Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Budget Blinds of the Sierra Foothills

Phone: (916) 631-8298 Fax: (530) 672-8009 View Additional Phone Numbers

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Budget Blinds of the Sierra Foothills meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Budget Blinds of the Sierra Foothills include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Budget Blinds of the Sierra Foothills
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 29, 2006 Business started: 12/01/2005 in CA Business incorporated 10/05/1992 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00991185.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Colby Black, Owner Ms. Jessica Black, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Colby Black, Owner
Business Category

Blinds Window Shades Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom Shutters

Alternate Business Names
C Black Inc,
Products & Services

Budget Blinds of Rancho Cordova is a traveling show room that provides custom window covering services.

Additional Locations

  • Fair Oaks, CA 95628 (530) 677-4567 (209) 223-9090 (916) 631-8298


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/4/2016 Delivery Issues
9/9/2016 Delivery Issues
8/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 03/16/2016, Budget Blinds franchise owner ***** ***** met with me at my home for an in home consultation. I placed an order with ***** for my entire home to be furnished with shutters/blinds. ***** estimated my order would be roughly 5 weeks for delivery. I provided ***** with a deposit in the form of a check for $3,000. On 04/02/2016, I made a slight change to my order (blinds to shutters) and provided an additional $514 deposit by check. The total estimated cost of my order is $6,434. I have patiently waited for my order to be fulfilled since 03/16/2016 and understand manufacture delays or issues may occur. I received a telephone call from a Budget Blinds employee (******) sometime in early April stating there were manufacture delays. However, since this last telephone call, I have not received any further updates or the status of my order. I have since placed eight phone calls to ***** Black/Budget Blinds Sierra Foothills with no response. I emailed ***** on 07/06/2016 and again I have not received any email response from him. On 07/14/2016, I emailed Budget Blinds Corporate to assist me in this matter. I received an immediate response from Heather Sheets with Budget Blinds Customer Relations. Heather informed she has also emailed ***** with no response either. Being a former Budget Blinds I did not expect to receive this type of treatment/poor customer service. I also do not know at this point if my order has been placed as promised by ***** or if he plans to fulfill my order as agreed upon.

Desired Settlement: I made a deposit by check in the amount of $3,514.00 and request the immediate return of my full deposit if my order will not be completed as agreed in our contact.

Business Response:  We have already solved the issue with Mr. ******** He is scheduled for indtallation. I will have some time to respond officially on the BBB site a little later, tomorrow at the latest.

Thank you sincerely.

***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Business owner ***** ***** contacted me and explained the delay in my order. He has agreed to resolve the complaint and has scheduled an appointment next week for the installation of my shutters/blinds. I am satisfied with the resolution in this matter and request the BBB complaint be closed. Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.

7/22/2016 Delivery Issues
7/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased 6 blinds from ***** ***** in November of 2015. The blinds that were delivered were not the blinds that we had discussed. After working with ***** for 6 months trying to resolve the situation we finally had to take the blinds down ourselves and return them to his showroom. He did not provide the product we had agreed upon, refused to give us a refund or help correct the situation. He was offensive and terrible to work with.

Desired Settlement: As we returned the blinds, got a recipe confirming the return, we would like a full refund.

Business Response: The above referenced customer purchased window coverings to be made custom for her home. They would be manufactured according to her own selections of product brand, style, color, and lifting system. We wrote out a contract specifying exactly what would be ordered. The customer authorized the contract via email. We delivered and installed the product in her home, exactly as it was specified on the contract, with the exception of one lifting system (the lift cord option) which had to be different due to size limitations. We gave the customer a $300 discount for this, although the lifting systems are only valued at $99. The ****** ******* window coverings were brand new, beautifully made and in perfect working condition. There was no defect in her products. Ultimately, the customer decided that she did not like what she selected. Our products are custom-made according to what each customer selects, and for this reason, we are unable to return them to the manufacturer or resell them to a another customer. Therefore, we advised the customer that we could not offer a return or refund, but explained that if she was unsatisfied with her products, she could file a complaint with the manufacturer. She did so, and the manufacturer determined that she received exactly what was on her contract (what she personally selected), and that there was no defect with her products, therefore, they also could not authorize a return or refund. We tried to work the manufacturer on the issue as well, but due to the lack of defect with the product, they were unable to do anything for us. There was nothing more we could do for the customer at this point. She did have a small remaining balance due with us, which we were willing to waive as a courtesy. The customer then threatened to dispute her credit card charge, and later came into our front office, advising our receptionist that the owner had authorized her to return her window coverings. Unbeknownst to our receptionist, this was a fabricated statement. We redelivered the customer's products to her home, and advised that we would be willing to refund everything she paid that was over and above what we paid to the manufacturer for her products. We would take a loss on all administrative and labor costs for her job. We provided the manufacturer's invoice so she could verify the accuracy of our cost. We have received no response from the customer.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

