Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Spartan Concrete Coatings, Inc. offers concrete services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Spartan Concrete Coatings, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Spartan Concrete Coatings, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Spartan Concrete Coatings, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2013 Business started: 07/29/2011 in CA Business incorporated 02/11/2013 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 965733.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George J. Spillmann, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George J. Spillmann, President
Business Category

Concrete Contractors

Alternate Business Names
RGS Construction Development
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 6500 Fairway Dr

    Rocklin, CA 95677

  • PO Box 712

    Roseville, CA 95661 (916) 580-4080

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ********* Owner of Spartan Concrete Coatings failed to start/complete agreed job to build an Outdoor Kitchen. ****** *********, owner of Concrete Coatings met with me in I believe in early June of 2013 to have an outdoor kitchen built. Mr. ********* did some work for me the year prior and was very pleased with his company. However, this time around, Mr. ********* asked for a payment of $6905.27 for appliances being installed into the outdoor kitchen. A check was issued to him on July 19th, 2013 for the amount of $6905.27 and was cashed. Weeks went by until I contacted Mr. *********. Mr. ********* advised me some of the appliances were on back order and the company didn't want to send them until they had all the appliances. Again, weeks went by without hearing anything from Mr. *********. I contacted him and he assured me the appliances will be arriving soon. Now we are into early September and again I'm the one contacting Mr. *********. At this time after being told still no appliances, I requested to back out of our agreement and requested a refund for the appliances. Mr. ********* asked me to let him make things right. He apologized and again assured me the appliances would be in soon and would get started on the outdoor kitchen within a few days. A few days passed. I attempted to contact Mr. ********* and have not heard from him since. I've made many attempts to contact him by phone and emails with no return calls or replies to emails.

Desired Settlement: Requesting a refund of $6905.27 for no labor or materials ever delivered to my residence **** ********* **** in ********** CA

Business Response: Initial Business Response
**** contacted me on June 7, 2013 to discuss a design and build a custom outdoor kitchen. The scope proposed included custom masonry, concrete countertop, stain & seal, epoxy protective coat, stucco, lathe and color coat, sub contractor for electrical and for plumbing the gas and water. I provided **** links to a few websites to view and shop for the appliances of his choice. Once his mind was made up on the selection of appliances he was to notify me and I was to place the order. This took place in late August. I placed and paid for the original order, and the amended order for adding another access door, prior to collecting a check that bounced from **** on June 19, 2013. I was notified by my bank Chase, on June 26, 2013 that a check from **** **** in the amount of $6905.27 bounced. I notified **** of this and he cleared that up by another check that eventually cleared after a 14 day hold at my bank. There were fees associated with this in the amount of $621.77. I elected to not disclose this to **** in good faith because of the detailed and massive scope of work that I was going to install. Also because **** was a previous client that was extremely satisfied with the work and detail that we had done at his residence around his pool. Through the wait time for the appliances, which has been lengthy, I was given the run around from the supplier on delivery dates and times of anticipated arrival estimation. I was told on numerous calls of back orders and stock unavailability and of expected product delays based on the "busy season". I presented this to **** in emails. I requested the appliances be delivered immediately with a lading label prior to shipping for tracking or a refund via certified funds. Again, the run around. I have contacted an attorney in this matter. Litigation is set for Small Claims Court based on the dollar amount being less than $7500.00 per California guidelines. **** had a change of heart in September, during the process and the delays. He terminated me via email and the contract as well. Also the contents mentioned this in an email that it was a difficult decision for he and his wife to cancel the contract because he liked me and what I was all about business wise. Also it was causing stress in his and his wife's life. I contacted **** via call and explained what was going on and he agreed to reaffirm with the Contract contingent upon final details. At that point we scheduled an appointment with my custom mason to meet at his house and go over the layout and finalize the specifics, lighting, plugs, switches, appliance layout, bar top height, raised bar top height, cantilevered edge and style. Even to look over samples of "weathered stone" that **** had from a previous project that I was going to use as a custom and unique detail for the corners, **** was all excited and eager about that. I also had offered to supply a hot water heater, at my expense, for the sink based on the delay as good faith for the delay and so he could have hot water at the out door kitchen sink. He acknowledged and accepted the hot water heater and was pleased that I would offer this without being asked. Within a week I was terminated again and at this point was the demand for the refund. I have acquired an attorney in this matter and have been advised to settle this matter outside of the internet post and response process. I am ready, willing, and able to perform, build this outdoor kitchen, refund proper accountings, respond, and advise of intentions in this matter. Furthermore, I request **** **** to perform in the deletion of this post and any other comments on any social media posts that are accessed via the internet on any search engine or I will file a lawsuit for breach of contract, defamation of character, and file a mechanic's lien on his residence.

Consumer Response: Attached is a copy of the invoice given to me when the appliances were ordered. There was never a contract generated for the job.

