This business is not BBB accredited.

Aztec Construction

Phone: (877) 529-8320 View Additional Phone Numbers 4361 Caterpillar Rd, Redding, CA 96003 http://www.aztec247.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Aztec Construction provides general building contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aztec Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aztec Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 19, 2011 Business started: 11/27/2006 in CA Business incorporated 12/18/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 887656.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Alexis Asbe, Officer Mr. Kelly Asbe, President Mr. Scott Birondo, Founder
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Alexis Asbe, Officer
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Air Duct Cleaning Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning Contractors - General Floor Removal, Resurfacing and Refinishing

Products & Services

Aztec Construction offers services for any type of restoration, mitigation, rebuild or remodel after a fire, water damage/flood, storm or other types of natural disaster.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4361 Caterpillar Rd

    Redding, CA 96003

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had two contracts and Aztec was paid for both contracts! After the house was done he put a lean on the house and said I owed more! Tons of problems Unfortunately my house burnt down and I sign two contracts with Aztec. Both contracts had vaulted ceilings on them so charged me double! Then didn't add up all my credits right. I OVER paid him and paid the two contracts and Aztec put a lean on my house. The house has TONS of problems that is going to coast a lot of money to fix. Like warped floor, cheap carpet padding, didn't instal the fireplace mantle, Vaulted ceiling crease is not the even every 7 inch, both toilets were installed wrong And ALL the electrical was WRONG! Every time I would even turn on a blinder the breaker would trip. I OVER payed Aztec because I had to pay the two contracts that I signed and then Aztec puts a lean on my house.

Desired Settlement: The lean on my house needs to be takin off.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Response to: ***** ***** BBB - Case: # XXXXXXXX Nov 28,2012 a Work Authorization was signed by Ms. ***** to begin Emergency Mitigation for the fire damage. This work was completed to the satisfaction of Ms. *****, at which time it was Invoiced and Paid in Full on 1/3/2013. Dec 20, 2012- Ms. ***** signed our Home Improvement Contract to proceed with the repairs to Pre-Loss Condition of her house, per the Estimate which was provided by her insurance company that we agreed to work off. There were 2 Additional Supplemental Changes (which were due to open items in the Original contract, ie..exact cost of items unknown until it occurs, items needing repair not apparent until discovered after work is in progress, original estimate from Insurance Company error in cost entered for items, code upgrades not know until inspection) and 1 Change Order which was Requested and/or Authorized by Ms. ***** as follows: #1 11/29/12 Supplemental-1 (approved and paid in full by insurance company) #2 11/29/12 Supplemental-2 (approved and paid in full by insurance company) #3 7/8/2013 Change Order (Customer paid for these changes) Additional Upgrades were made to Ms. *****'s Master bathroom, per her request, at no additional expense to her. Progress payments were received from City Bank, Ms. ****** Mortgage Company, who sent us periodic payments as work was completed. Ms. ***** sent a personal check for the Change Order. Once all work was completed, we processed our final billing, on July 22, 2013, for the balance owed (which was due to the 2 Supplemental's of unknown costs, repairs, etc. as stated above) and was disclosed to Ms. *****. After the completion of the work, Ms ***** contacted her insurance adjuster and advised her they were not to release any further information to Aztec. While Aztec was doing the work , we communicated with Ms. ***** on a regular basis, during this period no issues were brought up as to her being unhappy with the repairs done on her home. After the completion of this job, Ms. ***** did not mention that she had any issues with our work, and items on the punch list that she provided to us were completed, we believed to be to her Satisfaction, as she did not say otherwise. When we went back to take photos and have her sign the Completion form she would not allow in her home. She refused to communicate with us after that point. After repeated attempts to Collect the Balance Due, via phone and email that went unanswered, we sent a 10 day demand letter on September 5, 2013 for payment to Ms. *****, via registered mail, which she declined to accept. Therefore, upon the Advice of our Attorney, on September 18, 2013 we place lien on the property in order to begin the legal proceedings to collect the unpaid balance due to Aztec.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When Aztec wanted me to sign the second contract (change order) I told him that this didn't seem right and it felt like it was a scam. All the numbers didn't add up right. I had to deal with days and days of no work being done one the house through out the time of the project. Aztec didn't even have the house done within the contracted time. Aztec put Vaulted ceilings $2000 on both contracts that I paid! Didn't add right on the change order. The house needs AT LEAST $35,000 of work to fix ALL of Aztec's poor work. (warped floor, vaulted ceiling crease needs to be re-done, toilets installed wrong, cheap carpet padding, Did not instal the fireplace mantle. I signed two contracts with Aztec and they were overpaid for both of them. I have NO IDEA what would be in this so called supplemental 1 and 2! I never once got a break down of this huge extra coast or signed it. Not only did I over pay Aztec but now I am paying to fix ALL of the problems with the house.

