Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sacramento Rug Works

Phone: (916) 455-3081 1308 65th St, Sacramento, CA 95819

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sacramento Rug Works meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sacramento Rug Works
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 28, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1905 in CA Business incorporated 10/25/1993 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 439893.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00659331.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Howard, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Howard, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners Carpet & Rug Repair Carpet Installation Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
Sacramento Rug Works, Inc.

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had two rugs picked up for cleaning. The rugs were picked up on August 20th. Instead a paying to have them delivered to my home I decided to pick them up from their location on September 5th. The guy behind the counter said I would have to pay the full $85 charge for pick up and delivery because it was part of a contract. I told him this wasn't a legally binding contract and since when can't the customer change their mind and pick up an item himself. He said this was the price, I can take the rugs but would still have to pay the full $85. So basically they wanted me to pay for a service I did not receive. They held my rugs hostage so I went ahead and paid it. I have no complaint of the work done on the carpet but the poor customer service and strong arming to make me pay for a service I did not receive is unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: Refund for half of the $85.

Business Response:


This letter is in response to the complaint we received from ****** ******. Sacramento Rug Works picked up 2 area rugs from the ******’ residence on August 20. At that time an invoice was signed by Ms. ****** with the agreement to pay a total amount of  $446 plus state sales tax upon return of her area rugs the following Wednesday. The $85 pick- up and delivery charge was included in the invoice at the time. The following Wednesday we attempted delivery of the rugs to the ****** residence as scheduled. Our delivery crew phoned the ****** residence to reconfirm delivery as they were heading in route to deliver the rugs. At that time, our delivery crew was told by Ms. ****** that they did not want the rugs delivered and they would pick them up. When Mr. ****** arrived to pick up his rugs he was offered delivery of the rugs again. He chose not to have them delivered even after he was made aware of our policy that we do not split pick- up and delivery costs. At that time Mr. ****** became upset and refused to pay the amount on the invoice that was signed by Ms. ******. He was told if he didn’t pay for the service of cleaning, repairing and transporting his rugs he would not be allowed to pick them up. Mr. ****** was provided a card and the name of our Owner at that time. The employee at the time instructed Mr. ****** to speak with the Owner if he wasn’t satisfied with the policy. Sacramento Rug Works feels that we provided service that was signed for on the binding agreement attached. We picked up the rugs, cleaned them, repaired one and attempted delivery. We did not strong arm the customer. He refused to pay the entire bill at the time. We received this discrepancy yesterday via email. We have not been given a chance to retort and customer has already slandered us on yelp without any chance for SRW to take actions to this discrepancy. Obviously, the customer is not concerned with the response he gets from this complaint since the yelp review was the same day as the transaction date.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sacramento Rug Works
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)