**** ****

Case# ******** (******** - **** Consumer Doc.pdf)

Business Response: **** contacted me on June 7, 2013 to discuss a design and build a custom outdoor kitchen. The scope proposed included custom masonry, concrete countertop, stain & seal, epoxy protective coat, stucco, lathe and color coat, sub contractor for electrical and for plumbing the gas and water.

I provided **** links to a few websites to view and shop for the appliances of his choice. Once his mind was made up on the selection of appliances he was to notify me and I was to place the order. This took place in late August. I placed and paid for the original order, and the amended order for adding another access door, prior to collecting a check that bounced from **** on June 19, 2013. I was notified by my bank Chase, on June 26, 2013 that a check from **** **** in the amount of $6905.27 bounced. I notified **** of this and he cleared that up by another check that eventually cleared after a 14 day hold at my bank. There were fees associated with this in the amount of $621.77. I elected to not disclose this to **** in good faith because of the detailed and massive scope of work that I was going to install. Also because **** was a previous client that was extremely satisfied with the work and detail that we had done at his residence around his pool.

Through the wait time for the appliances, which has been lengthy, I was given the run around from the supplier on delivery dates and times of anticipated arrival estimation. I was told on numerous calls of back orders and stock unavailability and of expected product delays based on the "busy season". I presented this to **** in emails. I requested the appliances be delivered immediately with a lading label prior to shipping for tracking or a refund via certified funds. Again, the run around. I have contacted an attorney in this matter. Litigation is set for Small Claims Court based on the dollar amount being less than $7500.00 per California guidelines.

**** had a change of heart in September, during the process and the delays. He terminated me via email and the contract as well. Also the contents mentioned this in an email that it was a difficult decision for he and his wife to cancel the contract because he liked me and what I was all about business wise. Also it was causing stress in his and his wife's life.

I contacted **** via call and explained what was going on and he agreed to reaffirm with the Contract contingent upon final details. At that point we scheduled an appointment with my custom mason to meet at his house and go over the layout and finalize the specifics, lighting, plugs, switches, appliance layout, bar top height, raised bar top height, cantilevered edge and style. Even to look over samples of "weathered stone" that **** had from a previous project that I was going to use as a custom and unique detail for the corners, **** was all excited and eager about that. I also had offered to supply a hot water heater, at my expense, for the sink based on the delay as good faith for the delay and so he could have hot water at the out door kitchen sink. He acknowledged and accepted the hot water heater and was pleased that I would offer this without being asked.

Within a week I was terminated again and at this point was the demand for the refund.

I have acquired an attorney in this matter and have been advised to settle this matter outside of the internet post and response process. I am ready, willing, and able to perform, build this outdoor kitchen, refund proper accountings, respond, and advise of intentions in this matter.

Furthermore, I request **** **** to perform in the deletion of this post and any other comments on any social media posts that are accessed via the internet on any search engine or I will file a lawsuit for breach of contract, defamation of character, and file a mechanic's lien on his residence.

Consumer Response: I'm very dissatisfied with Mr. *********** response dated November 20, 2013.

Mr. ********* is correct in that I choose one of his appliance suppliers (BBQ Guys). However, the order was placed July 12, 2013 per a Bill of Lading I received from Mr. ********* not late August as he mentioned. Mr. ********* also mentioned that the first check I wrote in the amount of $6905.27 was dated June 19th. That too is incorrect. The first check I issued to Mr. ********* was on July 19, 2013. I was informed a few days later that the check did not clear. I followed up with my bank regarding the check not clearing and I was informed based on transferring funds from another bank on July 15, 2013 via a Cashier's Check, there was a 5 day hold for the funds to clear. I expressed my apologies to Mr. ********* and he stated he understood and stated, "no problem". I issued Mr. ********* a second check for $6905.27 on July 26, 2013 and according to my bank records it cleared the same day not 14 days later as Mr. ********* mentioned. At no time was I ever informed the appliances were back ordered or not available due to the "busy season". On August 23, 2013, I was informed via a voice mail, Mr. ********* assuring me I was in good hands and everything will get worked out. Again, after making many attempts to contact Mr. ********* and receiving no response, on or around September 17, 2013, I left a message with Mr. ********* requesting to terminate the Outdoor Kitchen Project. Shortly thereafter, I received a call from Mr. ********* asking me to give him a chance to make things right. On September 19, 2013 I informed Mr. ********* that I had a chance to talk with my wife and we decided to move forward with the Outdoor Kitchen once again. I met with Mr. ********* and his Mason later that day September 19, 2013. I was very excited it what they proposed and even more excited that they stated they would be starting the next morning. When they didn't show up the next day, I tried contacting Mr. ********* to get a follow up with no response. This went on for a week. After approximately 10 days of not being able to talk to Mr. *********, I had no option but to leave a message informing him to terminate the Outdoor Kitchen Project. At no time did Mr. ********* contact me explaining why he and his Mason didn't show up as agreed.