Final Business Response
December 3, 2013 2nd Response to: ***** ***** - BBB Complaint BBB - Case #XXXXXXXX As we stated previously: All work was Approved and Authorized by Ms. ***** and her Insurance Company, which we will gladly provide the documents to support this fact. We received progress payments directly from Ms. *****'s Insurance Company (which were approved by Ms. *****) as each phase of the work was completed. We never received any complaints from Ms. ***** regarding any of the work we did. It wasn't until after the work was completed, including the punch list Ms. ***** provided us, at which time we believe Ms. ***** received the final payment from her insurance company paid solely to her and therefore instructed her insurance company to no longer communicate with us and that is when she stopped communicating with us also.

Business Response: Response to: ***** *****
BBB - Case: # ********

Nov 28,2012 a Work Authorization was signed by Ms. ***** to begin Emergency Mitigation for the fire damage. This work was completed to the satisfaction of Ms. *****, at which time it was Invoiced and Paid in Full on 1/3/2013.

Dec 20, 2012- Ms. ***** signed our Home Improvement Contract to proceed with the repairs to Pre-Loss Condition of her house, per the Estimate which was provided by her insurance company that we agreed to work off.

There were 2 Additional Supplemental Changes (which were due to open items in the Original contract, ie..exact cost of items unknown until it occurs, items needing repair not apparent until discovered after work is in progress, original estimate from Insurance Company error in cost entered for items, code upgrades not know until inspection) and 1 Change Order which was Requested and/or Authorized by Ms. ***** as follows:

#1 11/29/12 Supplemental-1 (approved and paid in full by insurance company)
#2 11/29/12 Supplemental-2 (approved and paid in full by insurance company)
#3 7/8/2013 Change Order (Customer paid for these changes)

Additional Upgrades were made to Ms. *****'s Master bathroom, per her request, at no additional expense to her.

Progress payments were received from City Bank, Ms. *****s Mortgage Company, who sent us periodic payments as work was completed. Ms. ***** sent a personal check for the Change Order.

Once all work was completed, we processed our final billing, on July 22, 2013, for the balance owed (which was due to the 2 Supplemental's of unknown costs, repairs, etc. as stated above) and was disclosed to Ms. *****.

After the completion of the work, Ms ***** contacted her insurance adjuster and advised her they were not to release any further information to Aztec.

While Aztec was doing the work , we communicated with Ms. ***** on a regular basis, during this period no issues were brought up as to her being unhappy with the repairs done on her home.

After the completion of this job, Ms. ***** did not mention that she had any issues with our work, and items on the punch list that she provided to us were completed, we believed to be to her Satisfaction, as she did not say otherwise.

When we went back to take photos and have her sign the Completion form she would not allow in her home.

She refused to communicate with us after that point.

After repeated attempts to Collect the Balance Due, via phone and email that went unanswered, we sent a 10 day demand letter on September 5, 2013 for payment to Ms. *****, via registered mail, which she declined to accept.

Therefore, upon the Advice of our Attorney, on September 18, 2013 we place lien on the property in order to begin the legal proceedings to collect the unpaid balance due to Aztec.

Consumer Response: When Aztec wanted me to sign the second contract (change order) I told him that this didn't seem right and it felt like it was a scam. All the numbers didn't add up right. I had to deal with days and days of no work being done one the house through out the time of the project. Aztec didn't even have the house done within the contracted time. Aztec put Vaulted ceilings $2000 on both contracts that I paid! Didn't add right on the change order. The house needs AT LEAST $35,000 of work to fix ALL of Aztec's poor work. (warped floor, vaulted ceiling crease needs to be re-done, toilets installed wrong, cheap carpet padding, Did not instal the fireplace mantle. I signed two contracts with Aztec and they were overpaid for both of them. I have NO IDEA what would be in this so called supplemental 1 and 2! I never once got a break down of this huge extra coast or signed it. Not only did I over pay Aztec but now I am paying to fix ALL of the problems with the house.

Business Response: December 3, 2013
2nd Response to: April ***** - BBB Complaint
BBB - Case #********

As we stated previously:
All work was Approved and Authorized by Ms. ***** and her Insurance Company, which we will gladly provide the documents to support this fact.
We received progress payments directly from Ms. *****'s Insurance Company (which were approved by Ms. *****) as each phase of the work was completed.
We never received any complaints from Ms. ***** regarding any of the work we did.
It wasn't until after the work was completed, including the punch list Ms. ***** provided us, at which time we believe Ms. ***** received the final payment from her insurance company paid solely to her and therefore instructed her insurance company to no longer communicate with us and that is when she stopped communicating with us also.

Consumer Response: I never signed or knew anything about this so called supplement 1 and 2. I can't even think what could be on it! I NEVER got a break down of what this so called supplement 1 and 2 was or did I ever sign it or authorized it. I did sign two contracts that were wrote wrong and were not met on Aztec's part. I was charged twice for the vaulted ceilings, credits were added wrong and it took way to long to complete the project. I over paid both of the over priced contracts that I signed! I also am now having to pay for ALL the VERY POOR work that they did to be re done. To add to all the other problems in my prevues response my plumbing was not wrapped for the cold weather and my phone line has to be re done to the house. Bottom line is that I over paid on two contracts that I signed. I am having to fix ALL of the POOR work they did, It is costing me a lot of money to fix EVERYTHING! Then Aztec puts a lean on my house. WHY? Because I over paid on the two contracts that I signed?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Aztec Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)