BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Johnston Amusements, LLC offers party supply rentals services.


BBB Accreditation

On 7/1/2016 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 1D. Be free of an unsatisfactory rating and maintain at least a B rating at the accrediting BBB and the BBB where it is headquartered, if different.
  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.
  • 6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Johnston Amusements, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Johnston Amusements, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 23, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1999 in CA Business started locally: 09/01/1999 Business incorporated 01/02/2004 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ken Johnston, President Mr. Gordon Johnston, Officer Ms. Karen Juilfs, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Johnston, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Karen Juilfs, Operations Manager
Business Category

Carnivals

Products & Services

This company specializes in party planning, both retail and commercial.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 580877

    Elk Grove, CA 95758

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought tickets on 3.13.2016 and they said my son's were to tall for the rides they are 5 and 7 I asked if I could get my money back they said no can't do I go there to small for the fast rides then one of the workers said it was dumb we asked for my money back what can I do I spent 40 bucks and my son's couldn't get on not one ride

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back cuz my son's couldn't get on any rides they even took two tickets from them said get on then they said no I go can we have the two tickets back they said no there to tall

Business Response: I must apologize for the late response I noticed on the letter the phone number was incorrect, our phone number is  ************.

I want to explain our policy regarding Child safety first.  Our company Johnston Amusements is very proud of our safety records and the ride operators are trained to follow the guidelines for height recommendations by the manufacture per ride.
Before their day begins they must make sure that safety checks are completed.  The signs are posted for the Heights and restrictions.  Our patrons are the best in the world.  However sometimes there conditions can be a safety  hazard to themselves and others.  This is why we don't allow  Patrons with casts, no shoes, or expectant mothers to ride the rides.  As you know  children can vary in size, some 4 year olds are much taller than others and some 8 year olds may be much smaller in size  than other.  Each of the rides has a posted sign with a height requirement right out in front by the ride operator, we know  that some times the little ones think there big enough or are almost tall enough (stand on tippy toes) , and some are just to small to ride, and the hardest is the ones that are in between to big for the child rides and not quite there for the TEENAGERS rides.  The operators do there very best to accommodate each and every person but there are times we "Cannot" make everyone happy.   It's the hardest thing to tell a child  who is so excited to come to  the carnival that they can't ride,  the ride they have chosen.  We ofter several  CHILD rides, and also TEENAGER  Rides, along with a couple THILL rides but just because they are operating it's our crew job to maintain SATEY FIRST of each patron. 

I am not sure about what happen in Visalia on the Lot, but we have been in this spot for many years and usually we can make sure that your experience with Johnston Amusements is a Happy Family Fun place.
I reviewed our ticket pricing  for Visalia the sheet price (tickets)  doesn't add up to forty (40.00) if they had tickets. 
The sales amount would be 24.00  or 36.00.  I was on site in Visalia, and this was not brought to my attention, I am not sure who you had spoke to, but we value each of our patrons and strive to listen, and  resolve any issues,  right then so that our patrons do not get frustrated or feel we did not hear them.   We hope that we can offer you  a reasonable solution to this situation and extend and invitation to join us next year for  Family Fun with Johnston Amusements.   I will work with you on a refund. We will issue a refund of 24.00. I want to thank you for the constructive criticism  it be used to further Train our employee to Listen to our Patrons and direct them to our on site mobile office for a resolution.

We will issue you a check to the address above with in 5 business days.

Thank you

***** ******
Customer Service
Johnston Amusements
******** ****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Thank u so much and I will take my refund


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Johnston Amusements, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)