We purchased 6 ****** ******* blinds on November 20, 2015 from ***** ***** at Budget Blinds.  We never signed the invoice because we had gone back and forth via phone conversations confirming our purchase.   We gave him a $4,000 deposit and the remainder was to be paid after install. The blinds were installed in December.  Upon having the blinds installed we were shocked to find that the blinds in our master room and nursery both had dual cords, the fabric was not the fabric we selected, the blinds did not hang evenly. Immediately after the blinds were installed we called ***** to express our frustrations.    He pushed us back and rescheduled a number of times over the next month continuously delaying the process and reassuring us that he would make things right and he would correct the situation.   He finally came to our house on 1/28/16 (a month and a half after install) and we reviewed the issues we had.  He stated that in order to correct the situation we would need to put in writing all the issues we had and we agreed to pay him another $900 in good faith that he would make the situation right and provide the correct blinds we had originally discussed.   Since then we have had nothing but delays, push back and difficulty getting ***** to commit to getting us our correct blinds.  Last month he pushed us back onto ****** ******* who we contacted and they told us there was nothing they could do as we purchased their product through a 3rd party vendor.  ****** ******* specifically said that unless we had a warranty issue they would not be able to help us.  Budget Blinds claimed they had tried to work with ****** ******* prior to me reaching out to them but after speaking with a representative I quickly learned they had no record of my issue. Since our meeting with ***** at the end of January he goes back and forth between stating he is willing to help to being aggressive and offensive.  The last phone conversation I had with him he used profanity and was extremely offensive.  After that we sent ***** an email on 4/14/16 offering a resolution in that if he refunded our $4,000 and we would walk away from the $900 in order to put this situation to rest.  He responded with a typical delay on 4/15/16 asking for more time to respond and then we never heard from him again.  We gave him 3 weeks to respond then returned the blinds to his show room and ****** ****** signed a return receipt on 5/7/16.  We did not fabricate any statements to his employee.  After the return we again received aggressive and threatening voice mails from *****.  We had to send him an email not to set foot on our property as he was threatening to come to our home.  Budget blinds then shipped the blinds to us via UPS shippers release declaring the value for $800 so the blinds were left on our door step with no way to return back to sender.  We would be happy to give the blinds back to Budget Blinds as we have already returned them once.  We were never told about a $300 discount and regardless of the discount we wanted a cordless blind, not a dual cord blind, and would rather have what we had ordered and not a discount.  We did not receive the blinds we had agreed to purchase.  We have tried for 6 months to work with Budget Blinds to get this situation corrected and at this point just want our money back.We continue to stand by our original offer that if they refund the $4,000 then we will take the $900 loss.  

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

There was ongoing communication after 11/13/15 via phone and email finalizing blind specifications.  What we had agreed on was NOT what we received.  We tried to be patient and work with Budget Blinds and returned the blinds on 5/7/16.  ****** ******, an employee of Budget Blinds, signed a return receipt and excepted the return.  We want a refund. 

Business Response:

After having samples in their home for several days the customers made their selection of a fabric. The fabric that they received was the exact fabric that they selected, as was specified on their contract, and as can be clearly seen on their order confirmation (India Silk in Kashmir w/ Whisper Sheer in White Organdy). Please see the line by line comparison of the sales contract with the manufacturer’s order confirmation.

As can be seen on the customer’s email authorization on 11/13/15, upon reviewing the contract, her only question was when she could expect installation. No instructions were given to make changes of any kind; not to the lifting systems or to the fabric. Further, no verbal instructions were given to make changes to the order. This is simply false information. By California state law we have to give our customers a three day cooling off period. From the date of authorization, they have until midnight of the third business day to make any changes or cancel their purchase. Mrs. ********** would have had until 11/19/15 to make any changes or cancellations. As you can see from the order date on the manufacturer’s order confirmation, we did not submit the customer’s order until 11/24/15. If after 11/13, the customer had made any indication of wanting to make changes we would have had plenty of time to make them, and would have happily done so.