Business Response: I am very disappointed with this response and maneuvering of facts. This is a section of the signed, acknowledged, and executed contract with **** ****:
"Non-Disparagement: Each Property Owner, Public or Private, Contractor, and Sub-Contractor agrees that, before, during, and thereafter the Contractual Period, neither it nor any of its Affiliates or Associates will, and it will cause each of its Affiliates and Associates not to, directly or indirectly, in any capacity or manner, make, express, transmit speak, write, verbalize or otherwise communicate in any way (or cause, further, assist, solicit, encourage, support or participate in any of the foregoing), any remark, comment, message, information, declaration, communication or other statement of any kind, whether verbal, in writing, electronically transferred or otherwise, that might reasonably be construed to be derogatory or critical of, or negative toward, Spartan Concrete Coatings or any of its material or product suppliers, directors, officers, Affiliates, subsidiaries, employees, agents or representatives".
As **** states on September 19 when we meet to go over the additional items being supplied and the additional details that were discussed, cultured stone edges, hot water heater, design, layouts, and positioning of the arched area of the raised bar top. All of us were on the same page. The contents of that was to have the appliances there first due to the custom build of the Outdoor Kitchen based on the selection of the appliances by ****. There was no agreement or understanding on "tomorrow".
I could not have anticipated that the ordering of these appliances was going to be a back order item or to have a request from the manufacturer to allow shipping of all of the appliances at one time. The only thing that I can think of to request this would be the additional door that **** wanted and placed the order for. This was explained to **** through the waiting process as well.
If I gainfully knew or could have know that I was going to have to go through a legal approach to recoup what **** relied on me to provide, I would have never executed the contract or ordered the appliances on behalf of ****. I would have had **** done this himself and then he could have dealt with this instead of me. Then once the appliances arrived **** could have called me to "restructure" or "amend" the original design build contract that I was asked to provide based on Building the structure, plumbing, electrical, stone, stucco, and the appliances with installation.
I sincerely apologize for the way this transaction has gone with **** and for any tension that it may have caused with his family. I am ready, willing and able to provide and build what was agreed upon with the additional items that were discussed in September if **** will allow this. I am confident that **** and his family would thoroughly enjoy the Outdoor Kitchen that I would build for many years and many entertaining activities and would definitely be one of a kind.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Again, I'm disappointed with Mr. *********'s response. If there was no agreement or understanding on "tomorrow", then why didn't he return my calls when attempted to find out why they didn't show up?

I'm sure Mr. ********* would deliver an outstanding Outdoor Kitchen. This is why I chose his company. But when? I was very patient over a four month period. His communication has been very inadequate. Also, I just don't fill comfortable moving forward with a company that has threatened to file a lawsuit and a mechanic's lien on my home.

My wife and I would greatly appreciate for this project to be resolved immediately as this project has brought enough stress to our family. I'm requesting a refund of $6905.27, which I paid some five months ago, as Spartan Concrete Coatings failed to provide labor or materials to my residence.

Sincerely,

**** ****

Business Response: I will provide a refund in the amount of $6905.00 to **** **** for the return of his deposit for the appliances that were ordered on his behalf, however never delivered by the supplier. 
Once the litigation and the lawsuit settles that I have filed in this matter against the supplier for taking the deposit, diverting funds from this purchase, and not delivering the appliances as promised. I will make this right with a client who wants a refund. I will maintain contact with you with regards to the settlement offer from the supplier that I have been proposed in the courts in this matter.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: Mr. ********* did not provide the date of the litigation or proof of pending litigation. I can't take the risk of this process dragging out to where my time restraints are exhausted to submit my own litigation against Mr. *********. If Mr. ********* was to provide the dates and note if the ruling is against him, he will still refund the money, I would except his response provide the litigation date is before May 1st. Personally, I feel my business was with Mr. ********* not the Appliance Supplier. Therefore, I should not have to wait for a ruling regarding his dealing with the appliance supplier.

Thank you again Jennifer for your assistance.

 
Sincerely,

**** ****

Business Response: The litigation date is not set yet as the courts are severely backlogged. This does not mean that I am waiting for the court date to settle this matter with **** ****. I want to avoid all legal matters with **** as it turns to be extremely lengthy and costly. I want to settle this matter with **** before any litigation starts or exists. The purpose of the previous email is that I was disclosing what the details of what I am doing in this matter with regards to reclaiming what I spent on ****'s behalf with the supplier. I will refund to **** his deposit and chase my legal tracking with the supplier. As it turns out there are more filings against this supplier with similar dealings.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9871563, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Thank you,

**** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Spartan Concrete Coatings, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)