Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clarke & Rush Mechanical meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

20 Customer Reviews on Clarke & Rush Mechanical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 20
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 20

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1963 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1963 Business incorporated 07/31/1987 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 608005.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Patrick Rush, Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Rush, Officer
Business Category

Contractor - Insulation Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Contractor Windows - Installation & Service Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Contractors - Sheet Metal Windows Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Solar Energy System Design & Installation Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Berkan & Clark Heating & Air Clarke & Rush Insulation & Windows Clarke & Rush Mechanical Inc Dial One Metro Energy Isulation & Windows
Products & Services

Clarke & Rush Mechanical specializes in repair and maintenance on plumbing, ventilating and any air conditioning or heating units for residential and commercial consumers.

Industry Tips
Drain Your Pipes Not Your Wallet - Hire a Legitimate Plumber Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Clarke & Rush Mechanical has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4411 Auburn Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95841 (916) 609-2665


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Clarke & Rush come to my home to do a solar estimate. On the website, and via a chat online with a Clarke & Rush Representative, I was told that "just for having" the company come do an estimate, I would receive a $125.00 **** gift card. The Company has refused to honor that advertisement and is now telling me that I would only receive the gift card if I purchase a solar system. I believe that this is false advertising and very dishonest.

Desired Settlement: I would like Clarke and Rush to honor their advertisement and send me the $125.00 gift card.

Business Response: Just spoke with ******** and let her know that this was a miscommunication by one of our former employees and sincerely apologized for any inconvenience... We by all means honor the advertisement of the $125 **** Gift Cards for a Solar Estimate on a qualified home. We have ordered her $125 **** gift card today and she will be receiving it with the week.

Please let us know if you should have any questions or require additional information.

Thank You,
****** *******
Clarke & Rush - Brand Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

7/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an air conditioner and furnace from Clarke and Rush in August of 2012 at my rental property (* ***** ******* *** ********* *** *****) it's having problems. The company charged me an 89 dollar diagnostic fee and now want 369 dollars to put s dye in the system. This seems outrageous because it's only a 3 year old system. I got a 2nd opinion from another company and they said that I shouldn't have to be charged anything.

Desired Settlement: Repaired without a service fee.

Business Response: We talked with customer and informed her of the charges associated with the leak search & that her manufacturer warranty does not cover these charges. We told her that if the leak was due to Clarke & Rush’s installation and not due to a manufacturer part,  we would repair the leak at no charge & refund the dye leak search.

However, if it is due to a faulty manufacturer part she would be responsible for the labor, and the part would be covered under the manufacturer warranty.  We also sent her documentation on the manufactured part in question.

Please let us know if there is any additional information

Thank You, Clarke & Rush  

7/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new HVAC split system from Clarke-Rush on May 11, 2015 and installed on May 15, 2015. All parts and labor were paid paid for COD per the contract of $4,575. At first the system seemed to work just fine. On June 26th the system seemed to stop working with NO air flow from the AC system. Although the compressor was working fine there was no air =flow from the registers on Friday night it stopped working. We called and set an tech appointment for Monday. The earliest date and time was Monday 5-7 pm? All of a sudden the system started working on Monday in the am. We waited to see what would happen. The tech showed up and said the compressor was impacted with debri from mowing my lawn, and restricted flow from the air filter (replaced with the new system) I followed his instructions and hosed off the compressor coils and replaced the filter. It stopped working that night around 9:00 pm/ We let it go for a few days then called back to set up a new appointment. This time the same tech came out and said we had miss-programmed our **** thermostat. Next we waited to see if the system would correct itself. It did not. I called again to complain and the same tech came out and was very rude saying (we are idiots) and programmed the system for 80 degrees. At that moment he was right and I went back to reprogram the Nest going line by line to change the settings. After I did that it still did not work so I looked at all the You tube videos for this issue.NONE addressed our issued so I called the support line. After hours we realized we needed to check by replacing the NEST unit with the original. We did again, after hours of reconnecting the ********* thermostat to the original specs. So now it should work. It does NOT work. We are having an independent inspector come out to evaluate our system as certified by NEST.Your advised that after two chances to resolve this we will file a consumer complaint with the Department of Consumer affairs. We will hire an outside company to make the rep

Desired Settlement: NONE

Business Response: We have been in contact with the customer and have resolved the complaint. 

We sent out a senior technician and confirmed the lineset was undersized and the TXV needed to be replaced. We are correcting the problem and no charge and refunding the independant contractor, ******'s dignostic fee.

We sincerely apologize for any invconvenience this may of caused.

Clarke & Rush 

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was hired to repair heating unit. Sent technicians who installed inferior after-market parts not meeting requirements for unit, without consulting customer about choice of proper quality parts. Technicians installed materials improperly, causing further unit failure, and then attempted to get customer to purchase replacement unit as solution. Customer hired independent technician who identified inadequate work and materials from Clarke and ****, that left unit in a defective condition, and led to failure of heating unit.

Desired Settlement: That company remedy damage it has caused to unit. That is, Clarke and **** should provide competent, experienced and honest technician who will replace relevant parts in unit with appropriate manufacturer-quality materials, in proper locations, and in proper configurations. Clarke and **** should further pay for verification that work was completed properly, by independent technician.

Business Response: We are in communication with this customer. We should have this issue resolved within the next few days. 

Consumer Response: Clarke & **** sent a mechanic back to my house to correct improper work done on my heating unit, and that I subsequently had an outside mechanic verify that Clarke & **** used appropriate parts in this last repair.  Clarke & **** also sent me a $100 check, after I asked that they pay for the verification by the outside mechanic.  I am done dealing with Clarke & **** at this point.  I would add, however, that Clarke & **** has never explained to me why they did the work improperly in the first place, or why they initially used secondhand parts without telling me.  Nor did they have anything to say about my supposition that they had left the unit in a condition that would cause it to repeatedly fail, intending to get me to purchase a new unit.  After I filed my complaint with the BBB, Mr. **** did call me to say that he apologized, without specifying what particular actions he referred to.  He very much wanted to get me to put an end to the complaint process with the BBB.  As I said, Clarke & **** has taken the steps I asked them to take to remedy my situation, after I filed my complaint filed with you.  I do believe, however, that consumers should be extremely wary of this company.  Thank you for your help.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

20 Customer Reviews on Clarke & Rush Mechanical
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart