in his letter that we also stated, we could finish the project around the 1st week of May, if we received all the payments on time. We have constantly worked with Mr. and Mrs. **** to complete this project in a timely manner.  As you will see in the explanations and documents referenced below, we have always showed progress after we received the payments from Mr. and Mrs. ****, we completed portions of the projects as allow per time and funds provided. 

On January 10, 2016, I sent a first payment request for $25,000 which showed we completed rough framing, equipment order and started rough plumbing.  After a follow-up email on January 17, 2016 asking about the payment for the payment request, Mr. **** only paid $18,000 of the $25,000 requested on January 26, 2016.  (see Appendix C: Payment Request #1 and Copies of Cashier’s Check Paid. We then asked for another payment after completing additional work and Mr. **** paid $25,000 on March 3rd, 2016.  On April 4, 2016 we passed inspections for rough mechanical, plumbing, electrical, frame, and wall insulation.  On April 8, 2016 we passed inspections for under floor plumbing and rough accessibility (Refer to Appendix D: Inspection Sign-Off City of Vacaville).  This showed we provided work every time we received payments from Mr. ****.   Mr. **** then provided another payment of $8,000 on April 6, 2016.  During the same meeting to with Mr. **** on April 6, 2016, we specifically asked Mr. **** to get the payment for final portion of the project ready.  The $8,000 is for the amount of work for the next week or so.  Therefore, Mr. **** should have the payment ready to pay us before we move on to the last phase of the project.  Mr. **** stated, he is trying to find a partner and obtain additional funds to finish the project, because he has no more funds to pay us or to finish building out the restaurant.  After about two and a half weeks, we did not hear back from Mr. ****, I sent a text to him on April 24, 2016 asking about the financial status of the project, and stating that I wanted to finish his project as soon as possible, because we have other jobs waiting for us. (Refer to Appendix E: Text to Mr. ****)   Josh stated in his reply, he is setting up partners’ documents and obtaining funds.  I then stated to let us know by Wednesday April 27, 2016 or we have to schedule another project.  We have never received a phone call or an email after April 24, 2016 from Mr. ****.  We were still waiting for his call to provide us with the payment for the final portion of the project, when we received am email on May 15, 2016.  We were surprised to receive an email with a letter dated May 12, 2016 (Refer to Appendix F: First Letter from ****), stating:

                “Since I have not heard from you in several weeks concerning the continuation and completion of the            

Construction of the restaurant I am contacting you in regards to laying out how we can complete the construction at my restaurant.” 

 

We have been waiting for Mr. ****’s call since April 24, 2016.  Instead of hearing from him through the phone or email, we received a letter stating he has not heard from us.  At that point, I was confused as to why this letter (Appendix F) was sent, because during that time, I was waiting for him to provide me with the payment to finish the project. From the letter in Appendix F, we perceived that Mr. **** was unable to find a partner and obtain the necessary funds to finish the project.   

 

Mr. **** had accused me of steeling sheetrock bonding compound from the work site in the complaint he send to the Better Business Bureau. Mr. **** pays me for the work provided, which included the materials, those sheetrock bonding compounds he referred to were not his, since I paid for materials it, he did not purchase those materials his personal funds.  Maybe Mr. **** believed the money he had paid me constitute his funds, therefore, believing the materials at the site was his.  

 

In Mr. ****’s complaint to the Better Business Bureau, he also stated he had reach out to me to resolve the issue by wanting to meet at the construction work site on two emailed occasions. In addition, Mr. **** stated I did not respond to his emails.  However, I have never received any email from Mr. ****, not even a text message or phone call to meet at the construction site to work out any issues.  We never really had any issues, except with trying to obtain timely payments from Mr. ****.  Aside from that, prior to the May 12, 2016 letter, there was no problems to resolve.

 

Lastly, Mr. **** stated in the complaint to Better Business Bureau that we owe Mr. **** $18,000. He explained for one month delay of work (rent $5,600) and $11,443 for construction money.  Which added up to $17,043 not $18,000.  However, we had change orders for the jobs that we had to do in order for the project to be completed according to the updated plans required by the City of Vacaville (Refer to Appendix G: Updated plan from the City of Vacaville approved on 2/17/2016). .  There is one change order for the grease trap in the amount of $5,380.00.  (Appendix H: Change Order for Grease Trap).  This is one of the requirement from the City of Vacaville.  In order for the restaurant to be build we must put in the grease trap.   Mr. **** is aware of the requirement and understand that we must put in the grease trap in order for the construction to continue.  In addition, we had to put in the insulation in the amount of $2,350 per the updated plan (refer to Appendix I: change order for Insulation).  However, these amounts were not in the contract.  We also passed inspection on April 6, 2016 for the insulation (see Appendix D) .  We also had to update the fire sprinkler plans to add on three fire sprinkler heads as required per the updated plan.  The change order for the fire sprinkler is $1,500.00. (Refer to Appendix J: Fire Sprinkler Change Order)   I had used the funds which Mr. **** paid me, to pay for these costs, and had plan to do a change order later.  I had to do these changes according to the updated plan, in order to continue with the construction project and to try and complete this project on time.  Mr. **** also knows in order for him to open his restaurant he must build the restaurant in according to the approved plan from the City of Vacaville.  These added costs which is included in all the work that was completed totals up to be $56,508.

 

We constantly strived to complete the project in a timely manner.  However, it was difficult for us to finish on time due to Mr. and Mrs. ****’s funding hardship.  We continuously had to ask Mr. **** for payments throughout the project and he was not timely in paying the payments. 

Below are payments and events in chronological order (All dates and amounts are supported by Appendices referenced in this letter):

ð  Deposit check paid on 12/08/2016

ð  Check bounced and received noticed on 12/16/2016

ð  Cash deposit paid on 12/21/2016

ð  Work completed and 1st Payment Request Sent out for $25,000 on 01/10/2016

ð  Mr. and Mrs. **** paid $18,000 of the $25,000 requested on 01/26/2016

ð  Mr. and Mrs. **** paid $25,000 on 3/03/16

ð  Inspection signed off on 4/6/16 and 4/8/16

ð  Mr. and Mrs. **** paid $8,000 on 4/6/16

ð  Verbally requested final portion of payment to complete job on 4/6/16

ð  Last text message with Mr. **** on 4/24/16 where Mr. **** stated he was setting up partners and the checks. 

 

I hope this clears up any misunderstanding and/or misstatements Mr. **** had provided to the Better Business Bureau.  Due to the limitation of Attachment I can Attach, Appendix B, E, F, H, I, & J is available upon request. Please let me know if you need any additional documentation.  Thank you for your time in reviewing our respond. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chung Custom Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)