Regarding returns of products, we are not an inventory retailer, but rather a dealer of custom-made products.  We sell window coverings that are custom-sized for each customer’s windows with fabrics, colors and lifting systems that are all hand selected by the customer. For this reason, all sales are final and the customer is responsible for choice of product, style, color and controls. This is clearly stated on all of our sales contracts, and it was clearly stated on Mrs. **********’s contract. Once we have paid the manufacturer for an order we are unable to receive a refund, and due to the custom nature of each order, we are unable to resell these items. For all of the reasons outlined above, we are not able to accept returns or authorize refunds unless there is a manufacturing defect, but certainly not because a customer simply decided that they did not like what they chose.


The customers attempted to return their products without authorization. To reiterate, they came into our office and told our receptionist that they had been advised by the owner to bring their shades in. This was completely false information, or put simply, a lie. This lie aided them in receiving a signature from our receptionist, who was unaware of what was going on, which was, quite frankly, attempted fraud and breach of contract.


Upon learning of the situation, we instructed our installation technician to transport the shades to the *** store and have them shipped them back to the customer via ***. We received confirmation on 5/13 that the delivery was successful (Please see attached delivery confirmation. Tracking number can be verified on ***.com).


It should be noted again, that after all of this, we still attempted to work with the customer and offer them a partial refund as outlined below:


Originally agreed upon contract price: $5535 ($5235 after $300 discount)

Total payments received: $4900

Less cost of goods/sales tax: $3513.63

Total refund: $1386.37


Rather than accepting our refund offer, the customer filed a dispute with her credit card company, for which the funds have already been removed from our account, pending resolution of the dispute process. We have had no choice but to withdraw our offer for a partial refund, and file all documentation for a counter-dispute.

Tell us why here...

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called "Budget Blinds". They sent us ***** *****. ***** told us that he needed a check for the entire amount $6500. Two months+ delays and promises 8/21/2013 ***** gave us an estimate for $1122. for Norman wood louvered shutters and Hunter Douglas blinds. 8/22/2013 ***** gave us a new estimate for$5211. including the louvered shutters and blinds but adding a sheer blind. 8/27/2013 ***** gave us yet another estimate for $6500. including all the above plus a vertical glide blind with a sheer backing. This all included install to be done within six to eight weeks. ***** insisted on payment in full and held the check at my request for a two weeks. When I asked for an update I was told that everything was on schedule and should be installed by the beginning of November. After that time frame came and went, I tried calling all three phone numbers at their office but got no answer. I left several messages and ******* ***** finally returned my call and said that all was well. That my order was partially in and can be installed or we could wait for the rest of the order. I said wait and do it all at once. I was told that the rest of my order was to be in within two weeks. That didn't happen and again I could not reach anyone on their office phone. I finally reach ***** on his cell phone and he said that although he was driving that he remembered seeing my order in om his invoice. We set up a time for the following friday to install. That date of November eighth was moved to Saturday the ninth. My conversation with ***** took place on Tuesday November the fifth in the evening. Friday ***** says that he needs to reschedule due to a family emergency. He said that he had to attend a funeral of his wife's best friends father. That he could come by after the funeral and bring documentation of the funeral then install what he had. At this point I realized that he did not have my entire order as I was previously told so i asked for my money back in full. I was tired of waiting and playing games at my expense. I wanted to go to someone that I had some trust in. ***** told me that I didn't need trust that he simply needed to do the install and be done. I told him that the install was not necessarily the end of the interactions between us. I again asked for a full refund and was told by ***** that he was able to refund the part of the order that has not yet been ordered. He would not say how much that was. Later ***** told me that he was "able to stop production" on the vertical glider. All of these kept adding up to my being lied to about what was ready to be installed when clearly some haven't even been ordered.

Desired Settlement: A FULL REFUND $6500.00 If this goes to court, which I suspect that it will, I will be seeking damages right around the $10,000.00 plus atty's and court fees.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: 916/764/0953
Contact Email:
This complaint has been settled between Budget Blinds and Mr. *****. Please remove complaint, Mr. ***** has agreed to remove complaint as well.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Budget Blinds of the Sierra Foothills
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)