Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Closet Doctor

Phone: (916) 408-2666 Fax: (916) 645-2654 View Additional Phone Numbers 107 Flocchini Cir Ste 200, Lincoln, CA 95648 http://www.closet-doctor.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Closet Doctor meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Closet Doctor include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Closet Doctor
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 757092.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Derrek Holland, President Mrs. Lisa Holland, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derrek Holland, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Lisa Holland, Secretary
Business Category

Closet Systems & Accessories Garage Organizers Floors - Garage Cabinet Equipment & Supplies Wall Bed Sales

Alternate Business Names
Holland, Inc.
Products & Services

The Closet Door specializes in custom designed storage solutions for home or office.


Additional Locations

  • 107 Flocchini Cir Ste 200

    Lincoln, CA 95648 (888) 297-9666

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract to purchase garage cabinets from a company called, "The Closet Doctor". The price of the down payment of $1000.00 and payment upon completion of $1795.00 were clearly stated in the contract. The down payment was made and the cabinets were built for me. When the cabinets were ready for installation, I received a call and scheduling took place. The day prior to the scheduled day, I called to attempt to reschedule since I was not able to be home to help the installers get into the house. I later received a call from *****, the store owner, to inform me that I would be charged $150.00 extra due to the change of appointment. I felt that this was not appropriate since my contract did not say anything about an appointment change fee. While reading the contract, I also read that that there will be no oral agreements that can be made unless it is done by written contract. From the customer point of view, it would be important to know ahead of time that a change of appointment would lead to the company attempting to charge an extra $150.00 for the cabinets. I feel that the company has an obligation to be sure this is stated in writing ahead of time if this is a practice they follow. On the day the cabinets were installed, the installers gave a bill to my wife that included the remaining balance of the contract, but $150.00 was grouped together with the total to account for their appointment change fee. My wife assumed that the bill was for the proper amount owed according to the original contract and gave the credit card number to the installers. Two phone calls were made to the main office to talk about my issue about the extra charges to the credit card, and I was told that ***** would have to call me back about the issue. When I did not get a phone call back, my wife went to the store location to try to talk about the issue and show that the original contract wording did not support the attempt to profit the extra $150.00. *****'s wife made herself available to discuss the issue during that visit, but she was only able to tell us that they gave me the wrong contract to sign which excluded the wording about the $150.00 appointment change fee. She continued to explain that other customers receive their new contract that includes the wording about the $150.00 appointment change fee. Despite the mistake on their part, her decision was that the company would maintain their position that they are deserving of the $150.00. The only fees that I would like to be credited back is the $150.00 that was charged unfairly from my perspective. However, the company feels strongly that the fees are fair to charge without a proper contracted agreement.

Desired Settlement: $150.00 credit back for unfair charges is all I am seeking.

Business Response: The customer is correct that it is not on his contract. It was however reviewed with him at the time of signing the contract when our installation process was explained in detail to him. He agreed to it and asked us to get the work done as soon as possible. We scheduled and confirmed the date for install. Late in the afternoon the day prior to the installation, when the job was loaded and ready to leave first thing in the morning, we received a phone call from the customer stating that "tomorrow doesn't work for me" I offered to be flexible on arrival time or even come a day later. I then informed the customer of our policy that we had reviewed with him at the time of signing the contract. I asked when we would be able to install the job and he said "I'll let you know". We made several attempts to contact the customer with no answer, several weeks went by and they finally said they would be ready over 30 days from the originally scheduled installation date. The additional fee was explained on the phone and agreed to over the phone and the charge was added to our completion sign off sheet and was clearly visible. The job was delivered and installed as agreed upon, the customer was given a walk through and inspection of the job and the completion sign off sheet was reviewed, signed and paid for. The customer sent his spouse in to speak with me about this issue and it was explained to her again and she said that her husband would want to talk to me about it. The only contact info that was given to us was for the spouse and the customer has made no attempt to contact me since the installation.

With all of that said, I will refund the $150 to the customer. The customer (not his spouse) will need to pick up the check and sign for it at our showroom during normal business hours. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Closet Doctor
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)